2007 Suzuki SX4

Suzuki has announced the third of a series of new models, joining the Swift and Grand Vitara. The SX4 is the Grand Vitara’s ‘little brother’ and it’s platform is a joint venture development with Fiat. Fiat’s model is called the Fiat Sedici.

The Suzuki SX4 was styled by Giugiaro’s ItalDesign. The car is powered by a 98hp 1.5 litre petrol, a 106hp 1.6 litre petrol and a 118hp turbodiesel. The SX4 will also come with a 2.0 litre DOHC engine for the U.S. market.

The transmission runs a three-mode all wheel drive system, which are 2WD, AUTO (AWD High) and LOCK (AWD Lock). Four speed auto or five speed manual transmissions are available.

The Suzuki SX4 is expected to debut at the Geneva Auto Show in March 2006.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• weilun on Dec 02, 2005 at 5:32 pm

no butt pics ar

• Charger on Dec 02, 2005 at 5:44 pm

Not.Another.S.U.V……

• muthu on Dec 02, 2005 at 5:55 pm

just like VW golf from front look……..

• SEE FU on Dec 02, 2005 at 6:09 pm

Wanna to see Fiat Sedici 2 models?

Click this -> http://wongseefu.blogspot.com/2005/12/spy-suzuki-…

The trend is going towards SUV!! I love SUV…..but Smal compact SUV not my taste!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! Cheers! :P

• Andelulu on Dec 02, 2005 at 6:13 pm

more butt pics, pls logon to
    http://www.channel4.com/4car/gallery/spyshots-200…

• Marmitecrab on Dec 02, 2005 at 6:46 pm

Lovely looks. Although need to see the interior first. I love the new Suzukis, esp. the Swift.

And once you're used to the height of an SUV, you'll never want to ride in a low sedan anymore. Moreso in Malaysia where floods are commonplace.

• it doesn't look like an suv.

• EDDIE FANS on Dec 02, 2005 at 8:10 pm

NICE , I LOVIN IT

• suanie on Dec 02, 2005 at 8:12 pm

buy one for me kthxbai

• stewpid on Dec 02, 2005 at 8:24 pm

the new trend, small SUV like kembara, getz…

• somehow i feel it look like hyundai getz.

who design hyundai getz ? is it Giugiaro’s ItalDesign also ?

• wyejon on Dec 02, 2005 at 10:06 pm

there are shades of the hyundai matrix don't u think?

• I am really sorry to all SUV fans but I really think that SUV now days should stand for Stupid Useless Vehicles (SUV). But not all SUV's are bad. Some are nice like rexton, BMW X5, toyota fortuner. Although some like the Suzuki SX4 are just plain ugly to me.

• aksMs on Dec 02, 2005 at 11:31 pm

The front look resemble 'a bit' of its big brother the Grand Vitara. It got a nice look on the front, but for overall look, I don't favour it much. Taking a peek at the side profile looks kinda funny to me. It seems too 'heavy' at the front. All boobs and no butts kinda thing.

By the way, Paul, is this model under SUV catergory or small 4×4 catergory? It look kinda representing both. If its a 4-wheeler, then I'll pass. If I want to go into mud and flood, might as well get a real 4-wheeler. I'd rather buy a second hand Ninja Turtle or Landcruiser II. Or just get the Land Rover. Now that's a winner 4×4!

SEE FU arrr. What kind of 'poison' you use, huh? Paraquat ka? The more I look at the Outlander the more it appeals to me. Haiya! I take back my words la. Hehehe.

• Savvy front design should follow this one, then possibly can be acceptable as 'my first lotus'…

• karim alias on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:05 am

coool.

• pendek on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:14 am

huh Grand Vitara reminds me of Monster Kojima or tajima.. bleh whatever, Escudo Grand Vitara used for Mount Climbing rally.

real HP there….

• eMalaysian on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:22 am

how much it cost ah?

• aksMs on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:28 am

pendek: Monster Tajima's Escudo uses two engine. Sure got real HP maa. 900+HP. A sure winner la at the Annual Pike Peak Rally. =)

• wafiess on Dec 03, 2005 at 1:39 am

lol…. again cannot recall but seem like hyundai model .. arghh

• Susuki on Dec 03, 2005 at 3:07 am

SX4…??? Sounds like '4Sex' hehehehe

• From my observation, something look like a hybrid of Kia Rio and Matrix. It's nice.

• SEE FU on Dec 03, 2005 at 5:30 am

aksMs said,

December 2, 2005 @ 3:31 pm

Poison?? No poison lah only DETTOL.

Outlander is super man. check this out -> http://www.autobytel-japan.com/tie-up/outlander/i…

Click the movie too. Sure you like it! http://www.autobytel-japan.com/tie-up/outlander/m…

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! cheer! :P

• looks like an MPV to me.

• narrowband on Dec 03, 2005 at 6:19 am

Like Matrix and Aveo size oni… Super small. Too small to be registered as an SUV in my head.

• Sleepyhollow on Dec 03, 2005 at 8:15 am

Eeks!…hyundai matrix lookin shape…esp the tail part..

• E-nabill on Dec 03, 2005 at 8:16 am

like the new kia rio….dono y ppl obsesed with such cars anyway…

• ahmad ariff on Dec 03, 2005 at 10:11 am

just wanderin'….if it's true u can transfer myvi booking, i think i wanna cancel my booking for myvi,anybody interested. i booked right b4 launching suppose to get myvi anytime but loan not approved!..fed up already coz they insist on guarantor..mine is for auto premium.

• Ova Boost on Dec 03, 2005 at 8:49 pm

Urgh… hideous!! SWIFT lagi chun!!

• Ihateproton on Dec 03, 2005 at 10:16 pm

Well looks like GM now has the entire field covered when it comes to SUVs.. starting form this 1.5 machine, followed by the Grand Vitara then the S3X all the way to the huge Hummer H1 Alpha. Only the Kembara is smaller then anything GM has.

I'm sure the decision to build these SUVs came in the days when fuel prices were lower… really wonder if GM can keep themselves from going bankrupt.

• iQbaL on Dec 05, 2005 at 12:47 am

yo, anybody seen the kancil special edition?

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 05, 2005 at 5:16 am

yup… the interior underwent some cosmetics change… nothing special, but enough to differentiate it from the usual kancil… y?

• mata-motob on Dec 06, 2005 at 3:39 am

gosh… the italdesign name shocks me..

the rear design might be "whoooosh!"

• Traliccio on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:49 pm

Suzuki's favourite colour dude..

• Steve Udovenko on Dec 07, 2005 at 6:44 am

Cannot wait to buy one! Already one Vitara and I'love to trade our second car for this one! Great idea!

• Let-VW-takeover-prot on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:51 am

Shift the name around and you'll be having Suzuki 4SX="Suzuki for Sex".

hahaha…

• from the side looks like peugeot or saxo

• get_a_life on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:46 pm

once again Suzuki stick w/motorcycles. Not cars you don't belong there. shame

• Adi lotry on Dec 13, 2005 at 12:36 am

Arghhh!!! i hate suzuki….but accept the wagonR la….

is it SUV???? tk nampak mcm SUV pun???? the front looks like VW golf

• haroldz (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 7:31 am

i saw a few of this in miri oredi
    of course le they r from brunei..
    will d price be competitive with latio?

• Richard Chong on Mar 23, 2017 at 7:34 pm

What is the average fuel consumption for this SX4 2008 model? I m getting around 12km per litre