Proton shares drop

StarBiz reports Proton shares have dropped from RM8.35 to RM7.90, making it the second highest loser on the Bursa Malaysia yesterday.

Traders was worried by the announcement that Proton was interested in buying two Volkswagen platforms to rush out the production of 2 new cars to curb falling sales. They said it made no sense for Proton to buy the platforms since they were heading for a technical collaboration or stake transfer in the first place. This implicated the collaboration might not happen.

HLG Research has flagged Proton shares as buy, as these shares are expected to soar up later if any announcement / further development of an alliance with Volkswagen AG.

HLG analysts also believe that the Q1 loss is partly caused by MV Augusta, which is expected to turn around only in 2007. The report also said Proton also carried 30,000 cars in stocks (these are the ones you see in photos of Proton stockyards) which would affect earnings if not cleared by year-end.

Source: Forbes, StarBiz

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MyBoy on Oct 25, 2005 at 6:23 pm

Let us hope that Proton can stand on its own feet by the year 2008

• HANG JEBAT on Oct 25, 2005 at 6:23 pm

aiks… 30k is not small amount, better lelong lah those stock car, atleast earn some money…

• W800i on Oct 25, 2005 at 6:39 pm

To stand on their own by 2008 is too short for proton.. They at least need another 20 years more trust me. They can't even produce their Campro right… i doubt they will even survive the hybrid era. Dr Mahatir once said "The Europeans killed six-million Jews out of twelve-million, but today the Jews rule this world by a proxy. They get others to fight and die for them" to the Jews…

Well i guess Proton now needs Malaysian to die and fight for it's survival as well.

• MyBoy on Oct 25, 2005 at 6:47 pm

I do believe that hybrid is not the way to go. Its only effective for stop-and-go (urban) driving. On the highway, it is not up to what u would expect.

• MyBoy on Oct 25, 2005 at 6:49 pm

Some more addition: Hybrid is more targeted towards a niche market

• Marmitecrab on Oct 25, 2005 at 6:50 pm

Looks like people are taking all this talk about closing Proton down seriously….

Gor the stock market to react this way towards Proton is a good indicator that people are not happy with the way things are going. Let's look at some of the factors….

1. Poor track record – churning out poor quality cars aver the past few years has finally caught-up with them. People have lost confidence in Proton's ability to produce good cars.

2. New car models have bombed – a good way to boost shares is by launching new models. Unfortunately, the Gen.2 was plagued by QC problems and the Savvy was just plain ugly.

3. Competition – regardless of all the talk about AP's, Proton's real competitor is still Perodua. And Perodua is whacking them where it hurts the most, affordability and quality.

4. Management change – who's in charge now and what does he have to say lately? Nobody knows. A good car company always has a spokesperson who reassures the market about the direction of the company. Anyone doing anything like that at Proton?

5. Promotions – at this time of the year, a lot of car companies will be lining up promotions to get rid of stocks and to take advantage of the season's generosity by coming up with promos and such. Proton has launched some lame promos that are not going to make it any much more significant. They must know what the people think of their cars by now and come up with something more significant.

Looks like they don't know what the man on the street thinks about them. I attended a market survey in Proton Shah Alam on the Waja about 2 years before it was launched. Everyone there said it looked like a Merc/Honda/Jaguar/etc. but I told them they should go for something more original. I also told them the centre console won't work as it would affect ventilation too poorly. I also made other comments but the person taking the survey didn't have a clue what I was talking about and that's where it goes wrong. An engineer should be there to listen, not someone who didn't know a thing about cars.

In the end, I was quietly hoping they wouldn't produce because it would have been a big mistake. 2 years later, it came out and that's where I believe their troubles started.

• W800i on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:00 pm

Well, if you think Proton SC now should listen to feedbacks from the customers. Well I guess Proton have to hire some counselors then. What for? Well after a big bash of insults feedback, Proton SC's engineers and workers needs some counseling.

>.

• W800i, you equate proton to jews, that's cool, jews the best in the world in term of intelligence and wealth!

• Pakopako on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:24 pm

coustomer blame SC for poor service, SC blame Proton for design flaw, Proton blame vendor for poor quality, vendor blame Rafidah for AP, Rafidah blame Proton coz cannot compete, Proton blame SC for poor service, SC blame…….. at the end everybody loose. The only winner is the AP king :)

• "They said it made no sense for Proton to buy the platforms since they were heading for a technical collaboration or stake transfer in the first place. This implicated the collaboration might not happen."

malaysians expect once collaborates with VW can get all for free? what a joke!

nothing's free in this world!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:50 pm

poor proton management..

the main point is.. dont say a rumor.

every single word must be state CLEARLY..

never say, MAYBE ie (maybe proton will buy 2 platform from VW bla bla ).

every single word gonna be bad and big lost!

Remember that proton!

• W800i on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:55 pm

Jews are wealthy… No doubt about that… but Jewish attitudes are a bit stuck up. They think themself as the "choosen one" from God.. so they stuck up their attitudes and so forth. The reason i was using those comments is because Mahatir was commenting and question the world why do we fight for jews even though the world them so much? It goes same with proton, we Malaysian hate em so much, but Malaysia still want Malaysian to fight and die for it's survival. Not literally dead, but dead among our pockets.

For a start, I'm not an anti-proton seriously. I always support Proton for the past few years. I mean it's good that Malaysia have a dreams of building a car industry in the big big world, but the fact that they aren't doing well in their own countries after 20 years. Some how there isn't any good management or eager to improve, now that kind of atttitude is wrong. Proton had a chance, but the chance to shine is over. Hand them to someone else.

Neways, back to the point about Jews.. Well.. nothing related to Automotive Industry, but just let me share.

It's true Jews are Wealthy and intelligence. Somehow they are closely related to Chinese in these terms. Serious! For example, you can find Chinese anywhere in the world right now. It goes the same with Jews, during pre-WW2 Jews are out everywhere to for business purposes. Only after WW2 they keep low profiles.

Anyway i have another story to share here. This story happens in New York. A wealthy Chinese owns a cash converters business. It's kinda like Pajak Gadai in Malaysia, where you borrow money with trading your gold chain or other gold stuff. You pay them (Pajak Gadai) off later months and they give you back your Gold. In America, Cash Converters they trade anything.. Tv, Ipods, you know just about anything.

One day come a customer, the customer is a jew. He wanted to borrow some money from the Chinese. The chinese ask what the Jew have to offer for him to lend his money to the Jew. The Jew said, I have a Merc Benz and I wanted to borrow 1K. The chinese lend him the money because it's quite worth it, since it's an Benz and the Jew only borrow 1k. Deals done.

A month later, Jew came back and pay off what he owns to the Chinese guy. The chinese guy then said to the Jew "I check your financial record and it seems like you're one of America Millionair! Then why did you come and borrow money from me?" The Jew replied "Oh, I was having a month Holiday overseas, I need someone to take care of my car, now who would charge US%100 in New York with scratch-free?"

• carlos on Oct 25, 2005 at 8:04 pm

proton want to buy platforms VW only….. after that they will make some changes la…… plz la…. jgn jadi bodoh……. tak tau apa2 kutuk gila2….. haprak la hangpa yg suka kutuk tu…..

• E-nabill on Oct 25, 2005 at 8:28 pm

ya i heard thy r abt to ditch the iswara n saga (finally)very soon bcos thy are declining in sales very fast since the begining of the year…thy even slow down the gen2 1.6..now all their effort are on the profitable waja ,savvy which is increasing sales since april and the new gen2 1.3…i tink thy wana take the market with the 1.3….alot of orders….bt having ready stock is a normal excercise actually….although im nt sure if 30k units is feasible..actually thr are alot of restructuring hapening at proton boardroom….bt somehow thy r nt so public…i can imagin how wd an investor be woried with an unstable environment like that

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 25, 2005 at 8:33 pm

Wah!! Price Drop……..GOOD chance to BUY POTONG!! I will be the new BOSS of POTONG soon!!!……

• aksMs on Oct 25, 2005 at 9:19 pm

Eh guys. What engine does the Gen2 1.3 uses ah? Campro (without Campro) engine or "4G13" (since they're ditching the Iswara and Saga)??? Aiyyoh…. another 1.3? More under powered car. More accident lah this raya….

So…what category are they gonna put the Gen2 1.3? Different class to Savvy? Someone better knock the marketing guys in da head!

• E-nabill on Oct 25, 2005 at 10:08 pm

i dono y ppl obssesed abt gen2 1.3 no power…be reasonable n compare with othr 1.3cars,not anyting higher cc…its common sence actually…ya its campro 1.6 bt jus diff pistons n valves i tink..bt u read the spec sheet…it actually producec 96bhp..i tink thats alot for a 1.3….bt its selling like hot cakes now…1.6 can get car 1week,1.3 abt one mnth….thy changed the interior abit oso..specially the seats..thy sit abit lower now…so more comfy…n ur knees dont have to hit the steering…if u notice the door panels n the dashboard..actually it feels more solid now…go to shwroom n check…nt bad…

• blackhead on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:21 am

DOG THE WAN : nah i bet current proton boss dont sleep well recently, u really want to buy it? lol

j/k

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:32 am

blackhead arr!!

Nah???, what is the problems of POTONG?? I knew it more than those POTONG ppl. Sleepless night will never happen to me!!

I don't mind to be the BOSS of POTONG. I will TURNAROUND Potong to be No. 1 in the WORLDs!! Just give me 5 years time. Believe it or not??

• eMalaysian on Oct 26, 2005 at 1:20 am

add some more to Marmitecrab's list

6. Proton stock holding is up. Means lesser working capital for them. Means they have to buy/rent more land to store cars.

7. Sales down, cost up. That's the winning formula for share price down.

• Folks, here is the latest………………

Drive-away pricing for Proton Australia

MELBOURNE: Proton Australia has adopted drive-away pricing on all models, adopting a stance advocated by the national competition watchdog, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

Proton said it decided to make the move ahead of most other manufacturers to simplify the buying process for customers and to enhance its reputation among buyers as a trustworthy, no-nonsense car company.

Drive-away pricing has also been advocated by peak industry body, the Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries (FCAI), as the future industry standard.

Proton Cars Australia national sales manager Steven Thomas told Bernama that drive-away pricing system would make it easier and simpler for dealers and customers.

“The new pricing regime will further benefit Proton's growing sales volumes in Australia as we move to streamline our operations.

“Customers can rest assured that while they can still negotiate an even lower price for a new Proton with any of our 34 dealers across Australia, they should not be charged any more than the recommended maximum drive-away price tag,” he said.

The new pricing structure will see the company's model line-up, including the Jumbuck, Gen 2 and Satria GTi, feature a recommended retail price which includes dealer delivery, registration, compulsory third-party insurance and stamp duty.

The Jumbuck GLi will be priced at A$15,990 drive-away while the GLSi will have a recommended retail price of A$17,990.

The Proton Gen2 range starts from A$17,990 for the L-line manual up to A$23,990 for the H-line automatic. – Bernama

• We wish we could turn back the clock

to the 80's man, and just shoot the proton pet project

• Don't know abt. Proton's system which claim to be "move ahead of most other manufacturers to simplify the buying process for customers and to enhance its reputation among buyers as a trustworthy, no-nonsense car company…..

This is how Toyota's "Drive away price" work, who implement it since Jan/2002

Source :January 22, 2002 – http://www.canadiandriver.com/news/020122-1.htm

"At the heart of the Access Toyota program is Toyota's drive-away pricing system where vehicle prices are set for a geographic market area using a confidential electronic poll of Access Toyota dealers. However, prices are not static and can fluctuate depending on market conditions. The "drive-away" price gives customers an up-front transaction price that is always lower than the manufacturer's suggested retail price, says Toyota. It includes the cost of the vehicle and all added accessories and options, as well as all charges, taxes and administration fees. There are no hidden costs or surprises, and all Access Toyota dealers in a given area will honour the drive-away price."

• W800i on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:07 am

In Australia, Gen 2 is targeting at teenager girls. Age around 18-25. Who do i know that? I only start their ads in a Girl magazine.. Sad isn't it?

Oh ya.. i once saw Waja billboard in Melbourne. Waja said to be the anwser to Asia's BMW.. LOL Wat a joke..

• yhtan on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:44 am

well done proton,at least they can clear they stock in Tanjung Malim

but proton still need to Improve QC problem

• see fat on Oct 26, 2005 at 9:45 am

finally, the end has arrive for the bloody blood-suckers and lazy bastardds…

• KuntaKinteWakatauSin on Oct 26, 2005 at 10:35 am

Come on Proton,

built for me a Malaysian V8 muscle car RM 150,000 or below + plus road tax below rm2000(with gov help!), i will surely buy one!

ps:how i wish proton would develop a car with attitude + roaring engine sound just like shelby cobra or monaro…….sigh

• eMalaysian on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:05 pm

In malaysia, do we get drive-away prices for proton old stock car?

• only mat salleh get drive away price because proton have to compete with all the subaru/toyota mah…

in bolehland no need drive away also car will sell…

• the 30K stock they hold is to supply the drive away by sending them overseas…

• If Proton implement "Drive-away price" then is a good news for us fellow Malsysian. Currently, Supply > demand, Cheap sale-loh.:)

• eMalaysian on Oct 27, 2005 at 5:40 pm

sadly, in malaysia, we will never get drive-away prices for cars

we don't even get "stock clearence sale" for new old-model hand phones.

• albagmane on Oct 28, 2005 at 5:44 pm

GOOD! VERY GOOD!

i wonder potong can survive for the next ten years..

im very very disappointed tat proton will have a very old and outdated car for it perdana replacement model.. tat sucks!

proton never surprises anyone instead of making ppl disappoint.. this is the worst car company i ever seen in my life.. if for others, when they found their business is getting worse, they will close down and get the remainings.. but proton?? still continue the falling business??? izit wana save face ah?? i think there are no faces for proton lah!

• outspoken on Oct 28, 2005 at 7:04 pm

looks like no one here from the automotive industry.. it's all about cost.. with China opening its door to liberalism, plus vietnam, vendors in malaysia can not compete in terms of pricing.. but.. how many people will trust proton if they suddenly change their vendors to China.. made in China.. emm.. i reckon people will say proton has the quality of Cherry Alado (no offence)..

• Outspoken:

China has a sizeable auto parts supplier derive from EU and North America. China auto-suppliers also have a JV program with their foreign counterpart. Majority of them are the first/second tier supplier to major car maker, i.e :GM China.

If you ask me Proton WAJA vs Cherry Alado. My opinion, I will till go for WAJA.

Cherry Alado is outdated, I wonder why the importer tend to believe Malaysian's expectation is so low?! :)

• outspoken on Nov 02, 2005 at 8:53 am

Dear View,

yes I agree wih your judgement. But most malaysians do not hold any confidence in anything MADE IN CHINA. Although most of electronics products now from china, they will still try to find anything "made in japan" or atleast "made in taiwan". Some chinese companies do have tie ups with european companies, but majority of them are just SMI.( cheaper ones, ) tie up companies will be barred from working with rival companies. FORD would not want their hard-earned technology transfered to proton via third party, would they?

p/s : i could not agree more with you with the Cherry Alado issue. I

• DARING on Nov 15, 2005 at 2:32 am

Some people just know how to complaint but don't have the rational behing it. Looking at Proton case, I would suggest that we should voice out a solutions rather than harsh comment towards our first local automotive manufacturer.

Let us look towards a comparison between Mitsubishi Lancer and Waja. Both have the same power plant but in term of body styling I feel and believe that Waja is more handsome car than Lancer. Plus Waja cost just about half the price as to compare with Lancer. All of this to ensure that Malaysian can enjoy rather similar quality car as the lancer with a lesser price. And one more thing, by producing locally it will generate income for this country and the people. All this made possible by Proton.

Please, if you are a true Malaysian take pride of what you have rather than complaining for the sake of it.