Malaysia will now face a 19% tariff on exports to the United States, down from the previous 25%. This comes after US president Donald Trump signed an executive order on July 31, 2025 modifying the reciprocal tariff rates for certain countries.
To recap, Trump initially announced a 24% tariff on goods imported from Malaysia in April this year, which was later increased to 25% in July, the latter originally set to take effect beginning August 1.
The newly revised tariff rate was hinted by Malaysian prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim during the tabling of the 13th Malaysia Plan or Rancangan Malaysia Ketiga Belas (RMK13), and will come into effect on 12.01am EDT on August 7, 2025 (12.01pm MYT on the same date).
While Malaysia currently does not export cars to the US, it is a global player in the supply of automotive components, particularly semiconductors, which remain exempt from the tariff.
According to the office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR), the US imported USD52.5 billion (about RM12.3 billion) worth of goods from Malaysia, up 13.7% from 2023. Electrical and electronic products, including integrated circuits and semiconductor devices, make up the majority of exports to the US. The US goods trade deficit with Malaysia last year was USD24.8 billion (RM106 billion).
Yay so Malaysia 19% tariff same as Indonesia and Philippines while we are still dreaming of 10% like Singapore.
Well guess all thanks to AP cronies, super cronies that cannot be removed or negotiated while we give Tesla 100% free cronies.
We gave Trump best bud Musk 100% AP free and he still tariff us 19% so the problem isn’t AP but other factors such as our PM supporting Gazan terrorists. Kick PMX out and automatically he will drop it further 9%.
USD52.5 billion is about RM12.3 billion… Are you sure?
Life Sucks, hard working, very loyal 2nd Class citizen Malaysians.
Sendiri cakap sendiri shiok!
You can not compare Malaysia’s tariff rate to Singapore’s while Singapore to US trading having annual~30billions USD(goods and services). In fact, Singapore is one of the biggest loser in this tariff war.
Malaysia would’ve gotten 10% to 15% tarriff if we didn’t support the 2 countries that is in war. Now if you hope that these 2 countries can help Malaysia’s economy, it is far fetched.