The Malaysian government will prioritise the repairs of critically damaged roads as it would cost RM4 billion to repair all damaged roads in the country, reported Bernama.
“We already have complete data on the dangerous roads and the financial requirements. If we were to repair them all at once, we would need RM4 billion. Since we don’t have that allocation, we have to do it in stages,” works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi has said.
The ministry has already identified roads that are in critical condition through its existing database, and repairs will be carried out based on urgency, the works minister said. “We know which roads are severely damaged and we will prioritise those. Roads that are damaged but not critically will be attended to later,” he said.
Regarding efforts by the works ministry on its efforts to identify and repair damaged roads following the bus crash in Gerik that claimed the lives of 15 students and injured 33 others, Nanta said that improvements to the Gerik-Jeli stretch of the East-West Highway have been planned this year, involving an allocation of RM55 million that includes the installation of 385 street lamps and road line markings for improved visibility.
Regarding suggestions fo the installation of guardrails at high-risk locations, the works ministry is open to public feedback, including views which are shared online, Nanta said. “We take into account all views, from the public, netizens and relevant stakeholders. We will evaluate every suggestion carefully,” he said.
would love to know the government’s definition of critical. be transparent on this
If there is no mechanism of fast detection,n quick response..even Rm100 Billion is just a huge money pit.
Somemore with a corrupted JPJ and Puspakom,overloaded lorries will continue “opening” more road lobangs within hours.
From Ling Liong Sik,Wee Wee to Ahlokekor…nothing has changed.
Quoting billions in government spending seem a norm now for this Madani era.
How else the cronies will be enriched, like the MyKiosk issue.
So sad, the country going downhill fast and we the rakyat are bailing them out with paying extra taxes left right and center.
In my opinion, if quality of work repair being done, the road needs to repair multiple times. The government office never have proactively identified roads that need repair, they repair after being complained by people using, sometimes took them few days to weeks to entertain the complaints. It quicker when it causing dead and being reported to news. They need to do proactively maintenance of roads.
Lepas repair rosak, lepas buat korek. Should ban contractor yang buat kerja tak follow requirement, contractor untung, rakyat rugi
Just need to invite CCP Premier many more times to Malaysia and best if can cover all roads for him to pass through. Just look at roads near KLIA or any roads used when he came. All newly repaired with sparkling white lines. Our roads state is worst than what it was 20 years ago. As long as there is sub-con bertingkat-tingkat, RM40 billion also won’t be enough.
Ministry pls give breakdown how u derive RM4B for the repair cost…. the rakyat wants to know the formula.
Bitumen and gravel very expensive ?
Do proper repair that includes remedying the foundation in order for it to last. what we often see is a shoddy patch up where contractors come and slap on a superficial layer only which will crack up and disintegrate within weeks. Even road resurfacing work is done half heartedly where they simply re-tar over damaged stretch without scraping off the old layer and redoing the foundation and drainage.
look at Kuantan,Pahang. have been ‘Bandaraya’ since 2021. road condition never change, potholes almost in every road and never improved.
Think about it if it was all critical roads then maybe 99% will all be in Sabah first however here pratically OK roads also will get resurfacing especially noting if it is close to Politician houses, during kenduri, during election, then after that dig and dig to find maybe gold and damage the road again.
Roadtax collected should more than government need for the repair
RM 4B to repair road use gold and silver , statement itself showing corruption level , guaranteed it would never ever change
RM4 billion to repair potholes properly or just the usual tampal here there and after a month and some heavy rain the pothole buka again?
We can’t even seem to resurface roads the way they should be…just pile on layers of tar over the old one until the road sama height as the kerb. But all the lubang underneath still there. Road base…what road base?
remove stacking of pensions by politicians, government will have enough money to pay for all road repairs.
No matter how much money you poured in to repair the roads, if the issue of corruption and over weight lorry are not addressed, it will soon back to square one.
collect all the taxes but semua hilang
Lepas repair, other contractor will come korek lobang and install piping. Then only the contractor got long term contract to repair again. Didnt you notice this trend? This is alwats the way.
4 billion but only will use maybe if lucky 1 billion. 3 billion will go missing. 3rd party contractors will show up, putting cheap materials and lousy stones, not special layer like thailand roads. After 1-2 weeks hole reappears. Wait another few years, then steal again. Rinse and repeat for past 60 plus years.
Malaysia memang boleh. We seens the same old rubbish for decades.
How many % of the RM4b masuk pocket tho
Repair today. Bulan depan rosak again. At least i know for my place Ipoh.