Chang’An Jiexun HVE: China’s first hybrid

ChangAn Jiexun

After 6 years of development, the Chang’An Jiexun HVE hybrid vehicle has rolled off the production lines – China’s first locally developed hybrid vehicle. It’s your run of the mill hybrid – a 1.5 litre gasoline engine combined with an electric motor. Chang’An says this will improve fuel efficiency by 20%.

Not sure how well this will do – Toyota only sold 2,000 Prius hybrid vehicles in China last year, but Chang’An promises the Jiexun HVE will be cheaper than foreign hybrids in the Chinese market. Chang’An also recently announced Chinas first independently-developed hydrogen engine earlier this year.

Could this Chang’An Jiexun HVE possibly come to Malaysia? We’ve had sightings of a tall MPV on road tests in Malaysia, not sure what happened to that one, but the model has been identified as the Chang’An CM8.

Chang’An unveils China’s first independently developed hydrogen engine
Chang’An CM8 spotted in Malaysia!
Chang’An CM8 to be assembled in Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• junky_man (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 11:53 am

any response Proton?
    In just 6 years they can produce a hybrid engine. P1 can’t even produce a defect free power window!

• mockviper (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 12:00 pm

here you go.. from proton:
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/03/07/proton-and-lotus-engineering-develop-proton-gen2-eve-hybrid-concept/

Proton GEN2 equipped with Lotus Engineering’s EVE Hybrid technology.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 12:27 pm

well.. proton might be slow on hybrid..
    but if they just ‘produce like that’..
    of course they’ll be bashed for the ‘incomplete tech’.

Anyway.. china tech still doubtfull..
    and the quality too… wish the car don’t broke in few year usage. :D

Do faster proton!!!!.. release the EVE!!!

• Bbingbong (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 12:59 pm

holy shitt..

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 1:00 pm

Go to Kedai 2 ringgit if you wanna check out what China products quality is like. I bet their hybrid tech wouldn’t be much different either. But if their target is to bring hybrid to the masses, I say way to go Commies!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 1:54 pm

The Proton EVE project is just a prototype car, if u compare the car above is already rolled out which is selling already…

I predict that China will one day makan Proton away from others…

• mofo (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 1:59 pm

Indeed many of us doubtful with China’s products, i read somewhere recently about china’s product. What they said 100% support the statement and most of us forgot the baseline of China.

We pay on way cheaper price, indeed quality wise would be a question for all us. At the same time, if we willing to pay for premium price China still able to produce High Quality product.

I salute to China’s engineering, its not easy to develop these piece of high tech in such short period with cheaper price. Its challenge in term of engineering. Pls think before u bash

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 2:50 pm

Proton should now finding a hole to hide……

malu!!!

• altis_fan (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 2:52 pm

I’m very doubtful of China product quality. Maybe just put 1KW gimmic electric
    motor but already say it is hybrid. Boleh percaya ka?

• msmar_453 (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 4:08 pm

Forget about Hybrid!
    Love the design.

• acbc (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 4:42 pm

Since it is from China… let’s hope they don’t put exploding batteries inside the car… otherwise, u get the picture.

Explosion + petrol is never a good combo…

• nmh (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 6:49 pm

china car company = making money
    proton = seriously built a car

get it

• transformer (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 7:09 pm

P1 shud R&D clean diesel engine to gain more know-how!
    Turbocharged diesel engine are more torquey and more robust too!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 7:55 pm

Looks like there are some idiots bash China’s product. May b they haven’t been to china to see for themselve how advance is China nowadays compare to KL or any other big cities in Malaysia.

China is a big country and they are on the run to the top at the speed no other country can catch up. Malaysia is already behind China almost in terms of everything.

Back to the topic… this is just the 1st steps, not only China recognise the important of Hybrid but also the need to solve environment issue. so for that cause, i support it.

Proton too must go towards this direction. And i just feaking wish that proton can just stop use the Lotus name. For fcuk sake, pls use your own Proton name in term of developing your own technology, engine and the likes. Else, proton is just the same as Perodua. The differrence is Perodua just din spelt out = “Toyota’s Technology”

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 8:59 pm

nmh said,
    December 16, 2007 @ 6:49 pm

china car company = making money
    proton = seriously built a car

get it

i said,
    today

potong = sucks money
    china car = improving in every aspects

• tishaban (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 10:13 pm

I have no doubt that China can make excellent products if you’re willing to pay for it. I have an iPhone and several iPods made entirely in China, and the build quality is far better than the Nokia/SE phones or most of the other mp3 players of the same price level.

However the Chinese have had no qualms about copying from other companies before, it’s highly likely that the 1st gen products will have lots of external technology in it. The car even looks a bit like the 2nd gen Prius.

• schdmitz (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 10:30 pm

they only know how to tipu ppl with nice packing…..don tipu by them!!!!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 11:19 pm

Yo i can see a lot of commentaries belittled China capability in developing advance technology by their own. Wake up boy !! I think most of you are still sleeping and dwelling in your past. Today’s China is no more like those past days who like to live in solitary with total communism decree. China is moving forward really fast.

China had successfully built their own rocket and sent their astronauts and multiple satellites to the outer space. China had already emerged with their own sophisticated nuclear-powered submarines which can trespass American armada fleet’s security alert radar system and got Americans by their pants down recently. China is having capability to produce their own luxury car which can match the VW Passat’s quality standard. So what makes you guys think that it’s doubtful for China to come out with the bloody puny hybrid car…for god sake !!

Those low quality goods you got from China made is passably deserving. You got for what you paid man!! Pathetic…

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 1:21 am

After watching china’s car crash test result i doubt this will be any safer.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 1:24 am

hey only know how to tipu ppl with nice packing…..don tipu by them!!!!

This statement is like for our local car maker more then the china made…

• kerelbort (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 7:45 am

reverse engineering all the way bebeh! juz wait for legal notice from other car manufacturer..

• kerelbort (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 7:47 am

china car improving?
    don really know lah.. but if wanna check out geely MK160.. compare to the new CK… i cant see any improvement.. but nicely replicated other famous car

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 8:45 am

You can’t measure chinese products using the same yardstick as a 2 ringgit store.

You get what you pay for. You want premium products from the chinese, China will be more than happy to oblige. Look at almost all your consumer goods now. Everything is made is china.

It used be like 10-20 years ago, when most of the band name electronics are made in Malaysia. I had several A/V equipment that I had bought from North America, all from Malaysia. Now, everything is or moving from/to China.

Now as for “cheaper” hybrids, I’m not so sure how. Toyota and Honda are already sellign thier hybrids at a “loss” (now how they define as variable cost or in total development is unclear). Something’s got to give somewhere.

China is moving full steam ahead. Keep staying under your coconut shell (NEP/NAP) and pretend its not going to affect you. When the godzilla steps on your shell, its going to crush you anyway.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 8:50 am

I would like to see those people here that say the chinese “copies” (more accurately reverse engineer) other people products….

I wonder if your so far up your high and mighty moral chair that you have NEVER bought any questionable goods or downloaded any music or videos or gone out to get some pirated VCD/DVDs.

hello, pot calling the kettle black it seems.

• rexis (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 10:10 am

Hybrid car with a 20% FC improvement is very little. Prius is the size of sedan, but the FC of kancil, that is nearly double the KM per litre fuel.

Proton should at least come out with a stock NGV and a built in gas tank.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 1:11 pm

@rexis

And you believe toyota’s marketing brochure?

Fuel consumption of a Kancil. Right.

Prius owners are getting nowhere near the manufacturer’s fuel consumption numbers. Extended Fleet tests reports even difficulty hitting 70-80% of the published average fuel consumption by the manufacturer.

Run it in malaysia and its even worst. You loose 8-10% mileage because of the air conditioner alone.

The prius is no better than a good modern diesel when it comes for fuel economy. In fact, in certain tests, the diesel does better.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 3:08 pm

4G63T DSM said,
    December 17, 2007 @ 1:11 pm
    @rexis
    And you believe toyota’s marketing brochure?
    Fuel consumption of a Kancil. Right.

Well.. if toyota claim 50% fc save than kancil..
    they also believe without single question what? ..

++++

Anyway.. I saw this chang’an poor build.
    There’s big gap (the space apart) within frontlight to bumper and the bonnet too..

• arcana (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 5:50 pm

there’s a huge difference in foreign companies opening plants in China for manufacturing compared to China owned companies….foreign factories there produce decent quality and also the price aint cheap….
    if we would to compare a similar product with a China brand name and the price is like 1/4 of the foreign rivals……i also expect 1/4 quality and usage duration.

imagine this….a 1.6L malaysian car here cost roughly 50k….a China made car 1.6L cost probably 20k+ before tax. wanna buy cheap then be prepared to experience what your paying.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 6:01 pm

proton = seriously built a car ???????????

oh my GOD !!!!!!

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 11:07 pm

“Cheap hybrids! Cheap hybrids! Laila, laila!” heh heh heh…

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 18, 2007 at 2:11 am

Looks quite good looking too

• rexis (Member) on Dec 18, 2007 at 9:33 am

Quote:4G63T DSM
    Ever recall that proton claimed that Gen2 can do 17km/l with a small font saying that @constant speed of 90km.

Be it honda, toyota, tata, whatever-ta, low fuel consumtion is simply an advertising term. Even a CRV has a fuel efficient tag.

The idea of Hybrid is to let two or more different kind of powertrain to conpensate each other weakness. In simple layout, a hybrid car is a car that has a bigger starter tat can help you in accerelation.

—–

But then, a decent small diesel engine will beat them all.

• deepthroat (Member) on Dec 18, 2007 at 12:35 pm

there seems to be a lots of morons around here. The Made-in-China mark is by no mean an indication of the inherent quality of the product. The 2 ringgit shop products are cheap and crude because the producers intend to sell them at a very cheap price and therefore employed low quality material and ingredients for their production. If the producers employing Chinese workers are willing to use expensive, premium materials, the products will similarly be of higher quality and on par with the stuff produced in other countries. this is the same situation as in other countries that started out with industrialisation by offering low-cut labours and cheap taxes to attract foreign investment. Japan and Korea used to be the whipping boy, then HongKong, Taiwan and when those countries have developed themselves out of the low-cost economy system, the China has taken their places.

Products made in China is NOT an immediate indication that its quality will be bad. Many electronics equipment, even high-tech notebooks from SONY, TOSHIBA, NEC are made in China too now. In fact, the notebook you or your company are using are probably made in China now. Look underneath for the label.

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 18, 2007 at 7:15 pm

yes they are moving forward at a very fast rate. but thier rapid modernization is only due to foreign expertise guidance. they just lure foreign engineers and designers in with big money and call it thier own. its all only foreign investment capitalizing on cheap labour. lets wait for a foreign test drive.

Malaysia and singapore do have the ability to keep up with china. maybe more so with singapore.

china motoring industry will take 20 years to catch up to Hyundai. foreign company operations in china may need maybe 10 years.

i was on the assumption high end notebooks are made in taiwan and korea. i know my core 2 duo chip is made in malaysia.

• nmh (Member) on Dec 18, 2007 at 8:03 pm

Whoa…u guys really like china car. I dont even notice tat china car has fan and supporter…i mean good…at least it can sell.

• altis_fan (Member) on Dec 18, 2007 at 8:48 pm

I heard many people here said that you will get what you paid for, meaning
    if you buy a cheap product like RM2, then the quality is bad. So, how can you ensure that China Car won’t use RM2 part? They are very good in reverse engineering (copycat), but quality? So I still cannot trust their product.

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 18, 2007 at 9:50 pm

i dont think they reverse engineer anything. its just a matter of ….hm…..i’ll replace this bundle of wire with a single thin cheaper one….this expensive panel with a half price one…..and the engine with a 1980’s design and slap on some paint from the Dulux shop down the road. and hey…it says ‘weather shield’ on the tin of paint. guaranteed 3 year protection.

they will continue down this road alot longer than the koreans and japs back in thier respective times.

• szw (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 4:45 pm

what crap is that ?

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 9:06 pm

well, just a crap.

• dragin on May 03, 2009 at 6:30 am

Jiexun is a "mild hybrid"……very mild……