Next generation B8 Audi A4

Audi A4

This is the new B8 Audi A4, which looks pretty much like the current B7 Audi A4, but in reality it is very very different. The new B8 Audi A4 rides on Audi’s new MLP platform that first made it’s debut on the Audi A5 Coupe earlier this year.

Since the rest of the car pretty much looks like the previous A4, the first think you notice is the new headlamps with integrated LED strips running lights – something expected on all future Audis as Audi is currently all hot about LED lighting. There’s no undulating shoulderline that was on the A5 Coupe, which is probably a good thing as I’m not sure if it would look good on a 4-door sedan.

Thanks to the new platform, overhangs have been minimized especially at the front, which helps the car look sportier, giving it a generally cab rearward design. The front overhang of the B7 A4 was pretty significant, enough for you to notice. Bonnet length and wheelbase for the B8 is longer than it’s predecessor, and on the driveline, the differential has swapped places with the clutch/torque converter, making it possible to move the front axle forward by 154mm. Apart from reducing front overhang, this improves axle-load distribution between the front and rear axles.

The new B8 Audi A4 will be launched with 5 engine options ranging from 143bhp to the top of the line 265bhp V6 FSI engine. There are also diesel options available. These engines are mated to either a 6-speed manual, conventional torque converter-based Tiptronic auto, or a Multitronic CVT. It is also available either in front wheel drive or quattro all-wheel drive.

More photos and a video after the jump, including shots of the sporty S-Line A4.

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Video: Next generation B8 Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4

Audi A4 S-Line

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 1:07 am

Looks the business inside and out.

• F430CS (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 1:17 am

Great.. no surprise, but still looks so fine.

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 1:40 am

Beemer 3-series rear anyone??

• ProtonSucks (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 3:37 am

really no surprise at all but…..GREAT

• ab (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 9:21 am

Audi’s design is getting BORING! always the same

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 11:13 am

Looks like Audi is coming out with great cars lately…I like this car, it’s not too flashy and muscular as the Beemers, it’s sleek, smooth and allround looks better.

• syong888 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 11:36 am

DarkL1ghT said,
    August 31, 2007 @ 1:40 am

Beemer 3-series rear anyone??

………………………………………

Hehe, E90 3 Series rear alike

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 1:39 pm

wow! This car looks really great! Hope that this car can beat the 3series!
    I love the LED in the headlamp very much1

• phas3r (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 5:59 pm

E92 3series more accurate, which means the coupe one.. who wants to copy the e90 sedan rear one :p

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 6:14 pm

Read the review on topgear m’sia….nice car

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 6:17 pm

Wow nice. A 4-door version of Audi A5. Love the teary-eyed headlamps. LEDs aplenty!

• DrA (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 7:51 pm

The profile and especially from the rear looks like a 3 series. A handsome car but boring. All AUDIs are the same. My heart rate is still at an athletic level of 60. Yawn…..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 11:55 pm

very nice, the bmw should change the rear lights of the four door to those of the coupe and cabriolet, i love the 3-series coupe and cabriolet but not the saloon

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 4:32 pm

I always like Audi.This A4 is much way beautiful than the new sport sedan 3-Series and i dare to say i’ll never repent my self for owning it.Perfeckt !

• KL-ATR (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 11:24 am

Audi designs have always been clean, organic and smooth. However, they are not that nice to drive compared to BMW or even Mercedes. The latest A4 looks really sweet but till they sort out the drivability, I’ll put my money on a beemer.

• I my (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 1:16 pm

buy Audi must buy the quattro, which I think the local dealer should bring in more quattro & agree the rear look like a BMW leh.