Volkswagen’s Mark 6 will cost less to make

The Mark 6 Volkswagen Golf due to be unveiled by the end of this year will be immediately profitable for Volkswagen, unlike the current Mark 5 which only started being profitable 2 years after it was introduced in 2003. Volkswagen will make an operating profit of 5% on each Mark 6 Golf, which is apparently much more than what it makes on the current Mark 5 Golf (shown above).
Volkswagen says this is thanks to savings in production costs of roughly Euro 1,165 per car, which is attributed to the abolition of a four day week, better materials purchasing, and higher planned production volumes. I sure hope “better materials purchasing” does not mean using materials of a lower quality though!
Volkswagen Golf Mark 6 to get new 1.2 liter engine

June 10, 2008 @ 7:27 am
Oh sweet… wonder how it looks like… the current one’s a gem, but regarding the 2-year-to-profit scenario *swt* Looking forward to Mark VI
June 10, 2008 @ 7:47 am
Maybe they will still take some stuff from Mk5 put on MK 6? No one will notice the bolts or whatever is out of eye’s view.
June 10, 2008 @ 9:35 am
exterior modification only..aka huge facelift. so they can save more on engine.
June 10, 2008 @ 12:10 pm
Looks big to me. Is this car coming here to M’sia Paul?
Whats the price?
June 10, 2008 @ 12:55 pm
well hopefully can effort
June 10, 2008 @ 5:25 pm
better materials purchasing –> maybe what they mean is that they’ve found new supplier that offer equivalent materials with cheaper price… i hope so…i think they’ll probably inform earlier if using less quality materials…
June 11, 2008 @ 10:51 am
Perodua and Proton should instead hire the people who make the purchasing for VW.
June 12, 2008 @ 12:25 am
Yeah, purchase it from their many vendors in China. They do have global sourcing which are not fully utilised due to some national(istic) concerns. I can’t understand Azrai’s proposition though. I’m a bit dizzy after reading that one.
June 12, 2008 @ 12:32 am
Redesigned front grill and LED lamps. Redesigned rear hatch. Smaller engine maybe around 75hp with low boost turbo. A smaller Prince? A Princess? Or er effeminate Prince? See it at Paris Motor Show in September?
June 12, 2008 @ 6:46 pm
Oooh, I could imagine those fellas getting test drive on the new Golf Mk6 and knocking on the dashboards and door panels then shouting “PLASTIC!”, already.