BMW Thailand has launched the second-generation 2 Series Gran Coupe (2GC), less than a month after the F74 debut in Malaysia. Like us, our northern neighbours get the 2GC in CKD locally assembled form, but there’s a big difference in specs.
We get the 2GC in 218 form with Sport trim, but the Thais can buy the junior four-door coupe as a 220 M Sport Pro. I initially thought that this would be the same 1.5-litre three-cylinder turbo that we get the 218, but with a mild hybrid system integrated – as per the 220 we sampled at the F74’s international media drive earlier this year – but no.
Instead, Thailand gets a 2.0-litre four-cylinder turbo engine with 204 hp and 300 Nm from 1,450 to 4,500 rpm. Paired to a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic sending drive to the front wheels, 0-100 km/h is done in 7.3 seconds and top speed is 250 km/h.
This is 48 hp and 70 Nm more than our three-pot 218, which is also 1.3 seconds slower to 100 km/h (8.6 seconds) and tops out at 20 km/h lower (230 km/h). The Thai 2GC is even a tenth faster than our G20 320i.
Aside from the higher level of performance, the Thai 2GC also looks sportier than what we have – the M Sport Pro trim means that Thais get a car that’s similar to what’s in official press photos, right up there in the sporty meter short of the M235 xDrive, an M Performance car.
Here, you see the same 19-inch Y-spoke M alloys, M-coloured stitching on the dash and extended gloss black exterior treatment as per our test drive report, plus a bootlid spoiler and BMW’s Iconic Glow illumination for the kidney grille. Other goodies that Thai buyers get over us include Harman Kardon audio and a panoramic glass roof.
Is the new 2GC more appealing in this spec (and Portimao Blue colour)? Of course, it comes at a price – the Thai-market 220 M Sport Pro is priced at 2,199,000 baht- that’s equivalent to RM285,335, which can get you a 3 Series here. Our 218 Sport’s RRP is RM218,800 on-the-road before insurance with a two-year unlimited-mileage warranty, or RM240,500 with the optional five-year warranty and service package included. That’s slightly cheaper than the final edition of the original 2GC, which went for RM244,400 with BSRI.
The 2GC is just a touch larger than before. While the 2,670 mm wheelbase and 1,800 mm width are unchanged, overall length is up by 20 mm to 4,546 mm, and height is up 25 mm to 1,445 mm. Boot volume is unchanged at 430 litres.
More on the latest 2 Series Gran Coupe in our launch report and test drive report. What’s your take on this entry-level BMW?
GALLERY: F74 BMW 220 Gran Coupe M Sport Pro, Thailand spec
GALLERY: F74 BMW 218 Gran Coupe Sport, Malaysia spec
Looks like the previous VIOS Keli..
Peugeot rear tail-lamp, nice!
Considering the new Peugeot 408 1.6TGDi manages 218 PS/300 NM this BMW 2.0L TGDi only 204 PS/ 300Nm is Meh!
Comedy car
A face only a mother can love.
The previous version design is better, this version looks funny, LOL