FAW Xiali C1

fawc1_1.jpg

FAW Tianjin Xiali Automobile is Toyota’s partner in China. They’ve recently launched a few compact car called the FAW Xiali C1 back in the first half of 2006, but I did not notice it until reader ShadowFox pointed it out to me. The Xiali C1 rides on a 2425mm long platform, and measures 3810×1670×1480 mm. Engines range from 1.3 litre to 1.6 litre.

The front lights look like it was taken off the Suzuki SX4, and the rear lamps are clearly inspired by Audi’s eagle head shaped rear lamps. But the whole shape of the car in it’s entirety looks very familiar, I’ll let you decide for yourself what it reminds you of.

More photos after the jump, including photos of the car’s interior which features a center-mounted dashboard meter panel very similiar to the Naza Sutera‘s. FAW was also the company responsible for the FAW Xinfu Happy Messenger electric car.

fawc1_2.jpg

fawc1_3.jpg

fawc1_4.jpg

fawc1_5.jpg

fawc1_6.jpg

fawc1_7.jpg

fawc1_8.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:03 am

is there any test done on this car? safety? iam surprised they are able to design thier own car. proton took ages before we can produce a real malaysian car.

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:11 am

The rear looks like the new VW Golf, but one look at the car from the side, and it looks like a Proton Savvy……

But, the design is not bad for a China made car. Looks very european…

• DtG (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:42 am

OH NO!!! it's a copy of the SAVVY!!! the Chinese are on to PROTON!!!!! wow…. i never thought i'd live to see this day…. the Chinese actually copied a Malaysian design!!! Proton should take this as a bitter compliment!!!! all these China brands normally copy highly rated cars… but this??!!! PROTON oh proton…. consider this an uncalled for milestone!! haha….

• DtG (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:46 am

i'm still laughing!!! i feel like 'liking' proton now!!! hahahahaha……

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:54 am

DtG, where got like Proton Savvy, you "cock-eye" lah!

Anyway, my opinion is this design simplilistic and decent for it compact segment car. Engine wise, 1.3 to 1.6 is "good bargain". Toyota "inspire" car, I think this car is better built than Naza Sutera.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:57 am

makes me pround that chinese actually COPY AND PASTE the savvy!

its seriously a savvy…dont kid urself…! atleast it shows our own p1 know how to design good looking cars

• tanyeehou (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:00 am

The first picture somewhat resembles the Savvy.

• szw (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:03 am

who did da colour matchin wan ?

its a total disaster lar.

at least proton giv reasonable colour 4 our interior , hehe !

• HMMaster (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:14 am

hm….kinda like savvy! o_o

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:22 am

Yeah it does look abit like the Savvy.. but almost all un-inspired hatches look alike.

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:26 am

Maybe i need to have my eyes checked for 'cock-eye'…

It reminds me of Savvy.

• drebar (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:35 am

fugly? i think china is still at a very early stage of building cars… and trust me.. I believe they are learning.. typical chinese… if anyone of you know the Lee Kuan Yew-Suchau case…you will never again doubt the chinese.. and yeah..i'm a chinese too..my great great grandparents are from Annkway… lol…time will tell…they will soon overtake malaysia in the automobiles industry…

• asimo (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:39 am

i thought this is the new version of savvy…hmmm,this is truly copy rom savvy…

• DtG (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:47 am

Joe Ooi said,

September 4, 2006 @ 8:54 pm

DtG, where got like Proton Savvy, you “cock-eye” lah!

Anyway, my opinion is this design simplilistic and decent for it compact segment car. Engine wise, 1.3 to 1.6 is “good bargain”. Toyota “inspire” car, I think this car is better built than Naza Sutera.

Oi, Mr Ooi….. look properly la…. haiyo from wat i read 8 ppl agree wit me… it definitely looks like a Savvy…… cannot see izit???? so clear man… if need glasses pakai 1st.. den oni comment la….

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:49 am

wah…i thought new version of satrianeo

• nirzat (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:55 am

Macam sawi da, ciput je, bape sekilo gak?

• malayman (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:56 am

hmm….maybe i also need glasses coz i dun see tha savvy resemblence…. but besides that, my comment on the car= ewwww…….

the interior colors are soooo out and, i dn believe this, but more plactic lookin then proton!! haha! wonder how the crash test for this one goes? cant imagine….

and in photo no 4. if u notice the huge gap betwwen the wheel and the wheel arch of the silver car in the background…lol!

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:57 am

Farina, where got new version of Neo? LOL!

Anyway, everybody seems to say it look like Savvy. A bit la. Not like they copied the whole thing. But I think the rear look a lot better than Savvy. A Golf/Polo inspired rear end. I must say they did quite a good "mix & match" job on this car. Like szw said, the interior are disasterous!

• clutch_plate (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:02 am

The interior parts looks boring. Too simple… but this perhaps will give a chance for them to make a 'special edition' package (like our Proton WIRA – 'Special Edition' kononnya :) ) in future when the car cannot attract a good sale anymore! Hehehe… I agree with u DtG, its look like our Proton Savy. Wahhh! Proton has 'inspired' a China Automotive company in term of design eh? Ada kemajuan nampaknya… hehehe :)

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:11 am

yeah, it look like sawi.. but in the 1st picture view angle, at the back side only..

the designer definitely no idea already by copy paste the design of other cars…Mixed Rojak….

Look at the interior…. Eiiiiyak….Creamy Yam cake…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:25 am

DtG, OK OK lah, if "can't beat you" then joint you loh……. look like SAWI! he, he, he ……… so any bad comment on this car, also "reflect" Savvy hah…… because look a like …..

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:49 am

I think most people agree that it looks like savvy. But performance wise, we're still not sure whether it is on par or better than the outstanding savvy. Heheheh.. finally, some company copied design elements from Proton. This is priceless…

• karheng (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:54 am

It does look a bit like savvy. let's play spot the difference. From the side, there is not staircase rise in the B Pillar on the horizontal level.

From the back, the back makes savvy look dumb. This one has a simple and clean back.

From the Front..lights are somewhat different.

Interior..I think savvy's looks better.. This dual tone high contrast design just doesn't click i think..

• hiuzi_eriena (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 7:02 am

Aya, savvy made in chine, better looking that ours look like dark vader helmet. Why proton didn't produce like their design, more european style

• accordmania (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 7:15 am

ok..for my opinion, front is like hyundai matrix, side is like savvy and back is like neo especially the rear mirror and correct me if i am wrong.. the tail light part is looks like mitsubishi airtrek…pls correct me

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 7:25 am

if i'm Jeremy, i will say the car of the whole world are the same, they have an engine, they have the doors, they have 4 wheels, they have steering, they have headlamp, tailight, signal lights, brake, gearbox etc….

ha..ha..ha… joking only… :)

• OvaBoost (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 7:31 am

Joe Ooi said,

September 4, 2006 @ 10:25 pm

DtG, OK OK lah, if “can’t beat you” then joint you loh……. look like SAWI! he, he, he ……… so any bad comment on this car, also “reflect” Savvy hah…… because look a like …..

Joe Ooi,

first it's SAVVY, not SAWI you ahbeng!!

and the only bad comment is you!

what are you trying to say?

It's like saying any bad comment on wira, also “reflect” mitsubishi lancer?

hello ooi… go to sleep la…

• V8 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 7:35 am

c'est genial! finally proton have something to be proud of! totally agree wif u DtG..at least tis prove that our savvy is a good design car..up up! proton share price goes up! thanks to this china company!

• accordmania (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 7:37 am

OvaBoost..pls calm down..may u are already over boosted oledi..

• alamak (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 7:49 am

what is the stupid trend with center console?? It's not really much more visible to the driver (unlike the civic speedo-console), and you don't get to put stuff on top of the dashboard on either side…

Where's the practicality of center console ?

• datto (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:18 am

it looks like the early 80's mazda 323 5 door hatchback to me..i think the 323 hatchback even looks better than that piece of crap…ha ha ha ha

anyhow…suddenly i feel very malaysian again…to me i think our 'lovely' potong sawi looks much acceptable compare to this old outdated design eh…

• nutsaboutcars (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:23 am

ok guys… gotta agree it looks, soo disturbingly, savvy-like.

but i'm kinda surprised toyota is teaming-up for a car like this, just when they top the list for the 2nd biggest automaker in the world, and ranking as the one spending one hella money in f1, other than the red stallion.

sad to say that both interior and exterior, everything looks rather conventional and plain simple to me. count my vote out for this one, it's just another car la…

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:25 am

This is what happens when you try to "elongate" savvy to be like a Neo :D

• asimo (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:56 am

another poor joe ooi…

Joe Ooi said,

September 4, 2006 @ 10:25 pm

DtG, OK OK lah, if “can’t beat you” then joint you loh……. look like SAWI! he, he, he ……… so any bad comment on this car, also “reflect” Savvy hah…… because look a like …..

this is not a colaboration between proton and faw…..how come u can say like that??be matured bro joe oi….have u already open your own blog???igo to sleepp ahh joe ooi…

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:58 am

a cross between proton, golf and suzuki?

• asimo (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 9:00 am

but…i think for the exterior its looks more better than savvy…

the interior ,i dont like it,i more prefer savvy interior..paul how much ahh if convert in RM?

• asimo (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 9:03 am

#

DtG said,

September 4, 2006 @ 9:47 pm

Joe Ooi said,

September 4, 2006 @ 8:54 pm

DtG, where got like Proton Savvy, you “cock-eye” lah!

Anyway, my opinion is this design simplilistic and decent for it compact segment car. Engine wise, 1.3 to 1.6 is “good bargain”. Toyota “inspire” car, I think this car is better built than Naza Sutera.

Oi, Mr Ooi….. look properly la…. haiyo from wat i read 8 ppl agree wit me… it definitely looks like a Savvy…… cannot see izit???? so clear man… if need glasses pakai 1st.. den oni comment la….

funnny,u are really funny joe oii….kiki

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 9:40 am

wats this gonna be marketed as?

'your second lotus'?

that marketing line by proton never fails to make me laugh……i think i should award whoever came up with that idea comedian of the year.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 9:41 am

by the way, anybody got any news or test drive of that hydroxene crap yet?

• armandd (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 11:26 am

that is sooooo savvy-like!

• datto (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 11:49 am

anyhow..it sounds stupid too…FAW xiali…savvy actually sounds better…haha….those chinese ppl have some problem naming their cars too…y cant they follow toyota, honda, mazda..sounds so much beter…even hyundai, kia is an acceptable name…FAW, cherry, alado, oh for goodness sake…i hear the name already i will avoid it like a severe pandemic carrier….

• neurra (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 12:15 pm

wow.. didn't expect to see any maker to copy a proton design.. kudos proton!

• Paul Tan on Sep 05, 2006 at 12:22 pm

neurra: yes we all love steve irwin but even though this car is green in colour like a crocodile this isn't the place to talk about him.

• whatsoever (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:08 pm

you like or not is one case but you got to accept that china is in front of us already….

• kevyeoh (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:17 pm

haha…it does look like savvy if you ask me…

first time see other people copy proton…not the other way round…

hope proton will design more good cars in future…then let other ppl copy…hehehe…then sell to us cheap cheap…but sell to overseas mahal sikit… at the mean time, this still remain a dream….

• pw (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:35 pm

Savvy looks ok in front, but I dont like the turtle tail on savvy. I think this is a better copy of savvy. What a pity, spend malaysian money get half cooked design… let these chinese guys copy look much more better than original.

To a lay man, looks really counts when buying a car. Wake up P1…. better luck next time … if there is a next time… probably in future we will see a Proton Naza or Proton Atos on the road… kakakakak…

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 5:47 pm

Hmmmmm…as a Savvy owner, my opinion is that a first glance it does resemble the Savvy. I particularly like the Audi style rear lights and the the interior design but not the interiour colour matching scheme. As for the front, welll the Savvy looks better in my opinion. The dashboard design does remind me the Toyota Vios somewhat.

Overall the exterior design looks better than the Savvy.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:38 pm

At a glance it may seem to many to look like the Savvy but I disagree.

The proportions are similar to the naked eye but not alike. The Chinese car bears a longer bonnet and tail. Remember that the Savvy followed the profile of the Renault Clio and this car, to me, share more similarity with the Skoda Fabia.

But I guess its like all other Chinese cars: nice to look at but guaranteed to break like glass

• layman (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 6:44 pm

drebar said,

September 4, 2006 @ 9:35 pm

…they will soon overtake malaysia in the automobiles industry…

This statement make me laugh!!

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 7:40 pm

Dashboard looked like Sawy, Door Panel Looked like sawy, Side profile looked like Sawy, at first glance looked damn like Sawy.

What the @$#@$% is going on here!

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:10 pm

guys,

look at the joints in the a pillar. in car production, you can change almost any panel but not the points where the metal joins. and that IMHO, smacks of an exact duplicate of the savvy. bonnet length can be changed. not a problem because it is merely cosmetic. just look at the vw bora and the 1st generation skoda octavia. they lengthened the boot of the octavia but it is essentially the same car underneath as the vw donor.

question now is, who copied who? did proton buy the design and sign an agreement with tianjin to launch the savvy first before the original design? or did tianjin buy a savvy from malaysia, ship it off to china and duplicate the car wholesale?

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:51 pm

i would like to concur with most commenters here.

it does look very much like a savvy.

Potong savvy design team sure kembang hidung lah… who dont after all the negative comments on savvy design (which is not that bad lah, but its a cheap car so mcm2 kekurangan).

But, potong mgmt sure tak syok. macamana nak export to China macam ni?

• carlover69 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:51 pm

ever wonder that it could be the other way around?

that plotong is the copy cat..!

just a thought, you all figure….

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 10:27 pm

Savvy replcement model??? wtf…

• claxxion (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 10:43 pm

looks like a mixture the savvy, getz, vw lupo and the skoda hatch..

hmm. interior looks ok for a chinese car though…

• ak03 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 10:56 pm

yeah … i didn't even start reading the whole story but i still noticed it was coping our proton savvy.. never thought that the Chinese will "cetak rompak" our local car ..hehe…

• carlover69 (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 11:07 pm

looks much better than the savvy

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 11:54 pm

ak03,

are you sure they copy our savvy or we bought their design instead for the savvy? btw, a friend of mine mentioned that the savvy facelift will come out with the same rear section as shown in the china car (he said he already saw it in the flesh). true or not is anyone's guess.

• ak03 (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 2:13 am

emm.. savvy last launch last year.. the car above, recently launch. i dunno who copied who first.

then again as paul said on his blog :

"But the whole shape of the car in it’s entirety looks very familiar, I’ll let you decide for yourself what it reminds you of."

:)

• armandd (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 3:05 am

if proton savvy has those rear lamps and increased rear headroom, it really could affect myvi's sales..

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 4:18 am

look like savvy or not, im sure alot of people who have been burned by proton would avoid china products alike. at this point in time, proton cars and china cars are irrelevant. wait another 20-30 years.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 6:39 am

The Lotus APX's dashboard, if you'd paid attention, bears the design signatures of the Savvy. The stacked aircon controls on every modern Proton mimics the Lotus M250 concept car too.

It could well be that the Chinese car pictured here had some Lotus input in it (as the Naza Sutera is said to have Lotus participation in its R&H) either by some limited joint engineering or not.

But I don't think Proton will take a short cut and simply 'copy' the design of this unknown car for its Savvy. That's absurd

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 6:39 am

OvaBoost said,

"Joe Ooi,

first it’s SAVVY, not SAWI you ahbeng!!

and the only bad comment is you!

what are you trying to say?

It’s like saying any bad comment on wira, also “reflect” mitsubishi lancer?

hello ooi… go to sleep la…"

Joe Ooi

1. Noted for your correction, but how do you knopw I am "Ah Beng"? you make malicious and wildest imflamatory allegation without just cause and excuse. WTF that you related me to "Ah Beng" and please justify it? What wrong with your mental state?

2. You mentioned on me that "the only bad comment is you"! This statement by itself is concrete prove that you make bad comment on me! Prove me wrong and show any example for such comments!

3. You have to ask your self that "what are you trying to say"? Not me.

4. You your self relate bad comment on Wira "reflect" Mit Lancer and this is your statement that the onus is on you to prove it beyond reasonable doubt, and of course non of my biz and burden to response to this statement.

5. Lastly, what wrong with you using Paul Tan blog to carry out personal attack against me? You make such moronic talk cock yet foolishly as me "hello ooi… go to sleep la…". If this is the case, then I am also in the position to ask you to "hello Ova….. put you to sleep la ….with this kind of lowest web of detritus comment! So that this Bolehland less one "pest"!

You have to calm down as what ccordmania said, "OvaBoost..pls calm down..may u are already over boosted oledi.."

So you also have to give similar but double "Ah Beng" to datto as his comment – "anyhow…suddenly i feel very malaysian again…to me i think our ‘lovely’ potong sawi looks much acceptable compare to this old outdated design eh…" – which need to change potong to Proton and Sawi to Savvy!

So, what you want, try to be Jaguh Kampong………….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 6:54 am

asimo said, "this is not a colaboration between proton and faw…..how come u can say like that??be matured bro joe oi….have u already open your own blog???igo to sleepp ahh joe ooi…"

When I mentioned something on collaboration between Proton and Faw? Better read carefully my statement, if can't understand check the online Oxford Dictionary I provided to you recently and understand fully the meaning before make such "below average" comment! Anopther guy claimed from Indonesia perhaps "need to put to sleep" as well so that SEA less one more pest!

asimo said, "funnny,u are really funny joe oii….kiki"

What you mean by funny, really funny ……. So by Ova low mental standard, you also another "Ah Beng" because I am Ooi, not oii…….. "kiki" – what is that, any meaning or brand – got understanding problem, then check online Oxford Dictionary!

Notes: Never try to make fun on other by coming out with "funny" comment. you are not "Mr. Bean" ………… you get nothing except get back bad omen on what you sow.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 7:04 am

accordmania said, "ok..for my opinion, front is like hyundai matrix, side is like savvy and back is like neo especially the rear mirror and correct me if i am wrong.. the tail light part is looks like mitsubishi airtrek…pls correct me"

——————————

You are not wrong and just to add more, the dash board features a center-mounted meter panel very similiar to Toyota range of vehicles like Vios or Yaris – but personally I don't like this layout.

• accordmania (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 7:24 am

Joe Ooi.. i really respect you, u are always comment things in gentleman way unlike the others especially… Asimo & ovaBoost. i think those two should be calm down first. have a Kit Kat & take a break.

• asimo (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 7:41 am

im getting boring to come to paultan and read a poor comment from u joe ooiii

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 7:49 am

drebar said,

September 4, 2006 @ 9:35 pm

fugly? i think china is still at a very early stage of building cars… and trust me.. I believe they are learning.. typical chinese… if anyone of you know the Lee Kuan Yew-Suchau case…you will never again doubt the chinese.. and yeah..i’m a chinese too..my great great grandparents are from Annkway… lol…time will tell…they will soon overtake malaysia in the automobiles industry…

drebar said, "…they will soon overtake malaysia in the automobiles industry… "

layman said, "This statement make me laugh!!"

Joe Ooi – What you mean by drebar's statement make you laugh! The fact is China is projected to make the biggest volume of car in the world by overtaking US in 2 decades that include local and foreign players. Even Malaysia currently is not any better than Thailand in auto industry! And don't come out with statement that Malaysia is better than Thai by virtue of we have P1, provided always and unless P1 is world class player as good as Korean if not Japs.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 8:02 am

Aiya, Asimo if you can't agree with me doesn't mean that you must be boring to come to Paul Tan blog, just skip or "jump quee" my comments. There are comments by other that you can enjoy apart from what Paul Tan can give you………!

Eventhough I disgree with some of your comments, but I still respect your rights of opinion provided always it shall be balance with respect to other (minus unsubstantiated allegation(s) with malicious intention to defame and cause damages).

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 9:52 am

Savvy + Getz

• kenfresh (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 9:59 am

It's sometimes hard to go the opposite direction, but…

I so totally dont see any resemblance to Savvy at all. Ok maybe if there are any, it's so small it's negligable.

The first picture looks more like a Getz.

*flame suit ON!*

• asimo (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 10:10 am

joe ooi, i donnt like your way give a comment..u like always right…we all wrong…it is such this is your blog,Paul where are u??i hope u can give more comment…joe ooi lets peace!!ok

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 4:26 pm

asimo and to other, I sum up my principle of giving comments as – "positive comments on pros and cons"!

In the event there are statements by other described me other than what I am clarified as above, then it reflected the person comments/views, not me and/or force down my throat and expected me to swallow it! "If the person eat the rice, don't asked me to wash the plate"! ……….. peace upon you and to all …….

• joeyzizul78 (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 4:39 pm

don't argue with each other! everybody has the rights to comment! from the side it's really2 lookalike savvy but the rear is far2 better than savvy!

• familyman (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 6:51 pm

hahaha

china photocopy of proton sawy.. ekekeke

whats the crash impact rating on this?

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 7:10 pm

Is this still paultan blog or Jo Oi?

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 8:56 pm

Being a Savvy owner, i totally agree the car looks a lot better than the Savvy.

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 10:25 pm

Savvy with R3 bodykits is better looking than this car

• stewpid (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 10:38 pm

who copy who?

where got savy eh, ok lar, at side maybe, at front i see some suzuki, at back i see some audi style lamp…

weh, where's the reverse lamp?

• waimak (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 10:41 pm

Joe Oi,

welcome back!

• layman (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 11:30 pm

Joe Ooi said,

September 5, 2006 @ 11:49 pm

Joe Ooi – What you mean by drebar’s statement make you laugh! The fact is China is projected to make the biggest volume of car in the world by overtaking US in 2 decades that include local and foreign players. Even Malaysia currently is not any better than Thailand in auto industry! And don’t come out with statement that Malaysia is better than Thai by virtue of we have P1, provided always and unless P1 is world class player as good as Korean if not Japs.

—————————————————————-

I mean 'potong is at the last place, how can other people overtaking them' LOL!!

• OvaBoost (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 12:02 am

Hhhmmm….Manage to make the Ooi pissed off…Desperate attempt from Ooi to proof to recover himself.. good attempt….but, do what eva, say what eva, i don't friggin' care… go Fengtau somewhere else and stop ur "i'm the man" character here…n again, go make ur own blog, for god sake, leave us in peace…

• DtG (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 12:42 am

walau…. war of the words in paultan's blog….

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 1:00 am

if you trvel to america nowadays,make in china products are everywhere,flooded the whole u.s.,wonder one days china make cars will be there all over u.s, since they all left hand drive,china and u.s.,and the only reason will be cheap,cheap,cars.following japan and korean foot step.

• foreverunited (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 3:04 am

c'mon guys, dont be so childish…from the middle to bottom half mostly are stupid arguments…lexma..

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 3:51 am

Hahahah… Even when a topic in Paul Tan's forum is about a Chinese made car, Proton is still being mentioned and got bashed in the process. Kesian la macam nie..

• indigo (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:19 am

Who knows if Savvy is based on this car or this car is based on Savvy. Malaysia also boleh on sharing someone else's platform. Not to be surprised to see this kinda vehicle on the road. Like Waja, it shares the lancer CD chassis, but does anyone notice it looks like a Mitsubishi Carisma or previous generation Volvo S40? Get used to it! Paul I think you might need to explain more about this platform is taken from, As far as we know even Naza tried to hide Sutera from a Chinese car. Maybe Proton did borrowed the platform from someone. Platform sharing is too common and most companies are shy to tell the truth.

• assimo (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:53 am

err…asimo,why in your post u always talk about joe oii…just wonder..huhu…

sorry out of topic. About this car,nothing special lah,just another one car…got steering,4 wheels,seat…..bal bla…etc…only the weird one its interior….soooo….fugly…!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 5:51 am

Performance? Safety features? Comfort ride? Nice exterior? Or just another Savvy in the making?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 6:54 am

layman said, "I mean ‘potong is at the last place, how can other people overtaking them’ LOL!!"

Noted your clarification and thank for such accurate statement to depict the position of P1 in the world auto industry!

—————————————-

OvaBoost said "Hhhmmm….Manage to make the Ooi pissed off…Desperate attempt from Ooi to proof to recover himself.. good attempt….but, do what eva, say what eva, i don’t friggin’ care… go Fengtau somewhere else and stop ur “i’m the man” character here…n again, go make ur own blog, for god sake, leave us in peace…"

Joe Ooi – now look like you "tone-down" your statement, and then again this is your view and comment. As in previous stand, I maintain that the onus is on you to proof it beyond reasonable doubt and in no way I have to take burden and response to it. You don't need to care about what I say just as it is at my absolute discretion not to take burden to disprove your statement!

Please take note that I am solemnly declare that at all material time, I never antagonize/hostile toward someone without just cause and excuse. If you are not in peace, it is squarely that you inflicted your self wound! Make my own blog or not, I will continue to visit Paul Tan blog.

I already declare that – "I make positive comments on pros and cons". Any statement by other that attempt to describe me other than above most likely under 2 scenario: –

1. Utilize Paul Tan blog with crystal clear malicious intention to tell the greatest lies and make false claim against me, or

2. You are under "hallucination" and it is sobering that 49 years after Malaysia independence what we thought was "publicly recognized" and "legally secured" peaceful multi racial society that assurances offered by the "international community" don't seem to have much of a shelf-life on a person with low mentality like you. Far from putting an end to self-inflicted and self-created hatred, You have tragically – and metaphysically – by adopt "blame-shifting" tactic and try to portray me and in the hope that your writing will make me become a lightening-rod for Paul Tan Blog-haters. Leave other in peace if you can't remove your hatred ……………!

• drifting4eva (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 8:40 am

u peeps need 2 take a chill pill. this is a place to talk about cars not for personal attacks. now y don't u all kiss n make up :P

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:15 pm

Fair comment from drifting4eva – no personal attack and talk about car!

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 9:43 pm

Average Joe, i mean Joe Ooi. You so damn rajin commenting every single comments from others huh…! You really take times to reply all these…Take it easy man… It's just a comment.

• imrik82 (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 12:05 am

joe ooi get a life…

btw it sort of looks like the savvy but either case its interior is FUGLY!

• imrik82 (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 12:23 am

one last comment urm mr.joe if its possible can you not make every other, post on paul tan a personal bash towards proton. At first i taught it was kinda cute/sad that someone would spend some amount of time to come out with statistics, refrences, and even using big ass words. Which unless ur a lawyer u dont use them in "normal" conversations to prove ones point… granted you have every right to do so but really… its just a blog about cars, and ones intrest in them. If you have disagreements about this country, the so called national car we have, or even about some stupid cop story pls put in in your blog.

i hope this gets posted i can assure u paul i wont mention this again but i just wanted to let this out once and for all.

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 4:46 am

Hi, Joe Cole, opsss Joe Ooi. I know it's none of my business. Can i know wat car u driving?

• asimo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:43 am

Hi Joe,what car are u driving..please give me the info,maybe your car photo also??please……………….please……………

• asimo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:45 am

err…asimo,why in your post u always talk about joe oii…just wonder..huhu…

sorry out of topic. About this car,nothing special lah,just another one car…got steering,4 wheels,seat…..bal bla…etc…only the weird one its interior….soooo….fugly…!

becos,he treath this blog like his blog,i mean,if we ask paul,he will reply the answer,not paul…thats all…

• layman (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 4:28 pm

Xoomie said,

September 7, 2006 @ 1:43 pm

Average Joe, i mean Joe Ooi.

————————————

Example of low class personal attack – 'make fun of people's name'.

• shaif (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 4:40 pm

Its side profile looks a bit like our Savvy blended with Getz. The rear lamps looks nice. Interior colour not so nice. The dual tone colour just don't mix and match.

It looks better than Sutera. Only that centre console like Vios and X trail is not to my liking.

• Fairman (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 4:40 pm

what a nice compact car, expecting detail specification…

my opinion is : it has shadow of savvy (side look) and getz (side look as well)…sibling of matrix of front (from accordmania), and tail lamp……VW PASSAT !!!

Ai yah, all compact car almost same lah, why your guys arguring for ?? Agreed with drebar's comment, china vehicle industry growing damn fast recent year…

China car = cheap price, average quality..

potong car = above average price, ridiculous quality…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:08 pm

This is a very nice-looking Chinese car, I must admit. The purple/grey interior looks a bit tacky though, and it reminds me of "MTV Pimp My Ride". Apart from that, the rest of the car looks absolutely fine to me… :D

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 8:00 pm

Anybody got full detail specs of the car.

Wonder if it could compete with Hyundai Getz.

• jonkk (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 12:53 am

wahh…. so hot in here….. anyway, good comment from Joe Ooi. very mature. good explanation eventough it was kinda….. not necessary.

let's talk about the auto industry. anyway, it's just comments. no right, no wrong. just plain opinion. kalau salah, tolong betulkan. kalau betul, support. dun call people names like ah beng or something….. or ask people to go to sleep. very childish and immature….

let's be adult……

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 3:00 am

dont associate msian chinese with china chinese. tiu. most of these china people are bloody annoying. btw, the car is ugly. and i dont foresee them taking over anyone soon. simply coz china will always try to make the cheapest cars. sure they may become the world's largest producer of cars but it will be low quality

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 5:03 am

asimo said, "Hi Joe,what car are u driving..please give me the info,maybe your car photo also??please……………….please…………… "

Aiya, feel shy to give you info, better keep to myself. Otherwise you sure laugh at me and poke fun of my car like why need to open door when pay tol, sure not safe one …….., sure the door handle broken and replace few time, etc, etc, …

So better keep to myself rather than let you from Indonesia bashing me……. No face lah Bolehland!

If I buy this FAW Xiali C1 Chinese car or Suzuki APV definitely no harm to let you know, as if you bash on my car also harmless, because it is come from Dragonland or Risingsunland car assemble in Indon………

• tamannegara (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 7:34 am

there is a lot of inform in internet,

in fact c1 and c301(sedan) first show in 2005 china autoshow,

faw also launched the c301 on 18/8/06.

look at below link, they even do a real crash test…

http://auto.sina.com.cn/z/fawbesturnss/index.shtm… http://auto.sina.com.cn/news/2006-04-24/092018191…

there is many china car company out there, how many of them we really know?

if we lack of the inform, how we can know the china actual capability?

or we just simple put our commnet without knowing any inform?

• tamannegara (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 7:45 am

c301 real crach test on the road

http://auto.sina.com.cn/photo/besturnren/132958.s… http://auto.sina.com.cn/photo/besturnren/132954.s…

• asimo (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 1:08 am

huhu joe,thahs why aaa….now i know why ….better get a good job and high sallary,later u can drive better car….huhuhuh

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:55 am

I told you before already asimo, I can buy better car but the only decision to hold me back is have to pay crappy NAP tax, better donate to Indo Tsunami victims rather that feed the crocs to become bigger and fatter.

• AMG (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 5:02 am

Toyota Yaris (VITZ) china version?

• deshost (Member) on Oct 21, 2006 at 7:39 am

Bro, i could not understand how this chinese car looks like proton savvy. One borrows from toyota whilst savvy is the brainchild of lotus engineering. Even the specs are different: The Xiali C1 rides on a 2425mm long platform, and measures 3810×1670×1480 mm whilst Savvy is shorter at 2395 mm platform, 3710 x 1643 x 1480mm. The only similarity is the height.

All hatchback looks similarly at the back. Sori, brother 4 being too candid, but fact never lie.

Still not convince, pls go to proton savvy website and take another look at the shape and specs.

• QRizTOBurD (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 11:52 pm

hehxz.. first impression is savvy.. savvy… then the more i look.. the more savvy it looks