A couple of groups have questioned the Selangor government’s decision to award a company the right to handle parking fee collection and enforcement in Petaling Jaya and three other Selangor local councils from August 1.
PJ Sejahtera and Persatuan Petaling Jaya Lestari have called on the state government to cancel the concession, stating that parking is a local council resource and that revenue derived from it must be channelled directly to the respective local councils, who manage them for the benefit of their residents, FMT reports.
Calling for a public enquiry to be convened over the matter, the groups said that Petaling Jaya may stand to lose RM10 million annually from the move, and that the councils’ powers to collect parking fees under the Road Transport Act 1987 would be undermined.
They questioned how the decision to privatise parking was reached, stating that the lack of transparency was concerning as there were no public consultations held before the decision to appoint the company was made
The appointed company, Rantaian Mesra, is a wholly-owned Mentri Besar Selangor (Incorporated) subsidiary, and it will manage parking fee collection and enforcement for four councils, namely the Petaling Jaya city council (MBPJ), Subang Jaya city council (MBSJ), Shah Alam city council (MBSA) and Selayang municipal council (MPS).
Both groups asked the state government to provide detailed information on the vendor selection process and associated procurement documentation, including the final contract. The issue, they said, was not just about parking but also about public accountability, respect for local government autonomy, as well as responsible and transparent resource management and finance.
PJ Sejahtera is part of a coalition of residents’ associations, civil society organisations and other stakeholders which work to ensure sustainable, equitable, and participatory development. Persatuan Petaling Jaya Lestari is an NGO which advocates sustainable development, eco sustainability, and transparent governance.
Separately, Taman Medan assemblyman Dr Afif Bahardin has also called for the state government to divulge details of the deal and furnish proof of how such a move will benefit the rakyat, The Star reports.
“Show us the numbers. Show us how this benefits the people and the state. I have no idea what the arrangement is. But come clean and explain the formula of 50%, 40%, 10% and how it benefits the public,” he said.
Under the deal, 50% of parking fees will go to the concessionaire and the remaining 50% to the state, with 40% going to the councils and 10% to Menteri Besar Incorporated (MBI). Some enforcement staff will be absorbed and retrained by the appointed company.
In open or public areas, the risk of impersonation by individuals pretending to be enforcement officers is real—especially when identification cards (IDs) can be forged.
New PH crony lettew…
Anwar menang rasuah hapus
Anwar hapus rasuah by making sure all rasuah goes to his cronies pockets. Then he could use that excuse to further raise SST higher.
If u hungry, just start looking for food. Grab the remaining and eat and bring on a very large bag to store more because you nvr knw if you are in this free buffet the next round. Dont complain. Ppl but not me put the bunch there. Slap yourself if u must.
Maybe as well set up the Cashless Parking Palang? Add with a team of security or police. Help improve security too.
Colonies begin to seek sustenance once this government stabilizes!
The same people (PH) who opposed giving AES speed traps to private operators before, are now implementing this.
The same fools that voted PH over and over again are now surprised they start to makan now they have total Federal & State powers? LOL HAHAHA
TNG eWallet now supports LPR parking,
We had modern technology car plate recognition.
it is always good to hold the council responsible for their decision. Makes foul play harder.
mbpj ini korupted
There are many other companies who are willing to do it for 15%-20% only. 50% is a rip-off.
I was taught this many years ago:
ABSOLUTE POWER CORRUPTS ABSOLUTELY.
No matter who you vote in, if you don’t demand checks and balances, you’re fried.