Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Toyota Fortuner facelift initial details revealed!

Advertisement

Toyota Fortuner

Toyota FortunerThe facelifted Toyota Fortuner has made an appearance on UMW Toyota’s website. The 7-seater SUV based on the Toyota Hilux IMV platform now features a “frowny” grille – that is it curves outwards downwards – and new headlamps with a different shape to fit the new grille.

The front bumper looks somewhat similiar to the pre-facelift (shown left), but new is the option for a TRD bodykit which we’ve not yet had a chance to see yet, but it could end up looking like bodykitted Fortuner facelift offered in Thailand (pics after jump), though I hope it is a different one as the Thai kit seems abit garish. Something based on the TRD Hilux would be nice. The headlamps also now seem to feature a projector lense, an upgrade from the reflectors of the prefacelift Fortuner.

As with the Hilux, the 2.5 liter turbodiesel in the facelifted Fortuner remains the same, producing 102 PS at 3,600rpm and 260Nm of torque between 1,600 to 2,400rpm. The petrol-powered 2.7V uses a 2.7 liter inline-4 engine putting out 160 PS at 5,200rpm and 241Nm of torque at 3,800rpm. Both engines use a 4-speed Super ECT automatic. When the Fortuner was first introduced, the diesel was only available with a 5-speed manual.

Lastly, unlike the Hilux which uses a part-time 4WD system with an LSD at the rear, the Fortuner uses a full-time 4WD system with a Torsen LSD.

The following are the estimated prices for individual registration in Peninsular Malaysia:

Toyota Fortuner 2.5G RM 170,000
Toyota Fortuner 2.7V RM 178,000
Toyota Fortuner 2.5G TRD Sportivo RM 175,350
Toyota Fortuner 2.7V TRD Sportivo RM 183,350

For all other prices, head on to the facelifted Fortuner preview page at UMW Toyota. Look after the jump for more photos of the facelifted Fortuner from Toyota’s Thailand site.

Toyota Fortuner

Thailand Toyota Fortuner Facelift with Bodykit

Toyota Fortuner

38 Comments »

1. ROTIPISANG said,

August 14, 2008 @ 8:14 am

Very nice bodykit, but too many chrome is some crowded.

2. raptorclans said,

August 14, 2008 @ 8:27 am

The new lights are awesome man… looks sportier now. But the Thailand kit is gaudy. Really -_-”

3. kingv6 said,

August 14, 2008 @ 11:01 am

I hate the chrome line thingy…The headlamp is indeed refreshing..

4. theanswer said,

August 14, 2008 @ 12:31 pm

did i saw satnav there? wow..nice car..but lack of power(for diesel engine).

5. akmal said,

August 14, 2008 @ 12:56 pm

for this type of vehicle.. torque is the most important thing.. 260Nm diesel vs 241Nm for petrol..

6. Cyberkayu said,

August 14, 2008 @ 12:57 pm

yucks

7. rcopt2000 said,

August 14, 2008 @ 1:32 pm

wow!!!!!look more sporty n advand……nice

8. PROTON SUCKS said,

August 14, 2008 @ 2:12 pm

the toyota land cruiser is so much better, why can’t we have that instead like vietnam

9. xg9 said,

August 14, 2008 @ 2:25 pm

i think julian lee just changed his name again…….. lets see who bashes proton the most.. lol..

10. abtm said,

August 14, 2008 @ 3:35 pm

who gives a shit, it’s a Toyota

11. Porkbutcher said,

August 14, 2008 @ 4:05 pm

Notable changes: side wing indicator, new rear lights, wood garnish, integrated satnav, mid row air-blower, projector lights and new grille. The photos seems like taken from Thai’s TurboDiesel Fortuner, which is slightly higher spect than the ones sold here. UMWT should include the TurboDiesel option in Fortuner’s line-up. Seriously, my dad’s Fortuner is sluggish and fuel guzzling.

12. albagmane said,

August 14, 2008 @ 6:13 pm

wow… did i see an LCD on a toyota sold by UMW??? looks like this is the start of GPS navigation here in malaysia…

13. mystvearn said,

August 14, 2008 @ 6:23 pm

Looks so confused. I think they took a range rover sport grille and copy paste on the Hilux. Chrome handle bars, not my thing. Same body colour I don’t mind.

14. Roti Naan said,

August 14, 2008 @ 7:07 pm

This car is a lil too big for city driving….unless the intention of buying this car is to be a road bully. Many Mitsu Storm I see on the malaysian road tend to be bosssy and bully to other smaller and lower cars.

15. ALPINA BMW said,

August 14, 2008 @ 7:54 pm

those wood trims look terrible

16. IsaacVky said,

August 14, 2008 @ 8:00 pm

Another rubbish by UMW

17. tunomura said,

August 14, 2008 @ 8:11 pm

The thailand version have ’spinner’ on wheel.Isn’t?..I saw this before on Thailand’s Chevrolet Trailblazer and someone told me it is good to reduce the wheel arc drag.mmm..very bling,bling

18. zaff1984 said,

August 14, 2008 @ 9:39 pm

yucks, especially at the door opener

19. PTAllTheBest said,

August 14, 2008 @ 10:29 pm

7-seater SUV for RM170k? i think i better buy a wish/stream with more fuel efficiency

20. mitlanevo said,

August 14, 2008 @ 10:40 pm

lame design, weak torque, weird bodykit…..

its a NO….

21. s60t said,

August 14, 2008 @ 10:44 pm

The fortuner has always looked ok, a bit like the previous harrier esp from the back.but when I test drove one last year,it was noisy(petrol version),felt sluggish and very bouncy/floating.did not like it at all.so unless you really use it for off roading it’s not a nice comfortable family car to have.plus parking will be a pain.I eventually bought a wish instead.

22. csv said,

August 14, 2008 @ 11:34 pm

yucks, what an ugly face lift.

but because it is a Toyota, people will buy it for the brand blindly, despite being overpriced and overrated.

23. ideoteque_85 said,

August 15, 2008 @ 8:37 am

metallic blue on this SUV is totally out, gray on might look okay. but overall…buruk haha
    Our proton should have LCDs in the the cars too!! i would dig that :D

24. king said,

August 15, 2008 @ 10:56 am

of all the overpriced toyotas…this one takes the trophy.

a hilux at 180k? you gotta be kidding. same platform…same dashboard.

25. zanggief said,

August 15, 2008 @ 12:25 pm

Now it has the feels like it’s sibling-toyota prado….
    the US s[ec.toyota prado has the similar front design…

26. kei9 said,

August 15, 2008 @ 2:20 pm

Looks like the’ve gone backwards…

Not into the design.
    And the kits? wth?
    chrome surrounds?
    looks cheap.
    Too much overkill.

But the projector lights are some of welcomed changes.
    But hate the rear lights design though. :(

27. MyviKiller said,

August 15, 2008 @ 4:00 pm

The Buick Rainier front makes it classier, but the damn bodykits are “cheapen-ing” it!!!

28. Roti Naan said,

August 15, 2008 @ 5:02 pm

xg9,

you seem to be more interested with “julian lee” than the topic of discussion here. just my little observation.

29. mitlanevo said,

August 16, 2008 @ 4:59 pm

bet my money on Honda and Nissan anytime, haha….

30. Azam said,

May 10, 2009 @ 9:54 am

banyak cakap! suka beli la…tak suka jangan banyak cakap…tunjuk pandai konon…

31. Sam c. said,

May 13, 2009 @ 4:01 pm

Is the Fortuner due for an “all new” model by next year 2010?

32. Tuni said,

June 15, 2009 @ 6:44 pm

more better if Toyota put 3.0L for the diesel engine. oh ya, I just surfing about Isuzu MU-7 with 3.0L iTEC, it is look handsome and tough, why don,t Isuzu introduce it to Malaysian SUV fans?

33. RANJEET N. PISAL DESHMUKH said,

August 8, 2009 @ 3:43 pm

IT IS HIGHLY APPRECITED OF TOYOTA VEHICALS BUT IF THE COMPANY IS LAUNCHING THE NEW FORTURNER ON 24TH OF THIS MONTH, THEN IT WAS THERE RESPONSIBILITY TO DISPLAY THE VEHICAL WHICH IS INTRODUCE IN MARKET IN 2005. WHY TO LEAVE GOSSP. THE OLD CUSTOMER LIKE ME WILL APPRECITED THE MARKETING CONCEPT OF THE COMPANY.
    AWAITING FOR THE TECHNICAL DETAILS ,PHOTOGRAPS OR A CLIP OF THE GREAT FORTURNER .BEST OF LUCK TO THE WHOLE TEAM.

34. GREEN said,

August 11, 2009 @ 4:29 pm

the different beetwen Thai TOYOTA FORTUNER & Vietnam?

35. maria said,

August 23, 2009 @ 11:15 pm

ths car is a vry beutiflu car n has everythn i need in a car,its da type of car i wud lyc to buy!!thnx

36. RAJAN said,

October 8, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

THAT CAR IS SO BEAUTIFUL BUT ITZ PRICE IS SO HIGH

37. CARLOS said,

November 16, 2009 @ 7:58 am

AMO ES CAMIONETA OK

38. CARLOS said,

November 16, 2009 @ 7:59 am

ESA CAM ES UN SUEÑO

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Shell launches new diesel with improved formula
next post: PM: Proton can submit proposals for foreign partner