Encounter between cyclists and bus driver almost comes to blows, JPJ steps in to defuse situation

Encounter between cyclists and bus driver almost comes to blows, JPJ steps in to defuse situationScreencap courtesy of Sinar Harian

A social media post from a group of cyclists that is making the rounds alleges a bus driver tried to run the group off the road. The encounter at Bestari Jaya, Kuala Selangor, then took a bad turn when the driver stopped the bus to berate the cyclists for riding two abreast on the highway.

In the video, raised voices can be heard, with the cyclists shouting at the driver with fingers pointed and “in your face” posturing from the cyclists. The situation looked to turn ugly when a JPJ parol vehicle stopped to defuse the situation.

A comment from one of the cyclists says the group were riding “literally on the side of the road”. The cyclist further states they were riding on the left and the bus driver was honking at them and trying to get them to move off the road.

However, backlash from social media users did not take the point of view of the cyclists, saying they were earlier riding two abreast on a busy road and preventing vehicles behind from overtaking safely. Others said the cyclists were being a nuisance on what is typically a busy road usually filled with heavy vehicles in the morning.

What do you think? Are the cyclists right for wanting to use the road, or should cyclists try to not incovenience motorised traffic by riding two abreast? The law states cyclists should ride single file to the left of the road, and are not allowed on toll and gazetted highways. Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments highlight concerns over cyclists riding on busy roads and highways, often ignoring laws and safety guidelines, such as riding in groups or riding abreast. Many call for stricter enforcement, including bans on cyclists on highways without dedicated lanes, and suggest they should pay road tax or insurance. Several comments mention risks to both cyclists and motorists, citing incidents and accidents, emphasizing the need for safer cycling environments, like designated lanes or scenic routes. Some viewers criticize cyclists’ entitlement, reckless behavior, and failure to respect other road users, while others praise the bus driver for warning or taking measures to ensure safety. Overall, there is a strong call for better regulation, enforcement, and infrastructure to prevent accidents and promote mutual road safety.

• I encounter this personally, the cyclist cycle on the car lane then i honk them but they came to me very furiously….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 3
    • Plain BS on Jul 08, 2025 at 7:08 pm

Their in the wrong and yet dare put on soc med to justify their outrage. Typical M40 entitlement mentality. After successfully tukar Gomen, they now think they can do anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • Law abiding citizen on Jul 08, 2025 at 8:28 pm

Cyclists to be charge for public nuisance and obstructing public transport on duty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Fit for purpose on Jul 10, 2025 at 9:31 am

maybe if you didn’t honk them furiously they wouldn’t come at you. You’re safely in a car. Cyclists are furiously trying to avoid potholes and drainage on the side of the road. One little nudge from a car and it’s over. For the car driver, nothing will happen to you. Cyclists are openly exposed. If you don’t care for our safety then we need a wider boundary. Do us a favour and give us a clear pass – there is otherwise no safe harbour anywhere for cyclists honestly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
      • Our roads are fine, not of the third world countries. Go any cycle on bitumen tracks in stadiums and avoid cars. Cyclists should think of own safety than expected others to think for them.

• Hahaha, funny excuse. No need honk if they cycle in their path. If they do double or triple like in picture, they should in car way. If honk just once, they will pretend not hear. F4*k of all cyclists. Especially in Asian country. This same like in Indonesia. They think they not need obey on road law because not use engine. So they must be punished. And some of them is rich person.

• movebikegetoutoftheway on Jul 08, 2025 at 12:33 pm

i love how the video of the cyclist gets shared and did not go as the cyclist intended

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 1
  • Tin Kosong on Jul 08, 2025 at 12:34 pm

cyclists should banned without escort.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
    • Road hoggers should get Saman.

From the video it’s clear there are road hogging activities involved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Gomorrah on Jul 08, 2025 at 3:15 pm

Waaaah cyclist here also like mat salleh cyclist. Don’t pay road tax but expect to be able to occupy one lane for themselves by riding abreast. Which is against the law here anyway. Dahla so vulnerable lagi mau tempt fate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • Can implement roadtax for license plates and insurances policy for bicycles? We pay roadtaxes and insurances for our cars every year to use the road

Cyclist should do the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Adamsmasher on Jul 10, 2025 at 5:08 pm

Imported bikes are subject to 15-25% tax. You hate us cause you ain’t us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Miguel Indurain on Jul 11, 2025 at 2:30 pm

No. We dislike you because you’re a bunch of entitled lance armstrong wannabe brats.

• bersyukur? on Jul 08, 2025 at 3:51 pm

bodoh cyclist… mati semua…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Hahaha, funny excuse. No need honk if they cycle in their path. If they do double or triple like in picture, they should in car way. If honk just once, they will pretend not hear. F4*k of all cyclists. Especially in Asian country. This same like in Indonesia. They think they not need obey on road law because not use engine. So they must be punished. And some of them is rich person.

• Mike Tee on Jul 08, 2025 at 3:58 pm

I am a cyclist myself but some of these cyclists are so entitled.

Ride in single file, no riding on tolled or gazetted highways. Don’t break these rules and most importantly don’t be a nuisance to other road users. It’s not difficult

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • Jenny on Jul 09, 2025 at 8:29 am

I fully agree… not good perception for other cyclist

• As a cyclist myself, I also dont agree with riding two abreast on our roads. I left my long-time cycling club because of this.

• Ben Yap on Jul 08, 2025 at 4:06 pm

I think the cyclists isn’t at fault. it is the government’s fault for not making dedicated lanes for cyclists to cycle safely. Though cyclists don’t pay road tax but they have paid income tax as most of these cyclists are well to do as their bikes can cost thousands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 108
    • Black Hulk on Jul 09, 2025 at 9:53 am

If there’s no sign of cyclists friendly way, then why are they cycling there in the first place? They know the road is meant for cars, motorcycles, and lorries—not bicycles. Yet some still choose to ride there, acting entitled. This isn’t about how much they pay in taxes or fees; it’s about their mindset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • C. L. Liew on Jul 09, 2025 at 9:56 am

If we can put every blame on the government, I would hope that our 65 years education system is getting from good to worse.

• Spend millions for dedicated bicycle lanes just to cater to a handful of well to do hobbyists?? Bread and butter issues are more pressing. Even motorcycle lanes are deserted because most riders prefer to break rules in exchange for convenience. Just use common sense, rules exist for a good reason, most of the time is for safety of everyone. Accept and obey, and the world will be a better place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Fit for Purpose on Jul 10, 2025 at 9:26 am

If you were a cyclist you’d realise that the bicycle lanes in central KL are scattered, and full of potholes and dangerous drain cover grilles (placed vertically to road position) that bicycle wheels will fall into. Not only will that cause you to flip and seriously injure yourself (and fall in front of a passing vehicle) but do you know how much it costs to replace broken bike parts? It’s not convenience that people shun the VERY FEW bike routes that exist. It’s maybe : “I am doing a healthy sport, but maybe I don’t want to fix a broken jaw every week…”?

• FrankC on Jul 08, 2025 at 4:22 pm

the rules states clearly, ride in single-file… or kena saman. the bus driver is not wrong to honk them as a warning. since the bus when pass by it will push the cyclist away then pull it in where pressure is low. that’s when cyclist too near to the bus will fall off under the bus rear wheel. that is the risk to cyclist who does not understand the need to have sufficient separation from other vehicles… so keep to single file and have sufficient separation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • alldisc on Jul 08, 2025 at 4:28 pm

Bus driver care and worries for the cyclists lives. They dont appreciate that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • This bus driver passed them very close intentionally, even though the right lane was clear with no vehicles. Clearly he was trying to provoke them. It seems this guy is famous in the local cycling community as he has previously provoked other cyclists I heard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
  • Ban cyclists from road without dedicated cyclist lane please ok thanks.
    Cant even form a single line when in group, even budak tadika understood how to berbaris.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Mikehighseas on Jul 08, 2025 at 8:23 pm

Is Bestari a highway? If yes, as far as I can recall, bicycles are not permitted. In any case the cyclists were in side of the left lane and should not be there. It is better if you just stay at the side, less risks exist there.

• Tracks on Jul 08, 2025 at 8:23 pm

I am a cyclist too but I only ride MTB. Road bikers have a habit to avoid the side of the road because it is dirty so they would ride away from it. Riding a MTB I don’t worry as even a pothole it should be able to take it.
    Therefore, it the fault of cyclist choosing a road bike knowing very well the condition of the road is typically unsafe for smooth ride.
    A recent fun fact was while riding on the road down hill on my cheap e-MTB I overtook an e-roadbike doing 50km/h+ because the road surface was bumpy for him. I had a nasty grin when I did that because his bike cost 5 times more than mine.

• Fizzo on Jul 08, 2025 at 8:43 pm

In any case authorities should stop allowing cyclists from riding on highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • PEMANDU on Jul 09, 2025 at 7:48 am

Bottom line cyclist who abuse the law should get a saman. Never pay road tax at all n they think the road belongs to them. Police or JPJ. Pls issuevthem a SAMAN before accident happen again. Bottom line
      ****SAMAM DIA KUAT KUAT***

• James Lee on Jul 09, 2025 at 8:41 am

I hv a strong feeling this cyclists is posing a lot of danger to d public.Riding single is alright, but two together is causing danger to most vehicles..At time when U try to overtake them,it seem quite impossible due to heavy traffic or small road..D Transport Minister should do something otherwise incident will occur.

• Kamil bin Ariffin on Jul 08, 2025 at 10:35 pm

Cyclist should’nt be allowed on the highway or riding abreast on any other roads. The speed differences with other motorised vehicles are huge and errant cyclists are dangerous obstructions on the road. They’re just accidents waiting to happen.

• Finian Farrelly on Jul 08, 2025 at 11:12 pm

I’m a keen cyclist but I respect everyone on the road cyclist should not cycle too abreast which the do all the time, it’s very frustrating for motorist who pay high insurance and tax while cyclist pay nothing, it’s very simple when a vehicle is behind you and want’s to pass let him or her pass by going single file and also use ur hand to let him or her know when it’s safe to do so.

• Stupid bastard bikers. Always ride as though they owned the roads. They want to die let it be. Don’t be a nuisance to others… Bloody useless bikers.

• Public nuisance..should ban them from all city roads & highways.

• Cycling ARE Not be allowed on public roads or highways. The authorities SHOULD take actions against them and the public should viral it to the authorities this when they come across such event. They are risking their life and asking for a 1 way ticket should an accident happen.

• When cyclist feeling entitled because their bicycle cost more than motorbikes, some even cost more than a car… Level T20 but mentality dropped in a pothole.

• Sabri on Jul 09, 2025 at 7:19 am

Confirm type c cyclist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Malaysiakini on Jul 09, 2025 at 7:37 am

Bicycles must stay off roads. Period

• Jerrychua on Jul 09, 2025 at 7:46 am

Yes, especial in the weekends, these cyclists takes things and safety for granted, they think the road is theirs, sometime they would swayed in out without taking precautions, they should be doing this in a safer way with some Marshall doing the safety checks.

• opmanmy on Jul 09, 2025 at 8:40 am

Disaster waiting to happen. As usual…no enforcement…until something big happens. Biasa lah tuh…agensi agensi tuh. Duduk kat air cond opis.

• Fabian H. on Jul 09, 2025 at 8:45 am

From their video, you can already see their (cyclist) pigheadedness brewing from the get-go. The bus driver can use the honk, and I think that’s a great way to remind them of how vulnerable they are and should adhere to the road rule(s) (Cycling in a single file and not pose themselves as a hazard on the road as one of them). Sadly the bus driver inching towards them, that spells trouble for the bus driver too.

What can you do when you have 2 troublemakers on the road?… As an outsider, I’d be glad if the authorities handle both of them in accordance to the law.

• kenot go on Jul 09, 2025 at 8:54 am

can ask gomen to review this cyclist gathering aa? should fall under peaceful gathering and police need to be informed. something has to be done to this cyclists from hell

• Tyrael on Jul 09, 2025 at 9:26 am

Alot cyclist hogging the road & think they have the right. You guys didn’t pay roadtax but riding like the road is yours. I know you all want to exercise & want to show off.. but do it in accordance to law. Ride properly & safely, other motorist won’t simply honk & get irritated if you do your part well

• Follow the laws.

• C. L. Liew on Jul 09, 2025 at 9:52 am

It is for the cyclists own safety sake. I suggest that the public road, of which not truly meant for cycling, may enforce a time restriction to cyclists when and where can ride.

Life is short, cycling can be done else where (safe) and some other time (safe).

• LUM SIEW CHEE on Jul 09, 2025 at 9:56 am

The cyclist not allow on the highway and it is not a cycling event. The cyclist never think of the accident happened in Johor where 7-8 lives taken away. Should summon the cyclists to teach them a lesson.

• Lum SC on Jul 09, 2025 at 10:00 am

The cyclist not allow on the highway and it is not a cycling event. The cyclist never think of the accident happened in Johor where 7-8 lives taken away. Should summon the cyclists to teach them a lesson.

• Mukhriz on Jul 09, 2025 at 10:01 am

Saw their story Instagram earlier they ride with two by two one of them did ride on the main road not the left why recording Instagram videos

• Vijay on Jul 09, 2025 at 10:10 am

Cyclist should be banned from using highways and busy roads of their own safety.if I am not mistaken, there is a law preventing cyclist from using highways.

• Full of Love on Jul 09, 2025 at 10:32 am

I would said both are wrongs, however as a cyclist or a Vehicle driver. We have to make sure everyone is safe. For cyclist do not ride to the centre or occupied the road. We all should share the road and make sure everyone safety.
    In short not to be selfish, lar ..

• Johnny tan on Jul 09, 2025 at 10:39 am

This cyclist always think they have the right someone just honk at them they will become aggressive they think they are always right.

• 1st. ROAD TAX NOT PAID
    2nd. .Cycling in WRONG ENVIRONMENT.
    3rd. PLEASE. APPLY LAW FOR THIS FELLOWS CYCLISTS

• January 31,2025 I was riding my motorbike on the road and in front of me a cyclist stopped all of a sudden and due to that I couldn’t brake on time but instead of hitting the cyclist, I made a quick decision of turning left into the side of the road towards the bush and I cracked my right hand bone. The cyclist didn’t help me at all but just ride it to leave me there trying to get up. Luckily a lorry stopped and these two elderly man helped me and they saw the whole thing and saw I was trying to avoid colliding with the cyclist.

• Sam Loh on Jul 09, 2025 at 12:15 pm

There are better scenic outskirts roads like in Broga for cyclists to enjoy the sport safely & less traffic, beautiful scenery. However, the relevant authorities should put up warning ” Beware of Bicycle Cyclists” signage along the road ( i.e., the cow crossing warning sign). Just like in any sports, the players should be disciplined & observe safety first for everyone… Always bare in mind, the car’s metal body is always STRONGER than human SKIN…

• Most comments tend to support the driver’s argument. Be it 1 cyclist or 20 cyclist…. riding single file or abreast… several points needs to be noted. 1. Should a bicycle be allowed on roads with width dedicated for motor cars and vehicles only? Considering the width of the lane for safety? 2. The transport laws are not fully consistent in such usage of busy roads and hence there’s misconceptions that everyone has a right to use any roads or even highway no? 3. Cyclist themselves ignores the idea that they are in a metal going at more than 30km/hour speed vs flimsy bicycles and bare body with zero body armor and a stupid plastic safety hat means they are road kill patty easily (think “animal idiots) 4. Imagine a vehicle driver tries to avoid these cyclists and end up crashing into another vehicle or worse other innocent pedestrians etc.. causing injuries or death? 5. Everything about bicycles on public roads meant for motor vehicles is totally wrong and a recipe for disaster (as if we already don’t have enough accidents with speeding and reckless drivers already) 6. Acceleration and velocity in public road usage – a motor vehicle may avoid an accident or dangerous situation either breaking to avoid or speeding up to avoid… what can a bicycle if he/she sees a situation that requires his bicycle to accelerate to 40km/hour in a split second? 7. Transport Ministry, JPJ, Safety Transport Authority, JKR, and many more are not going to convene or meet to sort safety issues like this any time soon…. they can’t even solve or enforce the problem of motorbikes zig zagging and speeding on highways and roads and streets at all. So… should we be concerned? Yes. Will anything be done? Probably not. Do we continue to live our lives using public roads dangerously? Yes. Anyway to avoid? Use public transport (like it’s going to be safer?) … what’s the solution? Many effective ones and good ones too… enforcing and implementation- and that “unknown factors” that seems to encourage zero inertia to action. ‘NUFF SAID’

• Henry on Jul 09, 2025 at 2:01 pm

Cyclists should stay off busy roads and narrow ones too!

• Cyclist must remember the road is not meant for them only especially when they ride in a big group. Either they learned to share the road with other road users otherwise they will learned it the hard ways. Best solution is they go to Europe or travel to parts of the world where group cycling is allowed & approved without endangering oneself or others – period.

• These kind of cyclist are a typical nuisance, they think it’s their rights to block traffics by cycling abreast. Especially in a group. If accidents should happen, its the drivers fault. Should give them a heavier fine, and let them know they don’t own the roads

• Richphil on Jul 09, 2025 at 5:08 pm

Cyclists should not be road hogging and go on a single file. Sometimes motorcycles also do this with no consideration over vehicles behind that want to move ahead.

• Peter on Jul 09, 2025 at 7:35 pm

They have as much right to use the road as any others and should be afforded some respect for being motivated to enjoy a peaceful activity.

• Andrew Selvan on Jul 09, 2025 at 8:45 pm

It’s an insult to your great-grandparents, whose primary means of transportation was the bicycle. Bicycles cause no road damage, that’s why riders need not pay road tax. Car drivers, sitting in your comfort zone: what do you know about the hardship of cycling on roads enduring the hot sun ?

• Othman on Jul 09, 2025 at 9:57 pm

The cyclists are a nuisance…..get them off the main road.

• Ghooi on Jul 10, 2025 at 6:11 am

If the cyclists are riding two abreast, they are in the wrong and should be penalized.

• Dominic on Jul 10, 2025 at 8:08 am

The cyclists are wrong!

Firstly these cyclists should allow vehicles on the road with JPJ plates to pass first.

Secondly, all slow vehicles especially bikes and motorbikes should allow larger and faster vehicles to pass first, and not jamming up traffic, unless the public road is gazetted for competitive cycling or mortorbiking.

• hbamd on Jul 10, 2025 at 8:19 am

I ever encountered the same problem on the federal road from gombak to genting sempah. Since the road was not in good condition, i drove my car crossed the white line in the middle but cyclists have ample space on the opposite direction. However one of the cyclists scholded at me, tried to chase me looked like that i was commiting traffic offences! If i lost my temper that time, i can easily hit him with my car and he would be no longer in this world.

• Little cyclist on Jul 10, 2025 at 9:45 am

Been cycling for years. Cars are usually okay, buses are a real menace. The two times I have been nearly un-alived have been on the CYCLE LANES right in front of KLCC where buses deliberately cut across my right of way ON A CYCLE LANE to pull in and park. Did I confront? Yes. I am a 148cm 45kg female on an 8kg bike. He is a crazy murderous driver in a multiple tonne vehicle who can’t wait 3 seconds. If I didn’t brake hard enough and nearly fall, I’d be dead. Fundamental conflict is buses are slow and on the far left lane and need to stop frequently. A cyclist travels between 25-55kmph which is near the same speed as a bus. There are crazy bus drivers who want to rush but at their speed they can’t overtake. Then once they aggressively overtake, they have to stop to let passengers on and off. Then cyclists overtake again and the “cycle” continues. Even if we religiously use the very very few cycle lanes in the city (there are none outside), it’s full of potholes, drains, parked cars and buses, dangerous debris, and abandoned scooters. Sorry but motorists need to be more educated. Also 99.9999% of road cyclists need a car to drive their bikes to where they can safely ride, so can assure you – we pay road tax too.

• F4*k of all cyclists. Especially in Asian country. This same like in Indonesia. They think they not need obey on road law because not use engine. So they must be punished. And some of them is rich person. So think they can buy anything. So I hate with cyclists and biker big motorcycle. Both are F4*k people.

• Graham Howat on Jul 10, 2025 at 4:23 pm

It’s a disease that is common amongst a lot of cyclists Worldwide now called “cyclosuperiosis”.It starts with a sense of entitlement that because they are apparantly doing more to save the Planet than the big bad petrolheads,they are entitled to do what they wish on the, which includes breaking as well as just being plain bad mannered.Its good to know that in London at least, the police are now actively pursuing these morons,whenever they are caught

• zelena on Jul 11, 2025 at 5:48 am

whether on bikes or motorbikes they’ll bunch up & block others from passing them – acting like mak bapak dia punya jln! inconsiderate assholes & if you’re a lone female driver then it can get even worse

• Azhar Ali on Jul 11, 2025 at 10:24 pm

Ini semua poyoooo!!! Play victim pulak.. piiiiiiirahhh

• Greg LeMond on Jul 13, 2025 at 7:28 am

I’m an ex-triathlete. From my point of view cyclist should ride in “single file” and this IS THE ARGUMENT here.

Clear shot.