Initial details on Nissan 370Z revealed!

Nissan Z Logo

Nissan has unveiled details on its upcoming 350Z-replacement: Nissan 370Z at the Nissan 360 press event in Portugal earlier this month. The 370Z will remain a two-seater and will continue the 350Z’s general shape, but will get more muscularly-sculpted body panels to give the car a more aggressive look, using flame surfacing perhaps?

Like you can probably guess from its name, the 370Z will feature the new VQ37VHR engine (shown above) from the Infiniti G37 coupe, producing over 326 horsepower and 366Nm of torque at 5,200rpm. This is 0.1 litre and two turbochargers down from the VR-series engine in the Nissan GT-R, but over 300 horsepower is still a very decent figure. The engine marks the debut of Nissan’s throttle-less VVEL technology.

Autocar also reports that the new car will ride on a new platform that has a shorter wheelbase than the current 350Z, not a big issue since it is a 2-seater, and will likely result in a better driving experience, with the car likely to feel more agile.

The new Nissan 370Z will be unveiled at the 2008 Los Angeles auto show in November.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aaron_38my (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 1:21 am

it looks like year 2008 is a hot year for Nissan.1st the return of a legendary GTR and now a new 370Z.throttleless?vvel?is it an abreviation for variable valve with electronic lift?man….the things that Nissan comes up with.you’d think they must have gotten some alien high technology stuff and incorporate into vehicles.Nissan rocks!

• charles27 (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 9:04 am

3700cc produce only 326 horsepower….??? :(
    not so impress for a sport variant of engine.

maybe they have to keep it at this range. and differentiate from and not direct compete with GTR instead.

• armandd (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 12:42 pm

i think 3700cc with 326hp is quite good. u have to remember that the VR engine in the GT-R has 2 turbos and 0.1l more displacement than this.

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 5:31 pm

the 350Z is truely a great car, so the replacement should be better….

3700cc with 326hp is not bad lah, its not like the crazy Evo FQ-400……

• aaron_38my (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 8:28 pm

well, i’d agree that 3++hp from a 3.7L sports engine can be considered good enough.Thats abt almost +50hp increment with +200cc increment.what more would you ask for?a 4++whp 3.7L (example)?For motor heads, maybe the above average fuel consumption would be reasonable for them but i’m sure there are some buyers who’d like to buy these sort of vehicle with ample power and acceptable fuel consumption in the same time.After all, i don’t think a 4++ whp producing 370Z would be a normal 370Z unless it comes out with a high performance variant la…It could have been a 2nd banana Nissan’s Godzilla right after the lunatic GTR.

what do you guys think?wouldn’t you agree?

• transformer (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 9:33 pm

normally Nissan produce prudent figure of their super car’s engine specs, but once buyer/reviewer get their hand on one, realtime dyno figure will show the beast inside!

VQ are also the best engine which won almost every year in “Ward’s 10 Best Engines”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ward%27s_10_Best_Engines

• transformer (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 9:37 pm

Nissan usually quite conservatives when revealing its engine power…
    The exact beast will appear when owner/reviewer get their hand on one and dyno!

VQ series are one the best engine which win almost every yearly “Ward’s 10 Best Engines”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ward%27s_10_Best_Engines

• csv (Member) on May 19, 2008 at 12:21 am

yeah, Nissan makes the best sportscars!

down over here, its a good year for Nissan.

WIth the Livina and Latio lauching, the sleeping tiger is waking up.

better hope the sylphy sells well, then really tear through the competition.

lol.

• longjaafar (Member) on May 20, 2008 at 10:44 am

326bhp and 366nm of torque from this engine is decent. More important is at what rpm it peaks, so that power is readily available.
    I have always been a great fan of the “Z” cars, right from those days of the 280Z which even the Japanese police used as patrol cars. It is now a classic. Too bad, here in Malaysia we are still stuck in the colonial mentality, and only continental cars are thought to be worth restoring. Thus, we still can see many 280Z’z rotting away in many backyards.
    Nissan has proven that it is up there with the best, when it comes to sports cars. Too bad, we Malaysians are charged too much , and therefore cannot enjoy them.