UK Automobile Association slams speed bumps

The UK’s Automobile Association is calling for the introduction of speed cameras that detect average speeds in residential areas to replace speed bumps.

“Humps are a crude, uncomfortable and noisy way of slowing people down and this research has shown they are also environmentally damaging. We accept that traffic speed needs to be controlled in residential areas where there is a problem with accidents and children are playing. We think motorists are more likely to accept average speed cameras than humps,” says Edmung King, the AA’s president.

According to the AA, a car that achieves 20.58km per litre travelling at a steady 48km/h will deliver only 11km per litre when going over humps. An independent engineer who used a fuel flow meter to test the fuel consumption of a small car and a medium-sized car at the Millbrook Proving Ground in Bedfordshire.

My housing area has an insane amount of illegal speed bumps and they do nothing more than damage vehicles and give drivers nasty jolts. The roads in Cheras remain some of the worse I’ve seen and they wear out car suspensions prematurely.

Source, Source 2 (read Source 2 for more interesting facts)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 7:15 am

wahhhh those mat saleh ha…everything can complain u know…

• armandd (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 8:29 am

i hate speed bumps, especially those in housing areas, made my the residents themselves.

• lone_rider (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 9:36 am

really2 true..i hate speed bump esp when it thin and high..
    its not mean to slow down..its suspension no 1 enemy..erghh

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 9:48 am

I agreee! Abolish speedbumps… all our cars rosak liao, when moving at almost standstill still can scrape (I’m sure lots of u know wat I mean)

• ndmervin (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 10:14 am

HAhaha… Cheras has been infested with old and hew bumps since the early mid 90s! I’m also a victim here,Paul.. (and still is!)

Didnt know that the Europeans sees these bumps that increases fuel consumption on cars… brilliant!! Seriously, bumps are a nuisance to every major aspects for the car, both interior (dashboard) and exterior (undercarriage) !!

It will take aeons for Bolehland to implement this ..

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 10:30 am

i wonder who have the right to put the speed bump here especially at residential area. the size of these bump is not standard at all. some are too high, too short, not smooth surface and the quality of the bump. my dream speed bump is even ferarri can drive over it with peace of mind.

BTW, do we have the rights to remove the speed bump illegaly on illegal speed bump or legal one like JKR’s eventhough some people has proper machine, or enough money to hire worker?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 12:27 pm

This was proposed by the Chelsea(London) authorities about two years ago.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Paultan Wrote :
    My housing area has an insane amount of illegal speed bumps and they do nothing more than damage vehicles and give drivers nasty jolts. The roads in Cheras remain some of the worse I’ve seen and they wear out car suspensions prematurely.
    —-

But to be honest paul.. bumps is the most practical way in our country.. without bumps.. I would said, we were getting more headache regarding annoyingly Mat Rempits! As long as that road is no bumps.. they will rempits!..

• armandd (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 12:58 pm

i beg to differ, those rempits will just go around the bump, no matter how high or big it is.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Speed camera costs an arm n leg to install!!

But then again, speed bumps (or sleeping policeman, as the British informally calls it) are a nuisance indeed. I wouldn’t rly mind if it’s as nanashisan imagines it to be (in fact, there are quite some of them in Subang Jaya), but there are just too many of them where I had to do 10kmph or even stop completely to go through them, especially if I’m carrying passengers!! Even then, some are still high enough to knock my Waja’s undercarriage!! IT HURTS ME TO HEAR IT, IT HURTS MY CAR EVEN MORE, GODDAMMIT!! Seriously, do city councils monitor these things?!?! Do they even set a minimum/maximum dimensions for speed bumps?!?!

Just probably, the best way to counter speed bumps is for everyone to drive Flintstone’s car. That’ll flatten those dam speed bumps.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 1:02 pm

Paul, I wonder, when u say “illegal speed bumps”, does that mean they’re made without the council’s knowledge? Or that they’re done by the council cincai-cincai until they become too high, short, hard, rough etc?

• scorpicore (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 1:16 pm

Most new townships have only one entrance/exit for a each type of houses. This is good so other motorists besides those who are staying in that particular area have no reason to enter or use the road just for the purpose of bypassing certain area. So people who is using the road in front of the houses will be more responsible since they are the occupants there. So that means there is no need humps at all, i would say not even a camera. Anyway kids should not be allow to stand in the middle of a road even with humps. Another option is to limit the humps only at both sides of the road with no hump in the middle, for the safety of kids who is standing in front of their house.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 1:27 pm

Speed bumps in UTP (universiti teknology petronas) sucks. Always changing places every year, changing sizes. Demn, it must be smart security dept decision to play guess-the-bump game.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 3:01 pm

support this idea :-)

• calwinsingh (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 4:16 pm

=) SAY NO TO ROAD BUMPS…. KATAKAN “TAK NAK” KEPADA BONGGOL… =)

• zidane (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 5:56 pm

i prefer the speed bumps in UK.

It’s like a small ramp going up and abt 1/2 m straight road and then a ramp going down.

• wacko (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 7:08 pm

Malaysian drivers are just monkeys on the road. Speed humps are the only way to guide them to slow down on certain locations. Without speed humps malaysian drivers definetely become chimpanzee on the road. That’s the reality.

• scudz (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 7:28 pm

I suppose speed bumps do have their reason for being utilized – to slow cars down in certain areas of the road…

But there are a heck too many of the darn bumps all over our roads!!! Official ones… Non-official ones (self-made one lah)… Our speed bumps also come in all shapes & sizes… Some are so awkwardly shaped they’ll kill ur suspension in due time!!! Darn!!!

We always have to slow down & accel again… Big waste of time & fuel…
    Speed bumps should be deployed wisely lah… not every 100m 1 speed bump OK…

• szw (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 8:34 pm

just do it…

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 10:59 pm

We will always need bumps. Blame it on the idiotic drivers and mat rempits. They won’t care much about cameras (although they might regret it).

• wong (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:18 am

though the bumps are nuisance, this do prevent motorist from speeding on certain roads especially housing areas, absorbers can be replaced, human life no…

• afroiq (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:29 am

yup..speed bump is must…to slow down car..some car didnt even care to slow..even when they see children playing around..stupid driver..

human life is more precious priceless thing..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 3:10 am

Want crazy bumps, check out Uniten. Even normal car with normal ground clearance will scrape the speed bump there

• lchan (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:46 am

i say speed humps are good..why?..because we are not mature drivers enough. We dont pay enough attention when we drive and extra precautions needs to be taken around commercial shop areas, residental, schools etc. Because not every driver puts all their attention during driving, the need for speed hump is there for those who dont. However, our country should and must standardise the width and height of speed humps.

illegal speed humps? Dont worry, just make a complain to the municipal council and they will come and destroy it. I have seen it happen in my area many times.

• bavarian (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 5:50 pm

totally agree to abolish these things
    it waste time, resources and now worsen the environmental problems