2008 Toyota Corolla Altis launched in Malaysia!

Toyota Corolla Altis

UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd has unveiled the new 2008 Toyota Corolla Altis here in Malaysia. Read the rest of the article after the jump to find out more about the latest fully imported C-segment sedan to reach our local shores.

Toyota Corolla Altis

The new Toyota Corolla Altis is now a CBU unit from Thailand, just like its bigger brother the Camry. In terms of dimensions, the car is now 10mm longer than the outgoing Corolla Altis, but wheelbase remains the same at 2600mm, so underneath it all it is probably the same platform. A 2600mm wheelbase would make it just 50mm longer than the new Vios. The following are the wheelbase measurements of other C-Segment sedans in the Malaysian market: Proton Waja 2600mm, Mitsubishi Lancer 2635mm, Honda Civic 2700mm, Ford Focus 2640mm, Hyundai Elantra 2641mm.

The width has been increased by 55mm to 1760mm so this should also logically translate to a wider interior. Height has been reduced by 15mm. The car looks larger and more planted to the ground compared to the older design because of this wider and slightly lower stance. Front headlamps are of the reflector type and use normal halogen bulbs while the rear lamps use LEDs.

Toyota Corolla Altis

Suspension also retains the same design as the outgoing Altis – a MacPherson strut setup at the front and a torsion beam at the rear, which is beneficial for boot space and packaging reasons but considered by some motoring-savvy consumers as cost-cutting. The Altis target buyer would probably not care. Brakes are ventilated discs at the front and solid discs at the rear.

Toyota has designed the new body of the Toyota Corolla Altis to be more aerodynamic for better fuel efficiency, better high speed stability, as well as reduced wind noise. The shape of the A-pillars, windshield wipers, flush mounted windscreen glass all contribute to better aerodynamics.

Toyota Corolla Altis

The dash features a clever floating center stack similiar to a design pioneered by Volvos. There is a small storage compartment behind the floating center stack. The glovebox is two tiered despite there being a passenger airbag, a clever design feature. The 1.6E, 1.8E and 1.8E Sporty models gets a normal twin-dial meter panel while the top of the range 1.8G and 1.8G Sporty models get an Optitron display. The front center arm rest is set in a high position and slides fore and aft to match your elbow position. The 1.8E and 1.8G models get automatic climate control while the 1.6E gets manual air conditioning. The interior has a flat floor for the rear. The top of the line 1.8G model features an 8-way electrically adjustable power seat for the driver.

All models get a multi-info display which can show the following information: a) current fuel consumption in km/l b) average fuel consumption in km/l c) range to empty in km d) average speed in km/h e) elapsed time and f) outside temperature. The km/l unit can also be changed to litres per 100km. Changing the multi-info display modes is via buttons on the steering wheel, which is very handy indeed as I know of some cars with multi-info trip computers but they require awkwardly reaching a button sticking out of the meter panel typically shared with the trip reset function.

Tyota Corolla Altis Torque Curves

And now to the engines. The engines in the 1.6 and 1.8 litre variants are the same 1ZZ-FE and 3ZZ-FE DOHC 16 valve VVT-i engines as the outgoing model, with a few technical changes. For one, the 1.8 litre 1ZZ-FE complies with Euro 3 emissions standards now so there is a reduction in horsepower to 132 PS at 6,000rpm. Torque teaches its peak of 170Nm at 4,200rpm. The 1.6 litre 3ZZ-FE produces 109 PS at 6,000rpm and 145Nm of torque at 4,400rpm.

Despite being a 1.6 litre, this is exactly the same horsepower output as Toyota’s 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE in the Toyota Vios, but it makes slightly more torque compared to the 1NZ-FE’s 141Nm. The engines now use a drive by wire throttle. The power steering system now uses an Electric Power Steering system.

These engines are mated to a 4-speed auto with the same transmission ratios of 1st – 2.847, 2nd – 1.552, 3rd – 1.000, and 4th – 0.700 with a final drive of 4.237. Toyota says they have fiddled with the ratios a bit and the end result is a faster 0-100km/h time compared to the outgoing model. The 1.8 litre model has a gated shift with the option of sequential manual shifting, while the 1.6 litre model has a normal gated shift.

Toyota Corolla Altis

Safety systems that are standard across the model range from 1.6E to 1.8G include dual SRS airbags, anti-lock brakes, and brake assist. There is Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and Traction Control System (TCS) available on the 1.8G and 1.8G Sporty models.

The following is a quick summary of the equipment level in the different models:

The baseline Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6E:

• 1.6 litre 109 PS engine
  • 7-spoke 15 inch wheels wrapped with 195/65R15 tyres
  • Electrically adjustable and retractable wing mirrors with integrated turn signal
  • 4-spoke urethane steering wheel
  • Tilt and telescopic steering column
  • Single disc CD player with MP3 and WMA support
  • 4 speakers
  • Standard meter cluster with multi-info display
  • Silver finishing on centre console, dash and door panels
  • Fixed rear seat bench
  • Manual air conditioning
  • Front fog lamps
  • Dual SRS Airbags
  • ABS Brakes with EBD and Brake Assist
  • Body coloured side protection mould and door handles
  • Solar and security film (the kind that makes it harder to break your windows)

The Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8E adds:

• 1.8 litre 132 PS engine
  • Variable intermittent wipers
  • 10-spoke 16 inch wheels wrapped with 205/55R16 tyres
  • Sequential manual shift
  • 4-spoke leather wrapped steering wheel
  • Steering wheel-mounted audio controls
  • Automatic climate control air conditioning
  • 60:40 split foldable rear seats

The Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8G adds:

• Chrome side protection mould and door handles
  • 6-disc in-dash CD changer with MP3 and WMA support
  • 6 speakers
  • 4-spoke leather wrapped steering wheel with wood trim
  • 8-way electrically adjustable power driver’s seat
  • Wood grain finishing on centre console, dash and door panels
  • Vehicle Stability Control (VSC)

The 1.8E Sporty and 1.8G Sporty versions adds a bodykit which includes front and rear lips and side skirts. The Toyota Corolla Altis is available in 5 colours – Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metallic, Black Mica, Beige Metallic and Greyish Blue Metallic. The following is the price list for Peninsular Malaysia, individual private registration:

Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6E – RM102,900.00
Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8E – RM109,900.00
Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8E Sporty – RM112,250.00
Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8G – RM117,900.00
Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8G Sporty – RM120,250.00

Toyota targets sales of 800 units a month. Bookings had actually started being taken officially from the 7th of March 2008 onwards and up to yesterday evening there had been 798 bookings so far. It should have gone over 800 by today. Enjoy the rest of the photos shown below.

Toyota Corolla Altis

Click to enlarge – 16 inch wheels

Toyota Corolla Altis
15 inch wheels

Toyota Corolla Altis

Manual air conditioning

Toyota Corolla Altis
Automatic climate control

Toyota Corolla Altis

2008 Toyota Corolla Altis with Aerokit

Toyota Corolla Altis

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hazrinmd (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 6:47 am

A must have car for mid segmented users….

• xenith (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 6:51 am

Price is reasonable.

• zidane (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:02 am

I think it’s ugly.

• nikolo98 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:07 am

A little pricy for the limited options the car comes with. And to think that the full spec 1.8G Sporty priced at RM120k, only a little lesser than what you’d pay for a Civic 2.0. Overall, it doesn’t look that much more “WOW” and the power output of the 1.8 engine is nothing spectacular. No HID, 4-speed tranny and 1.8L engine compared to HID, 5-speed tranny and 2.0L? The Civic’s package definitely outshines the Altis’. My money’s on the Civic.

Just another classic case of Toyota’s conservative design doctrine.

• azrai (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:09 am

The main attractive here are two things. It’s a Toyota and the price is quite competitive. At least the Dugong’s Vios look uglier than its Altis sibling. I wonder why don’t there reduce the price more because it is from ASEAN country + our ringgit appriciate 100baht=RM9.89 compare to prviously during tyhe Dugong’s Vios launched it is 100baht=RM11.10. Hmmmm…Just do the simple calculation guys.

• tommy73 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:14 am

After 7 years, all Toyota can come out is a facelift, no wonder there is no mention of words like “All New”. Guess Toyota know that they might get sued for using these two words.

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:15 am

Hi Paul, thanks for the detail coverage !

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:16 am

nikolo98,
    Corolla is design for luxury feel, space and comfort. I’ll take altis anytime as I have being to the showroom to feel the interior before the launch. It’s CBU compared to CKD of Civic. Furthermore, Civic interior plastic is damn cheap compared to soft touch plastic of Corolla. My advice: Go to a showroom and feel it.

If I want a great feel driving car, I will go for Mazda 3 or 6, not Civic. Have read too many issues with the CKD Civic ie. huge gap panels, klonk noise, transmission problem etc etc.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:19 am

huhu old tech in a new body? rear lamps looks like it is a facelift.

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:20 am

azrai, you are correct. even Thai corolla price increased even with the E20 petrol tax exemption in affect!

Furthermore it’s a complete CBU, unlike Civic CKD.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:30 am

Too expensive for a C-segment category car. Even the 1.8G sporty is pricier that Civic 1.8 & Lancer GT 2.0 CBU Japan. I’m sure UMWT profit margin is high compared to others. Some more, this Altis is just a re-skinned, with same old engine inside….
    Anyway, there are many who will buy this car. Poor consumer, always being cheated….

• Paul Tan on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:32 am

posted at 6:30am, 11 comments before 8am, wahlau!

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:39 am

yup Paul,

be prepared for massive traffic jam of ur blog. It happened to bkkautos too until blogger decide to pin it up…

notice how ppl nowadays would like to bash toyota just like proton? they will bash vios and now altis. but in the end, u will see vios + altis dominate the road.

guess u were in KLCC yesterday for the media launch. u r right. will hit 800 units sold b4 launching today! My SA informed waiting period more than 2 months already.

• Bella147 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:48 am

not attractive at all…. dono what to say….

• skywalker (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:11 am

The bodykit just make it uglier.

• farmcow (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:11 am

haha, backroom space is so small, even the not so tall uncle behind doesn’t seems to have enough space for his legs…

• coolguru (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:13 am

personally think it’s so-so, nothing to shout about unlike the old and the current Camry or Civic

• altimi (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:15 am

I still think Civic 2.0 is a better bet……… at this price Corolla should at least have HID lamps and 5 speed gearbox.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:21 am

it’s more like a facelift, toyota even try to distract you from the car by putting some hotchicks in the photo…and 4 speed auto is ancient history

Paul Tan says: eh, hot chicks is my contribution for your friday entertainment lar

• shamel (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:23 am

Corolla Altis will be meletup if the PRICE below RM99k for 1.6 (you didn’t enjoy few things ie Auto AC, missing center rear armrest, little underpower 1.6, cheapo rear suspension, 15 inch tires, normal steering etc) plus RM now stronger substantially than Thai Baht.

Only greedy UMWT and confused T-badge buyers will buy one. BTW if I.8E around RM102k l’ll go for uncle-ish Altis than boy-ish Civic 1.8.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:26 am

hmmm 109k for the 1.8E.

Not bad.

Call it boring, call it uncle’ish, but a Corolla has never been a bad buy. It would potentially outlast the uncle that buys it….

Sure nothing much changed under the skin, but then again, why fix something that work well?

On top of that, I would trust a Thai Toyota CBU more than a local Honda CKD if our CKD Accord is any indication. Build quality is a dissapointment. Uneven panel gaps, badly fitted wiring harnesses…etc….it was back at Honda 3 times in the first month because it was badly put together and wont run properly (brakes dont work, gearbox wont shift, headlight wont light up….).

• WreaKing (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:27 am

Facelift for the so called “All New Altis”!!!???
    I think most of us expect more than this…
    The price is reasonable but for a facelift is not worth the penny…..
    Agreed with the bros, Civic definitely the better choice.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:29 am

Offers an alternative to those that’s no keen on the radical Civic’s interior, and those that’s got a love for the Toyota badge (and trust me, there are!)
    Dun talk about Lancer la, waiting period is a decade.

The Altis’s other plus point is that its a Thai CBU. Need to go touch and see to decide if the interios and fit & finish is better than Civic.

The downsides are the engine, lame styling, 4-speed gearbox (though at least they provide manual override), and possibly interior space, seeing how the wheelbase is much lesser than competitors. Its a little too close to Vios I’m afraid. Having said that, I still expect this to sell well, esp because of the “new” factor.

If I have the choice, still Civic 2.0l or Mazda 2.0l for me…..

• ys (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:30 am

for me, this is way over price. not sure how many malaysian can affort it.
    old engine, old setup… new skin… i rather call it face-lift.
    anyway, i think it will sell in malaysia with the T badge on it.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:46 am

Nice. But pricing especially the 1.6 is on the high side. Suddenly elantra looks very value for money for that price. As for the higher end model price, it is too close to its civic, lancer and focus rivals that are 2.0l. But in the end, cars with the toyota badge will woo more customers.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:56 am

This “All-New” 10th generation Corolla Altis, does look like a facelift of the 9th generation, except it now looks like a “melting” 9th generation, if not sagging :P

It is however way better than Japan domestic-market Corolla Axio http://paultan.org/archives/2006/10/11/2007-toyota-corolla-axio-launched-in-japan/ , which is basically the same except for dumpier front and rear. Even the widely criticised new Impreza looks better.

Remember when the 8th generation was just launched? It even manage to look “older” than the 7th it replaced. Then the mid-cycle facelift helped a bit. Still, Corolla, if not all Toyota, is usually safe, conservative looking.

Overall a boring looking car that WILL age well, mostly suitable for its potential buyers who wants Toyota’s image and reliability. If one wants something more exciting there are the Lancer, 3, Civic, and even the next Sentra… the Sylphy.

Why don’t they make a mini-Camry instead??? Which gives me idea for chopping! Hahahaha something to do over the weekend.

• farghmee (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 8:56 am

i like the stylish&simple interior layout.
    i don’t like the exterior..evolved dugong ;)

• proton12vauto (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:03 am

cun amoy….

• scirocco (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:05 am

i will say this as an owner of the now superceded altis… i used to kutuk the altis like crazy, most particularly its sampan handling, the 4 spd auto, the vvti engine (which on paper now is even more outdated than the campro CPS) and the dodgy built quality on certain parts.
    anyway, to cut a long story short i ended up with one (dont ask how…) and still hated it. but it sort of grows on you. i still like to condemn it in public, but privately i quite like the way everything fits together well, how the materials hold up well, how quiet the interior is, and how torquey the engine is. how the engine and gearbox works together so smoothly and seamlessly. u just dont think about it.
    toyotas have always been conservative. they were the last japanese brand to switch to FWD back in 80s, and it didnt hurt their cars.
    now they’re not switching to 5spd autos, but u know what, chances are when u r in one, and nobody tells u, u probably wouldnt care or know.
    this looks a bit like a more athletic camry from the front (back is another story) and is perfect for those who want the comfort of a camry but not the size. i’d buy one sometime in the future. the civic is disappointing in this respect. it’s noisy, the engine’s more peaky and the suspension is harder.
    different market segment altogether.
    only beef i have with toyota is that they are effectively raising the price for this new model when there are so much cost savings, and these r not being passed on to consumers. greedy as usual…

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:05 am

Disappointing…this is basically nothing more than a complex face-lift, with a few extra strawberries, cream, and sugar to pull in T-badge sweet-tooth suckers. The rear suspension is absolutely horrible, almost diabolical, in the ongoing version, and with the same setup on this clunker, I don’t except it to be any better. The road and wind noise was downright unbearable when my mom got the ongoing model brand new, but thanks to my dad’s DIY sound proofing, it was less apparent. I guess they might have fixed that, but I’m not certain. Maybe one of these days I’ll go for a test drive and see if the 2008 sugar-coated Altis gives me diabetes.

• desmondding (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:05 am

to expensive …and ah pek look ….. no need aerokit……

• altimi (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:09 am

Wow so chun…….

I mean the chicks….

• armandd (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:22 am

the car is boring, but the chicks are hot!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:41 am

armandd said,
    March 14, 2008 @ 9:22 am

the car is boring, but the chicks are hot!

————————————-

Ah yes, that ought to pull in a few extra buyers :-P

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:41 am

Whoa it has the same engine as an Elise non option roadie!

Tell me again who’s in this target market? Retirees? Sarawakians? People with no soul?

Yeah! There’s lots of them out there. It’ll do good. Something you’d expect from the most Profitable Auto Manufacturer. But at least now we know where they’ll lose money on.

• chowh (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:47 am

A lot of you seem to think that just because it’s a CBU as opposed to CKD, that the quality will be better – wrong! My cousin in Singapore got a Thai CBU Vios and the engine was rough and the bodywork was starting to rattle after two years!! I would say that there is a difference if it was a Japanese CBU – little things like paintwork quality – may be due to different specs – like german CBU’s compared to local CKD – more layers of undercoating and paintwork.

• baldwin (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:50 am

fugly rear lamps.. front’s like a mini Camry..

• vincentwee (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:51 am

i went to visit ytd.i own new vios.
    all i can say 80% vios look and feel.

im happy that this new altis doesnt make me disappointed buy new vios.
    i buy civic than altis (even i anti honda)

• theking (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:59 am

Hopefully the next Proton GXR with new 1.8litre engine will be better.

• antnagir (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:04 am

Beautiful!! beautiful!! I’m talking about the chicks lah! The car? Nah! the same old package, stuck in a Toyota rut.

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:28 am

The previous Altis (2002-2007/8) was the best seller worldwide, so Toyota thinking, adding some cream and icing is good enough for this new Altis.

But,.. will the legend comtinue ? :)

• kjryth (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:33 am

Typical of UMW malaysia, TOYOTA = SUPER EXPENSIVE….

1.8 at 120k? i’d rather be in a 2.0 Elantra or even a 2.0 civic / Lancer for tht matter…

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:36 am

Proton GXR? Kindly explain pls…

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:39 am

I don’t get the exterior nor interior styling..:/ Too bad

• xavier_lert (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:44 am

damn xpensive for 1.8!!!!!!!!!!

• nanashisan (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:46 am

wah… so uncle-ish but with younger feel than the previous altis.
    2008 Altis – 30s-40s uncle/aunty.

• hamster (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:54 am

ZZZZZZZZ……

• Ilove_lamborghini (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:04 am

Another disaster for local automotive industry. It is CBU from Thailand. Toyota sell 1more new Altis, Thailand economy will be at least RM 60K richer. Imagine how many new Altis, Camry and Vios (All Thailand CBU) being registered daily.

Does the government realize the daily loss? What is wrong with our National Automotive Policy, which makes Thailand richer daily???

Aother AP issue for Toyota lovers! Camry waiting time is min. 6 months. New Altis, I think at least 4 months.

By the way, I think now all Toyota looks the same from the front. There is no personality at all.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:08 am

scirocco said,
    March 14, 2008 @ 9:05 am

i will say this as an owner of the now superceded altis
    ——

Scirocco is right. You have to own one (or at least drive one on an extended time) to appreciate it. I had a rental Altis for 1 month, and i’m impressed.

The 1.8 is surprisingly torquey and very flexible powertrain for city use. Its very quiet, interior plastics are among the best, fit and finish is very good and nothing ever goes wrong with it.

But then, of course, this is assuming if you could look past the less than stellar design.

The 1.8E is 109k, now, i’m sure most can do without the extra garnish that pushes the price past 120k. I could live wihout the bodykit, 6 CD changer, electric seats, wood trim and VSC. This price is on par with a Civic 1.8S.

• local (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:27 am

its look awful

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:30 am

The rear seat is so cramped compared to the Civic and Latio.
    A car like this can get 800 bookings? what a joke…

• kenneth1985 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:36 am

The rear design looks old fashioned. The interior is nice.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:41 am

It has that camry, crown family resemblance which I think overall, is nice..except for the rear…one glance still looks like the previous model. Interior, biase je..the dark wood trim finish…mmm…sick and tired of it..soo 80’s instead of making it look elegant..check out the new C4 (for example), brush steel garnishl on black,simple, modern n gorgeous…however this new Altis’s door trim looks really radical..very organic n sculptured..nice!…too bad its d only thing worth mentioning inside…design wise that is…

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 12:08 pm

The trend now is back to “oldies” :)

The head lamp is one of the nicest among new cars :)

• nikolo98 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 12:24 pm

noman666 said,
    March 14, 2008 @ 7:16 am

nikolo98,
    Corolla is design for luxury feel, space and comfort. I’ll take altis anytime as I have being to the showroom to feel the interior before the launch. It’s CBU compared to CKD of Civic. Furthermore, Civic interior plastic is damn cheap compared to soft touch plastic of Corolla. My advice: Go to a showroom and feel it.

If I want a great feel driving car, I will go for Mazda 3 or 6, not Civic. Have read too many issues with the CKD Civic ie. huge gap panels, klonk noise, transmission problem etc etc.

noman666,
    Thank you for the advice but I didn’t make the comment without trying out the Civic already. I suppose your definition of luxury is different compared to mine and to me, the Civic feels adequately luxurious.

I suppose you also misunderstood my comment earlier. All I’m trying to get at is the ratio of the price you pay to what you get. I will however agree with you that the Mazda 6 does handle better (don’t know about the 3 though, never tried it yet).

No need to go ballistic over a simple comparison. :)

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 12:31 pm

the look is nice for me.. but….

1.6 liter 109 PS engine
    1.8 liter 132 PS engine

is a WHAT? WTH ?
    no current engine power standard..
    i doubt this car is underpower.. (the 1.6 one).
    to overtake under 40kmh should be ok caused by the torque.. but above 100kmh.. hermmm.. to be considered…..

Hehehe… (harsh mode)

Is that A BRA TYPE OF SPEEDO METER CAP?
    following gen-2? hehe

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 12:36 pm

CBU from Thailand, so what?
    I think the Thais is just the same like local quality.
    Your CKD had problem doesn’t mean others will have too, and your CBU has problem doesn’t mean others will have too also.
    CBU from Japan is different story. hehehe

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Toyota cars always have bigger gear ratio at the 1st 2nd gear, result in better acceleration. Avanza auto 1st gear = 4000rpm easily LoL

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 12:39 pm

nikolo98,
    no worries. everyone have their own opinion. i indeed agree with u the engine specs and the price charged without giving u HID, auto sensor rain wiper etc. is a rip off. i just dont agree seeing ppl bashing the car here without even going to feel it in the showroom yet.

however i have being to the showroom and compared the interior quality of both civic n altis and i can say altis uses much better material. i think toyota is really targeting more on comfort as the extra features provided focuses on tat too.

wait till the new mazda 6 arrives, then u will know wat is ultimate pleasure driving machine. it’s already out in philipines. damn.

new altis? for 30~40 ah peks la :))

• Bebelon (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 12:45 pm

can i say UMWtoyota is a money sucker? provides not the best in its class but the most expensive above all. 1.8 still can sell with 120k? i think only people like the toyota badge will buy. exterior is like get punched old-altis..not so nice and less excitement compared to the old-altis

• Bebelon (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 12:50 pm

all models come with 2 front parking sensors and 4 reverse sensors as pictures showed? anyone can clarify? if it is true…wow! better than camry.

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 1:15 pm

nicely priced n quite practical for a 1.8 sedan… juz the beige interior looks simply too odd… design wise is nth special since it shares the gene of the camry…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 1:15 pm

Maroon color would be kinda nice. Interior is OK. That’s about it, I guess. The rest is a letdown. Pricing, engine, gearbox, power etc.. Poor unknowing buyers..

Thanks Paul for the heads up. I’ll inform my friends who intend to purchase a unit and let them decide.

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 1:16 pm

Bebelon,

yes. i can confirm 2 front and 4 rear sensors. below the aircond control also got 5 LED bulbs to display 5 corner of the cars. The respective LED will blink to tell u which sensor is detecting the obstacle.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 1:27 pm

i expect to see better design of he car, when Toyota say….ALL NEW, so I’m a bit dissapointed. The girls look better.

• 707 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 1:40 pm

if the car comes with the girls i dun mind

• vincentwee (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 1:46 pm

i read so many feedback and there is one i really salute and laugh

BRA TYPE OF SPEEDO METER CAP

really loh…look like it….

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 1:52 pm

They actually use the word ‘ALL NEW’ for this Altis in their Toyota website. You may look at it. www.toyota.com.my. ALL NEW? What’s new except the body is different? New PRICE range?

• megahyper (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 2:38 pm

I think Honda will hand toyota its neck.

The new civic is the complete “all new” from the old.

As for altis, I don’t even notice the different.
    What Facelift? oh you mean the model?

Wait for the “all new” Honda Accord. Camry will face the onslaught!

• jules (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 3:08 pm

Wow, this means the Latio “B segment” got same wheelbase with this new Altis “C Segment”.. not bad… Suspension layout also same…. mmmh???

• renyeo (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 3:29 pm

Reading the comments, I guess most of us have the same attitude towards the new Corolla – it is a competent all-rounder with robust mechanics, but woefully short on style and desirability. I honestly want to be positive about the new Corolla but I just can’t muster it – apart from knowing this car will do most things well.

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 3:53 pm

Why not try the new Elantraand save the 20K for a trip? I believe that Elantra is not far away from the Altis yet lot cheaper…

• AH SOH (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 4:11 pm

When I see it, it looks like the old Altis. When I sit on the rear seat, it feels like Vios. The only thing that’s “ALL NEW” is the price.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 4:59 pm

i really don’t understand toyota, they’re too overconfident…if honda and even the struggling misubishi and ford/mazda can come out with cars better than the corolla, why toyota with all the mega sales of camrys, landcruisers and hiluxes worlwide cannot make a model that creams the competition. And they try to pull a dumb marketting crap like a sporty variant…if it’s sporty, shouldn’t it be manual with lower stiffer springs and a higher revving VVTL-i?

• oyl78 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 4:59 pm

ALL NEW price comes with Orlando Bloom… Toyota need to pay him premium for appearing in the advertisement… so pass the cost to the consumer…

but all in all, even the price is expensive, when there is a wiling buyer Toyota still will sell… cheers…

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 5:00 pm

The back lights still looks quite similiar like the altis we have.

• king (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 5:21 pm

4G63T DSM said,
    March 14, 2008 @ 11:08 am

scirocco said,
    March 14, 2008 @ 9:05 am

i will say this as an owner of the now superceded altis
    ——

Scirocco is right. You have to own one (or at least drive one on an extended time) to appreciate it. I had a rental Altis for 1 month, and i’m impressed.

The 1.8 is surprisingly torquey and very flexible powertrain for city use. Its very quiet, interior plastics are among the best, fit and finish is very good and nothing ever goes wrong with it.

But then, of course, this is assuming if you could look past the less than stellar design.

The 1.8E is 109k, now, i’m sure most can do without the extra garnish that pushes the price past 120k. I could live wihout the bodykit, 6 CD changer, electric seats, wood trim and VSC. This price is on par with a Civic 1.8S

_____

u gotta be joking….. the old altis engine is so rough and noisy( when u rev)….even a honda city idsi is much quieter. what sort of refinement is that? maybe after driving for 1 month u got used to the noise and roughness i presume.

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 5:24 pm

IMHO , this new altis is not comparable with current Civic eventhough there’re in the same segment. LAtio or even Elantra could be a better option, but hey … they dont have the “T” badge.!!!

• king (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 5:29 pm

jolly_idiot said,
    March 14, 2008 @ 1:52 pm

They actually use the word ‘ALL NEW’ for this Altis in their Toyota website. You may look at it. www.toyota.com.my. ALL NEW? What’s new except the body is different? New PRICE range?

_____

i think only the model is all new. (the girls)

• king (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 5:34 pm

Xoomie said,
    March 14, 2008 @ 5:24 pm

IMHO , this new altis is not comparable with current Civic eventhough there’re in the same segment. LAtio or even Elantra could be a better option, but hey … they dont have the “T” badge.!!!

_____

just buy a latio 1.8 , stick a toyota badge on it lor….and save 30k in the process.

• Hil-mei (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 5:39 pm

The JDM Corolla Axio looks nice though…..maybe its the built quality of Thai CBU that makes it look ugly……..haiah…..

• prometheus (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 5:46 pm

Whats with all the plastic wood detail? To make the people who buy it think they bought a luxury car for 100 plus thousand?

I’m 34 and driving an 8th gen civic.. Hopefully i’m not described as an uncle yet la…Over 50 only call uncle la.. This altis is definately an Uncle car la..

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 6:20 pm

Went to showroom to check out the 1.8G, I think exterior look is okay, but I think the interior is bit uncle look. I think my age is still better go for civic look…

• mohdwahidi (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 6:51 pm

IMHO, the Altis just launched, but in terms of newness, I think Civic looks much more new than the Altis. Just IMHO.

• tsuprasonic (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 6:53 pm

think the car looks like the previous model but has gone to the gym to trim and firm up, looks great to me, more sharp and ready for action,
    btw the car is developed to be a practical (reliable, economical) car that can be relied on and also yet stylish, not for car freak like us who crave for high speed cornering, brutal acceleration, guess it’s for a different target customer

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 6:57 pm

You must wonder why would anyone buy this over the current Civic. Prices are almost the same. The car interior looks neat but thats just it. Looks very very outdated in terms of design, and really you really need to think hard. Either you detest Honda or a Toyota freak

• redliner (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:22 pm

Let’s not debate on merits and demerits of toyota or honda. To me, both have equally good range of cars.

At the end of the day, decision is actually based on one’s preference and need.

• cecibo (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:46 pm

sorry to interrupt but did someone here know which tv station broadcast a formula one this year??

BTW that’s just ok car

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:28 pm

norman666…

4 me u make a wrong comparison…mazda 6 is nt in d class of altis n civic…u shud compare the duo with mazda 3…camry n accord is the rite car to compare with mazda 6…

4 me…dis car is ugly…i hate it…bt it gt the good package which made ppl wanna buy it…IMO…i will choose mazda 3 all the time over dis altis n civic..

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:34 pm

THE CHICKS BRING ME ON! WOW…… I WANT AL THE AMOIS IN THE PICS!
    GOOD MARKETING THERE TOYOTA. I LL BUY THE CAR IF THE CHICKS ARE INCLUDED.

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 9:42 pm

raybrig85,

refer to my previous post “If I want a great feel driving car, I will go for Mazda 3 or 6, not Civic. Have read too many issues with the CKD Civic ie. huge gap panels, klonk noise, transmission problem etc etc.”

i did mention mazda 3 la :P

anyway. say watever u all like, i just came back from Cheras showroom and the units sold is already 800++, like wat Paul predicted.

maybe those tat buy think Civic is too futuristic and can give them heart attack. or they r just simply fed up with all the CKDs quality. who knows. but one thing is for sure:- New altis is selling like hot cakes!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:02 pm

‘wait till the new mazda 6 arrives, then u will know wat is ultimate pleasure driving machine. it’s already out in philipines. damn.’

i refer to dis statement…btw…cheers…yup…ya rite…i oso heard alot abt the civic ckd problem…

• shamel (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:17 pm

Just test drove the NEW Altis 1.8G. As a comparo as l test both cars, Civic 1.8S in busy Kuantan-Tg Lumpur Road; whereas new Altis from Semambu to Hiway (far less traffic). 3 people inside the cars.

At 80kmh Civic just 1.4k rpm, Altis about 2k rpm
    100kmh Civic 2k rpm, Altis 2.5k rpm
    Steering: Civic 1.8 Hydraulic more driver oriented. btw for normal driving EPS in Altis quite convincing at definitely will save some gasoline. Feel a luxury and upper class Camry

Tire noise about same but Civic more noisy from stock tires, Altis use Michelin

Build quality and interior finish, Altis have outperformed Civic towel feeling cloth though design-wise futuristic. Color choice also better in Altis

Torsion beam really a negative point for me as opposed to double-wishbone

Feature-wise Altis better BUT never justify the price unless the have KEY-LESS IGNITION like those found in Latio 1.8 Ti and 1.6ST-L hatchback

design is to relative but can’t rule out (or will perceived as) this is merely a heavy FACELIFT rather than a full model change (7 years really not worth the normally 4 years standard japanese full model change, like a Teutonic than Nipponic and apparently the outcome rather disappointing).

If UMWT can change price than, you should consider one. If l’m not mistaken, according to the SA, JD Power Thai rate the Altis slightly better in term of FC than Civic 1.8 (though l’m little doubt).

If you wanna try to make ya car more sporty than should go for Civic, this for more conventional person.

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:17 pm

raybrig,

just like i have being banging new vios for the damn lousy interior quality material used, even when compared to the previous generation vios.

but look at the new vios mushrooming on every corner of every Malaysia street. that is wat i call marketing power.

Food for thought: “If this Corolla is a model which is sold thorought the globe and it’s the best selling car in the world, are we, the minority bashers in Malysia, the one who is immature, or are the majority of the world who are wrong? ” Ponder on it…

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:25 pm

very supprise to look at the graph that at lower end,
    1500 rpm 2000rpm, of how vvti extract the torque,

at 1500rpm 120nm
    at 2000rpm 130nm,

this is the same figure yeild by VIM at low lift by Campro CPS at lower end,
    and ofcourse up to the range ,with lift advantage campro exel/batter power and torque delivery,

so ,VIM works good,

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:26 pm

im refering to 1.6 for both

• wan@auto (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:36 pm

boring design…nothing new. zzzzzzzzzzz

• wan@auto (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:39 pm

whats going on with toyota?? lack of idea? boring looks…..zzzzzz
    im better off with civic or lancer

• shamel (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:11 pm

noman666 said,

What a short sighted dude, peeple around the world bought this car as their SAGA MK II, we buy it as Mercedes C-klasse equivalent.

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:18 pm

have the civic 1.8 and had this as a replacement vehicle whilst the honda was getting fixed for engine failure. courtesy of honda. both cars near brand new.

bear in mind i also own the 2000 corolla (which has given zero problems for 8 years but i still love the civic) and have driven the currently superceded model alot and i was surprised with this 2008 model for the 1 week i had it.

compared to the civic, the big difference is in the comfortable ride and super smooth ride of the corolla. throttle response is as fast as the civic but provides the increased power smoothly. the corolla is quicker of the mark and would match the civic 2.0litre up to 6k rpm. gear changes are seamless in the corolla and it doesnt have the annoying civic clunk when changing gears or the jolt when switching to drive while on the throttle too fast.

the 4 speed auto vs 5 speed auto on the civic seems void in my experience. partly coz the corolla shifts so smoothly you cant really count it and fuel consumption is about the same with civic slightly in front thanks to the vtec economy cams.

interior and exterior ergonomics the civic wins. in malaysia the altis interior is spruced up to be a little classier. but the corolla design can grow on you.

both cars seem more expensive than they really are. close your eyes and the corolla would feel more expensive.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 12:32 am

Congratulations to UMWT for their new launched Altis and kudos to Paul as well for his untiring coverage.

So guys, the choice is yours!!

• kingglim (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 12:36 am

Hmmm, look lost to Lancer and Civic, power lost to Lancer and Civic, handling lost to Lancer and Civic, price lost to Lancer…mostly appeal to reliability-minded brand loyal uncles & aunties. I rather put my $$ in Lancer or Civic

• yahooman (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 2:00 am

Disappointed!!! I’d rather put my money on Civic 2.0..

• yahooman (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 2:04 am

If this model sell like hot cake, then malaysian really lack of choice to choose..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 3:22 am

Civic is still the better choice.

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 8:48 am

Shamel, Topgun.. thanks for your review !

Will check it out this weekends :)

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 9:17 am

personally, i love this car’s interior, exterior beauty can grow on u actually…it did to me, and i would buy this corolla for the classiness and feeling of relax after work drive home

• wan@auto (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 9:24 am

of course, the lancer by far is better than this boring toyota, but youll have to wait for 12 month @ 1 year to get your hands on the lancer. Civic still a great chice but theres no more popularity as there are to much on the road. may i prefer a hyundai?

• TopGear (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 11:28 am

If u do not mind the ahpek look, and lazy to shop around…Altis is your
    best choice…cause of the brand name!!!

(my money definetely goes to the Civic…2.0!!!)

• shamel (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 11:38 am

Hyundai Elantra definitely not bad BUT those driving should share with us their service experience. The price different is so substantial!

Toyota is decent car but the look-wise to conventional and definitely they didn’t pass the saving to us (unless with the same price they give us dual-VVT-i and CVT-i then no need to think further, just book one today).

Honda Civic finishing not that good as Toyota but overall exterior (remember Type-R look can easily be copied with rear bonnet spoiler and skirting for about RM5k or mugen kit few thousand more). I love their suspension and 5AT.

If waiting period problem is over, then lancer GT is bargain CBU not Thai-CBU.

Wanna have better car to drive and don’t bother the rest mazda3 2.0 is good for you.

BTW if service experience is ya concern then go for civic as their buyers not as many as Toyota (remember Avanza, Innova, Unser made toyota customer base biggest among non-national car). Honda next to Toyota in term of 3S outlets but fewer customer but Toyota has more modern and much bigger outlets nationwide.

If you willing to wait Nissan Sylphy also worth waiting unless their CRAZY pricing as they believe Nissan brand now even better than the likes of Toyota or Honda. Sylphy will be worth if 2.0 less than RM120k considering the badge. More than that better go for Camry 2.0 or sportier and bigger Accord 2.0 at RM145k.

• shamel (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 11:47 am

Nissan will offer Sylphy in 1.6 or 1.8 and 2.0. If the trims is ok as well pricing for RM99k, RM105k and RM119k maybe buyers will consider.

If Nissan have new brand and specialized channel, Infiniti instead of Nissan, Sylphy is a good try to make it product premium. So far under Nissan brand they can’t price their product higher than Toyota or Honda.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 12:26 pm

i think enough said bout dis altis…i hate it oso bt be prepared to c it a lot in our road…like the dugong vios…paul…i think u shud make a new post…

• moha774 (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 1:33 pm

Are Malaysian market not good enough for dual vvti with 125hp engine like our Thai neighbour is having??? Why the price is getting higher for 1.6L car from ASEAN??

Paul Tan says: neither thailand or singapore gets dual vvti engines. their engines are the same as ours.

• junky_man (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 1:53 pm

it’s ugly. to depart money for that car is mind boggling. Honda Civic is still the best C segment car in the industry.

• erichigc (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 2:10 pm

Great fights, dudes.

How many of the bashers here are afford to buy > 110K cars? If you can’t get the grape, dun assume it is sour. Go and test-drive…

The preference on car is much more dependent on your driving behaviour. If you need a comfort driving, Toyota is the best (my personal opinion). If you need something more sporty at a reasonable price, go for Civic. THe choice is always yours.

If you are not afford this two, blame the G or AP holders. Otherwise, work hard to get the money, of course through legal channel. :P Happy weekend.

• merzed (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 3:40 pm

I saw the car today in toyota showroom, it’s really different when you see the real car and I really love it, it’s like mini camry. I don’t mind 1 vvti compare dual vvti as lose the exhaust timing intelligence feature. The car size is bigger and I decided to get 1.8E immediately because I don’t like wood fake plastic and 109K include tinting, michelin, cbu, etc which worth for it. Compare to civic, I still like altis’s design and toyota reliability, didn’t own a civic car also already bored looking on civic current design as too many civics on the road now and the civic’s trademark towel cushion. I also don’t want to risk broke down in the middle of the road cause 4 of my 6 civic owners who are my friends experience few problems especially broke down at middle of the road and engine died. Probably alor gajah QC problem on assemble process. No offence to honda hardcore fan, it’s just my personal opinions.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 4:28 pm

merzed said,

March 15, 2008 @ 3:40 pm

New Camry burn on the highway before deliver to owner LoL

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 5:30 pm

IsaacVky…its internal combustion engine! whichever cars that use internal combustion engine have that risk, but be silly to say tat…tis also included campro engine, all have that risk.

back to topic, i just back from showroom, damn i love this car even though im a driver. cause its just so comfort, makes me feel good when driving back home after work…

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 7:00 pm

Ya, me came back from showroom this afternoon and tested this new Altis. Thumbs up. Test it, see it and drive it by yourself. Don’t just look at the specs or pictures and start your condem here.

• lone-star (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 7:01 pm

toyota must be joking. 120k for this piece of junk? what’s with the ancient torsion beam suspension? is that the best toyota engineers can come up with??? i own the out-going 1.6E altis, and the engine is a joke. i just basically leave the ECT on PWR mode 100% of the time. for all u guys thinking of a car in this class, just 2 words — FORD FOCUS!

• shamel (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 8:13 pm

merzed said,

Really dude? 4/6 of ya friend not satisfy with Civic FD1?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 8:20 pm

Another dugong car for the dugong generation.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 8:56 pm

lone-star said,
    March 15, 2008 @ 7:01 pm

toyota must be joking. 120k for this piece of junk? what’s with the ancient torsion beam suspension? is that the best toyota engineers can come up with??? i own the out-going 1.6E altis, and the engine is a joke. i just basically leave the ECT on PWR mode 100% of the time. for all u guys thinking of a car in this class, just 2 words — FORD FOCUS!
    —————————————————————-

Have you thought about the resale value? We Malaysians are very price sensitive!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 8:57 pm

Yeah, Ford Focus is a better car.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 9:05 pm

wah so many negative comment…despite from the very same look like the prev generation, old engine, not so luxury interior…there will many buyer that seeking T badge so call reliability and good resale value…not more than that…this car is for uncle type person that seeking comfort in journey from A to B…thats all…still for me for that price tag its not worth it…better go for civic or elantra or mazda 3…lancer?? not worth it to wait…

• andre128 (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 9:13 pm

i’ve try 1.8G this moring… feel great (cos new car)

but interior only audio system look better than previous..

now thinking for camry or civic or other upcoming new model…

• lightning69 (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 9:51 pm

Just went to the toyota showroom today to view the new altis. Very very disappointed.

I think the Latio 1.8 is much much better. Latio is more spacious, has a better all alluminuim engine, HID lamp, keyless entry etc at a much cheaper price.

I will go for the Latio anytime. Just my opinion

• alexsincl (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 10:09 pm

I strongly urged the Toyota management team to change the entire design and product development team! As usual, the car is nothing but total disappointment. From the looks to the technical specifications, it was like we are still living in the 90’s. The brand need a through revamp just like our …!

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 10:36 pm

merzed

could you elaborate what happened to your friends’ civics?
    im bloody pissed at honda.

• mobilola (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 11:04 pm

kurang menyerlah..enjin serupa avanza/vios..cara toyota kurangkan kos
    sunggung sedih…

think the Latio 1.8 is much much better. Latio is more spacious, has a better all alluminuim engine, HID lamp, keyless entry etc at a much cheaper price.

I will go for the Latio anytime. Just my opinion

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 11:13 pm

ya indeed, Focus is really a great car, but under rated locally….

less people know about how good the Focus is…..

btw, Civic is just perfect, at least better than Tor-tis…..

• carfanz (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 11:57 pm

the front looks nice…but the rear is really eyesore to be looked at….the rear lamp design is not up to standard…the interior does not astonished buyers as compared to the current new honda civic. Anyway this design is still better looking than the old Altis design. Another draw back from this new Altis is the engine horsepower and torque output…..1.6 version is capable of outputting 109 ps and 149 of torque…not much differ as compare to the 1.5 Vios…whereas the 1.8 version the performance still does not match on par with the current Honda Civic. Overall Honda Civic still is the leading class in the small sedan category…..In addition Honda Automobiles are driver friendly…allowing the driver to feel comfortable,easy driving and fun to drive as well. Toyota Cars are meant for reliability only but are rarely driver friendly.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 12:12 am

i think honda civic is nt a leading class in the small category….ford focus n vw golf is the world class leading for small car category…

• wong (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 1:09 am

Uncle ish looks?That’s the main idea,these uncles can afford this car and thats why it’ll sell…

• oscarsmh (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:01 am

120k for automatic & low hp,wat the heck?better go for a S15 250hp 128k or skyline R33 280hp 133k la,lol….no offense…even proton satria 130hp for 55k.

• king (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:06 am

alexsincl said,
    March 15, 2008 @ 10:09 pm

I strongly urged the Toyota management team to change the entire design and product development team! As usual, the car is nothing but total disappointment. From the looks to the technical specifications, it was like we are still living in the 90’s. The brand need a through revamp just like our …!

_____

they don’t need to…. coz they are already laughing all the way to the bank with more than 800 orders.

• king (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:15 am

merzed said,

I saw the car today in toyota showroom, it’s really different when you see the real car and I really love it, it’s like mini camry. I don’t mind 1 vvti compare dual vvti as lose the exhaust timing intelligence feature. The car size is bigger and I decided to get 1.8E immediately because I don’t like wood fake plastic and 109K include tinting, michelin, cbu, etc which worth for it. Compare to civic, I still like altis’s design and toyota reliability, didn’t own a civic car also already bored looking on civic current design as too many civics on the road now and the civic’s trademark towel cushion. I also don’t want to risk broke down in the middle of the road cause 4 of my 6 civic owners who are my friends experience few problems especially broke down at middle of the road and engine died. Probably alor gajah QC problem on assemble process. No offence to honda hardcore fan, it’s just my personal opinions

_____

aiyah what is the big deal?…my neighbour got 2 camries, the elephant butt model one ( can u believe it ? 2 exact same car!) also break down many times. now he changed one of it to the new camry …so far no prob coz still new. btw he got a reputation of just driving and no servicing. so any car dun take care oso will break down.

• king (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:20 am

oscarsmh said,
    March 16, 2008 @ 3:01 am

120k for automatic & low hp,wat the heck?better go for a S15 250hp 128k or skyline R33 280hp 133k la,lol….no offense…even proton satria 130hp for 55k

_____

even 55k satria or gen-2 CPS can easily smoke this car…wat for pay 120k and get smoked?? ahahahha that was a good one…

• merzed (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:26 am

topgunthang, the most depressing one is my friend drive highway pass by those high voltage area then suddenly his civic engine shutdown suddenly and the car break down. Another one is after come out from jalan imbi, engine kong, even foreman come also helpless due the engine couldn’t be ignite and need to send back honda service and warranty. They both piss off on the quality and already fix the suspension few times. Civic is a nice car from design, no doubt about it but quality really suck as to be truth. If CBU, i would take civic but……

• merzed (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:29 am

King, for your information, all my friends are honda fans and always service on time and also automobile savy but they have to admit there are few problems on their car, probably some could be lucky has no problem.

• demio121 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 10:49 am

these days to buy a toyota’s passenger car, juz go to the showroom and ask for size L or M or S. they all look the same but come with different size.

one thing tat surprise me is the sup holder cover. I am pretty sure it the same design as the 4th gen Camry (form the late 90s til early 2000).

while panasonic make home applicane, toyota make road appliance. I don’t think Honda have anything to worry about their Civic sales.

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 11:16 am

demio, “one thing tat surprise me is the sup holder cover. I am pretty sure it the same design as the 4th gen Camry (form the late 90s til early 2000).” does cup change after 2000? my point is, dont be silly and find downside that doesnt need discussion…unless u have no common sense

• oscarsmh (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 1:40 pm

The sporty version should be in maunal transmission,if auto,just call special edition better name for it than sporty,haiiz,wait for the upcoming AE86 in 2010 la

• tsuprasonic (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:44 pm

btw i was told by the mktg team in toyota that the new altis is more economical than the previous model and even the new civic 1.8 despite having 5at for the civic as tested by them, they even say the accelaration time of the new altis is the same as the civic 1.8. hope some1 can verify this.
    fyi, lower rpm at certain speed need not necessarily mean lower fuel consumption for different car, it depends on a lot of factors

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:57 pm

I went to showroom, I think the exterior look is okay for me, but the interior still too uncle for me, I was at early 30…but this altis is still better than the old one…

• szw (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:59 pm

it looks like a square up altis

• ianlam (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 4:00 pm

ooi!! Don’t be full by CBU and CKD, who wants Thailand CBU? It’s nice if It direct from Japan CBU! Why shoul we pay more for the Thailand CBU when it will be soon CKD and cheaper. Guys be smart lar!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 6:01 pm

merzed

at least your friends’ cars sound better than mine. the bolt connecting the belt pulley in mine gave way and cracked the pulley shaft connected to the engine. total engine failure. they say they replaced it with a new engine but im not so sure. replaced the lower half of the engine. sounds like an old engine now. i think im more pissed than your friends. hehe

ive been a fan and since having an integra and 8 year old corolla that are both problem free, i couldnt beleive it the new civic had a failed component so closely linked to the engine.

i would say fuel consumption of the corolla and civic 1.8 is about the same. the corolla is easier to pick up at low speed with a full load (5 passengers and luggage). the corolla has a real time fuel consumption indicator which is pretty nifty if fuel consumption is an obsession to you. how accurate i dont know but i think just choose a fuel efficient car and forget about it.

• nicholeanna (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 6:21 pm

If you are not afford to buy, don’t bash. To those guys out there who are telling this “My money is on civicla, latiola, lancerla”. I believe that they are still driving their old junk proton and perodua. I strongly believed that those affordable guys for any car wouldnt have much time for bashing because they would just buy wateva car they like. To all the bashers out there, please STFU if you dont have the banknotes!!

• chap_de_x (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 8:22 pm

yo nicholeanna its not all about money….at this blog there was so many automotives lover…they dont have to own the car to give the comment…if they like the car they praise it…if they dont they criticize it…its just that simple…dont bark here like at mad dog like you own the whole world…if u got the money go la buy wutever you want…nobody will stops you…wut wrong if some one own a proton or perodua…even many professional used p1 and p2…at here automotive lover gather to to evaluated a car based on their opinion…if u like T so much and dun want to hear any negative comment about T go barked anywhere else where T is praise like god…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 9:16 pm

nicholeanna said,

March 16, 2008 @ 6:21 pm

LoL at you. Narrow minded, typical UMWT supporter.

• banana88 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 11:32 pm

If i got bank notes i will choose continental car loh still want to buy the stupid altis meh, hehehe

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:33 am

Walau, 152 comments edi? Paul’s blog edi become like Msian car market: Proton always top comment post here for local matters (sales), while Toyota leading for non-local car matters, hehehe.

Gotta say, kinda a bit disappointed wit this new Altis, its rivals can provide more equipments for abt the same or cheaper price. Yet, it sells. I guess in Msia, how good a car is matters less. How STRONG the brand is matters more.

My choice/recommendation for a saloon in this class? I’d take the Waja CPS, or if I have a bigger budget, the Ford Focus.

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:40 am

you’ll be surprised how many people who can afford continental cars still go for toyota.

• king (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 2:14 am

topgunthang said,
    March 17, 2008 @ 12:40 am

you’ll be surprised how many people who can afford continental cars still go for toyota

_____

the kiasu ones i suppose

• king (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 2:20 am

nicholeanna said,

If you are not afford to buy, don’t bash. To those guys out there who are telling this “My money is on civicla, latiola, lancerla”. I believe that they are still driving their old junk proton and perodua

_____

nothing wrong with ppl driving p1….heck even PM also uses perdana.

Better stop barking coz i know ppl like you think altis is like a super luxury car when actually it is just taxi overseas and ppl drive it like normal proton saga.

• en7yfl (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 10:37 am

i have seen the actual cars. overall ok. but the rear entrance have problem. you will find it difficult to enter as you have to bend down your head to enter.
    what a waste.

• agentHunt (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:18 pm

i drive the new civic 2.0. this new altis looks so conservative.well, is definately not for younger generation. no leather seat, no HID, yes u will find it hard to get in the car as well, i have tried.
    n what so big deal about CBU, is still made in thailand, is not fully from japan. are siamese work better than us, i don think so. 120k for 1.8, come on la.
    i think toyota is spoil by our user, ppl will buy bcos is toyota, sure good one.
    n u look at JDM market, so much of nice toyota model. i don think they r plan to win back customer from buying civic but to maintain their toyota die hard fans. finally, i have made a right choice.

• KF (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:36 pm

The new Altis looks more stylish than the outgoing model. It’s rather bland but safe. Toyotas aren’t renowned for coming out with daring design changes to their car line-up.Price wise…well..unless you’re a die-hard toyota supporter or a loyal fan..then it would be considered well..kinda okay. But the compare pricing alone, the Civic 1.8 or even the Lancer GT looks rather tempting in my humble opinion.

I reckon people prefer a Toyota because of it’s strong resale value and it’s trademark reliability.

However having said that, if I had that kind of money to spend on a car, I rather give this new Altis a miss and opt for the Honda Civic 1.8 or even perhaps the new Hyundai Elantra

• piston (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 6:05 pm

Was offered a fair trade-in value for the 2005 G spec vios for this car. Exterior outlook is better than the old model. Now a bit sportier. However, with same powerplant, lame interior make me think twice to proceed further. Maybe would decide after a test drive and wait for the car to be on the road. Previously, like the Lancer looks awesome in the show room but a bit dissipointment went saw it on the road as the rear end is a bit short/compact and high. Will wait and see.

• erichigc (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 12:25 am

Seems like quite a lot of ppl do not have trust on Toyota plants in Thailand. Does manufacturing in Thai and Japan make such a big difference nowaday? (Any Proof or Statistic).

As to my knowledge, Lean manufacturing guarantees Toyota similar quality assuarance throughout the world. And i do not have doubt at Thailand engineers. I have met the expertise before, sometime more impressive than local ones. :P

• erichigc (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 12:28 am

Seems like quite a lot of ppl do not have trust on Toyota plants in Thailand. Does manufacturing in Thai and Japan make such a big difference nowaday? (Any Proof or Statistic).

As to my knowledge, Lean manufacturing guarantees Toyota similar quality assuarance throughout the world. And i do not have doubt at Thailand engineers. I have met the some Thai expertise / engineers before, most of them are more impressive than local ones. :P I wont deny their capability and I am sure Malaysia is losing out soon or perhaps already lost to them.

• nicholeanna (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 1:38 am

king said,
    March 17, 2008 @ 2:20 am

nicholeanna said,

If you are not afford to buy, don’t bash. To those guys out there who are telling this “My money is on civicla, latiola, lancerla”. I believe that they are still driving their old junk proton and perodua

_____

nothing wrong with ppl driving p1….heck even PM also uses perdana.

Better stop barking coz i know ppl like you think altis is like a super luxury car when actually it is just taxi overseas and ppl drive it like normal proton saga.

——

Very sorry here.. I dont think its a super luxury car. Did I mentioned anything on that? And please don’t make any judgement before you read the statement clearly. You barked like a small dog and you made yourself so poor because your mindset just has the thought that people would treat that as a luxury car. Honestly, I am a BMW 5 Series owner. I dont wish to show off but this dog forced me to reveal this. Are you purposely sabotaj here? Are you Honda or Nissan salesman? There is too many unrelevant and negative statements you left here and it rather sounds childish than the way a professional give comments.

• shamel (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 4:42 am

We use this avenue to review, change our opinion, share our experience AS WE COULDN’T afford to get fair review from auto magazines, newspapers as they have no Jeremy Clarkson attitude, simply praise the manufacturers.

Be professional, not emotional please. We want upheld consumer interest rather than a particular brand interest. Based mere on facts not anything else.

BTW, in my opinion this car (Altis0 is good car to consider just complaint about features bundled. If you give yourself chance to review this car fairly, you may end up to buy it ESPECIALLY if revered Toyota here can reduce the price to certain acceptable level.

Before T launched Altis for me Civic 2.0 is clear winner (even include Japan CBU-ed Lancer GT), next Civic FD1 1.8. But now, just matter of time whether I can accept this car or not. 1.8E vs 1.8 Civic maybe neutral fight-you can choose anyone. BUT 1.8G vs Civic 2.0, the latter have few advantage though missing MID.

BTW all depend on our choice, nobody deserved to blame other people choice and money.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 8:09 am

BMW 5 series? Do anybody else have to know what u r driving?what a show off guy.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 9:01 am

nicholeanna…

we dun give a damn wut car u own..u own the 5 er…dats good 4 u…but the way u leave ur comment…like ure an arrogant rich ppl…ure nt respecting other comments…plz behave urself here…plz respect other comment…we dun give a damn if u like dis altis…dats ur 2 cent…btw…gt a lot of ppl who own premium n luxury cars but not as arrogant as u…cheers…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 9:06 am

nicholeanna…

we dun give a damn wut car u own..u own the 5 er…dats good 4 u…but the way u leave ur comment…like ure an arrogant rich ppl…ure nt respecting other comments…plz behave urself here…plz respect other comment…we dun give a damn if u like dis altis…dats ur 2 cent…btw…gt a lot of ppl who own premium n luxury cars *in here n leave their comment but not arrogant like u*…cheers…

• demio121 (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 9:26 am

cool it la guy… its a discussion. we have to agree to disagree. don’t like sum1 comment juz ignore lor. there will alway d fanboy and showoff.

leave those with no common sense to their own…

• merzed (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 10:23 am

raybrig85,

Probably he is owner but buyer might be his father, lol. Nowadays, I saw a lots are like that especially youngster, unrealistic to see young fellas can afford to buy 5 series. Back to topics, I tested drive altis yesterday, it’s damn smooth and quiet, very comfortable driving while last time I tested drive civic 1.8 feel like very stiff probably for stability. But I notice window is smaller compare to my old 7 years wira, hahaha, i am indeed a poor fella compare to 5 series fella(golongan bangsawan).Conclusion, It’s true that altis for comfort and civic for performance. I am booking altis 1.8E without bodykits due the cheaper justified price, I don’t think VSC is necessary for me and most important no fake plastic ugly wood. Better bodykits design outside might available soon and cheaper as I don’t like the toyota bodykits which is rear skirt. I feel the price is worth as with tinting, michelin tyres, insurances and most important is not towel seat. Again my personal comments and not bashing anybody comments.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 4:28 pm

@nicholeanna

You caused a problem when you’re assuming those “My money is on civicla, latiola, lancerla” people as P1 or P2 ‘junk’ drivers. I’m sorry, but any sane person can see something’s wrong with this Altis if a list of specs and prices for all cars in its class are laid out. In other words, Altis’ rivals have the upper hand in equipment vs price ratio. As for drivability, well, it’s a Jap saloon, nothing outstanding abt that.

So what makes Altis dare to charge a higher price? The branding power. Many are sick of this factor to justify a higher price, more so since Toyota is already no1 car manufacturer in the world (may swap with GM anytime, and back to no1 again), with famed “cost-saving TPS” (Toyota Production System) method and “economy of scale”, shouldn’t it be cheaper, not more expensive than its rivals?

Another thing, there are good Protons too. My dad’s waja and saga (which I usually use) are such cars. My dad is very disciplined in maintaining them, service it when it’s time, and as a result, I think that’s why they’ve hardly given any major problems…at all. Yes, there are PW failures, but hey, “pobody’s nerfect”, ok? Be glad that Proton MD, Syed Zainal Abidin have worked very hard to focus on solving QC problems, and this takes time. He believed people can begin to expect high quality Proton in 2010 perhaps. As for Perodua, need I say more abt Daihatsu’s daughter and Toyota’s granddaughter?

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 8:35 pm

merzed,

Congratulation on your purchase. you will not regret it when you have kids and families to drive around for choosing comfort first, rather than sportiness. was any discount given to you at all? how long is the waiting period and what color you chose?

• ianlam (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 11:40 pm

May i know y T do not assemble the altis in malsysia? is it because Thailand Produce better quality car? If T said they produce same quality car around the world y not produce it in malaysia? ANy one has experince thai made car? is it less problem? sorry for the query, cause never own a CBU before.

• merzed (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 11:48 pm

noman666,

I booked black one but until now I still haven’t decided 1.8G or 1.8E, if not because of that wood fake plastic, I already took 1.8G. sigh. No discount at the moment. 2months waiting period for sure.

ianlam,

Camry and Altis are both assembled in Thailand. What I heard from them is no problem at all so far. But for civic which assemble in alor gajah, quite few problems happen as I told on previous post which happen on my few friends who purchase civic. So, on my opinion. quality control could be the answer.

• shamel (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 12:51 am

Merzed,

Kudos for booking new ride. You made a right choice.

After read ya comment about Civic, my Honda SA already merajuk. I put on hold my decision to book Civic 1.8 though l have bias toward Honda.

My cousin’s 2.0 Civic also have power window problem within a month.

Some more Civic also not as quiet as Toyota Altis, let alone compared with Nissan Latio.

One thing, more people will impressed with T brand though offered less relatively less value. Thus, l believe in future Honda Malaysia will bundled more goodies to woo new buyers or at least they’ll offer cheaper version than current offering sans towel upholstery. Perhaps, darker interior.

• king (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 12:59 am

nicholeanna,

pls don’t be such an arrogant fool here. so what if u drive a 5 series? shouldn’t you be driving an altis since it is so perfect and luxurious? Didn’t you say everyone here could not afford the altis? Doesn’t that mean that it is a luxury car since u say everyone here can’t afford it except you? you contradict yourself and think that i work for nissan, honda and mitsu at the same time. But the truth is that u are just a toyota fanboy. And being a toyota fanboy, will never own a beemer/merc but surely a lexus if you really have the dough.

don’t make a fool of yourself here. if you keep quiet nobody will know that u are stupid. just bcos u say u r rich doesn’t make u any better at all.

• oyl78 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 10:37 am

about the car price, i assume Toyota is trying to protect the 2nd hand value of the old car, if they reduce the price for all new altis, in directly is reduce the existing owner car value…

on the other hand, with such expensive price, they should jst give better value in return to the customer such as leather seat and maybe the body kit FOC… this definitely will help them sell more…

• erichigc (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 6:23 pm

ianlam said,
    March 18, 2008 @ 11:40 pm

May i know y T do not assemble the altis in malsysia? is it because Thailand Produce better quality car? If T said they produce same quality car around the world y not produce it in malaysia? ANy one has experince thai made car? is it less problem? sorry for the query, cause never own a CBU before.

Hi Ianlam,

First of all, human capital cost is alwiz the issues. Recruiting Thai Engineers is far cheaper and my personal view that they are more hardworking and efficient. Looking at Malaysians who demand more salary, more welfare, more benefits and at the same time no expecting to produce more. (SIngaporeans demand more than malaysians in term of pay and etc, at the same time they produce higher quality work, being more efficient and competitive).

The third issue may be political issue, perhaps tax structure in malaysia had irritate our jap manufacturers.

The only way for malaysians to survive in the globalisation world is Talk Less (politic), do more. Being more competitive, not just in term of language, and professionalism and well-rounded. Alwiz remember that businessmans and investors always look for high profit with the least cost of investment. It is about what you can do for your bos, not what ur bos can do for it. Hope you all will survive in the real corporate world, especially globalisation era.

Just my personal view. :P Hope my lecturers never see this comment.

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 9:29 pm

merzed,

black also 2 months wait. must be very laku.should have asked me. i can recommend u my SA who can give a little discount. since u have bought it. nvm.

yeah. i also considered Civic very long time but due to all the horror CKD stories, i changed my mind and waited for CBU altis. if you go to link below, it will bring u to more civicowner clubs with pics and all sorts of defects. especially those related to safety (EPS stalling). happy reading.

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 9:57 pm

hmm.. the link was filtered… just go to lowyat forum , fast and furious section and search for Honda Malaysia Serious Quality Issue.

alternatively. just search for eightgc2 forums. (8th gen civic members club).

There is also the dreaded brake pad cracking problem.

a pity chun design and technology not equal to reliablility.

dont flame me. this are complaints by civic club owners themselves.

• nicholeanna (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 8:06 pm

king said,
    March 19, 2008 @ 12:59 am

nicholeanna,

pls don’t be such an arrogant fool here. so what if u drive a 5 series? shouldn’t you be driving an altis since it is so perfect and luxurious? Didn’t you say everyone here could not afford the altis? Doesn’t that mean that it is a luxury car since u say everyone here can’t afford it except you? you contradict yourself and think that i work for nissan, honda and mitsu at the same time. But the truth is that u are just a toyota fanboy. And being a toyota fanboy, will never own a beemer/merc but surely a lexus if you really have the dough.

don’t make a fool of yourself here. if you keep quiet nobody will know that u are stupid. just bcos u say u r rich doesn’t make u any better at all.

—————————————————————-

This guy KING is really a stupid moron. Are you an educated person? Are you having problems in reading? Did I mentioned that Toyota is good? Did I mentioned that Toyota is perfect? Did I made any statement that I am Toyota’s fanboy? I just mentioned that DON’T SIMPLY BASH IF YOU DON”T HAVE MONEY TO BUY!!! I admit Honda, Nissan and those Japanese cars manufacturer has their own style in producing their cars and every design has its own characteristics. I am not arrogant in owning a BMW 5 series and guys out there don’t get me wrong. It’s just because of this stupid moron who called himself as KING try to make himself like he is so great. I guess he is still riding on a KAPCAI motor..Poor you! Honestly, I really look down on people like you who doesn’t have any affordability to own any imported car at all but still making noise like you are so great. Well, I don’t have to convince anyone out there that I’m driving 5 series because I already drove that car for almost 1 and a half year and honestly its my birthday gifts from my parents. One last word for you stupid moron ‘KING’, you are poor dog! You are not in my league to talk to me at all in such a way! If you don’t have money, just take your broke ass home. Thats it!

• mejaneujoe (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 11:52 pm

heeee..
    nicholeanna, i think its a shame to call names onto other people. And its a shame to look down on those who do not drive an imported car. i dont think you quite grasp the idea of discussion in this site. It does not matter if we have money to buy an imported car or not. These are just discussions/opinions. Shouldnt we take it with an open heart regardless of the ‘financial status’ of any member in this forum? I thought, it was you who misunderstood the comments. On another note, of course we are not in your league because we buy cars with our own hard-earned money, regardless of the brand we drive. And honestly we do not really bother about who pays for your car or what car u drive because we’re here because we have passion in the motoring industry. And i would suggest that u stop humiliating other peoples’ affordability, because it just show how low you are as a person. :)
    cheers.

• king (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 1:57 am

sometimes got filthy comments barking out of filthy mouth in this blog…shame…..anyway a pity that your parents never educated you. maybe they gave you that toy 5 series. who knows? even if it was real… who cares?

nobody appreciate you filthy comments here and you only irritated other bloggers so far. If you want to show off, i suggest u go elsewhere.

i think raybrig85, mejaneujoe and tokmoh would agree too.

• merzed (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 3:54 pm

hi noman666,
    I already decided and booked 1.8G sporting version black color, my SA also give some discount but not much dude. Thanks for your recommend dude. But have to wait till end of june for the car.

King,
    We can just ignored that fella because no need to put money inside his pocket. I believed a lots of fella driving wira with ah pek sandals are even more richer than we can imagine from the appearance. I had a friend driving old iswara but has 4 houses and 3 shops which hard earned by himself. Reason he dont’t want to drive luxury car is because he don’t want become people’s target and he still prefer average lifestyle. Humble and generous fella.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 4:51 pm

Ararara, down to flame war here, eh?

@ nicholeanne,

So nice of your parents to give a car that’s more expensive than my house as a b’day gift, such a privileged life you have. Such a pity you can’t learn respect others who are in a different wavelength as you.

You just don’t like the truth spitted by king, rite? It seems that the minority here who praises or at least be neutral abt this car are spared from your ‘junk’ insult. That must’ve mean that they’re rich ppl like you I guess. Cool, no wonder it’s the rich people’s choice, cuz this car is expensive but ‘reliable’ and have good second hand value, eh? Also, since other rivals are ‘junk’ driver’s choice, you wouldn’t consider them, rite? There we have it, yes, you’re absolutely a toyota fanboy. I bet you would’ve buy a toyota had only your parents didn’t get you the 5-series. Heck, maybe you don’t have to, your parents will get you a Lexus when your current car’s time is up.

Deny it if you want, but ‘siapa makan cili, dia rasa pedas’.

• noman666 (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 12:01 am

hi noman666,
    I already decided and booked 1.8G sporting version black color, my SA also give some discount but not much dude. Thanks for your recommend dude. But have to wait till end of june for the car.

merzed,
    black? good luck in maintenance. i just traded in my black vios for it :o
    already taken my car. loved it! ignore what others say. it’s the additional features and comfort that altis provide over 1.8 civic that will let you enjoy your ride. you won’t regret your decision as neither have i ;)

• notorious_hun (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 12:05 pm

i’ve driven the so called “new altis” which basically is the same old thing with a new dress. the engine n g.box is still the same. performance wise it’s pick up and cornering r kinda scarry.. with that price to pay, all they can give you is a new dress?? UMWT is really makin lot’s of profit. at least the civic has 5speed g.box and a newly developed 1.8 engine. if u noticed even the engine bay is not painted. look back at when the engine n g.box 4 the altis was developed, y pay for outdated technology? maybe they should merge with proton, same technology, new dresses.. n each technology lasts for 10 – 20 yrs. imagine how much they save on R&D….

• leedonggook (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 9:21 am

@nicholeanne

your parents gave you such a good car (if you have one) however neglected to give you proper education. Your English sucks. Go and get educated before you talk so much crap, with your level of English people would think youre working in a mamak shop. Spoiled brat

• nicholeanna (Member) on Apr 05, 2008 at 5:36 pm

Leedonggook..

Wow!! I’m so hurted!! Muahahaha!! Perhaps you should take a look at yourself before making any unfavourable statements here. Guess you are those kind of anti rich people. If my English level is in the same class to those working in mamak stall then your level must be in the same class to those working as a toilet cleaner. Wakaka!! BTW please bear in mind. Eventhough my English sucks (maybe), I don’t really give a damn F**^CK. It is not important at all. You know why? I have lots of money. I am a future owner for my dad’s company. Chicks out there doesn’t care at all even if I don’t have any idea in English.. You are just a sick slave working like a dog under rich people. At the end of the month, you will still find yourself tight in terms of financial. Guess I can screw your wife or your girlfriend anytime I want..but I would not because your girlfriend or your wife might be the same as you, super low end products..same shit just like you…Wakaka!!

• leedonggook (Member) on Apr 10, 2008 at 3:44 pm

Lol im so hurted? no such word la friend
    Nope I don’t anti rich people, I just view myself as middle class in fact I have many rich friends who aren’t as self centered as you. Mind you some of em own cars as much as 4 Merc Benzs. And so what if you’re a future owner of your Dad’s company if you’re shit your future company will become shit too. What comes around goes around

• nicholeanna (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 1:34 pm

Wakaka..damn funny! “I don’t anti rich people” and its suppose to be ‘I’m not anti rich people”. Just my two cents dude, take a look at your English before commenting on others. This is a person who claimed himself having a good command in his English? Lol..the best joker of the year. Btw, you claimed that you are from middle class range? Tell you what, I don’t see it that way. Only poor people like you often prejudice on rich people. Well, your rich friend might be those kind of nerdy. Perhaps they do not mind treating you as their friend because they are nerd. Happening people like me don’t mix around with people like you; stupid, naive, so low in its class..Just post whatever you like in future as I will stop debating over this with people like you..kinda disgracing myself.. :)

• merzed (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 10:02 am

Hahahaha, kiddo

• merzed (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 10:04 am

Hahahahaha, what a little small kid, I pity his father.

• agentHunt (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 11:19 am

funny to read u guys fighting over small issue. guys, who is driving bmw or toyota is not important at all la. if ppl can afford luxury car, congrats to them, japanese car or saga oso not bad ape….no need compete la…..

• king (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 4:08 am

leedonggook,

no need to waste time arguing with uneducated fools. You are better off educating/training your dog than talking to such morons.

• customized on Apr 20, 2009 at 10:19 pm

hey guys don't so childish, ppl have there opinion

• MBX Boy on Jul 19, 2009 at 9:03 am

Civic is CKD here in Malaysia. In Thailand, the Thais will say Altis is CKD!

• Just to share, the first time I have problem whether to buy a civic or altis, from website definitely civic is the better choice because of the futuristic cockpit design and more power output from the engine as compare to old design of altis. Hence I went for test drive for honda civic, what a shocked for first time impression the real thing is much better than it looks in the internet but what a disappointment when I test drive this civic, no comfort, everything seems like not right the position for gear and everything, cabin space yes good enough but the cabin comfort ( quietness ) is much much worst than even a vios. After that I go for altis test drive, yes its old design, like old dated but what a shocked when I test drive altis because its way much better comfort than civic, yes its old engine vvti plus 4 speed but who cares as long as it gives the cabin comfort like camry but a more sporty design compare to civic which is futuristic but no comfort at all. I m going for a comfort car compared to futuristic because I plan to drive for long term. Built quality for altis is definitely better than civic. After the altis test drive I m so impress with the altis and decided to purchase on the spot.

Yes on the net and brochure altis definitely lose in terms of looks and power. But once you get the chance to test drive you will definitely feel the difference. As for me I choose comfort more than futuristic design like civic because someday somehow this civic will become outdated with the design also. I dont want to waste RM120K for a car that looks "YEAHH" but didnt give me comfort, I want to be in a comfort car where I feel like pampers by the car. End of the story if you choose comfort and long term go for toyota, if you choose futuristic, new design and technology go for honda. No matter what they said on the brochure you must test drive both the car before you decide to make a booking. Good Luck

• rizal on Oct 17, 2009 at 9:28 am

totally agree with cody

• hidayat on Nov 16, 2009 at 8:38 pm

You are right Cody. You've just made a wise decision. In addition, altis has always shown a tremendously low FC. I can maintain at the speed of 160km/hr for nearly two hours at the PLUS h/way at FC 15km/L while other civic & lancer had to slow down until they reach next petrol station (need to fuel up gas)….I just laugh over such situation, civic & lancer are well known by its performance….but in reality they are behind altis in terms of practicality, comfort and low FC.

• How is the fuel consumption? My altis 1.8 is capable of reaching 7.0 L/100km (or better) on 90% Highway routes.

The best mileage so far in the past two months I've achieved about 630km when the low-fuel light comes on. After that, I drove another 15km (i.e. total 645km) before stopping the next petrol station. Didn't dare to go further.

How many KMs can you continue driving after the low-fuel light first appears?

• Forgot to mention. At 645km, I pump in about 45L of petrol til full tank (nearly overflow). But yet, the owner's manual says that the Altis is supposed to be 55L fuel tank capacity. So I'm wondering can the car continue driving another 8 to 10 L of petrol before becoming empty? Has anyone tried how far?

• alvin on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:10 pm

I never even go and test drive the civic and straight purchase the day after i went to test drive the altis. It is just so comfort compare to 9th gen. I wasn't bother enough to even look at it the first place as i've driven the 9th gen and it sux totally.

Fell in love with it and ordered one the next day without any hesitation. Though the design and tech is outdated… but i still trust TOYOTA compared to other car makers.

• Tyler Durden on Jan 08, 2010 at 12:41 am

what's the current best discount in the market?

• Some more info on fuel consumption. That day I achieved even better figures at 90% long distance cruising (smooth upshifts and minimal revving). Improvemnet also due to some period of time without aircon (weather too cold). Fuel Indicator light appeared around 690km and I drove until 770km and refueled up to 51.5 L of RON97. That gives me about 6.7 L/100km.

• wawooo t is just so comfort to drive,,,,,,, love it by soul..

• farid ahmed on Jun 17, 2011 at 3:03 pm

beautiful car and luxurious but i think it is beyond my capacity though i don’t know the price.

• terrychin on Oct 01, 2011 at 3:50 pm

may i know what is the fuel comsumption(combined cycle(litres/100km) of toyota artis 1.8G in malaysia?please send to my email ,tqvm.