JPJ to enforce ban on heavy vehicles driving continuously on the fast lane – up to RM4k fine, jail

JPJ will step up enforcement of the ban on heavy vehicles driving continuously on the fast lane, focusing on goods vehicles (lorries) and public service vehicles such as buses. The road transport department said in a statement yesterday that this is an effort to reduce accidents involving heavy vehicles.

Through Kaedah 4A Kaedah-Kaedah Lalu Lintas Jalan 1959, goods vehicles and public service vehicles are not allowed to drive continuously on the rightmost lane on any road or highway except for when overtaking a vehicle in front of it.

Those found guilty can be given a maximum compound of RM300 and if found guilty by the court, one can be fined no more than RM2,000 or be jailed not over six months for the first offence. For the second offence onwards, one can be fined no more than RM4,000 or face jail of not over 12 months, or both.

JPJ says that tighter enforcement will be carried out continuously to ensure a high level of adherence of road safety regulations in Malaysia. The department says that it’s taking seriously the recent trend of heavy vehicle accidents causing deaths of other road users.

Reports of heavy vehicles breaking the law can be sent via e-Aduan@JPJ in the MyJPJ app or sent via email to [email protected].

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kariayam on May 29, 2025 at 10:45 am

How about enforcing a minimum speed on heavy vehicles, because some of them are so overloaded they can barely climb a speed bump

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Bus Driver on May 29, 2025 at 3:10 pm

The problem is they overload exceed the recommend limit. If we solve the overweight problem, we solve many accidents and traffic problem together.

• That would only result in heavy weight laden lorries speed with more powerful replaced engines. Wouldn’t just penalising overloaded vehicles be good enough?

• you are right. Also apply min speed for cars, some they really drive overly slow on the mid lane or slow lane, causing traffic for unnecessary halts.

• RoadSafetyFirst on May 29, 2025 at 11:21 am

We see this EVERYDAY, at ALL TIMES. JPJ & Polis; please just ronda any highway at any time and then use on board video surveillance equipment to catch these thugs. And if “tak boleh”, then Transport Minister/Ministry please enact policy allowing use of such mobile video surveillance and enforcement equipment. You need to act NOW, the situation on our roads is getting out of control.

Also since JPJ is getting technical now, then technically hogging the middle lane is also an offence; plus it dramatically cuts down on traffic capacity. Please do these enforcement for this also! And noisy exhausts. And dark tinted windows (including windscreens full of sunshades!). And overloading. And mud-covered license plate/rear lamps/reflector stickers…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • DonkeyKong on May 29, 2025 at 1:05 pm

Another easy money for JPJ but never enforced – vehicles that drive with their rear fog lights turned on at all times!

I’ve seen morons driving with high beam and rear fog lights on at night, blinding other road users front and back, pass by police cars and JPJ SUVs, and nothing ever happens. They’re never stopped or flagged down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • JPJ APP on May 30, 2025 at 9:42 am

Did you know you can report this on the JPJ App?

All you need to do is download and make reports with evidence such as picture and video to show the offence.

Do your part, make official complaint.

• Autodriver on May 29, 2025 at 11:28 am

I hope ministry of human resource will allow companies to hire foreign workers to drive lorries and buses, just like Singapore. Many drivers in SG are from Malaysia, China and other countries.

We know one of the biggest issue of lorry and bus accidents is the “DRIVER”. Almost every companies in Malaysia are shortage of drivers. Not many local people want to be driver and even if got driver it is hard to get them work 6 days a week. For those drivers who came to work the company “incentivize” themn to work OT. The driver who keen to earn extra they overloaded themselves and some take drug to make them spirit enough to take extra work and accident happened always on the overloaded drivers.

Solution is simple, hire foreign worker by giving them work permit. Regulate them have to comply with all JPJ regulation and if fail withdraw their work permit. Those local people who blame foreign workers steal their job, first ask yourself do you want to take up this job or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Eh... on May 29, 2025 at 12:33 pm

While we’re at it, can have a minimum speed on the middle lane as well?

I don’t blame the heavy vehicles if they have to overtake a middle lane hogger doing 70 on the NKVE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • DonkeyKong on May 29, 2025 at 1:02 pm

This is total BS. Menteri-menteri sekalian, try traveling between KL and Ipoh on the PLUS highway in unmarked cars and experience it yourselves. These bloody murderers will be driving dangerously and threatening other road users across all lanes of the highway. Even if you’re traveling at 110km/h-120km/h on the middle lane, buses and trailers will be tailgating 1 foot behind your car with absolutely no room to prevent any fatal accident should anything happen.

Instead of fines, all heavy vehicle drivers should be slapped with attempted murder charges. Any “accident” caused by them are never accidents. They have obvious motives to kill other road users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • wong chin kong on May 29, 2025 at 1:46 pm

A very timely good move. But please check what are loaded or overloaded on these lorries. Very long and thick log timbers on lorries, sand and rubbish, even a dozen full grown live cows on a lorry! Contents on moving lorries are flying missiles upon collision.

• Rasam and banana leaf rice on May 29, 2025 at 1:55 pm

Mama Mia! Why stops me cruising at fast lane with my heavyweight 4.5tonnes Cybertruck?

• Surprised it took so long for the authority to realise heavy vehicles are hogging the fast lanes. On the Elite highway, they usually take up at least 2 lanes, sometimes all the 3 lanes, causing heavy congestion.

• The Saint on May 29, 2025 at 4:10 pm

The problem with Malaysia has never been the lack of rules and regulations. It has always been the lack of enforcement.

Just observe at any traffic lights junction how many motorbikes beat the red lights.

• myJPJ has a e-Aduan. I’m not sure how effective JPJ handle this complain. If we see anyone violate the traffic rule, perform your right to report the offender. More people report will help us to create a safe road.

• Anonymous on May 29, 2025 at 4:54 pm

TCSS la

• Raymond on May 29, 2025 at 10:49 pm

I just followed a trailer truck doing in excess of 100km/h. Not only that he was overtaking on the left and was switching lanes aggresively. That is an accident waiting to happen. Emulate Singapore already !! Install a speed limiter that kills the engine if speed limit is exceeded. Seems to work there….

• Hangat hangat tahi ayam je.

• Krishnasamy on May 30, 2025 at 7:59 am

Jpj just telling tis for years but no action. No more fast lane for heavy vehicles if there’s a 3 lane roads. If 2 lane they hv to go back to 2nd after overtaking.

• opmanmy on May 30, 2025 at 8:38 am

Come to Port Klang la! Easily 7 out of 10 heavy vehicles are either speeding or overloaded. Macam la tak tahu…dah lama nih…perrgh.

• awaKL on May 30, 2025 at 9:23 am

But heavy vehicle will use the reason eh I am overtaking only since the middle lane are now the slowest among all as people are thinking eh if I stay in middle lane anyone hits me I can claim from their insurance but if I am at slow and and fast lane if I hit the barriers its on own insurance – so smart or not.

• We may need more Ai CCTV, while stepping forward for Driver-less Robotaxi era.

– to catch road hogger,
    – to catch speeding
    – to catch heavy trucks at wrong lane
    etc.

• Majlis on May 30, 2025 at 1:24 pm

All talk…. enforcement tarak….. what a waste of ink….

• JPJ aduan is not effective. The only way is to appoint unmark car with CCTV or inboard camera to capture the act of this King Monster driver. They will tailgate the car travelling at 90 Km/h or 100 Km especially Prime Mover with skeletal trailer without any consideration.
      Taking picture n submit to e – aduan JPJ is a questionable choice from both parties.
      Token incentive to public which record commercial vehicles violation any road offence.
      This will make it easier for the driver to think wisely before committing the offence

• Sad, needless lose of precious life.
    If only all road user respect the traffic rules and actually follow it our road will be a safest place. Unfortunately is not the case. Most disregard because they can get way easily. You guess as good as mine! Like the saying “go, all talk, no show”

• stasta on May 31, 2025 at 5:15 pm

as many others had pointed out it’s the reckless attitude of the driver which caused most accidents.
    we can see the same attitude of many bike riders daily on the road. if a bike crashes usually only the rider is killed but if a heavy vehicle crashes a lot of innocents may die.