A recent viral video showing an altercation between a group of cyclists and a bus driver has raised a question – do cyclists have a right to ride on Malaysian roads? Malaysian law, specifically the Road Transport Act 1987, together with the Road Traffic Rules 1959, has clear definitions on what constitutes a bicycle and a cyclist, and the applicable laws thereof.
A bicycle is defined under Malaysian law as a vehicle equipped with pedals for cycling, human powered, and able to be used on- or off-road. There are also definitions for e-bikes and mopeds under the Road Traffic Rules (Prohibition of Use for certain Micromobility Vehicles) 2021, but for the purposes of this article, we shall confine ourselves to pure bicycles.
The law states cyclists must ride single-file on roads, and this is laid out under Rule 42(3) of the Road Traffic Rules. The rule is absolute and does not allow riding abreast regardless of type of road, with failure to do so entailing a charge under Section 119 of the Road Transport Act, with a RM2,000 fine or a maximum jail term of six months.
As for riding on highways, this is covered under Section 79(2) of the Road Transport Act which states cycling is prohibited where there is a lawfully placed sign on or near any road. Any person disobeying such a sign, by driving or propelling any vehicle, who fails or neglects to conform to the indication given by the sign, is liable to a fine of not less than RM200 and not more than RM2,000.
Coming to the use of the emergency lane on highways and other main roads for cycling, this is prohibited under Rule 53 of the Road Traffic Rules. The offence falls under Section 119, and has the same penalty of a RM2,000 fine or a maximum jail term of six months.
Riding on the sidewalk is also disallowed, in case you were going to be outraged and say, “where am I supposed to cycle, on the five-foot-way, is it?”, the law says no other vehicle, other than an invalid carriage (not being a motor vehicle) or a perambulator, or a toy vehicle ridden or driven by a child below twelve years of age, shall be used or kept on a footpath. This falls under Rule 44 of the Road Traffic Rules and can be penalised under Section 119.
Meanwhile, helmets for motorcyclists are mandatory under the Motorcycle (Helmet) Rules 1973 as enacted under the Road Transport Act but Malaysian law is silent on usage of helmets for cycling. However, almost all cycling groups tend to self-police helmet usage, and usually make wearing a helmet a must, enforcing the rule, “no helmet, no ride.”
There is also Rule 42(1)(c) of the Road Traffic Rules which states no person shall ride a bicycle or tricycle on any road while holding any article in either hand. This rule is somewhat ambiguous, in which it would be an offence for you to take a sip from your bidon or eat a muesli bar, or, for that matter, record viral videos of encounters with bus drivers.
The intent of the rule would be more for not carrying an object which would adversely affect the balance of the bicycle, such as carrying an open umbrella or a bag of groceries but that is a matter for a magistrate or judge to decide. The author has personally seen a cyclist in Amsterdam riding along the edge of a narrow canal, carry a big bag of bread in one hand and taking puffs from a cigarette in the other with no hands on the handlebar, but that’s subject to discussion for another day.
Use of a bell and lights is mandatory, as is having brakes on both wheels of a bicycle. Failure to adhere to the rules for brakes and bell, Rule 42(1)(a), and, lights, Rule 35 of the Road Traffic Rules, is subject to RM2,000 fine or a maximum prison term of six months.
Other laws cover things like riding while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs, reckless riding, careless and inconsiderate riding and causing death by reckless or dangerous riding, falling under Section 41, 42, 43, 44, 45 of the Road Transport Act. It should also be noted authorities are empowered under the Road Transport Act to seize your bicycle under Section 112(3) of the Road Transport Act.
The section states any police officer, road transport officer or traffic warden may detain any micromobility vehicle in respect of which an offence has been committed within his view. Something to think about when you’re riding your RM50,000 Colnago and trying to argue your right to cycle on the road to a police officer.
FOR simple reasons they do not pay ROAD TAX
Professor
Anjing Longkang Tampa Lesen Univercity of Lowyat
Many M40s complain on B40 mat rempits adults and basikal lajak youngs but themselves dont see their samseng bicycles abusing the highway lanes and getting into argument with legit road users.
In the end, everyone can point finger at others but you are all guilty in the JUDGE eyes.
These cyclists are at their own risk. They are being ignorant and somehow act like they own the road.
Firstly, the road is not damaged in any way by bicycles, unlike cars, and bicycles have been in use long before roads existed. The motorcar ousted the bicycle from areas they were already in and made streets unusable for anyone who doesn’t have a car. Highways, of course are an exception, but cyclists on highways don’t obstruct traffic if they ride on the shoulder. Secondly, The poor who commute by bicycle don’t deserve to be taxed further. Thirdly, the more wealthy who commute by choice for environmental or health reasons, or those who cycle recreationally or as professional athletes all pay tax on the vehicle(s) they own.
Finally, cyclists of all types are healthier than those who are sedentary, which significantly reduces the strain in the country’s medical system.
Europe is increasingly building infrastructure for multimodal transport and micro mobility vehicles, with bicycles being the primary mode of transport for most people. In central London, more trips are now made by bike than by car and the city is actively discouraging car use on roads.
I won’t continue with cycle tourism, but suffice it to say that we have hosted many people over the last few months who have cycled through SEA or the Australia to Europe route.
Pedestrian also don’t pay road tax. And since Malaysia has many places which are not pedestrian friendly…. So pedestrian have no rights to walk on roads especially at road shoulders?
Roadtax only applied to motor vehicle not bicycle. Go read Road Transport Act. Dont simply quote without knowing the fact. Its shows ur stupidity.
Cyclists Pay Taxes Too…
There’s a misconception floating around that roads are funded purely by car road tax—and that cyclists aren’t contributing. Let’s clear that up.
Malaysia’s roads are funded from a wide mix of sources: income tax, corporate tax, and yes—road tax. These all go into the government’s consolidated fund, which pays for road construction and maintenance. In fact, Budget 2025 alone allocated RM2.8 billion for federal roads and RM5.5 billion for state roads—funded by taxpayers, not just vehicle owners.
And guess what? Most cyclists DO own cars. We pay road tax. We pay income tax. SO we’re contributing just like everyone else.
So let’s stop pretending cyclists are freeloaders on public roads. We ride legally, we contribute financially, and most importantly—we’re human beings deserving of safety and respect.
YES, all cyclists must follow the rules just as all drivers must follow the rules. YES I agree the cyclists in the video should be riding single file on the road especially without shoulder, this is responsible and respectful to others.
But deliberate aggression—like swerving at cyclists with a bus or trying to intimidate riders off the road—is unacceptable. If you saw a pedestrian jaywalk, would you justify running them over? Breaking a minor rule doesn’t give anyone the right to endanger lives.
Roads are shared spaces. Respect isn’t optional—it’s essential.
According to them cyclist has 9 lives.
Like cats?
Like rats except they have money
Most of them have passed 8.
what about using motorcycle dedicated road? same rule applies?
if so…where are the officers? Saman la, if they can pay RM20k for a bicycle, they can afford the saman. I would put more manpower in this ‘revenue’ department.
That is only for motorbike. Not bicycle. But again motorbike pun tak faham, nak jugak lalu Federal Hgway cilok kereta. Even that area have dedicated motorcycle lane. Which is no traffic jam. Cannot brain also this kind of person. Maybe dia pun ride bicycle kat motor lane?
The next time you see that lane signboard look closely. It says “laluan sikal’. It can be both used by motorsikal and basikal. Just keep to the left lane if not overtaking. These cycle lanes have two lanes.
Yes, agree, not all motorbikes are saint and follow rules, same like cyclist. Also other vehicles!
Fix the bloody federal highway motorcycle lanes which is partly closed at some sections for years now, and the f-king floods. Its motorcycle not a floatation device.
Stop the cyclists from entering roads per the law that is already existing!
What we need is to start solving issues rather than having new ones surfacing and seemingly ignored by authority, we’re not making rojaks, the more the merrier?!
That lane is called laluan sikal. Can be both used for motorsikal and basikal.
so lorong bas can also be used by bas…ikal?
Why not? The lane is still at the left slow lane, right? That’s why the blue bicycle lane are also placed at the same corner.
Guess the law only applies to bicycle and others but for motorbike no problemo all good continue.
So far the only highway I see specifically has notice baring bicycles on the main road is Federal Highway.
What is road tax? the tax you paid to the government to use the road. So do you pay your road tax for your bicycle? I dont think so.
Firstly, the road is not damaged in any way by bicycles, unlike cars, and bicycles have been in use long before roads existed. The motorcar ousted the bicycle from areas they were already in and made streets unusable for anyone who doesn’t have a car. Highways, of course are an exception, but cyclists on highways don’t obstruct traffic if they ride on the shoulder. Secondly, The poor who commute by bicycle don’t deserve to be taxed further. Thirdly, the more wealthy who commute by choice for environmental or health reasons, or those who cycle recreationally or as professional athletes all pay tax on the vehicle(s) they own.
Finally, cyclists of all types are healthier than those who are sedentary, which significantly reduces the strain in the country’s medical system.
Europe is increasingly building infrastructure for multimodal transport and micro mobility vehicles, with bicycles being the primary mode of transport for most people. In central London, more trips are now made by bike than by car and the city is actively discouraging car use on roads.
I won’t continue with cycle tourism, but suffice it to say that we have hosted many people over the last few months who have cycled through SEA or the Australia to Europe
If use this logic….then pedestrians also have no right to walk on the roads.
Roadtax only applied for motor vehicles not bicycle.
All this mat ketat geng is T20 geng. Don’t cabar ok. Our house got ferrari lambo…all you myvi geng should we mat ketat spender geng.
All road hogging activities, including ultra slow motorbike should get thier penalties.
At the end of the day, any accidents are difficult to be avoided. They are not moving follow the expected Vehicles Speed.
Emergency braking required lengthy distance. From 80km/h to 0, it takes about 33m after the driver react, Yet the reacting time is already about 35m, Total braking distance is beyond 60m?
Can the pedestrian or cyclist get Saman in Malaysia? Is it JPJ or the Police to issue the Saman?
Road hoggers. And they take their own sweet time going to the side of the road or stop safely for other vehicles to pass causing the whole road in to be in crawl. And when we horn, they be furious at the vehicles. Due to their speed, cars are literally near full stop at times (as some cyclist dont go full speed usually). I nearly hit a motorbike and other cars trying to over take on many occasions. Who is to liable for my accident then?
if you wants to be a cyclists, better learn the rules and survey the route if it is suitable for cyclists. not all roads or highways is suitable for cyclist.
face it we haven’t come to the state where town planning have provision for promoting cycling in cities or between city and sub-urban area.
MBPP does made specific cycling pathways within Bayan Lepas area. kudos to MBPP… notice the route is continuing to expand. late last year my bro-in-law had a tumble while riding along batu maung main road. luckily no major accident other than broken collar bone. well cycling always comes with a risk. so plan your route well and have self policing of good practise
oh ya… i think our road traffic regulation dont seems to address ebike correctly. nowadays mountain bikes and roadbikes may come with electric motor assisted riding. this type of bicycle is unlike the micromobility ebike which we see some tourist zip around in inner city illegally. how do you address these difference ? is battery motor assisted mountain bike and road bike illegal on our road ???
There are rules against Ebikes. And the rule is no PMD allowed!
e mtb is pedal assist, and speed limited, very different from transport ebike
Walau-eh, Conalgo – that was a very sharp sarcastic rebuke for these ‘perasan’ cyclists!
On a ‘peskiness’ scale of 1-10, I would give these lane-hogging cyclists a 9, whereas a ‘Myvi-Is-King’ driver is more tolerable at 7.
Thank you Mohan, for the excellent summary of the rules against cyclists.
Tengku Zafrul and Syed Saddiq cycles. so other people can cycle too. Cars and buses creates more carbon emission than cycling. so technically cyclist can cycle on the road be it leisure or a mode of transport and we contribute less carbon emission. our laws are so dinosaur that they protect motor vehicles. it is time to embrace cycling like develop countries do.
Ah yes, because reducing carbon emissions clearly gives you a free pass to ignore traffic laws. Never mind the safety of others, as long as you’re on human powered two wheels, you’re basically an environmental hero, right? Why bother with riding single-file or following road signs when you’re out there saving the planet? Let’s just cancel the Road Transport Act and declare open season for “eco-friendly” chaos.
Bending Yap, Ben Yap thought cyclists in other developed countries is given the right of way because they are the superior being, saviour of the Earth so they deserve the VVIP treatment. What Ben Yap don’t understand is right of way is given because if they fall, they die. Not about saving the Earth but because they will die.
This bus driver have records on endanger cyclist many time even you’re on the side of the road. But this video taken by the group of cyclist also not helping them. Not all cyclist ride like this, same goes to motorist and driver. All this is human attitude, you have driver that road rage, motorist run the red lights. There are times you see cyclist didn’t ride on the side of the road is due to the road bad condition and many potholes, sand etc. So is down to the attitude of a person. Cheers.
Seems the rules has been so long. Remind me few years ago, a bunch of boys cycling in the midnight was caught in the accident in Johor. The driver was a girl and how is the case now? Closed or still not yet settle?
Riding bicycle 2 abreast.
Malaysia: Not allowed
Singapore: Allowed:
Cyclists may ride two abreast only on roads with *two or more lanes*
Group size limits: Up to *10 cyclists when two‑abreast,* or *five cyclists single file* .
Had experienced this too several times. Most of them are nuisance. They occupied one part of the road lane…and when you honk them… they literally ‘own’ the road. Sometimes, the whole traffic build up just because of them…no one dares to honk them. Prggghhh!
Everyone has their rights on the road. That’s why left lane is for slower moving vehicles so that faster moving vehicles can overtake on the right. If no opportunity yet, then have to wait lah. The world does not revolve around only you.
My two cents opinion, it’s dangerous most of the time for these cyclist sharing main roads or highways during rush hours or not, other vehicles drivers just can’t always keep an eye on them, if i were to suggest a dedicated lane for them, even the motorcycles lanes aren’t effective, so no matter how you look at it, it’s actually a NO!
Have U even been on the motorcycle lane before? They usually have two lanes. Slower cyclists can keep to the left while faster motorcycle can use the right lane to overtake. Simple.
So it is actually a YES!
that day an old guy cyclist also try to overtake my car..so dangerous as the lorry in front cannot go fast near kampung road. There was so much sand along the road and not healthy to breath in
Stupid is as stupid does.
Msians like to challenge the law bcoz the laws always fail.
Because for 60 years the Opposition then had taught Msians to challenge the laws, now they are the Gomen they cannot tell people to follow the laws ady.
The level of ignorance & arrogance these people who reply here is beyond disgusting.
They don’t pay road tax. Road hoggers. Stupid is what a stupid does. Etc
Seriously, u ppl should be very ashamed of yourself!!
i find it hilarious that the used car section is trolling by showing CIVIC… trying to say the cyclists need some civic mindedness?