Daihatsu Mira Custom

Mira Custom

This is the Daihatsu Mira Custom, a kitted up version of the latest generation Daihatsu Mira that was recently launched in Japan. It’s got some pretty high spec stuff for a K-car, including automatic tilting side mirrors for convenience during reverse maneuveres as well as a very BMW-like engine start/stop button.

Both the Mira and Mira Custom use the latest generation Topaz NEO 660cc engines – the KF-VE and the KF-DET. The KF-VE features 58 horsepower at 7,200rpm, and 65Nm of torque at 4,000rpm, a big improvement over our local Perodua Viva‘s EF-VE 660cc DVVT engine that makes 47 horsepower and 58Nm of torque. Daihatsu says the KF-VE can manage 25.5km per litre with the 2WD drivetrain and CVT transmission.

The more exciting KF-DET engine makes not a huge amount of horsepower more than the KF-VE, but it’s 64 horsepower is gained at a much lower 6,000rpm. It shines in it’s torque figures though – 103Nm at a low 3,000rpm. Both the turbo and non-turbo variants of the Daihatsu Mira custom comes with either a 2WD or 4WD drivetrain and all use CVT gearboxes.

From the photos of these cars, perhaps some enterprising local bodykit designer can produce the first batch of cool kits based on Daihatsu’s work with the Mira Custom to spice up our local Perodua Viva cars.

More photos after the jump.

Mira Custom

Mira Custom

Mira Custom

Mira Custom

Mira Custom

Mira Custom

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 11:13 am

isn't the viva based on this car?

much more nicer and trendier.

how come viva does not come with this daihatsu engine?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 11:14 am

Viva based on previous generation Mira mah… we'll get this model in bout 6-7yrs maybe

• thow (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 11:41 am

I don't like ViVa dashboard look………

The original one is better looking
    http://www.batfa.com/photo-newcar-mira-cockpit.ht…

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 2:10 pm

Always loved that uni-leveled front row seat ever since the Move L9 one's. So easy to navigate around the front cockpit.

• NiceCar (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 3:27 pm

This car seem great, both interior and exterior design is good!!!

For local budget car, CVT gearbox and 4WD alway not in the lists..

• transformer (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 3:48 pm

IMHO, the front looks a bit Astra'ish!

seems like some interior bits comes from Ractis/share from!

when would Ractis or this Mira reach bolehland ???

• normaluser (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 3:50 pm

sad to see our new local cars are 5-20 years behind….

• nikanasz (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 3:52 pm

58hp from a 660cc engine, that's impressive, even better than kelisa/kenari engine. but what to do, we never get the latest technology here in malaysia.

• acbc (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 4:09 pm

Can't wait for new owners of Viva to do a full transplant / conversion.

• kody (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 4:22 pm

wahlaueh…

with the FC figure, if we drive here heee… 2 weeks only one time to petrol station. It saves a lot of fuel.

• gepochai (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 5:13 pm

i just saw a ractis somewhere near sentul and jalan pahang a few days back. dunno how me managed to buy it. haha

• azrai (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 5:32 pm

Ah Bengs' VIVA.

• eezarm (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 5:40 pm

cool..i like the interior and rear light…the viva's interior look cheap even for the 1000cc model. I like the steering for this car. it has buttons on it? Wow!!!…a small car but nice!

• aesthari (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 7:51 pm

Rear lamps and interior is interesting, definitely beats the bland dashboard in the Vivas.

• Infinitt (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 7:55 pm

Nice car, nice interior..by the time P2 going to do reverse engineering to this car, Daihatsu already move to another 1..poor malaysian..always get low cost old type model but with expensive price..viva ?? kusoxxxxtarooo..

• mystvearn (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 8:58 pm

looks ok but front grille to much work. Need less work there

• nmh (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 9:57 pm

our viva exterior looks better, mira's interior better than us

• BrakeFader (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 10:16 pm

It does look like an Astra. Overall it is a great looking car and the interior is more premium looking like from a higher end class.

• khimfoh (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 10:21 pm

Dashboard of the Mira custom looks way more cooler than the that of the Viva

• kei9 (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 10:21 pm

sweet……..

• rushmode (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 11:09 pm

it's not fair to compare this with viva since viva is an older version of mira.

but i wish mira have that dasboard..

• punisher (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 11:29 pm

the gear is cool,,

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 11:35 pm

On the 25k per liter of fuel, I really think you will never get it when driving in here. I bet ther tested those figure in Japan in a much milder climate than ours. The heat in our country will give impact on fuel consumption, and IF our local company when bringing in the car and just put up the figure 25k per liter or based on the japan manufacturer testing, than it is just something plain stupid to con malaysian buyers.

• sxe10r (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 12:04 am

New move ??? so P2 Viva copy with mira which generation ?? nvm but at less P2 will sell new model in market …. if P1 …. saga 22year old still selling in market … wira … lancer 1994 model already stop since 13 year … waja almost 7 year still selling wif new grill only … … sorry say about P1 i will mad … This new mira interior nice looking !! like drive in the MPV feel … but the exterior … looks same as viva ?? still driving the 660DOHC turbo ?? no enough to boost ….

• karl.shamel (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 1:24 am

FYI our Mira based on outgoing Daihatsu Mira Avy/Mira VI. As a comparison we can say this is 'heavy facelift' version like Mercedes-Benz E klasse, Volvo 850/V70, Peugeot 307/new facelift 307 (still a same model 'coz dimensions still similar though rear-end/front-end through TICK makeover.

Never dream to have one at least in 6 years time. Actually we 'force' Daihatsu to do this; we accept everything through their representative here P2. If we reject VIVA than possibility to see better model, sooner.

• ryanregeno (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 5:41 am

Vey nice car, got passion, sure perodua will copy and paste again,

Proton is "National Car" boleh, leran from Toyota, Honda, Mitsubishi…for perodua, listen design your own engine first, already more then 10 years, dont know how to walk ah, may be physical disable lah, kereta cacat.

• albagmane (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 6:20 am

brilliant!!! the start/stop button izit mean tat keyless to start the engine? gosh… if so, this is the latest breakthrough for k-cars!

• proton GL (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 7:39 pm

honda stream front?

• kei9 (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 10:56 pm

proton GL said,

May 18, 2007 @ 11:39 am

honda stream front?

nah! more like honda jazz……..

• evaluator.v3 (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 12:47 am

I've noticed a little thing about the Viva's range of engines, and here are my findings:

Model EF-VE ED-VE EJ-VE

cc 659 847 989

kW/rpm 35/7200 39/6000 45/6000

Nm/rpm 58/4400 76/4000 90/3600

The top-of-the-range EJ-VE is inarguably a tuned version of the EJ-VE found in Myvi 1.0L, with higher power and torque. And it is also the latest generation of 1000cc engines from Daihatsu/Toyota (correct me if I'm wrong).

The 850cc ED-VE, in my opinion, is a little mixed-bag. I theorised that ED-VE's roots came from ED-DE, the reduced-displacement version of Kelisa/Kenari's 1 litre EJ-DE. Such theory came from the fact that Daihatsu does not have a 850cc engine since long ago. ED-DE was used in Kancil 850 Automatic (latest model) and Kelisa 850. Now, it is used in Viva, albeit equipped with DVVT. If my theory is correct, then ED-VE would be a slightly inferior engine since it is adapted from the older ED-DE (and thus the EJ-DE). Furthermore, according to official figures, it has fuel efficiency that is lower than the 1 litre EJ-VE (17.4km/l vs. 17.5km/l) despite having lower displacement. This would reinforce the inferiority argument as well. (Again, correct me if I’m wrong.)

The 660cc EF-VE is actually the second (or possibly third, if you count EF-VD) latest generation of non-turbo 660cc engine from Daihatsu (http://web.archive.org/web/20041119214445/http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/mira/mecha_spec/top_02_01.htm). However, compared to the Daihatsu's EF-VE, the Viva’s version has lower maximum power (35kW/7200rpm vs. 43kW/7600rpm) and torque (58Nm/4400rpm vs. 64Nm/4000rpm). My question is what modifications or compromises that Perodua engineers have made to result in less maximum power and torque ratings from the original EF-VE? Could the Viva’s EF-VE possibly be made to match Daihatsu’s EF-VE performance (through after-market modifications)? What are the tradeoffs to achieve this?

Would be very grateful if someone could shed some light on this.

• D-Heart (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 12:51 am

Hey guys. I m a newbie here. I think you all probably made a mistake to assume resemblence of the Perodua Viva to the Daihatsu Mira. Think again. The body line of the Mira is far too streamline compared to Viva. I'll shad some light on this issue. The viva is actually base on the discontinue version of Daihatsu Cuore(1999-2003). Never heard before? Viva is the 5 door version of Daihatsu Cuore. Of course, the Viva have the same engine spec as Cuore. Pening ?….. Well check this out.
    http://www.daihatsu.com/catalogue/cuore/spec/inde…
    Well….Don't argue with each other. Just…. Happy comparing.

• faten dasuki on Oct 15, 2009 at 7:06 pm

what is the price range?

• faten dasuki on Oct 15, 2009 at 7:10 pm

what is the price range about?

• Isaax on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:33 am

Although the interior looks spacious, it's less sportier because of the gear knob…. feels like 1960s!

• javed rana on Sep 05, 2011 at 7:09 pm

How to buy a cheap Mira model of 2007 or beyond. Please guide me into buying any car that gives clear edge on less consumption of petro.

• J. D. Dissanayaka on Jun 16, 2012 at 1:17 pm

mira custom 650 cc cvt 2009 how to methoud purching spair parts please infome me easy methoud. thank you, i”from sri lanka

• Gareth on May 31, 2022 at 7:49 am

I have a old 96 mira 850cc and want to know if I can get some advice from someone who has expertise in this model as u can get very little info on line about it … my question is am I able to make it a 4×4 like a TRX … and what types of turbo can I use t make it get up and fly …
    Any advice is appreciated