UMW Toyota may end Hiace exports

small_toyota_hiace.jpgThailand’s refusal to lower it’s 20% import duties for incoming Malaysian exports down to AFTA’s 5% might result in UMW Toyota ending exports of the locally assembled Toyota Hiace van to Thailand. Due to the extra duties, UMW Toyota’s Hiace vans have had to be priced at a less competitive price in Thailand, so sales targets are much harder to meet. Thailand refuses to give Malaysia the 5% AFTA rates because it accused Malaysia to be non-compliant under the AFTA because of non-tariff barriers – the Approved Permits system! More details via additional readings below.

Related Readings:
UMW Toyota facing difficulties exporting Hiace
Rafidah says we are entitled to 5% CEPT rates
Philippines joins Thailand and Indonesia in opposing Malaysian Non-Tariff Barriers
Thailand and Malaysia negotiation on tariffs
Thailand: Malaysia non-compliant under AFTA
UMW Toyota exports Toyota Hiace to Thailand

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• engtaokia (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 7:21 pm

see what Mrs 30% will say to media later…

• sewell (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 10:04 pm

yes… support engtaokia's statement.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 1:22 am

"Kalau tak suka, boleh pergi ke China"

"Malaysia entitled to AFTA"

You know what, the idiot(s) sitting up there continue to talk cock. The people below are eating banana.

I like Hiace. Good for business! But who care about it, it is neither P1 or P2! Which ultimate aim is to suck money form rakyat, rather then earning exports.

• DAN (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 4:19 am

bravo to Thailand wee all love u!. that how to teach boleh land a lesson not every 1 like Malaysian is stupid n yes sir to all what stupid gov say!

• oranglulu (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 5:04 am

results of our protection policy to our P1….impose AP system even to AFTA country,…limits thai total export to malaysia 20,000 units annually….impose exciseduty…..although reduce import duty to 5%…with all this restriction and counter measures,can blame thai refusal to lower the tarrif……..we ask for it…….saddddd.citizen.

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 10:35 am

and thats just the beggining.

and to oranglulu….we didnt ask for it….the government and a fat ugly lady did.

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 9:17 pm

Baru 20% suda macam cacing kena goreng, not competitve la & etc.. why not 75% like our ED tax.. but lucky la org siam also tak heran with our national cars.. or else siam can copy our NAP… but i encourage any country dealing with msia (import our products).. can use our stupid NAP system (good what??).. they can earn a lot of money ma??.. like our gov… then see our gov be the frying worms…

• DAN (Member) on Nov 17, 2006 at 3:35 am

do u think our malaysia gov earn a lot of money by that way? by do this way is to save there own color like spoon feeding monkey in cage, by the way our country r pores then Thailand in national reserve if we dont know the fact by now.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 4:39 am

yes, Mrs 30% will say that we need to do it la…

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 19, 2006 at 8:18 pm

bravo thais!!!!

should give malaysia some lessons too.

they play unfairly also!!!!

welcome to BOLEH-DI-LOCAL-SAJA-LAND!!!!!!F**K.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Nov 23, 2006 at 3:15 pm

Yes, finally Toyota give up……….i do hope all the other Japs ( honda, mitsu, nissan, subaru etc. ) will unite and smackdown Toyota. Ugly design, cheap cost, large volume, save fuel ……Urghhh, simply out of style……