While a motor vehicle is many things to many people, Toyota president and CEO Koji Sato is firmly of the opinion that cars should be enjoyable. “A car is not a car if it’s not fun. That’s why we will never allow our cars to become commodities,” Sato said, according to Toyota in-house publication Toyota Times.
According to Sato, the time of “cars simply being sold by having better [catalogue specifications]” are gone, and concurred in response to an observation that the industry is seeing fewer cars which are exciting and fun to drive.
“We can no longer sell cars just with model updates, slightly better fuel efficiency, or new designs. It comes down to your passion for making products that move people’s hearts. Of course, sports cars need to be sleek, but unless that same passion can be found in other types of cars, you won’t be able to reach customers,” Sato continued.
It is that mindset which Sato intends to instil in each of Toyota’s project teams. “That is the Toyota I want to create, and I will continue working on that this year,” the Japanese manufacturer’s president and CEO said.
Sato took to the post of president and CEO after his predecessor Akio Toyoda stepped down in April 2023, after Toyoda had held the position since 2009.
Enthusiasts of fun-to-drive cars should be able to take comfort in Sato’s position on what cars should be, given that he succeeds Toyoda who is a keen racer, having entered races such as the Nürburgring 24 Hours in 2010 with the Lexus LFA and more recently under the Rookie Racing banner in a hydrogen-fuelled Corolla.
Really? Fun? Then how about explaining Asean Vios, Corolla & Camry?
Took the words right out of my mouth. It’s easy for them to point towards their GR range but they really need to walk the talk when it comes to the rest of their model lineup, especially when it comes to their ASEAN market products wearing the same badge.
Corolla and Asean Vios also can’t even beat rival from Honda, Mazda and even Mitsubishi
Asian market always tin kosong spec
The fun of owning a Vios is perhaps in the possibility that you keep driving it for years while all your other friends look for other cars. The Corolla is pretty nifty already. And the Camry is more than adequate to have a bit of fun in. I wouldn’t consider either one a commodity.
Sure the Swift Sport or a Mini are fun. But they are also louder, stiffer, tighter, and not to mention, more expensive to maintain. So, daily driving them may not as fun in the long run.
With electric cars, you certainly could have your cake and eat it too. But the lifestyle changes required to operate BEVs affordably can strip away some of the fun.
Want more fun, don’t buy Toyota
Agree but those people who don’t know cars and also quality, will buy this car brand. Rather buy any brands. Even hyundai/kia also better than toyota
You didn’t try any brands, that’s why you said that
Since when driving Corolla fun?
Since when Toyota became Lotus or Ferrari? No one relates Toyota to fun. Lol. Sohai punya Jepunis. Jepunis sudah desperate dan jadi kaki spin seperti kawan baik dia di India
Want to buy real car with more fun and quality, better buy hyundai and kia, not this brand. Even those people who know cars will not buy this brand
from the company who known for their boring cars until GT86….. even Honda have cheapo Civic to be fun
until recently, your genuine GR starts to be fun but at cost of arm and legs
thats’s rich coming from Toyota..what sells in JDM? boxy kei cars, not sports car
Good to make Japanese car even tougher for cina ev to catch up
Check again before you comment, afraid that your comment will be otherwise, toyota fanboy. Even other japan cars also beats toyota too :)
Poor toyota durability also not fun, better stick with honda, mazda, nissan and mitsubishi if want more fun with good durable too
Fanboy for the fanboy. Looking forward for more fun car.
Hahahahahah Toyota fun? Bro. JDM maybe. Local Malaysia? Hope there’s a shift in that in the future.
a car will never be fun it is expensive
Then Toyota is not making car!
Uncle car is no fun
Toyota equals fun is like comparing eating plain porridge is fun.
If EV can be charged 10% – 80% at 10 min and giving a range of realistic drive of 500km, I find no reason why should retain the ICE. ICE car we need maintenance for engine and gear oil, fan belt, spark plug, brakepad and brake disc, tensioner pulley (conti car), engine mounting etc. The maintenance and repair cost itself easily more than 10-15k within 7 years.
But in EV basically we worry free of these maintenance cost. People will never worry about oil leaking, water pump issue and others. EV only need to change wipers, 12v battery (last very long), aircond filter and tyres. Some EV brands suggest to change reducer oil and brake fluid along. All these items cost not high and most important thing is all these items are also needed for ICE. But many others ICE maintenance services are not required in EV.
Some people said EV is polution as the energy source is not green and also the battery manufacturing process. But one must not forget environmental friendly also need consider that EV do not need to change engine and gear oil, engine mounting, spark plug, fan belts and some other things that ICE need regular service. This is not only saving of money but also saving the earth.
Want a car buy Europe car design, want a transport buy Toyota and Perodua