Proton to buy Passat and Sharan platforms

The Edge reports that Proton is looking into purchasing two Volkswagen platforms to produce it’s own versions for the local market under the Proton badge. After the purchase, design and development would take an additional year.

Volkswagen Sharan

The two models are the Volkswagen Passat mid-sized sedan which would likely be used as the Perdana Replacement Model, and the Volkswagen Sharan MPV, which would be Proton’s first 7-seater people mover. Both of the cars achieved international success a few years back. The Edge cited the source as a Proton official, but the official declined to reveal how much the deal would cost.

A photoshop of the Volkwagen Passat to show how the Perdana Replacement Model might look like.

Source: Forbes AFX News

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• keniji on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:09 pm

trying to FOOL us

with OLDies car AGAIN

come On!

we have enough!

just close SHOP

or

sell to VW

tak BoleH!!

• driver on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:14 pm

bad move…… always try to give us outdated stuffs. both are ugly!

• traitor on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:15 pm

malysia boleh……mimpilah…

• Will definitely be hot sale if much much cheaper than the rest! Proton rocks!

• 3rd honda driver on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:21 pm

oh guys, they are just buying the platform, not 100% take the design and rebadge. just the platform.

• SEE FU on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:29 pm

Let's go back to ZAMAN 80th!! Is MAlaysian like these oddies cars!!

Cantonese said: "Ah PEK wear JEAN" No matter how and what you wear the inside are OLD!! Sign**

YAU MO KAU……..CHOU!!! POTONG BOLEH, Kami Tak BOLEH!!

• travis on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:33 pm

proton direction is memang undecided one

now its back to the rebadge days, using volks dinosaur models, aiks!!!!

• armandd on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:37 pm

old platforms can be just as good as the new ones if they're modified and improved… developing new platform from scratch can be very costly…

• Aris Tee on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:46 pm

ooh… this is good news… i luv both cars… hopefully something interesting comes out from this… :D

• AudiFan on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:59 pm

I totally agree with 3rd honda driver's statement. Its only the playform not the whole thing. But hey I can live with a few years old VW platform than new Proton platform. Comeonlar, Even Kia's are based on Hyundai and Ssangyong based on Mercs. If Proton can produce a quality thats even matching to VW's older model quality (i doubt), I would defeinately reconsider Proton. Proton will never close shop..dream on…some national pride thing in the way!

• aih.. i thought the savvy and gen 2 was a right direction for the purpose of designing their new cars. instead of learning from VW they just purchase their platform (im fully aware it is not a complete design, maybe a concept), but after 20 years this is unacceptable.

in the end they will still charge retard prices for that old VW concept. i cant belive the perdana is 90K++, wtf.In malaysia they have to rely on the govt, in their design also have to rely on outside source, 20 yrs and still cannot stand on 2 feet even sucking up so much money?

i know KIA take design from hyundai but they are from the same country and hyundai is half of Proton's age! at least hyundai can be proud of something that is fully theirs!

sad reality that Proton will still exist because of govt and stupid pride/ego issue. maybe even another 5 years from now we will still be talking about how much Proton sux.

Savvy is a good car although i am not a big fan of the Gen 2 (they totally screw up the rear lights and the passenger space behind, not to mention the interior) but as 1st effort for their inhouse project its quite impressive given their track record.

Now instead of mitsu they wan rape design from VW, and then sell as their own. if build quality is good no problem, rakyat happy get a "cheaper" car, and maybe reinstall their confidence in the company. Also, make it different enough from the original VW design to warrant a worthy purchase! maybe improve upon it or add a few new features, whether safety, cosmetic or performance.

as for the new perdana 'shop i think ive seen that before, and i dont think its a VW ^_^.

just my 2 cents

• swee: that is skoba superb. earlier stories about the perdana replacement is it was to be a longer volkswagen passat, which is exactly what a skoda superb is.

• AudiFan on Oct 24, 2005 at 7:05 pm

Ermmm actually Hyundai Motor division was in 1967. And i have to agree with you….Proton should do better. Though I still think Korean Cars suck but fast catching up fast (and Proton not heading anywhere). If you look at Hyudai's and Kia's design, they still have a lot of traces of rip-off design from other car manufacturers. Oh, btw, Mazda's are based on Ford's platform.

I heard Proton is trying to model after Toyota's management. If thats so, Proton, you are nowhere near!!!

• Kung Fu Karipap on Oct 24, 2005 at 7:12 pm

I think Proton needs to have group consumer survey (Like in the apperentice one) asking the opinion of random 20 – 40 people from various background and ask them what are their thoughts and make decision based on them.

• Andrew on Oct 24, 2005 at 7:22 pm

well i dont think whatever their result that comes out after their design & development on these 2 platforms will give us any oomph!

all we'll get is just a change of badge, maybe some front grill and bumber design change or just a few mini minor cosmetics… i doubt big time we'll get a different car from those platform… we know how lazy potong's design and development people are!

i dont hope much from them…

• i see, thought it looked familiar O_o

• armandd on Oct 24, 2005 at 7:48 pm

new perdana = skoda superb?

• E-nabill on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:32 pm

i tink its jus rumours..proton need new cars n new platforms nt another old platform ..thy wont sell..biz wise doesnt make sence…beside..i tot VW and proton are in a tech collaborations n venture….y wd proton BUY from vw wer thy have the liscence to share platforms…sting fishy abt the report…i presonaly ignore it…i jus hope the report is nt made buy some moron p2 suporter as its always the case with proton!

• travis on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:35 pm

Hope at least proton designers will make their new perdana replacement model alittle spicy and not soo uncle look like car (unlike kia optima) with some lotus DNA!. But dont forget give us a better pricing.

A good start by getting a platform from an establish manufacturer, but hope they juz dont rebadge it.

n u telling me proton is following toyota's way? That hyundai and i confirm they r following like toyota. Perodua also got some toyota work ethics as well. Proton? Man fix ur power windows 1st leh.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:36 pm

bad taste photshopped pic.. because i think it's photoshop to UGLY it.. not to beauty it.. absolutely..

i look around. the new passat is kinda good design.. and the internal oso luxury mode.. mewah.. bergaya..

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:37 pm

My opinion: if this year is 1985, I am sure Malaysian are Happy and POTONG is moving to the right direction. BUT so UNLUCKy this year is 2005!!!

If POTONG continue to rebadge old models from VW or Renualt or Mitsu, UNTIL when POTONG cars will be advanced as others? Is LOWER PRICE car a good strategy for POTONG in long terms? (Actually the price is not that low, just because of feature removed and low quality)

Moreover, I don't believed rebadge the OLD models can be cheaper in terms. Why? If Automaker wish to score higher in safety, usually the whole vehicle structure and system needs to be remade or NEW. Unless POTONG don't care about it.

Next, spare parts issue. Since POTONG has many type of ENGINEs from Mitsu (1.3, 1.5, 1.6, 2.0v6), Renault (1.5, 1.8), Citroen (1.1), CAMPRO (1.6), ….and now add VW (2.0, 2.4 maybe), therefore each engine volume is very small. If you think about the parts management like ordering and stock keeping all these in general, the cost is much higher than direct import parts by original automaker VW or Renault (less profit taking by Local ppl).

As far as I knonw, each model which produced by POTONG, they must take care the spare parts at least for 10 years. Pls Do the calculation by yourself! What is the logic out there we (CONSUMERS) will get cheap maintenance cost? Buying a car is not only the car price, long terms maintenance cost must be included too.

In the passed, The success of POTONG cars especially WIRA and ISWARA were mainly due to low maintenance cost. Cheap Spare parts cost and we can buy directly (Used or new imported parts) from JAPAN. VW cars?? localized still very expensive, import from Europe wah EURO is expensive man, what are the benefits to make these cars in BOLEHLAND?

I think POTONG should consider each models that they are planning to build will be good in quality, competitive price (doesn't means have to be cheaped, but Safety features, ABS and Engine technologies has to be standards compare to others), low maintenance cost (Including spare parts and services) and good styling (sporty and unique styling than others). Make sure PPL (Overseas and Local ppl) buy POTONG because we want POTONG not just because of PRICE LOW and No choice!!

I hope POTONG members can agreed with my statement over here.

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:49 pm

swee is girl?

• rafreez on Oct 24, 2005 at 8:51 pm

if ur heart already hated something/someone…no matter what they did or say u guys will never apprv or will reject it…how to go on top if Msian has this kind of mentallity…we always said that Msia has 3rd world mentality but 1st class infrastructure, I think ppl who always bashing P1 without giving good comments to improve contribute 50% of the3rd world mentality we have…

• soya bean on Oct 24, 2005 at 10:43 pm

this is bad…the potong perdana v6 is actually a very-sporty and good-looking car…but the older passat platform/car looks fatherly, and nobody will gonna buy it…just like the overpriced-tax-make-government-richer skoda superb (based on old passat)

• Pakopako on Oct 24, 2005 at 10:45 pm

I agree with rafreez…

• yhtan on Oct 24, 2005 at 10:56 pm

rafeez,u r right…..

In my opinion,proton shouldn't take this these old car platform,

they should design a new one themself

• FiveElements on Oct 24, 2005 at 10:57 pm

PROTON is absolutely hopeless….

Once again they are trying to feed us with super ugly and old model.

Hopeless….let it just die……

• honda_driver on Oct 24, 2005 at 11:04 pm

well said rafreez.

to proton bashers. you hate the car, the manufacturer, and it seems, also the govt who supports them.

very simple solution for you guys, and it will also help lower your blood pressure. Stop talking about the car, the manufacturer…etc.

Also, don't buy any of their products. dont ride in their cars, and dont drive them either.

• superman on Oct 24, 2005 at 11:08 pm

The Passat platform in the discusion is a NEW PASSAT platform. not an old design as some misguided fools here think.

That Platform is way ahead of interms of structural design, compatibility and safety.

Blind stupid bashers are what keeps this country back, and not advancing

• jiman on Oct 24, 2005 at 11:23 pm

Ayooooo…what is wrong with you people. Volvo, KIA, Hyundai pun doing the same thing but when it comes to PROTON all kind of shit will come out from your mouth. You know what, reading this blog it's full of speculators & wannabe automotive armchair engineers!!

• armandd on Oct 24, 2005 at 11:41 pm

check out the other post, the 2006 daihatsu be-go. perodua is supposed to get this 4×4 to replace the new kembara right? they would copy it 95% just like the current kembara, yet, nobody complains! it's not that i'm against it… but don't just bash up everyting… give credit when it's due…

• Buying the platforms doesn't mean Proton is buying the whole concept of the vehicle. Of course by rebadging is cheap, but to built new platform is very costly as proven by development of Waja that cost around RM 1billion. Thus, it is wise for PROTON to buy a proven platform rather than spending millions of taxpayers money to develop a new one. Than you have to congratulate PROTON, not bashing blindly.

Of course, Proton will not 100% use the same design. It should be improvised as many other manufacturers do for their cars. I don't think PROTON is fool enough to copy it blindly as what others bashers hope. Under new management, PROTON should have more freedom and clear path to uphold the national car industry. But, first get rid the sole manufacturer of power window before it tarnish the new car images.

• kanasai on Oct 25, 2005 at 1:01 am

talk talk talk… when arr proton going to lunch a new model? with this so call great platform from VW. the minute proton have PROVE to the rakyat that they have improve in everything, we don really care wut platform they use. as long as they can compete and produce cost effective of a high quality car, people will surely stop bashing proton la. people cannot stop bashing proton cause proton giving them a lot of problems nowadays. if proton do not have quality issue, who have the time to bash proton. talk about mentality? i m not sure if u got mental problem or not if let say u r using an expensive product with super low quality and yet u accuse the consumer (most of them) got mentallity problem bashing this product!!

• i want to say only this. Why keep buying new platfor?. They should NOW address the QC issue of WAJA and Gen 2 first and after sales service. CHeaper spare part price and cheaper service cost. get those confident up first then other ppl will be more confident on the new models. Unless they solve the QC and after saLES problem, new cars = more stock built up for proton.

only just two days ago, my bro's waja have ignition problem and under warranty. The proton technician still cant find the fault. GOOD SERVICE AND TECHINCAL KNOW HOW CRAP.

• added: repair a month ago but until two days ago still have the same problem. Few times this month, pay them several visit and was told 'repair liao' but still the same.

• if you ask me, i would rather pay more to buy even korean brand than Proton. no offend. no buy local made is not being not patriot, it is damn fool to buy problem car

• i think it is appropriate to repost my earlier comment in The new NAP disccusing

we will not buy proton if japan car price crash down.

REASON. it is not brand only…….

We have given Proton 20 years to prove themselves, we have tolerate them 20 years of bad services, we have being suffer overall high car price to ‘own’ them. We suffer bad QC. Bad Taste of design.

This create the mass ‘hate’ sydrome toward them. Are we proud of Proton? if they have done well, they will not be such an image to the public. If they have done well, i dont mine buying them than Japanese but they are not even match to the rest of the other japanese brand, or even Korean..

Why ppl like toyota is not because it is japanese, it is because it is reliable. Why not much ppl comment on other japanese brand as much as toyota. ask yourself again.

Why nowaday, ppl jump to imported car even they are still commanding higher price and result proton to lose market share is basically ppl are fed up with them TOO MUCH. Even Proton is losing to Perodua is market share. Nobody complain perodua, everyone hop to myvi. why? quality is the key.

BTW, i dont ask the two firms to close BUT i asking them to open up, selling stake to foreigner and boost domestic competition and hopefully to compete EXPORT market (Thailand is already there and we still dreaming). How long do we still need to protect them? another 5 years, 10 years? It is only a matter of sooner or later. Might as well admit it earlier we made a mistake and get on with it. Dont drag the whole country for just the damn pride.

if Proton have given quality build car, good services (not dreaming that the economy will be forever close and being protected like a BIG BABY) way before AFTA or talk of AFTA such as early 2000’s , ppl might have respect them and still consider them. Now AFTA is just around the corner and they still refuse to wake and change. Dont talk about QC. Talk just about bad warranty services is still there to this very day.

Just look at Korean car. Less than 5 years establishment in Malaysia and they are already releasing almost par car price to Japan. And ppl do accept it. Ask yourself why? 15 years back, nobody accept korean car Worldwide and they are now threatening Japanese made market.

Five years ago, you might even ask yourself, why hyundai, cheap car…not as worthly as Japanese. why want to buy.

Brand is how you PROVE to people, not by being IMPOSED on (using the BUATAN MALAYSIA motto).

• As for waja, i dont think it is the proton platform that ppl complaining. it is the interior parts that ppl suffering. What is platform? it is only the skeleton of the car not that whole car.

Proton problem is the inferior parts. PARTS.

• Bernard on Oct 25, 2005 at 1:17 am

honda_driver,

We don't buy their products, drive their cars or ride in them. Once bitten twice shy. ;)

I don't mind Proton buying platforms and rebadging them. But if they start redesigning them, and if the Savvy's design is any indication, ugh!. Please, shoot the designer in the head. The current Perdana looks good though, but that platform is starting to show its age.

– Embracing the 3rd World Mentality.

ps: Here's a comment for Proton to improve: Quit the business. I mean, if you can get power windows right after so long, what chance do you have? No really, you're losing money for a reason. Ohh look, what's that? Daihatsu Be-Go? Wow *Gasp* ;)

• Bernard on Oct 25, 2005 at 1:25 am

Typo: I meant "can't"

The new Passat looks great though.
    http://www.vw.com/passat/index.html

• Bernard on Oct 25, 2005 at 1:32 am

Edmunds.com review:
    http://www.edmunds.com/new/2006/volkswagen/passat…

" With its potent engine lineup and well-balanced chassis, the Passat is one of the most entertaining cars in its class. Either of the engines will satisfy, as the refined turbo four pulls hard right off the line, while the V6 offers more than enough power for any situation. The new steering system adjusts power assist based on vehicle speed and steering wheel angle, stiffening up on straight stretches of highway and dialing in more assist for turns. Although suspension calibration is weighted toward sporty driving, the Passat's ride quality remains smooth and comfortable"

I wonder what engine will Proton use though. Should be at least a v6 for the Perdana.

• zongtwi on Oct 25, 2005 at 1:40 am

Rafreez, no use telling most of the people here about that point, it's just a waste of time. Whatever Proton does, whether it's good or bad, would definitely be criticised by all these people. Closed minded, ego-fuelled people who think they know everything.

What do people want? Cheaper cars with good quality coming out on sale as soon as possible. Why Proton intend to use VW platform? To produce cheaper cars with good quality coming out as soon as possible. By using VW's platforms, they would be saving atleast RM100M, and halving the development period, from 3 years, to probably 1.5 years. Who says using VW platform doesn't make sense biz wise? Does anyone have RM100M to spare? Give to Proton laa…sponsor a developing a new platform. Do these people criticising this move even now what a car platform is? Or are you guys just talking out of your arses?

Loads of large OEM's (who are competitors in real life) collaborate with each other to come out with new car platforms. Why? Because it is damn expensive to develope their own. The main objective of this is to make totally new and different cars, with the largest number of common parts as possible. More common parts, less tooling prices, less overall car prices. Simple math. Opel Vectra, Saab 9-3, Chevy Malibu, Pontiac G6, and the new Saturn Aura concept, are all built on the same platform.

I say, if this is actually true (I personally know if this is true or not, but I'm not telling you guys!) using VW's platforms is one of the best decision the new Proton management can make. Hopefully with all the money they can save from this move, they can invest in increasing the quality of the products.

• kanasai on Oct 25, 2005 at 2:02 am

zongtwi

u just talk and support proton all u want. we need to see the result 1st la. the result now is ugly for proton. period. we don't f##king care wut platform or wut ever tech, management or vendor or even partner they have. for f##k long as proton have proved to us that "YES!! Proton did it!!They fianally come up with a superb model with great quality" that's wut the rakyat want. i hope u r right that proton is doing everything they could now for improvement. even for 5 years or even 10 years they require, we rakyat have to bare with it. wut choice do we have. so pls bare with us bashing proton for 5 to 10 years also la. i hope it will not take too long la.

• Bernard on Oct 25, 2005 at 2:11 am

I lot of Proton bashing going on here. I sense a lot of pent up anger. I suppose a lot of people here felt cheated in many ways, and not just by giving us ciplak quality cars either. Proton, our national hero, leading our nation into a new globalized era, our pride, hope and joy, you've let us down… for the last time.

"You had us at hello…"

• read between the lines, " Both of the cars achieved international success a few years back."

OLD platform, VW not using anymore, Proton want to buy… good la, can make money from OLD platform, VW sell la.

Will it be another Tiara. ??!!

• albagmane on Oct 25, 2005 at 2:19 am

gosh.. this is a stupid move.. proton, r u nuts?

the company seems to be getting worse..

• zongtwi on Oct 25, 2005 at 2:43 am

Kanasai,

Although I don't agree with what you're saying, but atleast I can admire your honesty.

The result now is ugly for Proton because of the previous management. Now Proton under new management, atleast give them a couple of years to improve la…after that, if they still are crap, then I will also join the Proton bashing club. (Because I am not a Proton supporter, I am instead a Malaysian supporter, anything that I think is good for the people and for the country will definitely get my support)

Platform sharing is one of the best moves the new management can make. It is a good move, but people are still criticising it. That, I don't understand. If all the good things Proton are doing, you still want to criticise, then even if they improve considerably within the next few years, people still won't recognise it and still continue this proton bashing. So that is a bit unfair isn't it?

Btw, VW golf,VW beetle, Audi A3 and Audi TT are all using the same platform. Notice how unique the design and aesthetics of each car is? The cost of developing a single platform is divided into 4 cars, making each car cheaper. Make sense doesn't it?

• zongtwi

it is not saying using other platform is bad idea. It is whether Proton are going to use good Interior part such like power window?

When you want to tell ppl off, at least you UNDERSTAND the words first. Telling ppl off without proving is only what i get from your words. no hard feeling.

Proton want ppl respect, they have to earn it, not by just words.

PPL complain is this;-

waja: good desing, nice priced, bad quality

gen 2, nice design, bad interiro parts.

savy, good interiro parts ( maybe as too soon to say) but bad taste of design.

You have the opinion but end of the day, SALES IS THE OPINION OF CONSUMERS.

BAD SALES = BAD CONFIDENCE.

• what ppl felt is not what car they going to produce in future.

They should FOCUS to improve the CURRENT model image such as WAJA and GEN2 which is affecting buyers TODAY. haven't solve today problem and talk about tommorrow to me is just brushing the current problem under the mat.

• zongtwi on Oct 25, 2005 at 2:47 am

By saving money developing the car, they can use the extra money to improve quality, can't they?

• cyborgx on Oct 25, 2005 at 2:48 am

I m a proton-basher but hey,alba at least bash with facts la.

these two models are outdated and it doesnt look good at all.Sigh,what else can proton come out with.

• zongtwi,

we wish and hope that they do. But from what i can see, i have my doubt.

In 2000, they are told to beef up for 2005, by 2003, they are told to beef up for 2008, now, 2005, should we tell them to beef up for 2010? Two years later 2007, are they going to able to compete? Or delay to 2010?

I dont think Thai, Indo, Filip will appreciate our long delay to open up.

• zongtwi on Oct 25, 2005 at 3:06 am

Yep, exactly. We do wish and we are hoping that they do. The new management cannot be blamed for Proton's past failures. Proton are still restructuring, they don't even have a new CEO yet! What I'm saying is give this new management some time. At the very least a couple of years before we start bashing them again (yes, I said 'we') if no improvements have been done.

• mORE DELAY MEANS MORE CONPENSATION mALAYSIA PAY BUTA-BUTA FOR PROTON

LOOK AT THIS old news BELOW:-

INDUSTRIAL COOPERATION

Indonesia agrees to Malaysia’s auto-industry tariff-cuts postponement…

Malaysia agreed to cooperate with Indonesia in the automotive industry as PARTIAL COMPENSATION for Kuala Lumpur’s decision to postpone reductions in tariffs on motor vehicles and components under the ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA) agreement.

Rafidah Aziz, Malaysia’s International Trade and Industry Minister, said the two countries agreed on the compensation package on 30 June, following two rounds of talks.

Similar negotiations with Thailand are ongoing, she added.

“Indonesia and Thailand had both claimed compensation for lost market opportunities caused by Malaysia's decision to delay automotive sector tariff cuts by two years till 2005,” Malaysia’s Business Times reported.

“Four meetings have been held with Thailand but no agreement has been reached. Further discussions will be sought to narrow the differences, Rafidah said.”

Bilateral consultations with the two countries followed Malaysia's notification to the AFTA Council in January 2001 that it had deferred placing completely knocked-down (CKD) and completely built-up (CBU) automotive products under AFTA’s Common Effective Preferential Tariff (CEPT) scheme.

Rafidah had said earlier that Malaysia was willing to discuss compensation, but the countries involved must calculate the amount of injury to their industries.

• It is a heavy price to pay if they still dont beef up.

• zongtwi on Oct 25, 2005 at 3:34 am

Yep, I agree with you mate. Everyone knows about that compensation package thingy. That is one of the reasons why I was sick to the bone due to Proton's mismanagement all these while.

the effect of closing down Proton to the economy, to the workers, technicians, and engineers and their families is far more dangerous and worse then the effect of paying the compensation. I really hope the new management can bring Proton and Malaysia out of this misery.

But they can't do it overnight. They need time to stabilise and improve the company. They also need time to come out with new models. Just give them a bit of time, at least 2 years. After that, let us all judge them openly. Let's hope by then the situation has improved.

• good to hear Proton`s attention to make MPV but how about SRM? not yet ker?

me tired of hearing Proton to launch bla bla bla…

• Ihateproton on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:12 am

Why do they need to buy 2 more platforms anyway?

How many platforms do they already have? – 2 right? one for the sawi and another for the gen2/waja

why would a company producing approx 200thou cars a year need 4 bloody platforms?

Toyota sells close to …. what…. 6 million cars a year has just double that number of platforms…

and they say they are gonna come out with a car 1 year after buying the platform? I dont buy it…. they already have the SRM running around for the past one year .. with still no sign of it in the showroom…. how are they gonna build a car in one year after obtaining a platform??

Thats bullshit… i think 'buying a platform' is just another way of saying 'rebadging'

• Dando on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:23 am

i dun understand la these ppl… at first they bash about the platfor proton will be using…. then one guy said that purchasing the platform is the best way to reduce cost…. then these bashers dunno how to counter…now they are saying that it's not the platform that they r concern…it's the interior parts…. haiyoo…mcm lalang la everyone….

• Baboonz on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:29 am

I think deep down everyone wants to see Proton do well. Whether you are a Proton Basher or supporter. Since the decission to use VW's platform fueled so much discussion.

Thats my 2 cents.

• dando,

everyone view it different.

Ppl bash proton because fend up with it, not really on the platform (is skeleton lah so only involve more on safety issue and body shape of car) but the poor quality and EXPENSIVE PARTS (also BAD SERVICE).

Ppl say buy playform is good better than develop own as proton will waste more money (trial and error) and take too long to develop own one.

in summary, platform is NOT the problem.

• The day we all hope:

Camry =RM100K

altis = RM80K

Vios = RM60K

Waja = RM40K

Gen 2 = RM35K

Savy = RM25K

iswara RM15K

• HAHA right on GGG thats how it should be.

the Iswara DEFINITELY SHOULD NOT BE 30K++, IMO, i cannot beleive people want to pay for that…

• wiraone on Oct 25, 2005 at 10:18 am

For the guy who talked about Proton using different engines .. why not check other manufacturers too? Oh BTW, just for your information, Mini 1.4D uses diesel engine from Toyota Yaris .. If you want to survive nowadays .. I guess sharing engines/platforms is the best way to go.. but in this case .. I've no idea why they go for the old Passat and Sharan platforms.

• soya bean on Oct 25, 2005 at 10:40 am

the passat platform potong is trying to buy is from the older, discontinued model, not the latest one…and that older model looks very plain and ungainly, with short rear ends and a long hood (think kia spectra)…the skoda superb and previuos generation audi a6 used that platform…only the audi looks great…when u used an already ready platform, u cant chg the overall length/design of the platform's shape much..thats why if u see the skoda superb, audi a6 and previuos volkswagen paaasat, they all have the same basci shape…if the new perdana is based on the older platform, we will basically get a similiar shape as the skoda superb, which looks non-sporty and even worse than a boring camry…now who would want to buy a boring fatherly 100,000 k potong ?

the latest pasaat LOOKS GREAT, THOUGH…i was actually hoping that potong would use the latest platform when VW buys potong…unfornutaely, the government and "its old adviser and dictator" would not let VW to have control over the supply chain, which would means an almost a death-kneel for the local bolldy power window and other lousy suplliers

• Bryan on Oct 25, 2005 at 12:00 pm

I wonder why POTONG always taking others manufacture design!!! Both of the car are SUX!!! By taking things that ppl already throw inside the drill for a long long time and reproduced it… What a stupid idea…

• zongtwi on Oct 25, 2005 at 3:14 pm

Sometimes I wonder whether people who leave their comments even care to read what other people have said before.

For any of you who cares to check, the new passat uses an extended version of the new VW golf platform (called B7 platform). Suprising, isn't it? The old Passat shared platforms with the 2002 Audi A4 (called B5 platform). The new Audi A4 is an extended version of the B5 platform (called B6 platform).

http://driving.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,14138… http://www.vwvortex.com

I don't see any reason why Proton should not use the old Passat's B5 platform. If Audi feels that the platform is good enough to be used for their current cars (albeit extended versions), why do we Malaysians suddenly gets so pissed off with the news that Proton wants to use it as well? Are we all experts? Are we all just talking out of our arses? Or are we just having a common case of 'rebadge'-aphobia? Once and for all, sharing platforms is not the same as rebadging. Come on everyone, follow me now…"Sharing platforms…not rebadging!" One more time…"Sharing platforms…not rebadging!" And again. "Sharing platforms…not rebadging".

VW, Audi sells like millions of cars each year. They can afford to develop new platforms, or even develop extended versions of their current platforms. Proton are struggling to sell 500,000 cars a year. It makes complete sense for Proton to use a SLIGHTLY outdated platform to reduce costs. People get angry when Proton car's prices are high and quality is very low. But when Proton plans something to try and reduce development costs people scream and shout at them. Crazy or not?

• zongtwi on Oct 25, 2005 at 3:48 pm

Hold up, I think I've made a mistake about the names of the platforms used by VW and Audi. The new Passat definitely uses an extended version of VW Golf MK5 platform, and the new Audi A4 uses an extended version of the previous Passat platform. What each platform is called I'm not so sure anymore.

• eMalaysian on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:58 am

Wow! Buying the VW platform is good.

Later proton will have a VW platform, campro engine, lotus timing, saga paint job, citron design, japaneese production system, german certification, malaysian management and proton lulus. What a winning combination.

I am very proud to contribute my tax to make proton a success.

You all agree or not?

• Leila on Oct 26, 2005 at 1:13 am

Proton should give up and just sell everything to VW. Open up the local car market so we can buy better quality cars without being gouged.

• zongtwi : first i have to tell you i agree 100% with you.

All the bashers please STOP bashing proton. Have any of you actually gone in a VW sharan. I have. It may not look nice in the pic but it does look okay when you see the real thing ( about same size as hyundai trajet ). Why dont you all look at it as proton is coming up with an MPV to challenge the avanza and innova. Give them a chance. It may be good. Please try to look at it possitively. And by the way how many of you have problems with your protons? Just curious to know. Because all my three protons ( 1 wira (A) year 2002 and 2 waja (A) year 2003 and 2005 ) have not given me any problems. Maybe i am just lucky.

ps. I get proton ORIGINAL spare parts for half the price ( I am not kidding and i will happy to tell anyone who asks me where to get the parts ).

• see fat on Oct 26, 2005 at 9:25 am

no no no u dudes r misunderstanding us…especially zongtwi (or whatever)…we do not choose to bash and thrash potong, but it was potong who smear shiit into their own faces…as i've said, the older VW platform, although looks exciting when launched (basic shape copied by infiniti/nissan of north america/kia spectra), the shape just dosent look sporty as the current (albeit very old) mitsubishi eterna platform….and one more thing: potong is actually deceiving the rakyat about their capabilities to "create a car from scratch" when the so-called "campro" engine is actually related to mistsubishi…and so far all their lousy models, inc the potong sawi, uses some other foreign manufacturers's engines…SO WHERE IS THE SO-CALLED "WE R THE ONLY 11 NATION ON EARTH WHO CAN DESIGN AND MAKE A CAR FROM SCRATCH?"

what a joke

• eMalaysian on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:10 pm

Yes guys. We should give proton chance to improve. 20 years not enough. They need at least 20 more years. By that time, hopefully they will phase out the iswara.

• Whatever…

• superman on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:10 pm

Ihateproton,

You truly are misguide. Toyota doesn't sell 6 million cars from 8 platforms la.

They have:-

one citycar platform (shared with PSA Group),

One platform for K car ( Paso/Boon Myvi)- Toyota owns Daihatsu owns part of perodua.

One Small Car platform ( Yaris/Vios/Vitz)

Altis/Corolla (small/medium saloon/hatch)

medium/large FF saloon( Camry)

Saloon – Small FR (Lexus IS)

Saloon -Medium FR (Lexus GS)

Saloon – Large FR

Small size MPV (Wish)

Medium/Large MPV (Estima)

4WD Chassis Too many to type here

• superman on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:16 pm

zongtwi said,

October 25, 2005 @ 7:48 am

Hold up, I think I’ve made a mistake about the names of the platforms used by VW and Audi. The new Passat definitely uses an extended version of VW Golf MK5 platform, and the new Audi A4 uses an extended version of the previous Passat platform. What each platform is called I’m not so sure anymore.

zongtwi,

Good points on your posts. Your're correct on the platform names . Current VW platform names have 2 alphabets and 2 numbers. I can't remember either but the new Golfs plaform has a "45" in it.

• honda_driver on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:34 pm

Swee:

"the Iswara DEFINITELY SHOULD NOT BE 30K++, IMO, i cannot beleive people want to pay for that…"

people pay for it because they can't afford any other cars. There is no shame in that. Whatever decisions the govt made to put our auto industry in the position it is today, doesnt change the fact that people still have to go on living.

seefatt:

you made a lot of claims there on why you think proton isnt a manufacturer. any hard facts to back it up? i'm only asking because i'm interested to know. because your comments seem to contradict every single thing i've read about proton from financial publications, to motoring and technical publications.

zongtwi:

well said, interesting comments and facts that you've put forward there.

• nuzzary on Oct 26, 2005 at 8:20 pm

this is what happened when people get so used to rebadge items (Perodua, naza, inokom, early proton).. rebadge is cheap.. you dont have to design, test & invest to much..

Proton now is doing their own from scratch and people just kept saying rebadge item is far more better.. dont we want to see PROTON as a car manufacturer not just some rebadge company like PERODUA that in my opinion will never ever try to create any car of their own..

Proton still learning maa.. now since the CEO gone.. proton people are going backwards (buying platform) just because of the opinion of some malaysian that their selfmake car are not good enough..

think about it.. By not giving any support, Its killing PROTON..

• see fat on Oct 26, 2005 at 9:07 pm

…by nurzhari

no…we didnt "kill" potong…potong committed hala-kili on themselves… : p

• Bryan said,

October 25, 2005 @ 4:00 am

I wonder why POTONG always taking others manufacture design!!!

—-> No choice Bryan…our designer can only design something like ar…Sawi…or even better Juara ~~~ is tat wat u wanna see on the road? yuckssss

• honda_driver on Oct 26, 2005 at 10:17 pm

abu, if you bothered to read what others have posted, you might have a rough idea why.

• nuzzary said,

October 26, 2005 @ 12:20 pm

—> We din kill it, we Malaysian have been supportin POTONG too much (no choice) and at the end what it proved to us? Well its not WE who kill POTONG, its those ppl who 'dig' the wealth by doing all those hanky-panky will KILL POTONG. and I have no surprise if it close shop…too many thing to be found under the magic carpet

• Geez honda_driver, I read part of the but not all…well its too bitter to accept these fact but yet none of them actually wrong. Besides the optimistic price of the cars which i am oso dream of :P

• see fat on Oct 27, 2005 at 1:08 am

yeah abu in the end, only a few well-connected people and cronies got filthy rich….who what tenku mahaleel cares if he lost his job? he is still got filthy rich at OPUR EXPENSE, THE RAKYAT'S HARD-EARNED MONEY'S EXPENSE ..i used to support mahathir….many of his decisions were right, but unfortunately he turned into a mad dictator and fullfill his fantasies by indulging in ventures that turned out to waste taxpayers money….and not just millions, BUT BILLIONS OF RINGGITS!!…think of it if the government uses these crazy amount to fix potholes (which kills), choked bloked drains , help the poor blablabla…but no, apparently the local councillors ALSO JUST SITS DOWN AND GET FILTHY RICH by issuing unnnecessary projects and makan duit kopi while the poor rakyat's complaints fall on deaf years…REMEMBER THE ACCIDENT IN KEDAH WHERE A POOR GIRL/CARS DROWNED JUST BECOZ THE LOCAL COUNCILLORS TURNED A DEAF YEAR TO PUT TRAFFIC LIGHTS ON THE JUNCTION FOR DECADES? NOT MONTHS, OR EVEN YEARS, BUT DECADES!!

AFTER the fatal accident, the father remarked "olang sudah mati baru mau mali…dudlu kite komplain bayang pun talak nampak…ini lagi datang the brand-new suv..mana dia olang dapat duit utk bili?

malaysia is dying becoz of these blood-sukkers

• @ bong on Nov 05, 2005 at 12:26 am

i think cristising is good. i makes proton to be more careful. we are not like Us, where the citizen can voice up freely. it think through proper "discussion" like these, at least some people who are involve are more reliase and careful of their contribution either to proton, or any other malaysian economy growth. only time can tell and show to us the result. in the mean time jsut do what u think is right. some people support, some people against it. that's the balance of nature anyway…. keep it up!!!

• Tuning_Professional on Nov 10, 2005 at 4:09 am

Dear everyone in here (the one going against Proton), stop forcing Proton to close or else, you're the one who end up 'closed.' Let Proton be Proton. No fool can become a graduate in 3 seconds. If you have the money, you can buy what you want, even a factory! Proton have enough money, no wonder they can buy the Passat and Sharan platforms. Orang malas suka buang masa dengan menggunakan Internet untuk mengutuk, menghina dan memfitnah syarikat kereta Malaysia, Orang rajing takkan buat semua benda terkutuk macam saya sebut tadi.

Jadi sedarlah sikit korang semua asal dari mana. Proton tu bukan syarikat korang, dunia ni ciptaan Tuhan, tapi korang tunjuk sombong korang.

BETTER STOP OR YOU'RE THE ONE WHO'S GONNA BE SORRY.

• Tuning_Professional on Nov 10, 2005 at 4:09 am

Dear everyone in here (the one going against Proton), stop forcing Proton to close or else, you’re the one who end up ‘closed.’ Let Proton be Proton. No fool can become a graduate in 3 seconds. If you have the money, you can buy what you want, even a factory! Proton have enough money, no wonder they can buy the Passat and Sharan platforms. Orang malas suka buang masa dengan menggunakan Internet untuk mengutuk, menghina dan memfitnah syarikat kereta Malaysia, Orang rajin takkan buat semua benda terkutuk macam saya sebut tadi.

Jadi sedarlah sikit korang semua asal dari mana. Proton tu bukan syarikat korang, dunia ni ciptaan Tuhan, tapi korang tunjuk sombong korang.

BETTER STOP OR YOU’RE THE ONE WHO’S GONNA BE SORRY.

• vhtan on Dec 09, 2005 at 7:01 am

what Tuning_Professional said is true also,

let's give Proton another 20 years to fix the power window problem.

Malaysia Boleh!

• dinobros (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 5:46 pm

no offence to anyone or "potong" in this instant… actually although facts seem to state that the new perdana will not be 100% rebadged old passat or even the new passat…

personally i think its not such a bad thing to be a complete rebadged of even the old passat… the design of the old passat dun look dated to me anyway the quality and features are all up market and comfortable…

if u were to choose between a potong fabia (rebadged skoda fabia) and a gen2 which would u prefer? i would choose the potong fabia althogh the fabia itself is based on the mk 4 vw golf. what say u?

thus if its a complete rebadged even of the old passat.. i would say its a good buy given that its sold at a reasonable potong price (which i dun think it will be).

• goingberserk (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 1:08 am

Tuning_professional…. If want to give P1 a lifeline .it is ur choice. I dont care. But u said

"Orang malas suka buang masa dengan menggunakan Internet untuk mengutuk, menghina dan memfitnah syarikat kereta Malaysia, Orang rajin takkan buat semua benda terkutuk macam saya sebut tadi." which means u r a bloody hyprocrite…

It is our damn rights to voice our frustration, not you for your comment. Then u said u r hardworking, then why the damn u are posting at this website ? U are talking carp !

• b4nd3r (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 7:10 am

Wow … if the new perdana is going have the same platform as VW Passat & Audi A4 .. it would be a good news. But how about this :

http://www.jeffooi.com/2006/03/perdana_replacemen…