Naza 206 Premium now on sale for RM71,888

Naza Corporation has introduced a premium version of the Naza 206 Bestari called the Naza 206 Premium. It’s priced at RM71,888.00, about RM3k more than the 206 Bestari’s RM68,877.80 price tag. For the additional RM3k, this is what you get:

• Leather on the steering wheel, interior and two-tone seats.
  • 3 head restraints for the rear seat bench
  • A 6-speaker audio system (additional 2 over the Bestari)
  • Seat back pockets and Peugeot logo at the back of the front seats
  • Only rear spoiler (you lose the full bodykit of the 206 Bestari)
  • New design Peugeot-badged 14 inch alloy wheels
  • 206 Premium badging, Peugeot sill plates, door visors, hood insulator
  • Reverse sensors

The interior leather is done up in orange, meant to be the same colour as the dashboard lighting. With more Peugeot badges around the car including on the alloy wheels it should be cheaper and easier for you to Peugeotize this car, which is what most people do. You get a 5 year warranty with 3 years free service including parts and labour.

The 206 Premium comes in 4 colours – Quick Silver, Aegean Blue, Svelte Grey and Onyx Black. Look after the jump for photos of the rear and the interior.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• desmodeci (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 7:46 pm

what premium…they should’ve offer the 207 already

• ignas (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 7:49 pm

agree! man how old is 206? 10yrs back? for rm71k? hello swift.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 7:55 pm

This Peugeot 206 started since 1998, so we are looking at a 10 year old design.

Personally, I wouldn’t pay 71k on a dated 10 years old design car, even though it has been “facelifted” by Naza

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 7:59 pm

Aiseyman, Naza.. What? I wonder who were the genius marketing team who thought that they can get away with selling an old jalopy at such price?!!!

We sympathise with them trying to clear old stock but.. c’mon man, we have had enough of ridiculous politics and now, this?

• cutester (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 8:03 pm

Rims looks like 1st generation G spec Vios….

• Ben (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 8:04 pm

Small cars are getting too expensive nowadays

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 8:15 pm

With the MOST expensive dress on an OLD grandmom it would never better looks like a Young gal.

206 just look OLD now. Somemore RM71K? Mana boleh NAZA

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 8:21 pm

what kind of premium when the car only come with rear spoiler? at least put some skirting and body kit. then i think people would rethink of spending 71 thousand for that, better get a satria neo r3 then with such price.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 9:34 pm

You complainers better note that the 207GTi IS available upon order but it’s CBU and won’t be cheap. Contact your nearest Peugeot dealer or check www.peugeot.com.my, then hand over the cash. The 207CC 1.6L is RM158,888, making it the most affordable new coupe cabriolets available in Malaysia currently (anything cheaper?).

The 206 Bestari came about with a local badge as the cheapest way for Malaysians to get into European motoring. It’s CKD Europe, and non-ASEAN so what price do you expect? Ah, but no one complained about the 1.5L Jazz (which debuted in 2001), CBU-Thailand at RM103,800 because it’s JAPANESE. Japanese is the BEST for Malaysians!!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 9:51 pm

Best way for Malaysians to get into European motoring?

Are you sure? Then if the RM71k Bestari is the answer to that, we must be pathetic car buyers right?

No, thanks, Naza.

• longdongsilver (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 10:04 pm

Well, if 71k is the only way someone can afford a 206 then so be it. I guess everyone in the forum here can afford more expensive cars (I don’t think so. Muahahahaha!!!)
    I kind of like it actually after driving it. More features and high tech compared to Japanese makes in same price range. I wonder if anyone here has actually driven a 206 before. Hahahahahaha!!! I have actually tested it and might buy it after comparing to others.
    Complaining about 10 year model? I bet these guys use a quarter century Saga!!! Muahahahahaha!!!

• ignas (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 10:26 pm

no doubt continental cars are nicer to drive compared to asia cars. but i’ll still go for jazz becos its beautiful, more mod parts and most important of all it got bigger and prettier interior.

• king (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 11:18 pm

maibatsu_thunder said,
    August 7, 2008 @ 9:34 pm

You complainers better note that the 207GTi IS available upon order but it’s CBU and won’t be cheap. Contact your nearest Peugeot dealer or check http://www.peugeot.com.my, then hand over the cash. The 207CC 1.6L is RM158,888, making it the most affordable new coupe cabriolets available in Malaysia currently (anything cheaper?).

The 206 Bestari came about with a local badge as the cheapest way for Malaysians to get into European motoring. It’s CKD Europe, and non-ASEAN so what price do you expect? Ah, but no one complained about the 1.5L Jazz (which debuted in 2001), CBU-Thailand at RM103,800 because it’s JAPANESE. Japanese is the BEST for Malaysians!!

_____

i agree with you.

no one complained about the altis which debuted in 2000 and now new model is actually a facelift only and is going to be on sale easily another 5 yrs up to 2013 ? HOw many years is that? 13 years? OMG. And even at 2013 we do not know maybe toyota will give u another facelift again. I’m not even going to start with the “new” vios.

so the japanese can get away by doing that why can’t the europeans? whats more the 206 design was way ahead of its time during its debut. talk about double standards.

maybe you Jap fanboys are just blinded by anything with a japanese badge ( especially the T badge) but too critical about every other car.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 11:43 pm

206 is a good car actually…but the 1.4cc needs a 1.6cc soon….da 1.4cc is really underpowered

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 11:48 pm

SatriaGuy: I said CHEAPEST way not BEST way.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 12:42 am

face lift is good, but face lifting a 10 year old model just show us that there will not be any new & cheap continental model selling by Naza for another 1 to 2 years to come…
    should consider bringing in the 207

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 1:00 am

nothing wrong, seriously, except the lame 14 inch wheels….

why not 16 inch, with a better design…..

• kahing (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 1:54 am

With that price I might as well just get myself a Hyundai Accent. Nicer interior and better looking

• Andy214 (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 2:00 am

Funny looking at most comments, all they know is old and more funny is how they judge the pricing as expensive (do they even know how much is the CBU?(and without tiptronic somemore)). Well then don’t buy lor~ simple~
    I don’t think continentals/Peugeot fans would like to have these type of people anyway.

10 years, yea it’s old, but then HOW OLD? It’s just been replace by 207 not long ago. How old? By 1 generation? (cough cough), not to mentioned due to high demand, the 206 is still on sale or locally assembled in few countries even tough 207 is launched till today. Even Peugeot international website still have the 206.
    The design is outdated compared to current design, but it’s still famous in many countries. It simply a legend car from Peugeot which has stayed for so long, just like how you people still praising an old famous Japanese car.
    If you check YouTube, you could even find Japanese commercial for Peugeot, especially the 206 and also videos from Japanese who owns the 206.

Now lets’ see, if they bring back those old famous japanese cars, I wonder if these people would call it old and overprice, bla ba bla, bla bla bla~

Anyway, doesn’t matter, even if it’s old, 10 years, whatever, too bad the features and specs are still way better than many cars below RM100K. (Ooops)
    But then again, not everyone understands or appreciate or needs it anyway.

For this Premium edition, it’s not a facelift, it’s just a Premium version with high class/luxury interrior for those who prefers to have a more “premium” version of the car without having to go outside and install those stuffs. It’s simply an additional version for those who would want to get one “Premium” ready version.
    It may not be everyone’s cup of tea as some people prefers to customize themselves, but there’re some who would prefer “ready” version.
    There’s already an owner of the Black version few days ago.

As with some others, yea, it’s sad that only 1.4L version was available. I did inquire before, and was replied long ago that they need to see the response for 1.4L first. Guess their first choice of bring in the 1.4L isn’t good and also rebaging to Naza badge was a bad move. My guess of them bringing in the 1.4L could be because the 1.4L is the hottest model in UK, and also they mentioned about FC concerns. Well, too bad.

Another thing is the rims and tyre profile, it’s so thin and it looks ugly from the rear especially. Nowdays, even Proton has wider tyres, which makes the car looks better. But suprisingly, despite it’s rims and tyre profile, this little lion handles so well like nobody’s business, I was so impressed by it when I was driving behind an owner of a fairly new fully stock Bestari.
    To add on, a 407 owner who have a 206 replacement car when his lion is send into Nasim’s “ICU”, he also give thumbs to the Bestari’s handling except he’s dissapointed with the 1.4L engine.

Anyway, enough promoting, action speaks louder than words. If you like you try, if not then just continue with your life, nobody forces you to buy/try/accept. And who knows, it might not be your cup of tea, or the handling might not satisfy you, or it might. Nonetheless, it’s handling is still well known worldwide.

• Andy214 (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 2:07 am

kahing,

Nicer interior?
    Looks is personal, but talk about interior, I hardly find much car in price range of below RM100K having nice interior except Honda, sorry to say.
    All other are not match for the 206 (if you’re really sat into and see and feel for yourself), the 206 has old looking air-cond knobs and old design air-cond vent, but the interrior is more detailed and looks more class than many others. The 206 has nice and classy Jeager tachometer, nice steering, nice stalks, nice MFD, et. Once you get used to it, and you switch to other car, you’ll feel the difference.
    Tough, again looks is personal.

Same goes for exterrior~

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 2:13 am

my only complain for this car is the engine…can i choose 1.6? if yes i’ll consider…heck if 1.8 i definitely get it! hehe

• Apherance (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 7:14 am

Because it offer 1.4cc variance, the rim offer 14 inch is appropriate as 16inch give burden to the engine.

And please for NOOB out there 1998 206 is different from the 206 offer by naza as after 2004, 206 had been upgraded with porsche dual gear box, over haul problem, ECU upgrade, and fine tuned. therefore 206 offered is dated from 2004 not 1998

Complainer who don’t know anything if you compare to the local assemble japanese car and proton, their technology offered is already achieved 15 years ago by continental care. also PUG don’t have much own technology, so does Japanese.(Besides Engine cam) and proton (nothing new).

compared to vios now which is yaris sedan of half a decade ago would you buy with 20k different from 206.

fuel consumption different is approximate 30% different but with the fee,power, suspension and handling is much more worth it. and if you wan to say the rim is like 1st gen vios. Actually it is a replica of OZ racing official 206, 8 and 10 spoke rim.

unfortunately with AP system in the country continental car hard to break into the Malaysia. 158k 207cc i drive before actually is much more like designer car and for pleasure. Not much special technology offered . All the technology offered by others manufacturer can be found in 207cc such as anti glare, middle panel like idrive BMW BMW_PUG hybrid engine and other electronic .

If looking for 206cc of 206 sports variance PUG had shift the concentration to 308cc so cannot be compared

Myvi and hyundai accent only can be compared to 206 at the 50k to 70k category but Korean car? how much is your confident? Toyota passo how many years back dated.

talking about OLD……….how is your new saga actually dated to 25 years old technology achieved by others? proton wira 198+ evo 3? perdana 199+ galant? waja don’t what to comment haizzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!! disappointment

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 7:51 am

HEHEHEHE
    New Saga dated 25years old?? to compare people’s car (for low income) is too much, wira? coz there are high demand of its, Waja (not the case- go find the parts maker, anly pulling down proton’s name) Perdana is better looking than galant and have it’s own style eventhough it is a rebadge one plus it is not in the same category. why not compare the technology and design with the same class of car. to make it more sublte, golf or any other hatchback. from technology, design, performance and then u can narrow down to it’s pricing.

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 7:53 am

i wonder if this car come in orange to, just to match up with the interior. and why is the reason for NAZA not to put the skirting?

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 7:58 am

i really want to see which one is better, satria neo r3 or this one or the 206? hey paul y dont u put side by side those two cars. and the netizen may have a good idea of which one is the best? exterior and interior, performance and all. it’s great to see how greater the continental cars are when it comes to performance and technology. people always presume that continental car is better just because it’s from there n other car is lame in technology just because the engine’s cover stated CAMPRO. hehehehe

• abtm (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 8:30 am

It’s old, it’s tired, don’t buy it! I’ll bet something like a Persona would be a better buy…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 8:45 am

actually, how many here have actually driven continental cars? let alone french cars?

personally, I’m a fan of conti cars.. generally, their products suit my taste in cars, not just looks but the way they drive. that doesnt mean i dont like japanese cars either.. i do have my favourites as well, and i used to own an EK civic.

in short, pugs are great cars for driving. the thing that blows my mind is their incredible ability to blend in handling, and comfort into one package. they are not in the league of bmw for handling, but bmw’s arent as comfortable.
    the closest non-conti cars to remind me of their handling, is the gen2 cps, and waja cps. and please, dont criticise until you have actually driven these cars.

in short, these cars just cater to different markets and tastes.. here in Asia, especially thailand, indonesia and malaysia.. toyota is king.. but in europe, you hardly see any on the road. you will see many a peuqeot. different strokes for different folks.

why do we always have to fight over who is better ..etc.

but personally, i wouldnt buy a car from naza.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 9:18 am

So many comments here and yet, no one addressed the one single problem with the 206 Bestari.

The trouble with it is, not so much the fact that it is an actually an old model from Peugeot, just that the damn thing bloody LOOKS old!!

And pricing it next to current cars in Malaysia like the Swift, et al, sounds to a lot of people like Naza is being a little too optimistic..

RM70k mark is a lot to ask for a car that’s been sitting in a parking lot for a long time and then taken out, given a new paint, wheels, and a reupholstery..

But if you want to buy it still, go ahead.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 9:44 am

the 206 premium is definitely not geared for fans of japanese econoboxes and anime. it is for those who can afford to own it and want to stand out from the crowd.

it is not for one who needs to worry about size because he needs to carry the whole family plus the family pet. for those go buy a mini mpv. it’s not for those who worry about fuel economy only. for those, go get a city. its also not for those who want the latest fashion item or the cheapest car with the biggest cabin size. for those, go get the swift and vios j. for those who buy for re-sale value (what constitutes re-sale value these days anyway?), go get a city or vios. for good handling on the cheap, there’s the new saga. for the fastest car at the same money, go buy a used japanese car with all the full modifications. lots of old civics and corollas plus wiras that fit the bill. for those wanting a bit of prestige at a small price, there are used benzes and beemers waiting to find new homes.

those who buy the 206 may appear to not bother about resale value or maintenance costs, speed, fuel economy, prestige etc. but the fact is, they buy it for themselves and not have their partner, family or pet to judge their decisions. they buy it because they want it. because they feel that it is nice to have a small european car at that price that allows them to make a statement of their indiviuality. they also value its euroncap safety rating, the many small features that most japanese dont have. and also, the great combination of ride and handling.

most of all, they buy it or any other peugeot because they have class. it is a selfish car (the 206 is not pretending to be the best in everything) that only caters to the driver and to the buyer, that’s all he or she needs. no, they are in no way uninformed about the competition. they do know but they are able to see beyond the obvious and are in fact better informed than those who do not bother the actually find out more for themselves.

they are a small group in malaysia. just like fans of japanese cars in europe. like what BanyakMasukWorkshop said its:

“different strokes for different folks”

• izaman (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 9:46 am

i think most of commenter here haven’t ride this car and they either drive japanese car or proton car. it handles better than made in thailand toyota and made in alor gajah honda. and what is the most important is the comfortability. t brand and h brand cannot even come close in terms of comfort-ness at that price range.

i admit the price is quite steep for that size but i think it is a great car. hold your buy until next year and you will get great discount for the car. i even got RM11k discount for my manual transmission 2007 206b. RM52,000 for a brand new CKD continental car. that’s cheap man (please don’t mention about the tax and such. try to live in reality. the reality is we are living in malaysia and we have to live with the expensive car tax).

i understand that anything that is not t brand and h brand will be sucks from the eye of malaysian for the small car segment, but try it and you’ll love it. and furthermore malaysian is by default is afraid of using continental because they think the spare part is quite expensive, maintenance is expensive and so on. but it is not a lambo reventon that u need to order the spare part from the factory itself. get along with the other conti car driver and you will surprise that the service for pug is not that high.

even though the design is already 10 years old, i like the design. some sort like evergreen design. i think still i prefer the 206 old dated design if compared to yaris and new vios dugong-like front design. no offence guys but that’s reality.

and 1 more thing, usually people only heard conti cars problem from their ayah punya hamster punya jiran punya driver punya bos punya kakak punya makcik punya cikgu. they are not hearing the problem from the driver himself.

abtm,

i have a persona hi line and a 3 weeks old manual 206 bestari. i love 206b much more than persona. even i already thinking of selling the persona for the new coming 308

mitlanevo,

if u use the 16″ rim that will void the warranty from peugeot. so, maximum is only 15″. for 206b sportivo variant that is using 16″ rim, the warranty is only from naza because naza already void the warranty from peugeot.

fastcx,

it is 1.4 because malaysian love fuel saving car. think so. hehehe. my average is 5l/100km with 206b manual. that’s what i call fuel saving

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

i also said the same thing about not buying any naza car, but seems to be only naza that assemble CKD peugeot in this region. so, no other choice.

satriaguy,

i do have problem with my 206b. there is some knocking sound from the front side of my car but it is already fixed. and my biggest problem is i will not ever buying japanese car after feeling the comfortness of conti car even it is CKD. and i dont mind buying the 308 RCZ even they change it to naza brand. haha

• ... (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 9:55 am

cutester said,
    August 7, 2008 @ 8:03 pm
    Rims looks like 1st generation G spec Vios

Emm, maybe it is the 1st generation G spec Vios rims. So maybe using this “toyota” rim means this car is also like sportivo, no peugeot warranty, just naza warranty?

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 10:31 am

Ill go for Suzuki Swift for that price tag…

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 10:53 am

wow… when conti vs japs in one blog.. hhahahha

personally, i would luv to have this beauty… wont mind having the naza badge as long as the car has the same feeling.. nvr driven this fella but i felt that 1.4 is enuff for a car.. if u want a fast sport car.. save ur money to buy a Porsche or Ferrari or Brabus Rockett.

most of us want to have a 1.6 engine tat does 4l/100km.. how can like that?

• rodimus (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 11:08 am

I like this car but that was few year back already, nowaday there are too many choises already. And by the way the price for this car is not worth it. Cheer!!

• Apherance (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 11:32 am

Agree for the different people different taste and also got supporter for different brand.

lowprofile
    Just my 2 cent. Personally with this car i think NAZA marketing is not going for family.Aim was for youngster with a partner having salary between 2k to 5k and is a second car in the house. Actually PUG is having a french gen and culture in their 206 car design. Therefore when people got family this is totally out of story maybe 407 or 206 sw.Not to say selfish just is car for 2. But is seems 307SW is getting more fancy by mid range income family yet is slightly expensive.

40% is local content (mostly accessories and some wear and tear) This is chosen by PUG engineer. First warranty is to go through NAZA then only PUG

Maddy-Kun
    firstly to compare with the same class is no problem if the tax is the same but the thing is we can only compare from the price horizon.
    satria neo can only compare with 206 is spec by spec. if you compare to sport variance……. check out the performance. The saga i mean is the tehcnology 25 years back it’s bringing Korean gen inside. Then when car manufacturer is to blame for not having their supply chain management don’t probably. Part maker is chosen by them not they chose car maker. CAMPRO good approve but for your information people had been optimizing CAM function a decade back. Now it’s already going to be saturated for efficiency. New development will be working on electronic control, gear ratio control and H renowned VCM.
    And i wan to apologize for being so straight. Your monthly installment actually partly go to japanese M for their design if you buy wira and perdana. But i m happy to see that P is developing under new MD and i m looking forward in 10 years time or less to on par with international competition with this progress. [ Korean used 10year and on par , proton started 1985 and still chasing]

For T and H actually in the world renow econo car for price and long term maintenance. but in malaysia it become a leisure or expensive (DUE to u know why)

Talking about family car. This is a Japanese thing were they only have the edge of it. Alphard Vell fire, and etc by Japanese company. But then how many can afford. There for all quality, comfort, technology is trade off for quantity of passenger with extra low price (<100k)

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 11:40 am

hurm.. true true..

• Apherance (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 11:43 am

satria neo r3 vs 206 rally variance spec by spec
    satria neo vs 206

Then you will know why the price is like heaven and hell thus no one deny it

but than NAZA is still too much with that price haha for being dominating most of the AP in the country.

CAMPRO CPS and the IAFM i m looking forward for feedback of the market. SAGA already feed back that it’s not so fuel efficient as expected or not as good as wira comparable yet still ok for that price. And piece of advance do not expect too much for what it is new.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 11:50 am

apherance,

agree with you that it’s size is not very big and also that it is more suitable for young couples or families with small kids.

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 11:52 am

Izaman, my wife have got the Persona H-line too but i don’t think we would trade it for a rebadge Pug – a DB9 or Pagini, maybe! (well, everyone likes to live and aspire something beyond thier means)

And yes, i used to own a ‘Sud and a Golf, so i do know what a ‘conti feel’ is about.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 11:56 am

apherance,

the satria neo r3 is an all out mini hot hatch. the 206 is not – its a small car designed for small, young families/couples. it also offers a bit more cabin space and has 2 more doors for more convenience. diferent people have different priorities. those who aren’t going to race at traffic lights will find the 206 more comfortable for day to day use and also with the tiptronic gearbox.

can’t compare apple to orange.

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 12:01 pm

satria neo r3 vs 206 rally variance spec by spec
    satria neo vs 206

Then you will know why the price is like heaven and hell thus no one deny it

but than NAZA is still too much with that price haha for being dominating most of the AP in the country.

CAMPRO CPS and the IAFM i m looking forward for feedback of the market. SAGA already feed back that it’s not so fuel efficient as expected or not as good as wira comparable yet still ok for that price. And piece of advance do not expect too much for what it is new.

———————————————
    yeah that comparison is what i’m talking about,
    about saga’s cannot be compared with wira.. obviously saga is saga.. and only can be match up with old saga. wira should be compared with persona in order to prove that the replacement model is better. yup feedback is one of the way.

by the way has anyone who have try both satria neo and this fella? want to know their opinion..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 3:37 pm

this car is old, i want the 207

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 3:49 pm

Don’t la compare Neo R3 with the Bestari. With due respect to the Bestari ( or rather the Peugeot 206) the Neo R3 is a tuned road car.

Handling/equipment-wise, the R3 is miles ahead. The 206 B price is such because they bumped it up, as far as I’m concerned, the Premium addenda does not justify the RM70k tag, anyhow you wanna look at it.

If they have to finish up their old stock, why do they put it against current cars’ prices?

Let’s see how long will it take for the stock of 206 Bs to finish shall we?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Yes the SNeoR3 is a totally different, sports-oriented model. The 206 is more of a feel-good 1.4L Euro car for cruising around and getting from A to B comfortably. If you itemise the cost of the items its not that bad. The leather seats alone are very pricey. They are trying to put out something good, offering more choice for consumers. RM70k is for a non-ASEAN CKD vehicle. Whatever Kung Fu done cannot make it any more cheaper. The 206 is a current car, not old stock or end-of-life as many people seem to think. I believe the 206 will stay in production until 2011 GLOBALLY unless I’m mistaken. Peace, bro. Don’t hate.

• torque (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Wow! This is definitely one of the best issue ever debated by two party with each pointing out their on reason and facts…and I LOVED it! Simply b’coz…no calling names involved. Good! Now, on the subject…I used to dream owning it once. Too bad that time I could only afford a Satria. Now, I won’t pay a RM71k for it. Why? I know Naza marketing strategy team so well…if this is the Premium specs then why (Naza should answer this) only right now they come out with this? Why not selling it when they launch the CKD 206B and follow by the Sportivo specs that time? You all know this…to clear the stock that not moving. Peugeot are PASSIONATE when making cars while Naza are only PASSIONATE making money! Yes, someone stated here that the 207 is already open for booking…I stress it again…BOOKING! Hell no Naza gonna bring the 207 in since they had so much 206B to clear. I know the 207 is CBU while the 206B is CKD but if Naza does bring it in…then these 2 models will eat each other since they actually from the same class!

Still, old or new…this Pug is a very good car in terms of handling and comfortness. That is undeniable facts! Underpower…YES! But which European model that you could actually get (CKD or not) brand new, good handling and comfort for RM71k? And I dig the new interior that they have done to it…NICE! Then, as I said earlier…I won’t give Naza my RM71k on this. I’ll go for the the Suzuki Swift Premium specs for it’s performance, smoothness (the gear change is great), features like auto headlights and rain sensor, looks (especially loved the white one) and the comfortness too since…I have test drive them BOTH! Just my two cents and my choice…peace! :-)

• ericfoong81exe@ (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 5:05 pm

Jesus Chriss…Naza is steping back the foot prints of Proton….71k for old model rebadge car?? No wonder so far i’ve only seen 5 times this 206 on the road since it launched.

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 5:14 pm

some one stated i’m not sure who,, he said that he got 206 for 52k 11k discount. does not intent to condemn naza’s selling.. but why buy now even if you really fell in love with it, wait a little longer who knows if the price drop sommore. :D use the 11k for petrol muahahhaha

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 5:20 pm

satria guy:
    Don’t la compare Neo R3 with the Bestari. With due respect to the Bestari ( or rather the Peugeot 206) the Neo R3 is a tuned road car.
    Handling/equipment-wise, the R3 is miles ahead.

why not?? r3 price and and 206 is in the same range and both of them are hatchback. atleast we can see which one is worth our money. apart from what brand they are

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 5:52 pm

the 206 premium is just a limited exercise. it is created to give the market some variety. the 206 range now consists of the 206 Bestari (A/M) and 206 Premium (A). up to customers to buy or not. but at the rate the 206 premium is selling, there won’t be many left. really limited numbers of this model. it is not viewed as a large volume seller.

• clover leaf (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 6:45 pm

Bestari Tiara.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 7:32 pm

i would love to buy from naza if they rebadge the volkswagen golf at reasonable price hehe.

• Andy214 (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 7:36 pm

SatriaGuy said,
    August 8, 2008 @ 3:49 pm

Handling/equipment-wise, the R3 is miles ahead. The 206 B price is such because they bumped it up, as far as I’m concerned, the Premium addenda does not justify the RM70k tag, anyhow you wanna look at it.

———

It seems there’s many things you don’t know?
    Do you know what’s the price of the 206 CBU 1.4L?
    Can you find any CKD that reduced so much priced and yet keep up to it’s specs, standards and safety features?

The 206 is still available in Peugeot International website and still in demand in various countires, they have even locally assemble it.
    It’s not yet obsolete, the design maybe old yes, after all, it’s stilla 206 not a 207.
    But wait wait, where are we going here? There’re still people who likes/loves the 206, if you don’t, I don’t get what you’re doing? Jealousy? Dissastisfaction?
    Hmm…

Handling-Equipment wise miles ahead? Wow! That shows how much you DON’T know about the car.
    As I’ve mentioned, handling wise, if you “think” it’s not good, that just what you think because it’s well known worldwide that it’s good. The 206 GTi is nothing different except high stiffer suspension, easily upgradeable. And fyi, chasis rigidity and strength plays an important role.

Anyway, don’t give false information about the car if you don’t know about the car, and have not driven it.
    If you have driven it, and it simply does not suit your taste, then it’s you personal view. This is about the sharing information on the car, I don’t think people wanna know Mr. X prefer XXX brand car, or prefer XXX brand handling. Heck, is it even important is some supermodel likes/dislikes a car? In the end, it’s up to the person buying.
    What you’re doing isn’t helping at all or informative at all.
    Every car has it’s good and bad, and it may suit different people, and it may also suit certain people but isn’t practical for him/her.
    That’s up to the person to judge him/herself.

• Andy214 (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 7:41 pm

Basically as what lowprofile has mentioned, it’s an additional variety for those who “might” be interested to go for it.

Someone “might” think it’s useless or pointless, but that’s what YOU think, right?
    The truth is, there ARE people who wants it and maybe has been requesting it, you never know.
    As a result, there’s already a buyer who bought it.

So, remember, try to think and look “outside-the-box”.

• izaman (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 8:59 pm

car_craze

persona and db9??? what are u taling about?

• izaman (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 12:25 am

correction: taling = talking

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 1:21 am

Actually when it comes to Peugeot’s small cars, older=better in the eyes of many Pug fans. The 206 and 306’s handling and driver feel is generally considered to be superior to the heavier, softer, more detached models that followed them.

The real glaring mistake, as others have pointed out, is the ancient 1.4 engine as the only choice. The 1.4 is fine for europe, where cars always have manual transmission, fuel prices make rm2.70 look like a great bargain, and cars rarely spend much time out of the city and on the highway. And even there loads of people opted for the more powerful engines available.

Should have added the 1.6L 16v engine and the 206 GTi (either version) to the lineup by now if they were really serious about selling these. If they want to capture the younger market they need a flagship model to hold its own in those teh-tarik-shootouts and to rub off onto the lesser models.

So instead of people comparing a 1.4 grocery-getter to the satria R3 (what a ridiculous comparison that is anyways, not least for the fact the R3 was limited to FIFTY units) let em chew on the 206 GTi RC 180. Which helps to sell 1.6 and 1.4 models.

Anyways, I imagine they’ll stick stubbornly with the 1.4 as i’m sure it’s dirt cheap…unfortunately the design, while still beautiful, isn’t getting any younger, and the window of opportunity for this model to make an real impression is starting to close.

• Andy214 (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 2:03 pm

True, if old and if I’m no wrong, Peugeot will completely phase out this model by or in 2010. But the point here is, there’re still people who prefer the 206 over the 207, not only here.
    There’re people who only wants the latest only, want to be in-the-trend, then why bother looking at this post. If it afterall information for those who are interested.

As for bringing in the 1.6L, from the poor response from the public despite it’s low price for a european car with such features, and people comparing it ridiculously. Do you think they would want to bring in the 1.6L?
    I did inquire before from Naza Corp website not long after the Bestari was launch on the possibilities of the 1.6L and other variants (e.g. 3 Door Hatch) and I was replied that they will need to see the public response. Sadly, such a good car and many would’ve thought impossible to own one day is made available, but was hammered with such poor response and ridiculous comparisons (especially pricing, a continental against local, duh), and without understanding and knowing the car at all. Two main reasons could be the culprit here, rebadging issue and also “Naza”. Continentals could also be part of the reason as it were viewed poorly in our country, but funny, it’s only common in auto industries?

Anyway, some people just “talk”, (e.g. should’ve brought in 207), but as if they’re gonna buy it, and the 206 still has the 2008 manufactured models here (do they even know?). Logically speaking, why should they bring in the 207 now and kill themselves. The 207cc is already here, it’s only a matter of time for the other variants of 207 to make their appearance.
    Then again, as if these people are gonna purchase it and they don’t seem understand the car at all. Just merely talk about the latest.

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 5:53 pm

Of course putting it under the naza brand didn’t help it either. Surprised they haven’t converted it over to Peugeot now that they hold the franchise.

As for the 1.6, I still can’t understand their reasoning of waiting to see how the 1.4 does first. If their strategy really was what you described, that’s just shooting themselves in the foot. You can’t offer only an outdated engine like the TU3 and say well if you guys buy enough of these maybe we’ll offer something better and screw over the earlier buyers. Well unless you’re protected like proton is.

There are a lot of Pug enthusiasts in this country but I think the same people that would likely be attracted to this car would also be disappointed once they saw the performance didn’t live up to the looks. I saw a naza 206 sportivo at the track last time. Was great looking inside and out, but i was sad to see how butt slow it was out on the track. Even my wife’s old 306 could blow it away.

Now a 3 door 206, with 16v engine, bodykit and PeugeotSport package. There’s one they could CKD and that’d definitely turn some heads.

• Andy214 (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 10:30 pm

I did ask why they didn’t convert but I was told they already register the car under the Naza brand, and there’s this and that procedure, etc. I guess they also regret that they rebadge it, causes so many problems, and someone who never know anything about the car can tell people they the interrior looks different from the original Peugeot, and some say it’s using China’s engine, bla bla bla. Joke man~
    This 206 is one of those CKD which maintained it’s specs, features as well as the safety ratings, unlike many others.

As for the 1.4L, I can only say perhaps they misjudge the public or malaysian motorist, thinking that they 1.4L is the best selling model in UK and also people’s concern on the Fuel Consumption, they brought in the 1.4L first and only 1.4L.
    Then again, my SA did mentioned to me that the 1.6L would be more expensive that people would’ve expect because the tax thingy. Well, I have no idea.
    But truthfully, before the 206 Bestari was launch and based on the CBU pricing, who would’ve expect it to be priced below RM70K at all, with logical prediction. RM70K is about RM30K difference from the CBU pricing, for those who didn’t know how to calculate. Do you find any CKD have such big difference? It sadden those CBU owners, but at the same time, it’s a good news and opportunity for those who have been wanting to own a 206. The bright side for CBU owners would be hopefully, more spare parts, cheaper parts, and also more expertise are available.

Yes, power wise, I do agree, altough I don’t drive the 1.4L, but in corners, winding roads, hills, you hardly feel it’s underpower sincerely. I witness with my own eyes how great the car is, a stock Bestari with original 175 profile tyres, following a Citroen Xantia 2.0L closely on corners, while I’m keeping up with them both, and the car it’s so stable and you don’t even hear any screeching tyres sound. I was thinking, if I wa driving my Wira, with low profile tyres, I wonder if I could’ve keep up, plus my “Tiger” tyres would’ve been screaming like mad.

As for new variants of 206, I don’t think there will be anymore, the response hasn’t been good and when it’s finish, I think they’re gonna let it go already.
    Previously I heard there’re plans for a 206 Sport but I think they’ve give up on it already.
    Afterall, it’s the only one keeping the Naza badge. The 308 is coming in soon, including the 308 GT (already in), and probably will be followed by the 207 GTi, etc.

This 206 is still good for those who wants it, rather than going for the other brands in the price range or 10K-20K more, plus, compare in details of features, this car are way much better than those available below RM100K.
    Just depends on the buyer preference, afterall not everyone appreciates and look at the features/specs, some might concentrate completely on looks, or solely on resale value/parts/reliability/etc.
    Whichever, this information here for those who are interested.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 12:46 pm

andy214, one thing i did not agree with you is the point on comparing the CBU pug 206 with this naza version.

technically, the cars naza sells under the bestari brand, are sold as national cars. therefore, they are not paying the same duties as are paid by the official pug206 import. Also, to qualify as a national car, they must have a certain percentage of local content. with this local content, the cost of the car should go down further, than your regular CKD foreign brand..

I’ll leave it up to the rest of you to speculate naza’s pricing…

but its common knowledge that all these manufacturers sell old models of their cars in emerging markets.. if you go to south africa, you will still see 1990’s toyotas and even the golf mk1 still being sold as “new” cars, but at a low price of course. there will always be a market for cars like these because lets face it, not everyone in the world can afford a brand new current model car. if people will buy it, someone will sell it. if you dont like it, dont buy it.

the original VW beetle was still in production in mexico up till the 90’s, and thats more than 40 years in production… and people joke about the saga…

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 5:47 pm

Alot of the pricing also had to do with the past when nasim was still not the official franchise holder for peugeot in malaysia. they were just assemblers only at the time. i’m sure that nasim would have wanted the best combination of spec and price. but whatever it is, they are at least trying to give the public more variety with the introduction of the premium model. it won’t be to everyone’s taste for sure as evident by the negative remarks of those who do not know the real story of how much the car actually cost. yes, there are tax breaks for re-badging but then the euro is not are not known to be very generous either.

definitely does not appeal to those who respond in this forum but yet there are those who find good value in the little french car.

• Andy214 (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:12 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

Yes, you’re right, but don’t forget, how much difference comparing with the CBU, that’s my point. There is at least RM30K difference and unlike many other CKD, this 206 is merely “badging” change, it still retain it full specs and safety features. Just take a look around the Bestari, you’ll find French words here and there, even the Naza logo on the steering, when removed it’s a Lion patch. Even the windscreen itself is not cheap.
    As for local content, I believe other CKD have pretty high local content too, not to mentioned some have about 50%, yet, when it is released, it cost more than it’s predecessor. Not to mentioned again, that many speculated the price to be way way below the released price. But what happen to that?

But yes, no matter what, all cars in Malaysian is still expensive, but trutfully, let’s forget everything about brand, manufacturers, etc. Compare specs and features only and how much it is priced. It’s still obvious even without bringing EURO into picture.

As for those who say “old” should be “cheap”… er… What kinda statement is that, it’s not that the 206 is no longer available or has phase out. Truly, those are ridiculous statement, it’s NOT old stock, it’s NEW stock.
    So, why not tell H/T, next year NEW stock V/C should sell cheaper because the car is a year older.
    What a joke man.

• nottinggel on Jun 18, 2009 at 12:57 am

Naza Bestary is very nice car. Naza team take a good idea for sale. No interest, no down payment and 3 months free on road. How do you think? So easy to be our cars. i like it…yeah…..

• jimmie on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Hey, I dun knw how true issit…but I saw Naza selling Bestari 206 for 48,888 otr… Paul can you pls confirm this???

thanks

• julia on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:41 am

called peugeot today. 206 has a new price since july 09 – auto 48999 manual 43999 but they are currently not taking anymore orders till further notice.

• that's very sad to know… not more taking orders. Am currently actively looking for a car. From Suzuki Sx4, Toyota Rush till i find this little lion…. :((

• julia on Sep 08, 2009 at 6:43 am

visited naza at ttdi. they are still taking orders. but limited to only auto and silver or light blue. test drive available at hq in kl. ttdi test drive only on weekends. according to sales guy, 207 will come in next year but it is a sedan. so no more peugeot supermini after this. wonder if that is really true?

• Is that true? i would wait 207 hatchback if it will comes.

• pacifictuna on Oct 24, 2009 at 11:09 am

guys, just asked a Pug salesman doing a sales in Carrefour Hussein Onn yesterday. it's cheaper now, 44100 for auto and 39800 manual. heck!

can't do anything but to watch my dream car slips away (i'm all broke now)……. they'll bring in 207 soon. i'm sleepless……. btw, i drove a nationally assembled french car as well (u know it), and like it a lot. personally i think local attitude and perspective towards continentals are somewhat biased (tax system, proton and perodua started with 'ckd'ing japs make, silly mark up by mechanics).

anyway, those still want can contact peugeot showroom in Kg Pandan. try your luck. haha…. and keep it in good shape, i might want to buy it secondhand from ya.