Locally assembled Suzuki Swift test drive

Earlier this year, Suzuki did the done thing and finally CKD-ed their entry-level model. When I drove it in CBU form, it was pretty fun. Slightly nasty with its slapped together interior and screamy engine noise… but fun.

The thing is, nothing much has changed except that the ride in the rear has been improved somewhat. Oh, and the small matter of price, of course. This used to cost RM87,279 after the NAP hit CBU units hard. With its previous price coming in at RM79,800, it was clear that Suzuki Malaysia had to do something about it.

Shannon Teoh discovered what’s new (or not) with the Suzuki Swift during a short media drive to the assembly plant in Pekan some months back. Details after the jump.

So let’s start with price then. It’s significantly lower at RM69,888 without insurance but somehow, that still seems disappointing. I’m not sure exactly why this is so.

Maybe it’s the fact that CKD discussions started way back in October 2005. Maybe it was the sales target of 300 units/month with actual assembly capacity of 500. Or the millions (20 to be exact) invested into the CKD plant with its dangerous looking robotic welding arm.

Apparently, whispers in the wind said that the idea is to up the branding and compete on prestige with its more visible Japanese brethren. To aid in this endeavour, the Swift Sport was also introduced to beef up the idea that the Swift is an enthusiast’s car – a fact that probably has never been in doubt for the owners’ club(s) here.

I am having a bit of trouble linguistically with something called a Swift Sport. Swift already means fast, or at least, it’s the name of a bird that can fly at speeds exceeding 300km/h.

So Swift + Sport = Supersonic speeds? Unfortunately, this is nothing more than a clumsy allitreation. Its 123hp 1.6-litre engine is in fact, electronically speed-limited to around 190km/h – aren’t you glad you shelled out over RM100,000 for this then?

On the other hand, Recaro seats and suspension set to ‘bone-jarring’ and peak power only coming at the 6,800 rev limit, it’s purpose-built for a very involving, if not exactly lightspeed driving experience. When one is looking for every last ounce of acceleration from the 148Nm of torque available at 4,800rpm, it becomes a raucous and frenzied machine, the car bumping about this way and that.

Along with the sorted Swift chassis, it handles like a go-kart, no doubt. But woe betide anyone who’s strapped into the backseat and doesn’t know a good chiropractor. This will bump you around harder than a horny homosexual at Liquid.

It comes in a 4-speed auto and also a 5-speed manual, of which, the latter should be the one that appeals to motorheads (appeal for geeks comes with a keyless-entry&go system where you simply get in and crank the ignition without having to stick the key in). However, the stick shift really needs a 6th gear as the 5th’s ratio doesnt come anywhere close to the auto’s overdrive and will cost a pretty penny when cruising at extralegal speeds.

Still, when you think about it, this is priced around the same as other Japanese hatches like the Honda Jazz or Toyota Yaris. So it’s a matter of picking between being a boyracer or a yuppie (shudder).

With that in mind, we scale back down to the standard Swift, which suddenly looks like an interesting prospect in terms of value-for-money. What you get is as earlier mentioned, a completely similar car to the CBU, except with a much better ride in the back. They’ve fixed the perennial problem with such short wheelbase cars and the choppy rides of bygone days were not at all missed in the B-roads from Pekan to Kuala Rompin.

The 1.5-litre plant churning out 100hp and 133Nm was good enough to keep one-tonne of car going at a good pace and so we reached our designated hotel with minimum travel fatigue. Maybe that’s because I was snoozing part of the way.

It’s pretty basic actually. It seats five and gets from 0-100km/h in just under 12 seconds with the auto ‘box. The 4-speed staggered gate automatic transmission is mated really well with the engine, though, but it does come off sounding like a 3-cylinder rather than a 4-pot, 16-valve DOHC with variable valve timing.

As one might expect, there’s also airbags, EBD and ABS (same also with the Swift Sport) and happily, six buttons to control the integrated, anti-theft audio system. It’s pretty decent as opposed to the Swift Sport’s third-party JVC unit (which is ‘decent-er’) and it’s at least an improvement over the CBU unit as it’s now got MP3 playing capability.

Further features such as the dial-adjusted climate control system and LED panel at the top of the dash reading out information such as fuel consumption, external temperature and of course, time, put the finishing touches on this car. As far as options go, well there are these sumptuous sounding colours to choose from – Bayside Blue, Silver Grey, Supreme Red and Tranquility Black. Another RM6,000 over the list price gets you the Premier version that comes ready with V-Kool, bodykit and leather seats (which are quite nice actually).

But who needs options? Buying a Swift is already exercising an option. It’s a step up from a local car but still seems like the smart and discerning choice instead of paying for a Honda or Toyota badge. Whether it is or not, remains to be seen of course. Reliability and resale value are rather prominent factors in whether a car is remembered fondly or notoriously.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gtmaniac (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Good to hear we have manual at last, although have to fork out RM100k plus for it…

Here in Mumbai, Swift is best-sellers. Offered in 1.3 petrol, in 3 spec (LXi,VXi & ZXi) and diesel 1.5 (2 spec – VDi & LDi). The thing is, all of them are manuals – no auto offered in any spec, and the 1.3 LXi is a very stripped model – no power anything, no alloys, no remote, no rpm, and even the passanger side-mirror is deleted. Priced between Rs3.80lacs to Rs5.70lacs.

Currently, the newly-launched diesel Swift is the one with the longest waiting list in India, out selling the petrol at almost 2:1.

Just sharing, cause i think we malaysian are lucky Suzuki Malaysia choosed to assembled the 1.5 full spec & offer the CBU 1.6 version. But if we are offered with 1.3 (m) swift for arround RM40-45k in malaysia, will it sells?

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Its better for them to just stick to motorcycle and boats engine, they’re never good in making cars…

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 5:10 pm

well,at least they are not Proton
    Proton Persona ..think of it make malaysian vomit
    give me i also dont want..throw at road side

• rosdi (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Why Swift when there is Mini Cooper? Expensive yes but then the resale value is guaranteed to be much better. Shell out a little bit more now but when you want to sell it 3-4 years later you won’t lose as much..

• feis (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 5:42 pm

nobodyatuk said,
    October 4, 2007 @ 4:52 pm

Its better for them to just stick to motorcycle and boats engine, they’re never good in making cars…
    ————————————–
    They are actually one of the 2 biggest small engined car producer in Japan. And Swift did won quite a number of award worldwide.

Rosdi,
    How sure are you that you won’t lose as much if you go for Mini Cooper? Interesting but strange line of thinking. Perhaps you want to illustrate that with some figures.

• jehutyz (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 6:11 pm

Saw the swift sport once. so nice especially the rear light. is a keyless car. coz i saw the door handle same as my latio sport where got the button to press.

• Sulastri (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 7:05 pm

vincentwee,

Have you test drive the Persona? Currently I’m driving a Honda Civic 2.0S 07 model and last Saturday tested the Persona and it is a surprise package. I like it and pls give it a try before bad mouth it.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 7:12 pm

I would go for the Latio sport instead of this Swift Sport…

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 8:39 pm

100k? Ford Focus 2.0S Hatch a better choice.

• king (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 8:47 pm

vincentwee said,
    October 4, 2007 @ 5:10 pm

well,at least they are not Proton
    Proton Persona ..think of it make malaysian vomit
    give me i also dont want..throw at road side

typical blind basher that bash at every opportunity. Persona isn’t the same category and price as this car.

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 8:57 pm

Sulastri,

my comment is to ppl who praise blindly for Proton.
    Persona , never appear in true car lover chat
    ;)

• szw (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:08 pm

nth new , jz price diff…
    but i would love da swift sport

• jeanloo (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:10 pm

Swift vs. Cooper?
    U must be crazy. Nothing can be compare in all aspect, especially the pricing. I earn RM 3 k per month. Swift is in my budget, never even dream of buying cooper with my mere salary.

Suzuki can’t built car?
    Again, u must be crazy. Suzuki is a well respected compact car builder in Japan.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:22 pm

car lover ?
    by chatting, flipping the magzs,

true car lover is involvement,
    history, technicality, design evolution, experiencing, test driving. maintanence,
    …to own and know every details of it,

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:24 pm

to vincentwee

car lover ?
    by chatting, flipping the magzs,

true car lover is involvement,
    history, technicality, design evolution, experiencing, test driving. maintanence,
    …to own and know every details of it

• ab (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:25 pm

you cannot compare these two cars, the latio sport is not a sport, only in name, while the swift sport is really a sport.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:26 pm

suzuki cant build car??how come they won a pikes peak rally???btw…gt a lot of award with this swift???

swift n cooper is in the same class bt overall cooper still a king in its class…bt i like swift than cooper…

• viscount (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:51 pm

honestly if i had the money i would go for cooper, i watched fifth gear recently. they compare both cars on a track and swift is not far behind.

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:56 pm

For this kind of size of a car…Myvi is more than enough just for the sake of pricing! What the heck you want to spend 100K for that meanwhile for that price you can get a Perdana. I know its Proton again but so far Perdana is not that really sucks right? Very comfortable car and good in performance too!

• maserati (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 11:19 pm

swift 100k.cooper 200k…wat to compare?test drove the persona,nothing special and nothing new.the only thing good is the engine smooth thats all.

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 11:49 pm

dont ditch the swift yet. this car single handedly revived suzuki until even thier SX4 and future cars are very positively previewed even b4 people actually test it.

of course it wont topple the mini from its place. but in the sport form, it is mentioned in the same breath as the baseline mini in performance and appeal. no other car can achieve this on these two fronts. and considering its about 25k rm cheaper in a free market than the mini. professional drivers actually rate it above the baseline mini in performance.

the ford festiva sport beats both in performance but doesnt look as cute. given this is a predominantly female drivers cars which cuteness plays a big part. and the entry fee is less 30k rm if u opt for the swift base version as a cheap runabout.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 11:55 pm

#
    jeanloo said,

October 4, 2007 @ 9:10 pm

Swift vs. Cooper?
    U must be crazy. Nothing can be compare in all aspect, especially the pricing. I earn RM 3 k per month. Swift is in my budget, never even dream of buying cooper with my mere salary.

Suzuki can’t built car?
    Again, u must be crazy. Suzuki is a well respected compact car builder in Japan.

Get the Swift, it is in everyway a better car albeit not as funky.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:45 am

Swift = the new mini cooper?

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:10 am

haiya, if you like buy, if you dont like it dont buy, if you kutuk any car, then make your own car lah..i will buy persona ,not because it good/not good…but because worth for mmy money… i dont care if goverment want give high tax to any car what so ever…. i want to be kaya i give bribe to pollitician… only person who stress with this country will kutuk P1 ..haha

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:24 am

Still…too….expensive….

Nice car though. Had a chance to drive the CBU unit around a few hard bends. Underpowered with the auto though. Its a well built small car….actualy its an amazingly built small car if you can see what sort of market this thing is priced abroad.

Swift vs the Cooper? no contest, Swift all the way. To the poster that said the Cooper depreciates less, you might want to check those figures again. Perhaps it depreciates about the same % wise, but coming in over 2x the Swift’s price, …well..you get the picture.

If the swift 1.3 is offered for 40-50k, it will sell like hotcakes. I would buy one. Not likely though. Its too dangerously close to Proton and Perodua’s playground.

To the bloke that said that Suzuki is not car company? They have been one of the very few auto companies that has been profitable since day one. Despite all the big players loosing money, little Suzuki has been doing just fine. They have been building small cars since the 1930s, and now produces about 1mill cars per year.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:30 am

adunadun said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 8:10 am

i dont care if goverment want give high tax to any car what so ever…. i want to be kaya i give bribe to pollitician… only person who stress with this country will kutuk P1
    ——————

Wow..that must be single most obnoxious and mindless comment I will probably read today. What a sorry state the country is in now.

Eh Friend, does it ever occur to you that the Persona that you have now, might be an EVEN BETTER value if all these protectionist tax structurs were removed??

• kerelbort (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 11:56 am

mini is premium segment…
    swift is normal segment

• kerelbort (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:03 pm

kids nowadays spend lots of money on cars mag spend times in a car forum, autoworld or anything.. and claim themselves as car lover when actually a true car lover is a person who don trust others to change their engine oil and some had taste the interesting taste of engine oil…

change ur engine oil urself and we will call u a car lover …

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:53 pm

if you guys read UK mag’s reviews, most reviewers laud this as bringing back the basics to hot-hatches in this era where hot-hatches have become bigger, heavier and relies to more powerful engine to move em, not to mention, all those electronics.

For a single guy, or a young couple who dont need a big boot, this car makes alot of sense, especially if you love driving.

As for the Swift Sport, well, I’d pick it over the Yaris and Jazz any day! cannot compare at all!!

• xstan (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:00 pm

I like Sedan cars & since Suzuki SX4 1.6 Sedan already launch in Singapore for price at S$50+k it should be pirced similar at City & Vios, probably anticipate for its relased in M’sia. It does look similar to Swift but with a boot.

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 3:06 pm

base version is allright if u want a fun car to drive that is cheap. to compare with the cooper u need to move up to the sport version. i beleive both will hold value well. coz not many people will buy the swift sport. and mini coopers usually hold thier value well. you cant find a cheap one on the 2nd hand market. at least within 1-4 years old.

the swift always wins me over with its looks. So does the cooper. lets see if the fiat500 does or not.

jazz not so attractive though would be good if that idsi engine was in the swift.

• transformer (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 3:27 pm

FOOLS!

Suzuki are reknown for it SJ Jeep(now Jimny), Swift, Vitara(aka Escudo) and Wagon-R! Who says Suzuki can’t make good cars!

• drebar (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:23 pm

lol…

swift and cooper is in a completely different class… how to compare???

wakakaz….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:58 pm

drebar…

swift and cooper is in d same cls jz cooper is in premium class and swift not…so same like if u compare d bmw 1 series and ford focus..still in d same cls jz 1 er is premium…

i dun like jazz even a new jazz looks boring…for dis cls…swift and grande punto still b at the top of my list…

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:51 pm

4G63T DSM said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 8:30 am

adunadun said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 8:10 am

i dont care if goverment want give high tax to any car what so ever…. i want to be kaya i give bribe to pollitician… only person who stress with this country will kutuk P1
    ——————

Wow..that must be single most obnoxious and mindless comment I will probably read today. What a sorry state the country is in now.

Eh Friend, does it ever occur to you that the Persona that you have now, might be an EVEN BETTER value if all these protectionist tax structurs were removed??

—–
    Dear 4G63T DSM
    yup , i admit you are totally right. but not in this 2 or 3 year, Kawan, i am in the middle to buy a car (now using kapcai), and right now persona to me value for my money, i want to wait that BETTER value time to come , but should i ???
    Still if i wait next 2 or 3 years, people will say , “next 2 or 3 year will be MUCH MUCH better maa!!” then endup with i keep using kapcai , my decision is for now. just want to survive cruel world. sorry

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 8:28 am

Fair enough, apology accepted.

If you are going from a kapcai, why buy a new car, with prices so depressed already, go buy a used car. Make money count.

I could afford a new car at any time. In fact I was looking at a Gen2 2 years ago. Decided to get a used Satria 1.6/1.8 cash, didn’t have to worry, trashes it at the track, motoring bliss. No loan to worry about. Cheap insurance. Cheap parts.

I could also buy the Gen2 cash also, but woudn’t my money be better off working for me in a high yield investment then in my fast depreciating car?

Worst, heaven forbit, have to pay interest to the bank…..

But I am more lucky then most. But same applies, be smart with your money.

In Economics, the Value of the product is if not what the manufacturer states, its what the consumer perceives and willing to pay.

If a Gen2 is selling for 50k, and a Vios is selling 70k, thats what the car is worth. Its when no one buys a Gen2 at 50k and Vios at 70k, thats when they will drop the price.

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:35 pm

4G63T DSM ,i already using kapcai for 4 years. because that kapcai is the most fit with my working enviroment (single n spend time oversea more), andlife stail. but now decide to spend my money for brand new car, since my working env changed . or should i say rent car from bank. that 4 year my money already spend on good investment. And some it goes as you,i am luckly then most, then now i got some big return , now time to spend come .i just want to enjoy with my money while i can. :) i dont wan banker to enjoy my money
    -lesson: different people, different aim,
    but still i am listen any relevent opinion.including that buy 2nd hand car that also in mylist before this.but who going to enjoy my money? (else then charity)
    – i believe u also have ur own way to spend ur money

by the way, talking about economical, dont you think that allbrand new car have high maintennac /service charge ? i am refer to gen2,new satria, myvii,viva. soemtme i think that gen2 n viva service/maintenance is same, theonlydifferent isfuel consuptionn n monthlypayment. no doubt that old satria n wira are the most economical maintenance in malaysia ( which is among ur reason to pick satria instead of gen2)
    -need other party opinion,since my opinion is without reference, and i think my opinion might wrong.

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 1:50 am

Dear adunadun,

What is “kapcai” means actually?
    And pls dont get me wrong as you said new car has higher maintenance? Not suppose the more older the car is, the higher cost to maintain it? You think Viva and Gen2 have same maintenance cost, well normally all new cars have similar maintenance cost thats what i know but depends what kind of engine oil you use.

Regarding to a car saleman, maintain a Gen2 is more costly compare to Mitsubishi Waja just simply because Gen2 using Campro engine. Im talking about the pre-owned cars!

Dont spend too much $ in car, not really that worth. Im driving a bloody 1991 old Saga, maintain it every 5K mileage and RM70 of petrol able to give me 420KM of journey. Ok la for that old junk!!! HAHAHA

My next aim is either Pre-owned iDSI City or New Myvi, both also in similar $.

oops…am i too far from the original topic??? Sorry!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 12:48 pm

aiya nobody talk about its rear claustrophobic with small apature window now?

• leechorwin (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 8:41 pm

One of the best design and most wanted compact car that able to compete with Honda Jazz!! Good car from Suzuki!! It look like Japanese version MiNi Cooper.

• drebar (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 3:23 pm

feel like getting one~!!!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 9:13 am

proton.GL.. said,
    October 7, 2007 @ 12:48 pm

aiya nobody talk about its rear claustrophobic with small apature window now?
    —————

Didn;t really bother me.

What i didn’t like is when you have rear passengers, you need to move the rear headrests up (as it is unconfortable to sit with the rear headrest retracted), but then the rear passengers leave, the rear headrest block rear ward visibility.

Its about time they do like the luxury marques with electric folding/raising rear headrest. I have the same problem with my Satria, but I have another 4 door, so I rarely use the Satria to ferry back seaters, thus I had them removed…..

Most hatch backs (2 and 4 doors) has the same problem of rearward visibility problems due to thick C pillars and high decklid (think Gen2). After a while you do get used to it though. Just have to use your mirrors better.

• joeysis (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 10:40 am

Lookin forward for Paul’s on Grand Vitara 2WD test drive report. Cheers!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 3:29 pm

the strange thing is, in the UK, the Mini one and the swift are practically in the same price range. therefore, over there, it makes sense to compare the 2 cars directly. If I were living in the UK, I would buy the mini.. but as I said, strangely enough, the mini here is sold at luxury car prices, costing more than practically every japanese car including the camry, whereas the swift today can be bought for “korean” car money.

In Malaysia, I would go for the swift any day. If i’m worried about resale value, I would buy a vios, or city, definitely not the mini. anyways, if i can afford the mini, re-sale price probably wont bother me too much.

• dr_carz (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 10:25 am

Quite true….

Suzuki dan mini adalah dalam kelas yang sama.
    Nak bayar muka yang sesuai ada idea tak?
    Should i go 10% or maybe 10.000?
    Tak Sabar nak angkat tahun depan…

• nishie (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 6:34 am

dr_carz said,

December 14, 2007 @ 10:25 am

Quite true….

—————————

i ada idea untuk u.. if u ask the dealer mmg dia akan minta 10%. I baru book the car. after discount, i just bayar 1500 je utk dpayment.. but depands pada u berapa nak bayar. if u nak, i can give his number..

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 5:04 pm

IVE GONE FOR THE 10%

CANNOT WAIT MY LOAN TO APPROVE

• zane (Member) on Apr 09, 2008 at 5:43 pm

dr_carz said,

December 14, 2007 @ 10:25 am

Quite true….

—————————

i ada idea untuk u.. if u ask the dealer mmg dia akan minta 10%. I baru book the car. after discount, i just bayar 1500 je utk dpayment.. but depands pada u berapa nak bayar. if u nak, i can give his number..

————————————————–

dude .i’m planning to buy a swift.which outlet are getting this deal from?how much is the discount.help me please!!! ;)

• aedes on Oct 02, 2009 at 12:02 am

What about the maintenance and spare part price? heard that a pair of brake pad costs at RM475… is it true?

• zairie on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:12 pm

sy bercadang beli swift but 2nd car. So ada sebarang pandangan atau cadangan…