Full enforcement of the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) for Singaporean vehicles entering Malaysia began yesterday, but some Singaporeans still face issues linking their RFID tags to the Touch ‘n Go app, reports Bernama, who spoke to some of them at the Danga Bay VEP centre.
According to the news agency, Singaporeans were lining up as early as 8.30 am to register, install RFID tags and resolve issues regarding linking their RFID tags to the Touch ‘n Go app.
“To me, the registration process was easy, but I was not able to update it on my phone. We’re worried this will cause problems at the border. My wife and I tried many times, but it still didn’t work, so we came here because we don’t want to be fined.
“It would be helpful if clear guidelines are displayed on mirrors or walls so users can refer to them easily,” said 60-year old Mohd Nagit Kassim, who travels to Johor Bahru almost weekly.
Also having problems linking his RFID to the Touch ‘n Go app was 56-year old private-sector employee Sunny Koh. “I applied for VEP in November last year, and the process was quite fast and easy. I don’t know why I couldn’t link it with Touch ‘n Go. That’s why I came here, and I hope it can be settled today,” the father of one said.
“I registered with JPJ a long time ago, but the RFID couldn’t be linked to the Touch ‘n Go. So I had to come to the counter and bring all my documents. I have tried using a laptop, but still couldn’t solve the problem. I’ve been here since 8 am and had to wait quite a while. It took nearly half an hour for each person at the counter,” said 59-year old housewife Fauziah Alias.
“Many people are probably facing the same issue, failure to link RFID with Touch ‘n Go. So I hope the system can be improved. Otherwise, we’ll face difficulties exiting Malaysia and may have to pay fines,” she added.
Bernama reported yesterday that 42,416 Singaporean individual private vehicles (17% of the 248,504 tags issued) have yet to activate their VEP RFID tags as of June 29. Singaporean cars without an activated VEP will face an immediate RM300 compound in line with Section 66H(7) of the Road Transport Act 1987 (Act 333) and will not be allowed to leave Malaysia until the compound is paid and the VEP is activated.
Tak suka don’t come in malaysia la. Demand banyak banyak. We all go singapore so much rules and requirements.
system cock up. don’t blame singaporeans. please don’t use this loser mentality. its really awful.
Eh sinkie you think you so high and mighty ah? Like call Malaysians loser so badly ah.
Just dont come to sg. Don’t come here earn and talk much when back in your country
Malaysia belong to you ah ?
Don’t come to Singapore too. Thank u and goodbye. Don’t come here earn and complaint.
Tipu la all these singaporeans. didn’t link and do last minute work want to criticise the system. If want to come to malaysia don’t complain so much. else just stay in your country.
So progressive Singaporeans still doing thing last minute meh..or is it Malaysians who got Singapore’s PR.
many people no problem.. why until your turn then got problem? stop coming into JB making my wantan mee more n more expensive…
So many malaysians sour about singaporeans coming over. why such loser mentality. btw the VEP is shit and the whole process is shit. website is forever crashing and so many issues deregistering a car from the system. doesn’t help that they don’t respond to calls or emails. you want singaporeans to do this can and trust me can charge sgd$300 also no problem but just make the whole system and process easier and make the website better. want to gouge for their money can but please lah don’t implement a stupid system that you can’t even make work right.
I have being using RFID with Touch n Go for six years and never had problems.
Recently, I applied VEP for another car under my wife’s name. Registration was rejected, I called hot line and immediately the lady informed that my wife used a different email address before. From then everything was plain straight forward.
Understand your frustration, but they are not so bad.
Aiyah. So many moons given to make change, why only last minute? So kiasu one meh.
I applied the RFID since july 2024 and only mid june 2025 get the RFID linked to touch n Go .
I have emailed to Danga Bay agent CC to Menteri Besar Office , then they start to response after a few weeks.
They Really need to improve on the system esp link RFID to Touch n Go part as TnG need passport no but RFID need ur NRIC. system sure crash . until I sent Good remarks to Johor MB Onn Hafiz then they act . The MB also angry that they take long time to reply email . Its really painful experience and Show they take double the VEP cost as service charge yet service F* Up for so long. Msia boleh boleh . Don Disgrace Bangsa Johor Pls
I applied for a VEP tag for more than 1 year and finally got approval end of last year with an email informing that my tag has been “activated”. But when I used it – either at Tuas or Woodlands link, it does not register and the staff from VEP stationed there cannot solve my problem and asked me to use my TnG card to pay the RM20 and let me passed. I’ve been doing that since for many times without problem. Now that there is this strict law to ensure that our connection to pay via our TnG link is synchronized to the VEP Tag and RFID – must work or we shall get a fine?? If the VEP officer cannot help and the system also cannot help and we cannot use the TnG card to pay ? We are only forced to pay a fine of RM300 or jail? Is that logical? Why not the operators of this VEP systems let the TnG organization to take over the whole process – as the TnG organization is more effective and have a more efficient IT team? Or… seriously for the VEP team to humbly place a proper team in Spore to get this done properly?? Think longer term … as the benefits shall be visible and not to give bad international publicity that Malaysian government. – as “whatever they do always failed”?? People from Singapore are truly frustrated to drive over to Malaysia. If that’s the objective of Malaysia government – then, they have succeeded subtly!
I have applied for two times , still not successful. Don’t know why?
VEP is a sistem that is riddled with issues and destined for failure. Improperly stress-tested and shoddily implemented. We think it only affects S’porean but it makes us a global laughing stock!
you choose to go or go batam loh, don’t trouble your self bros
I think those who encountered problems are those who choose to use the RFID Tag that is pasted on the head light. I didn’t encountered any problem with this. I think it is important to take note that the RFID Tag needs to be at the centre of the head light and needs at least 3cm from the metall surface of the car, like the Barne, the front grill and the side fender. Otherwise, there maybe interference resulting in failure in detection of RFID Tag.
The best thing is to install the internal RFID Tags. It is more troublesome to go to the installation centre in Singapore (Woodlands Industrial park) and need to pay another fee for the internal RFID Tag and installation fee. There is less problem.