Ferraris to come standard with Brembo Carbon Ceramic Brakes

Ferrari Carbon Ceramic Brakes

Starting from the 2008 model year onwards, all Ferrari cars will come standard with Brembo carbon ceramic brake discs, something that previously only an expensive option on its cars. Despite that, as it is over 85% of Ferrari orders have the brakes specified, giving Ferrari reason to make them standard.

From Ferrari’s press release: “Brakes featuring CCM discs offer much more responsive braking as well as consistently excellent performance in intensive use. One of the most obvious advantages to adopting them is their exceptional fade resistance – fade in fact compromises the drivers feeling of control when it comes to the pressure required on the brake pedal and responsiveness. The CCM discs have a longer life under normal conditions, a fact that has clear financial advantages. Furthermore, even with continual track use, CCM brakes offer greater resistance to wear for better durability on track. The CCM braking system also cuts around 15 kg off the cars total weight which not only improves overall performance but also reduces unsprung mass and thus improves vehicle dynamics and ride comfort.”

No mention whether prices would remain standard or not though…

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 12:40 pm

ppl who buy dis car is a very rich guy…so…they shud done it earlier…

• Dogster (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 12:43 pm

Malaysia citizens dream on… Dream how to get this into boleh land…

• erichigc (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 2:07 pm

Stop Dreaming…….the TAX already kill YOU.

The only option is migrate, migrate to somewhere the TAX is lower. At least you have a little chance to own them. :-)

• AmiR (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 2:15 pm

naah…..we can buy it in half price after 10 years…. xP

• happymeal (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 2:46 pm

got money also cannot buy la..
    2 year waiting list…

• feez98 (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 4:01 pm

huhuhuhuuuu, rather buy condos or banglos than this beast… hahahahah, then make more money by rentin it….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 4:08 pm

as if those ceramic brakes wer the only decision i was waiting for to buy the ferrari …..!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 4:15 pm

this should be a standard feature since long time ago, not optional until now……

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 7:14 pm

no matter wat they put on the car. it still ferrari. i still LOVE it

• kazai (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 11:37 pm

erichigc…come on la.without tax also you cannot afford this. i’ll sure u. u see langkawi la…no tax, how many people can buy this???

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 12:21 am

no difference in pricing. Maybe cost less than 10k, but its nothing to those who buy it in the first place.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 12:40 pm

CCM discs were a relatively new technology on road cars when they were first launched. its only natural that ferrari would only offer it as an option. early application CCM discs had its fair share of problems.

they’ve only adopted it as standard since so many customers have opted for it. if less than 50% of their customers opted for it, i’m sure ferrari wouldnt have made it standard anyway.

• phas3r (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 10:51 pm

buy half the price 10 years later? the maintainance will kill, 10 year old merc n bimmer already expensive to maintain, let alone this one… wait 20 years, the car become classic and expensive again already..

• rexis (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 9:28 am

Nah, people wont mind to add in an extra unit of carbon ceramic brakes in its spare tire.

• szw (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:31 pm

i wan buy 1 (when i hav money)

• neurra (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:07 pm

lol.. the price would of course increase with these.

• megadisc (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 2:21 pm

can i fit those rims in my iswara !

that would be really fun !