Deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi has expressed concern regarding the high number of road accidents involving youth, New Straits Times has reported. The situation called for urgent and coordinated intervention from youth groups, the government and the private sector, the deputy prime minister said.
“On average, 6,000 people die in road accidents each year. Ninety per cent of those who perish are youths. We must prevent this from continuing, as we are losing a vital part of our productive workforce. This must be stopped,” he said.
To that end, Zahid called for proactive measures to be taken by the Malaysian Youth Council and state-level youth councils, including those in the federal territories. In particular, the deputy prime minister called for special courses for young motorcyclists in the areas of road safety and motorcycle maintenance, and noted that Majlis Amanah Rakyat had the capacity to support such efforts.
“In this situation, we must not act in silos. We must work together with ministries, departments, agencies, the private sector and non-governmental organisations,” Zahid said.
one word “enforcement”
We have done so much.
Its time to clamp down aka put your foot down.
DPM, you need to wake up. Since when “courses/education” ever works on Mat Rempit & reckless rider? Hell, it doesn’t even work on those children that racing on “Basikal Nyamuk” or their parents. STOP WASTING MONEY!
The money is better spend to build a jail to house them. Just remand them for 48 hours for investigation in cell 1.5m X 1.5m X 1.5m (save space, can build a lot). Go in once, they will not want to go in again. Then, we can called this “Lesson Learned”
There is enforcement, no doubt about that. However, the government enforcement agencies are not helping by offering 50% discounts without discretion. Notwithstanding, why are car companies touting the 0-100 km/h speed test to sell their cars?
In the 80’s I owned a reconditioned Toyota Corolla that was installed with a speed limiter warning. When you reached 70 km/h (I don’t remember exactly), the alarm would set off. If you do not slow down, the engine power will be cut off. I am sure with the technology available today, better implementation of the crude system is possible.
Many of these young riders have attitude problems and not cooperative even with their parents
Enforcement got or not?
The officials should take action mah, don’t just target motorist on phone.
Guess out of the 90%, how many are mat rempit vs grab & foodpanda riders who are consistently hitting red lights just to hit their delivery targets? Also, it’s high time that govt banned smaller motorcycles or kapchais on highways with toll and ensure they use the bike lanes wherever available.
As for those youths riding without license, strict actions should be taken on their parents or guardians.
90% that perished are youths that will not bring value to the society. they are reckless with their lives and they are the future B40 generation. let nature takes its cause and if they value their lives, they would’ve ride bikes responsibly.