SPYSHOT: Toyota Rush long wheelbase on trailers?

Toyota Rush Spyshot

A couple of months ago I posted about how a long wheelbase version of the Toyota Rush would be suitable for the Malaysian market. Now an anonymous reader has sent in snapshots of what appears to be a long wheelbase version of the Toyota Rush being transported on trailers to an unknown destination. We know this is the long wheelbase version because it has a much longer rear overhang than the short wheelbase version.

Perodua has previously indicated that the new Kembara replacement will be launched mid this year, so this is a bit too early for a Perodua Kembara replacement to be sighted on trailers. This leads me to believe that we might soon see two different versions of the same SUV being sold under two different badges – a short wheelbase Rush sold by Perodua badged as a Kembara, and a long wheelbase Rush sold by Toyota!

This strategy has been employed by Toyota and Daihatsu in Indonesia for quite some time now, as their market have both the Daihatsu Bego and the Toyota Rush, as well as the Daihatsu Xenia and the Toyota Avanza. Whether this strategy will work in Malaysia or not remains unknown, but it will be interesting to find out!

One more shot after the jump.

Toyota Rush Spyshot

Toyota Rush long wheelbase suitable for Malaysia
2006 Daihatsu Be-Go (short wheelbase)
New Perodua Kembara Replacement due mid-2008

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mockviper (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 2:39 am

i cant wait for this SUV.. hopefully it will be the next best thing from Toyota.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:13 am

Looking forward the kembara Replacement
    Any thoughts how much that going to cost ?

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:38 am

Any price tag above the current Kembara price is not acceptable (for the short wheelbase version), and for Toyota Rush long wheelbase, I believe UMW Toyota should price it below Vios (below RM80K), so as to not creating a distant gap from the Perodua sibling (and also too close to Sportage’s price)

By the way, this SUV is in the compact segment, which is below the Grand Vitara, Sportage and CRV segment. Therefore, the pricing should be at least RM10K below the cheapest SUV of the segment, or it will never be attractive.

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:42 am

2008..what an interesting year for automotive industry in Malaysia.. :)

• Bella147 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:44 am

if im not mistaken the p2 version will be around 70k-85k with 1.5liter engine…

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:45 am

i will wait patiently for the new kembara for sure.!
    i guess the price mightbe slightly a bit expensive from the current model though.. :(

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:50 am

Bella147 said,
    January 24, 2008 @ 7:44 am

======================================
    is it Bella? where do got this info?..sadly i guess it is quite
    at that price oo.. :(
    & using the same engine as the current avanza?.. :(|)

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 8:14 am

Some insider sources said that UMWT will launch this long wheelbase 7 seater Rush 1.5L in this week!! Its a CBU from Indon with price tag sub RM80k and six month later P2 will launch its Kembara replacement using the same platform with 5 seater 1.3L. I think you were right Paul, they’re using the same strategy in Indon, to have 2 variant under different badge. Afterall, P2 is under the Toyota Group umbrella..same strategy has proven to be succesfull worldwide..

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 8:27 am

Interesting fact here.. Daihatsu stake in perodua. Though written in Japs, if you can read mandarin no problem. Check this out.

http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/info/gaiyou/index.htm

• kody (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 8:47 am

wahlaueh…

If P2 place

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:02 am

good good :)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:05 am

More Picture in here.. http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/topic,721.0.html

Anyway do u think it will underpowered for a 1.5L 4wd car? LOL… 7 seater somemore, want to fight avanza market?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:18 am

Wow,

looks like Toyota/Daihatsu/P2 will have quite the market share.

6 car models, (Viva, Myvi, Vios/Yaris, Corolla, Camry)
    6 MPVs (Avanza, Innova, Wish, Rav4, Rush/Kembara)
    1 Pickup (Hilux)

And not to mention the countless grey market cars.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:30 am

NO! They’ll sell the new TERIOS as the new Kembara!!! That’s the prettiest little SUV in years.!

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:37 am

Just wishful thinking, y’know..

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:43 am

oh my god !! really arrive already ~ can’t wait to c it oo … wish my dream come true … kambara P2 … my dream …

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:44 am

OOPs.. I was thinking of Daihatsu Materia, sorry..

• jehutyz (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:45 am

I saw this bfore…..
    Think is the CBU Toyota Rush…. give me an impression of smaller version of new RAV4.

• hidz7 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:45 am

if p2 is going to sell this model..then they better make it cheap..he3..btw im newbie here..

• flash (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:58 am

Understand from one Toyota SA that they will launch the Rush on 1 Feb… was invited for the launch.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:07 am

can’t wait to c the real car … but how much the price will be ??
    will be 65k-80k ??? hope so ~

• I my (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:08 am

I do hope P2 hv the new “rush” in 1.5L engine & is a 4×2.

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:17 am

mukhri88 said,
    January 24, 2008 @ 9:30 am

NO! They’ll sell the new TERIOS as the new Kembara!!! That’s the prettiest little SUV in years.!

Terios is a Kembara version of kei cars, only 660cc not suitable for m’sian market. Toyota Rush or Daihatsu Bego or coming new Kembara FMC is all the same model. By the way bro, Materia is a MUV like Kenari lah…not an SUV. All New Altis also is sold under Daihatsu batch in Japan. In term of market share, Toyota group is dominating in m’sia already. No wonder they’re world no.1 now….

• mofo (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:18 am

King Samurai said,
    January 24, 2008 @ 8:14 am

Some insider sources said that UMWT will launch this long wheelbase 7 seater Rush 1.5L in this week!!………………..
    —-> I dun think so, as Toyota currently bz with new corolla (aka altis)

——————————-
    Bella147 said,
    January 24, 2008 @ 7:44 am

—-> That’s exp tag price, bro. If they going for this price tag, i dont think they know what’s business all about. I would guess slighty higher price than Myvi (High Spec) for the basic model.

Anyway this is good news, and thanks for info paul. cheers

• abtm (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:23 am

more sleepless nights for proton ahead

• andre128 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:25 am

as i know toyota will launch this model next month about 100k

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:27 am

UMW Toyota going to launch this Rush 7 seater soon, got the info from a sales man at UMWT. price around 80k if not mistaken. Gud alternative to normal MPV.

Now we are having a budget Crossover alternative for those who wanted a “ppl mover” but do not prefer boxy MPV.

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:30 am

Toyota SA just complete their training on this toyota rush..i think this car will launch in this or next week if not mistaken, definately before CNY..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:35 am

wonder how is the SUV market doing nowadays?
    for me, i still prefer a proper mpv built on a car chassis. like the stream, or odyssey, wish, livina..etc.

They handle so much better on the road(unless you’re talking about a conti-suv, example: X3-X5 which handle like sports saloons) than regular suvs, and usually have better fuel consumption as well.

• mockviper (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:39 am

will it be underpowered? 1.5L for 7 seater SUV?

• kerelbort (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:04 am

the car war has started… first Toyota will launch, Rush… and then they will launch Perodua Kembara new edition with cheaper price… at the same time.. Proton will be testing its MPV widely to create hype for its new model lineup. Perodua must ensure that the price they offer for Kembara is very competetive and that kembara must hav its edge…

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:05 am

paul u r our provider ~ ( the new car infomation ) pls also know the price soon ~ …

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:06 am

kembara has its own niche market. it will definitely not compete with any proper 7 seater mpv.

• KF (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:00 pm

hmmmm….2 weeks ago on my way to office in Sepang…I saw the new Kembara…with minimal disguise…of course the P2 logo was masked with them black adhesive tape…looks kinda cute I must say…

• Kelvin (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:05 pm

I saw 2 of these on a trailer in Santubong, Kuching yesterday. I wonder what were they doing in a beach resort. I thought it was the latest Rav4 but the rear doesnt seem like Rav4. There are VVTi badge on them. Although the emblem was tapped, i am pretty sure it’s a Toyota. :)

• hazri99 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:14 pm

Launch date is 3rd Feb.
    There are 3 variants
    1.5l(manual) at 85k
    1.5l (auto, normal spec) at 90k
    1.5l (auto, full spec) at 95k. 2 airbags
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a160/krews/Rush_front_resize.jpg
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a160/krews/Rush_rear_resize.jpg
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a160/krews/Rush_side_resize.jpg
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a160/krews/Rush_CBU_resize.jpg

• shamel (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:43 pm

Tomorrow they’ll have soft launch for new Rush 7-seater, exactly price with NGL.
    This SUW will attract those can’t wait for their new ride for CNY.

• Bella147 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:55 pm

yup, the car will come in CBU and p2 will do a few cosmetic change. Maybe headlights/front/rear bumpers.. and paste p2 badge..

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 1:22 pm

mayb tis 7 seaters is to replace avanza though d it will b abit pricier than avanza.
    hv2 wait lor…

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 1:28 pm

Hopefully it’s not too expensive la… i like 4×4…

• lol xD (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 2:38 pm

Looks like the next generation Toyota Wish.

• mockviper (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 3:01 pm

next generation toyota wish? mpv -> suv?

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 3:10 pm

hazri99 said,
    January 24, 2008 @ 12:14 pm

Launch date is 3rd Feb.
    There are 3 variants
    1.5l(manual) at 85k

…. this is long wheel basement … oh my god … at klang port malaysia … by made in indonesia ?? huh … 85k … :P auto 90k …. my dream just broke like tat ??

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 3:12 pm

hazri99 said,

Launch date is 3rd Feb.
    There are 3 variants
    1.5l(manual) at 85k

friend … u r the umw staft ? how u get the picture ?? very nice man !!

• slee88 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 3:14 pm

heard that this beauty got no 4wd

• wilbrightj (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Cool looking SUV…sure it will be a Hot Seller..but beige interior a bit dissapointing..Japan Spec Rush/Daihatsu Bego interior much better than Indo made Rush but if it comes cheap then worth buying!! Hope the 1.5 engine is torquey n powerful enuff for Rush..do anybody have the engine output specs??

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:06 pm

cole planet said,
    January 24, 2008 @ 1:28 pm

Hopefully it’s not too expensive la… i like 4×4…

agree .. hope not expensive …. what is u price wish to be ??
    can be 53k -60k ??

• ynnad (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:12 pm

hazri’s photos look like they were taken at the Padang Jawa , Klang UMW service centre.. you can see in the background the accident damaged toyota cars… i have seen some of those cars…. scary with blood stains all over.

• wilbrightj (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:13 pm

yeah heard its a 2WD only..not a 4WD..an insider info though..common toyota launch it earlier..this weekend pls..

• ynnad (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 5:00 pm

Indonesian specs
    http://www.toyota.co.id/cars/spesification/?Model=Rush

Invariable you will be comparing this with Grand Livina
    so below is the link for you guys to compare..

http://www.nissan.com.my/vehicles/GrandLivina/M_GrandLivina/techspecs/specifications5.html

Power to Weight Ratio bsaed on my crude calculations, the 1.5 isnt too far off from the 1.6 in the livinia (based on auto model). Both cars (1.6 vs 1.5) seem to have their peak torque come at the same rpm 4400rpm. Can be pretty noisy if insulation isn’t up to par. Any comments from livina owners?

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 6:06 pm

http://toyota.jp/rush/exterior/bodycolor/index.html

http://www.toyota.astra.co.id/rush/spec.html

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/01/24/spyshot-toyota-rush-long-wheelbase-on-trailers/

lol ~ crazy for rush/ kembara

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:04 pm

LOL! Hei, Rush is in 1.5L 4X4 category, not same as livina. Nissan always dont want to have direct competition and their car is just a FRD wif 1.6L-1.8L engine. Is totally different, u cant compare both.

• szw (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:18 pm

toyota can’t make money frm RAV4 so dey go 4 alternative.
    lolz !!!

• nmh (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 8:27 pm

I think P2 cant wait to kick P1’s ass (P1 shud ready to fight with their MPV). The scenario is getting more interesting. Enjoy more new local car this year.

• peYno (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:07 pm

toyota /perodua will produce same car under different badge??
    i think this gonna be a failed project..
    dont compare with Indonesia market laa.. Indonesia auto market are too big.. there are over 1 billion population.. of coz there r buyers for Daihatsu xenia and toyota avanza..
    yet malaysia market too small esp for SUV segmet..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:43 pm

” NEW TOYOTA AVAILABLE FOR BOOKING NOW! ”

I saw this advertisement in Guang Ming Daily today, together with the picture of Toyota Rush.

• hyundai (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:52 pm

Hope that all people will go for the Livina and not this rush…

• ChipS (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:27 pm

LAUNCH DATE 2nd Feb, 2008 over at Sarawak.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:21 am

What the Heck is UMW Toyota thinking?
    Price already in the Sportage range. Add a little bit more (from the auto full spec price), can get a Suzuki Grand Vitara CBU from Japan.

This is OVERPRICING! Nonsense.

hazri99 said,

Launch date is 3rd Feb.
    There are 3 variants
    1.5l(manual) at 85k

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:28 am

It is priced quiet a bit higher than expected. A little dissapointed, because its a nice looking small SUV (a little pointless though)

A slightly used CRV/X-trail might make better sense.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:38 am

normaluser said,
    January 25, 2008 @ 8:21 am

What the Heck is UMW Toyota thinking?
    Price already in the Sportage range. Add a little bit more (from the auto full spec price), can get a Suzuki Grand Vitara CBU from Japan.

This is OVERPRICING! Nonsense.

hazri99 said,

Launch date is 3rd Feb.
    There are 3 variants
    1.5l(manual) at 85k

really overprice … better take Hilux Vigo ….

• king (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:06 pm

this car priced at 100k also will sell like hot cake. coz its a got a toyota badge in it.