Perodua QV-E name and logo trademarked in Malaysia – name revealed for new EV launching this year?

Perodua has filed a trademark application for QV-E name and logo with the Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO), as sighted by local automotive news site CarPlus.

The QV-E logo sighted here wears blue accents, partially on the ‘Q’ and on the ‘E’ in its entirety, the colour typically used to signify electrification, or otherwise being “earth-friendly” in the larger automotive sphere. There isn’t official confirmation of the QV-E name at this point, though Perodua has previously also filed “Qve” with MyIPO, as sighted by Funtasticko in July last year, which lends weight to this iteration of the name.

The image of the red crossover seen here – to which we’ve appended the QV-E logo – is based on Perodua’s final EV prototype at the Malaysia Autoshow 2025 as rendered by Theophilus Chin, who was also at MAS 2025.

So far, we know that Perodua’s first EV will have a targeted real-world range of between 400 km to 410 km, with a LFP battery from CATL. Performance targets are a 0-100 km/h time of between six and seven seconds, and a top speed of around 165 km/h.

As something that is aimed at a very broad section of the market, battery health and replacement costs are of concern to the general public, and to that end Perodua is taking ownership of its first EV’s batteries with a Battery-as-a-Service (BaaS) scheme.

This lowers the cost of the car and ensures that owners will always have a battery in the best condition, and a battery swap can be conducted in just 30 minutes, says Perodua. More about what we know so far on Perodua’s first EV, here.

GALLERY: Perodua eMO final prototype at MAS 2025

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Persatuan Ostronesian Rumpun Kebangsaan on May 31, 2025 at 8:37 am

Finally we can drive EV version of C-HR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • This project is basically doing a national service. P2 knows it. No everyday car brand would want to develop a model if they only expect to sell 500 units a month.

• BaaS is not new in the industry,
    But it helped to raised it sustainability.

China Premium Brand, Nio also have this BaaS option, Vinfast premium models also have it.

After 10 years, it’s lucky still can run with good Battery at no burden to spend 5 digits for battery replacement. Or even it could support new Battery Tech too.

• The first Malaysia Sport SUV on May 31, 2025 at 1:15 pm

Copy sebiji bulat bulat Communist CCP car

Malaysia BOLEH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • Sabri on May 31, 2025 at 2:28 pm

Qve? Queue until charge ev ke

• Finally no china ev on Jun 01, 2025 at 3:10 pm

Well done Perodua

• meme lord on Jun 02, 2025 at 9:39 am

using the letter Q for EV is gonna unlock all the memes about having to queue at charging stations… whoever picked this is an insider troll

• Kurious Worm on Jun 03, 2025 at 9:59 am

i missed the days when Perodua name their cars with cute animals. I was hoping this new car be named Perodua Merak

• Spencer on Jun 02, 2025 at 10:55 am

Let’s be honest

1.Can Perodua bring the HYPE with this car?

2.What is the Actual cost of the Whole Battery pack?

3.Will this car sell well ?

4.Will customers be satisfied after buying this Perodua EV?

5.What is the Actual cost to REPLACE the whole battery pack when it’s damaged?

6.Since Malaysia is always warm most of the time, will the Heat affect the car’s range?

And lastly

7.Can this car compete with other EV competitors?

• Fabian Chong on Jun 02, 2025 at 1:00 pm

Here’s the thing, if UMW and Perodua just want to do cost-cuttings on their cars…. Like still sticking with the 4-speed CVT gearbox, no auto adjustable right and left mirrors, small wheels, noisy ECO Mode, no backup camera, No front-facing camera, no front and rear dashcams, Cheaply-made radio from the 2000s, cheap plastic dashboard, low ground clearance and a prize range from RM 40,000+ to RM70, 000+, then forget about going into electrification. If UMW and Perodua just want to sacrifice Safety and Handling for profits and NOT improving their ICE cars, imagine their EVs. Ya forget about making EVs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
    • Bel Jin on Jun 02, 2025 at 10:35 pm

Hello. Which cave you sleep? Dont you know perodua and toyota both under Sime Darby now? No more UMW, UMW is strictly engineering conglomerate only.

And fyi last year toyota malaysia sold 100k cars. Nearest competitor Honda only did over 80k units. What rubbish you talking CVT got 4 speed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 64
      • #$%^*&**859364021 on Jun 05, 2025 at 2:39 pm

Bel Jin..He said Perodua is still sticking with the same old 4-speed CVT gearbox for their new models , better go and test drive any NEW Perodua car first before just calling people’s comment rubbish . Whether its UMW TOYOTA , SIME DARBY OR Perodua Perodua ‘s new cars still feel like its from the mid-2010s still noisy and very underpowored . Toyota sold many NEW cars but did you know Toyota also recalled many of their NEWER models. Toyota used to be a reliable car brand, nowadays Toyota is sooo focus on PHEVs , hydrids and downsizing engines on their NEWER models , and later recall sooo many of them. but of course here in Malaysia , big companies like UMW, SIME DARBY and Perodua have sooo much of money, they can pay our Malaysian Media and JPJ to NOT talk about the recalls that soooo many people have to suffer and get their cars fix……twice or more. People like you need to think first before just calling people’s comment rubbish. Is this how your parents raised you up?

• #%%#$%^ on Jun 05, 2025 at 2:41 pm

is this how your parents raised you up?

• Dominic on Jun 05, 2025 at 7:13 pm

Whether UMW and Perodua are owned or NOT Owned by SIME DARBY , Perodua’s New models still feel so outdated, underpowored, unsafe and noisy , no difference. What makes you think that UMW and Perodua will ever come out with a car that is cool, outstanding ,safe and fun to drive, short answer: NEVER! Even after SIME DARBY acquired both companies, the NEW TOYOTA MODELS don’t last as long as their Predecessors . READ OTHER PEOPLE’S COMMENT FIRST BEFORE JUST SAYING THEY TALK RUBBISH. WHAT IS THE POINT OF HAVING KNOWLEGDE, YET DON’T KNOW HOW TO EXPLAIN….AND EXPLAIN IN A VULGAR MANNER. I agree with what other people said, is this how your parents raised you and taught you to direspect others ?

• ::!_#_-#@)/-( on Jun 10, 2025 at 9:13 am

Bel Jin…..he said about Perodua’s car specification he DID NOT said about the sales numbers ,and you talk about Toyota’s sales numbers……and you said people talk rubbish? What kind of Troll are you? Also soooo many NEW Toyota and Perodua cars still have the same old noisy CVT . And what is the point of having knowledge….when you can’t explain to people’s comments properly . People like you make me sick….. only like to show your arrogance to other people as if you think you are above everyone and no one is better than you, guess what, no one cares everyone makes mistakes that’s just part of life.

• If BYD with so many fire cases in mainland and abroad can sell, P2 shouldn’t have much problem selling their ev.

• alldisc on Jun 02, 2025 at 4:44 pm

Why is Proton Deputy CEO resignation not covered in English section? And under what circumstances did he leave? Pressure of no sales? Why Dr Li Chunrong still stay as CEO when all the targets not achieved?

Remember. In 2016 when Proton and Geely began collaborating, the targets were :-

After 10 years, Proton is no.1 in Malaysia.
    In 2025 Proton should be able to produce 250k units annually including export.
    In 2030, Proton wants to be no 3 in Asean.

Proton only doing a mere 120k units a year now, after 10 years with Geely onboard. Making it hard for dealers ROI (number of dealers are more than 100 with a number of dealers having several outlets).

• Bob Mal on Jun 03, 2025 at 12:54 pm

1 Word 3Cyl engine for all the China made vehicle on who’s to blame then there will be so many parties including ourselves.

• Diam-ler on Jun 03, 2025 at 9:15 am

Should have name it Perodua Uruz

• Paul Chan on Jun 03, 2025 at 10:00 am

finally a new P2 car without the annoying eco-idle.