Lotus Exige Espionage

Lotus and Gieves & Hawkes have partnered up to release this special edition of the Lotus Exige sports car called the Lotus Exige Espionage.

The Lotus Exige Espionage is a car with a secret agent theme, since the Lotus Esprit was used in a few James Bond movies, I assume it’s to commemorate that.

The Lotus Exige Espionage is based on a standard Lotus Exige which makes 189 horsepower. The exterior modifications include a new navy blue paint and silver pin stripes. The whole interior is also themed in a similiar way, with materials such as silk and leather being used.

The release of this car will come with a new ‘spy suit’ by Gieves & Hawkes. The design of the car and the suit has the same theme. For example, the pin stripes on the navy blue paint matches the suit’s design.

This is a car for hard core James Bond fans! :P

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• blackhead on Oct 18, 2005 at 8:04 am

speechless interior design…….

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 18, 2005 at 8:23 am

hmm…quite nice

Elegance and sophisicate feeling…

• infinity on Oct 18, 2005 at 8:49 am

erm…izit no glove compartment also??i guess that's wat gen2 followed…rite??coz the interior of gen2 is designed by lotus studio rite??

• E-Nabill on Oct 18, 2005 at 9:26 am

dont look like for everyday use..bt looks so mean…funny to see a lotus with a cd player..usually even windows thy use manual…thy are very addicted to weight saving….does it use the same toyota celica vvti 1.8?? nt sure y proton neva tot of rebadgeing it proton sting n or assemble it heren sell it locally..im sure it will be a good seler…n wil have a good price…

• biothing on Oct 18, 2005 at 10:41 am

i'll say aye to that E-Nabill

it should be a rocket launcher instead of CD Player.

Why can't we find its Proton version in the street of KL or Muar?

• armandd on Oct 18, 2005 at 10:59 am

hey, the steering wheel looks like the one used in gen2.

• weh.. after close examinations, steering like gen-2, glove compartment like gen – 2, meters like the new saga, aircond vents like the latest kancil's aircond vents.. damn~

• Sexythang on Oct 18, 2005 at 11:46 am

maybe proton should bring some of these in or assemble them here so those who want it can at least afford it.

• hfrshah on Oct 18, 2005 at 1:51 pm

Proton did offer CKD versions of the first generation Elise (on a limited production line of course) for RM195k a couple of years back.. Not exactly affordable, and it was the basic 118bhp 1.8 litre version. There wasnt that many buyers so Proton/Lotus decided not to assemble the MKII locally. Now its around 300k plus.

E-Nabill, yup its the same 1.8litre engine used in the Celica T-Spirit and Corolla hatch T-Spirit

• aksMs on Oct 18, 2005 at 2:27 pm

Avex: It's the other way around. It's not Lotus who copied from Proton cars. It's Proton cars that 'borrowed' the same design principle from Lotus as well as using the same parts too. Besides, they're cousins!

Nothing much different from the old Exige. Just some cosmetics changes and wallah, a new Exige. Err…guys, the old Exige doesn't have power windows, right? Hope it's not from the one use in Proton cars. But still, this is a real Lotus. Not just some 'wannabes'….

• 3rd honda driver on Oct 18, 2005 at 4:25 pm

Paul,

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

• travis on Oct 18, 2005 at 5:29 pm

cool car, i want!!!

in the meamntime, expect this blog to be hot, coz the NAP will be announce by tmr by Badawi!!!!

n now TDM merajuk aledi, tell proton to close shop!

• kalen_XI on Oct 18, 2005 at 5:55 pm

er…sexythang..

u sure u want proton to assembly a lotus exige or elise?!?did u know exige and elise has no bolt or screws to hold the body together…they use a type of glue and interlocking pieces to hold the car..therefore reducing the car's weight…basically…a lotus elise and exige..is actually a big jig saw puzzle..

IF u want proton to assembly..it using MALAYSIAN made GLUE….HAHAHHAHAA….i think b4 u leave the show room..ur door might have fell off dy….

• James Bond and Aston Martin. Now that is a match made in heaven. The Lotus just didn't fit in with the Bond persona. Not to mention I didn't like Roger Moore's Bond much.

• air cond vent looks like kancil's

• Michael Chua on Oct 18, 2005 at 8:39 pm

James Bond only used Lotus Esprit in The Spy who Loved me and For Your Eyes only. For all the other movies, he's been using either Aston Martin or BMW. I don't recall ever seeing a Lotus Elise or Exige.

• actually if we paste a proton badge on the steering wheel, this car would look crap also lah!

• MutantTomato on Oct 18, 2005 at 11:19 pm

Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet…. hmmmmm! Drool factor! Drool factorrrrrr!

Michael Chua: Bro, not quite la… There are a couple of movies where cars not belonging to either BMW or Aston Martin were used. I can't remember the name of the movie but there is one where Bond goes underwater in this white coloured car. It converts fomr a car to an underwater craft. That car was a Jensen Interceptor.

If you're a big fan of Bond movies AND of cars, do an image search on the Jensen Interceptor. When you see it, you will definitely remember! :D

Jensen, Bristol and others were small time car makers la… What I mean by small time is as compared to Aston Martin or Jaguar.

Oh yes! Bond has also driven a Jag quite a number of times. Even the older sports Volvos. Give me some time to get the car list of all the Bond movies la ok? :D

• epalhead on Oct 18, 2005 at 11:33 pm

arrghh…hideous! Fail!

• MutantTomato on Oct 18, 2005 at 11:47 pm

Ok here it goes:

1. Dr. No (1962) – 1961 Sunbeam Alpine Series II

2. From Russia with Love (1963) – Bentley 4 ½ Liter Sports Tourer

3. Goldfinger (1964) – Aston Martin DB 5

3. Thunderball (1965) – Aston Martin DB 5

4. Casino Royale (1967) – Supercharged Bentley

6. On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (1969) – Aston Martin DBS

7. Diamonds Are Forever (1971) – Ford Mustang Mach 1

8. Live and Let Die (1973) – Coronado

9. The Man with the Golden Gun (1974) – Jensen Interceptor

10. The Spy Who Loved Me (1977) – Lotus Esprit

11. Moonraker (1979) – MP Roadster

12. For Your Eyes Only (1981) – Lotus Esprit Turbo

13. Octopussy (1983) – Mercedes 250 SE, Alfa Romeo GTV

14. Never Say Never Again (1983) – Bentley

15. A View to a Kill (1985) – Renault 11 taxis

16. The Living Daylights (1987) – Aston Martin DBS V8 Vantage, Volante, Audi

200 Quattro

17. License to Kill (1989) – Kenworth W900B trucks

18. GoldenEye (1995) – BMW Z3 roadster, Aston Martin DB 5

19. Tomorrow Never Dies (1997) – BMW 750iL, Aston Martin DB 5

20. The World is Not Enough (1999) – BMW Z8

21. Die Another Day (200?) – Aston Martin DB7 (or was it DB 9?)

Well, this is a rough list la… He has driven other cars in some of the movies but they were not his "main car," so they are not listed.

• i think the white car you mention was the Lotus Espirit .

• Marmitecrab on Oct 19, 2005 at 1:12 am

MutantTomato,

Are you referring to Roger Moore's version of "The Saint" TV series where he uses a Volvo and a later version starring someone I can't remember who uses a Jaguar?

I don't remember James Bond using so many other cars.

• gegaoff on Oct 19, 2005 at 4:06 am

i tell u guys, james bond use POTONG also. tak nampak meh? hehehe

• aksMs on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:35 am

MutantTomato: Ya lah. I think the white car that you mentioned was Lotus Esprit from The Spy Who Loved Me.

Anyway, got any idea what car Mr. Bond gonna drive in the next movie?

• Marmitecrab on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:05 am

Hopefully the new Loyus Esprit. Saw some artists impressions and it looks really good.

• MutantTomato on Oct 19, 2005 at 7:35 am

I got the list from a James Bond website la… :D didn't just cook it up myself..

Marmitcrab: Oh shit oh shit oh shit!!!! You're absolutely positively right la bro! It was "the Saint" who drove the Volvo and the Interceptor! Oooooops! "My shame is very large" or should I say it in BM? "Kemaluan saya amat besar!" AHAHAHAHAHA!!

But otherwise, yes Bond did drive all the cars listed above in all the James Bond movies.

The new flick? don't know if I will watch it la. To me, James Bond has always been the suave, charming, "hou lan 'man' " sort of fella. The kind of guy every girl would find hard to resist. The worst actors to portray him have had to be George Lazenby (only 1 movie) and Timothy Dalton.

Now the company has done it again. The new Bond, Daniel Craig, is one ugly Ma'Fu*ker la! He looks like some pikey, football thug, Nazi wannabe! The kinda person who you wouldn't want to meet in a dark alley! And he is blond! Cheh! PTUUIIIIII!!!!!

• hfrshah on Oct 19, 2005 at 2:07 pm

The Aston Martin in "Die Another Day" was the Vanquish. Jinx drove a Ford Thunderbird Concept while Zhao used a Jaguar XKR.

Yup that MOFO Daniel Craig DOES look like a Nazi wannabe! But who knows he might just pull it off. Put him in a fancy tux and get gorgeous girls to star around him. That should look fine, i guess.

Lots of options for the next Bond car – Vanquish S, DB9, V8 Vantage

• aksMs on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:49 pm

MutantTomato: Hah Hah Ha hah! Daniel Craig is one ugly momf**ka! They should've pick Clive Owen instead. Looks more 'Bond' to me!

Errr…is Lotus trying to indirectly tell the producer to pick Lotus car again for the new movie? James Bond in an Exige? Heh heh…

• MutantTomato on Oct 20, 2005 at 12:50 am

aksMs: Exactly! Clive Owen would have made a better choice. He does indeed have the Bond look, and he is a damned good driver. Before he got into movies, he used to do stunt driving. You can check out his movies at www.bmwfilms.com
    The movies there are short films made by people such as Ang Lee and Guy Ritchie. They are basically to showcase the BMW line of cars la… But if you want to visit the site, do it soon. The site is going to close down. Its better if you d/load the movies instead of streaming them.

Bond in an Exige? Not nice la! He should always be in a nice big car, sporty or not. The car should have a presence on the road. Like for example the Vanquish and the BMW. This Exige will make people turn their heads la… Either turn their heads away, or towards the car to see how it is possible to drive a giant cockroach! :P

And no, there is absolutely no salvation for Daniel Craig! No amount of hot chicks or one of a kind suits from Armani/ D&G/ Hugo Boss/ Dunhill/ Zegna/ etc, will make him look good! There is only one way. Extensive face overhauling i.e. plastic surgery! I think more like the precedure they did in "Face/Off" the movie starring Nicholas Cage and John Travolta! :D

• Jusoh on Oct 20, 2005 at 6:47 pm

Rather than Clive Owen, they should cast Rosyam Noor as James Bond baru gempak…kakakaka, just imagine Rosyam will later advertise 'Makanlah biskut James Bond dan anda mungkin akan memenangi….' as per his advertisement to promote the Castello movie.

• takumi_trueno on Oct 20, 2005 at 9:17 pm

the new lotus model is not many different la with old model elise… i think proton n lotus no many idea arrr…