Proton Satria Neo: Top Gear Australia’s “Bog Standard Car!”

Proton Satria Neo

Fans of Top Gear will know that one of the segments in the popular motoring TV show is the “Star in a Reasonably Priced Car”. In the UK show it is currently the Chevrolet Lacetti (called the Optra on our shores), which replaced a Suzuki Liana after the first 7 seasons.

What happens is a celebrity is brought onto the show, is interviewed about his or her interests in cars, then the star sets a lap around the Top Gear test track in the car.

In Top Gear Australia, the segment is called the “Star in a Bog Standard Car”, and the first car used is our very own Proton Satria Neo! I’d say its a great choice thanks to its relatively cheap price and above average handling, and for the most of it because I am Malaysian and it’s quite exciting to see something as familiar as a Proton used.

Proton Australia (whether they paid for this inclusion or not) must be really happy that their little hatch getting plenty of airtime through the show. As for the new and upcoming Top Gear USA, their reasonably priced car is supposed to be the Kia Rio.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 9:17 pm

so what ? what’s the big deal ?? Satria Neo …..

• nyawere (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 9:48 pm

What do you mean, “soo what..? Big deall…?” of course it’s a big deal. Any true malaysian will be damm proud…! Despite all the problems with Proton, it is still our National pride…!!!! Sooo, Good for you Proton…!!!!

• ignas (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 9:58 pm

perhaps their perceptions of proton cars there is like our perceptions of cars in india, cheap.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 9:59 pm

ops, sry for double post, as a malaysian i forgot to say how proud i m, yeah go proton!

• freeze (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 10:34 pm

Cool. But how will the giant Aussies fit in?

• art806 (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 10:36 pm

If Aussies cant fit in, the producer wouldn’t choose NEO in the first place. Just give Neo the credit la….

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 10:48 pm

i think its paid. proton is widely known for doing charity in australia. sponsor this sponsor that. Win a free car here and there etc. no surprises.
    anyway….RRP for proton driveaway is very cheap anyway.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 11:03 pm

Yay!!!!!!!!!!proud of it..again..since it was graded “best 2nd hand valued car”.

• xenith (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Remember, the driver seat for the UK spec Neo are different. Maybe this Neo follows the same spec?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 12:26 am

are u sure UK spec neo seat are different?coz i read critics for low ceiling all over the world. By the way..i am proud…TOP GEAR MAN…even its not UK edition.

• Infinitt (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 1:01 am

Proud..proud..because i’m malaysian. Congratulation Proton !! Selamat Hari Raya to all Muslim. Drive Safely.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 7:46 am

freeze said,

September 29, 2008 @ 10:34 pm

Cool. But how will the giant Aussies fit in?
    ———-
    I heard some Mat Salleh frequent hit their head due to lower ceiling.
    Yet heard tat, the seat’re lower. Which a?
    But wat i know was, Aussie’re not so good in handling corner like the japs do. p/s: Almost turnover was wat i notiice in the picture..lol

• dUrEx333 (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:15 am

Congratulation Proton..

• zidane (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:27 am

Congratulation Proton !!

I am happy to support you!!

• jaygan (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:28 am

Top Gear Malaysia, anyone?

If there is one, I bet the car used will be ????? Anyone. :D

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:41 am

If viewed as “just a car”, the Neo isn’t bad car, even with its minor niggles (headroom, weird throttle responses, plasticy interior, incomplete engine – yes it does need the CPS….). It handles quite decently out of the showroom.

Viewed as a Proton here, unfortunately it just got eclipsed by the companie’s QC blunders and being a pawn in the political exploitation of the country.

I’m quite sure that the Aussie proton gets better specs and probably dirt cheap pricing in comparison, as well as none of the political baggage. Kind of hard to complain when it might be one of the cheapest car in the Aussie market for its class.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:04 am

if mat salleh’s head hit the car roof, Proton should give-away free helmet.

Afterall, Pronton is sooooo charitable and good hearted

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:14 am

I’m quite sure that the Aussie proton gets better specs and probably dirt cheap pricing in comparison, as well as none of the political baggage. Kind of hard to complain when it might be one of the cheapest car in the Aussie market for its class.

————————————————

the aussie cars

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:17 am

————————————————

OOPS. anyways..
    the aussie cars and uk cars are the same spec as our malaysian high-line. no point with people here speculating. just some simple basic research will give you the answer.

the neo was also used as a pace car for one of the aussie tracks also apparently.

but interesting bit of news paul.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:34 am

this shows how lousy malaysian cars are

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 10:45 am

Nah, prices in australia are abit higher for the same trim levels. The only exception to this was last year’s Savvy promotion – proton was forced to drop their prices to AUD14000 for the basic Savvy as Hyundai slashed the price of the Getz, and Mazda was clearing their (old boxy one) Mazda2 Neo’s as well.

Believe it or not, car prices arent that expensive in malaysia as you may believe (yes, they are _unaffordable_ .. but not expensive). Imported cars end up being only about 15-30% cheaper in most countries once all OTR costs are factored in (registration, stamp duty, plates, shipping). Ask your friends in Thailand how much cars cost over there. Protons cost more in thailand, yet are still among the cheapest… and Thailand does not have NAP.

• nyawere (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 11:23 am

As for the head clerance thing, if you guys can remember, in Top Gear Uk,
    1) There is a roll cage
    2) A different seat. They use a Recaro Bucket seat (Meaning that they can re adjust the seat height when fitting the new recaro’s)
    3) Even in Top Gear UK, the tall people will always complain about their head hitting the roof/rool cage.

Conclusion is, IT”S OK…!!!! no big deal…

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 12:15 pm

ezralimm …. do you know what are you talking about ??

Car prices not really very expensive in Malaysia ??

C’mon you are either ignorant or pure dumb !!

Just compare with Singapore which has the COE, Jaguar XF cost less than S$200k as compared to here RM460K and also the BMW X5 ii Sg less than S$200k over here RM550K …..

pls dun convert as people in Sg earn $ dollar to dollar if not higher than us in Mal.

• biggie (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 12:50 pm

Majuperak
    For the class of cars ezralim talking about the answer is yes. Not comparing Jag or X5 but city/vios and proton.

The problem with Malaysia or more particularly being Malaysian with Malaysian pay is not about the car being expensive (it is not for some class of cars), but for the pay/salary/profit that we get, we cannot afford the cars we ‘need’ to buy. Not to mention the car that we desired.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 1:10 pm

biggie,

even the mass market cars …..Vios is only S$50k and Jazz also S$60K as compared to Mal. …. the point i’m saying cars in Malaysia is one of the highest price int the world ….. dollar to dollar and based on our salary or purchasing power.

Something is just not right here in Malaysia …..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 1:39 pm

biggie,

even the mass market cars …..Vios is only S$50k and Jazz also S$60K as compared to Mal. …. the point i’m saying cars in Malaysia is one of the highest price int the world ….. dollar to dollar and based on our salary or purchasing power.

Something is just not right here in Malaysia …..

everything is wrong, gti’s are cheaper than cooper s, an audi a4 costs the same as a volkswagen passat….some things we are cheaper but most things they are cheaper

• dr_carz (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 2:14 pm

ACCEPT OUR RINGGIT IS DROPPING BECAUSE THE INDON, NEPALESE DAN BANLADESHSS ARE SENDING RINGGIT TO THEIR COUNTRY!

• ... (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 4:10 pm

I’ve been to thailand.

Maybe some of the cars are cheaper, but alot of them are more expensive than us. I’ve seen BMW 330i priced the same as M3 in Malaysia. A picanto is nearly RM50K. And i haven’t mentioned about the petrol prices in Thailand…

• nyte_skater (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 4:50 pm

well, i saw the Australia version of Top Gear. It makes me proud.
    The stig did 1.22 on the lap where as the VINCE guy did 1.34. The fastest car (currently) Porsche PDK 1.11 secs if im not mistaken.

the link of the vid–> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r5Sm0sVbJ4Y&feature=related . Bog standard car starts at 7.01.

CHEERS!

• abtm (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 6:36 pm

guys it gets better, there might be a Proton Arena as well next week in a ute challenge. thre’s a picture at
    http://www.sbs.com.au/topgearaustralia/

• b4nd3r (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:27 pm

I think proton did a good job. I feel proud of proton. But please be very very responsive to customers’ complains. You still have long & tough journey to go. Gudluck !

MajuPerak, car price in Malaysia is expensive and so in Singapore. HAve you considered the forex and buying power of one country to another? Singapore is not a good example if you wanna make comparison consider the COE price fluctuation.

If you really wanna make global car price comparison, please look it on wider perspective. Many other factors you need to consider. Do consider UK & US market. They practice open market without protectionism & direct government intervention.

Rasa2 klo UK ngan US tu jauh sgt .. gi tgk market INdon ngan Thai .. pun dah cukup… emmmm .. wat ever ..

• b4nd3r (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:41 pm

Eh lupa plak .. Brune murah dol .. Langkawi & Labuan pun murah .. Sarawak .. klo recond murah gak … dah road tax puh murah dol ..

• b4nd3r (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:43 pm

Singapore mmg tak murah laaaaaaa …

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:54 pm

ezralimm said,

Believe it or not, car prices arent that expensive in malaysia as you may believe (yes, they are _unaffordable_ .. but not expensive). Imported cars end up being only about 15-30% cheaper in most countries once all OTR costs are factored in (registration, stamp duty, plates, shipping)

All I can say is “wow” at the sheer arrogance and disconnection from the masses apparent in that paragraph. “only about 15-30% cheaper” is not a big deal? Cars in Malaysia aren’t expensive, they’re just unaffordable? LOL. Look, not everyone gets a new Honda Jazz from their daddy while studying abroad, so try and see it from the viewpoint of people who work for a living, where 15-30% off of a car’s purchase price can make a huge difference when it comes to family finances.

• szw (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:24 pm

go proton…

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Proton Sagwa said, September 30, 2008 @ 8:54 pm.
    ———————————————
    ++ (!) personal attack. that’s low dude.
    criticize the info not the person mentioning the info.

biggie said, September 30, 2008 @ 12:50 pm
    For the class of cars ezralim talking about the answer is yes. Not comparing Jag or X5 but city/vios and proton.
    The problem with Malaysia or more particularly being Malaysian with Malaysian pay is not about the car being expensive (it is not for some class of cars), but for the pay/salary/profit that we get, we cannot afford the cars we ‘need’ to buy. Not to mention the car that we desired.
    ————————————————-
    ++ My point exactly. Cars are indeed more _unaffordable_ in newly industrialized countries than first world countries.

… said, September 30, 2008 @ 4:10 pm
    I’ve been to thailand.
    Maybe some of the cars are cheaper, but alot of them are more expensive than us. I’ve seen BMW 330i priced the same as M3 in Malaysia. A picanto is nearly RM50K. And i haven’t mentioned about the petrol prices in Thailand…
    ———————————————————
    ++ Yeah, that’s what i was talking about. I’ve got a few friends from thailand, and was surprised to hear that cars there are more expensive and _unaffordable_ than in malaysia… Thailand is supposedly the “detroit of asia”.

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:50 pm

“-.- the video was hmm..

somehow top gear without jeremy and crew is just … erm, not right.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 11:58 pm

thats right. 3rd world countries like thailand and msia should stop taxing the poor and middle class while handing the rich gold plates by the dozen. who cares if the thai have to pay more for thier cars(they already get to pay very cheap for thier hookers). as long as malaysia becomes the detroit of asia nd enjoy a successful export centre for worldwide cars while keeping prices lower for all makes to as low as proton currently is. i beleive we as a country have more potential than thailand and should not be held back by proton and associated cronnies.

• assimo (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 1:52 am

wow guys..its out of topic already..it will no ending if we still ‘fight’ and debate about comparing car price with another country..just accept the fact that we stay in Malaysia and just work hard and get enough money to buy whatever car you can afford..now we talk about Satria Neo..hehehe..

• Neoman (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 2:53 am

ok.. let’s back to the topics..
    the Satria Neo is very good in handling indeed!!!
    only the Stock Tyres need to be replace to high-end type
    and i guaranty you the fun on its cornering..
    especially corners at hills…
    Power Window having no problem…
    ntg major has breakdown…
    only the engine power…
    If it was a CPS, the fun is much more!
    Well, i’m still proud to own this car!!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 9:27 am

thats right. 3rd world countries like thailand and msia should stop taxing the poor and middle class while handing the rich gold plates by the dozen. who cares if the thai have to pay more for thier cars(they already get to pay very cheap for thier hookers). as long as malaysia becomes the detroit of asia nd enjoy a successful export centre for worldwide cars while keeping prices lower for all makes to as low as proton currently is. i beleive we as a country have more potential than thailand and should not be held back by proton and associated cronnies.

the future lies in UAE, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 10:13 am

topgunthang said,
    September 30, 2008 @ 11:58 pm

thats right. 3rd world countries like thailand and msia should stop taxing the poor and middle class while handing the rich gold plates by the dozen.
    ————————————————————

i know this is off topic, but i think you’re not looking at the whole issue here..do you think this is a problem only facing malaysia and thailand? the problem is worldwide.. there is just too much money in the hands of too few people..

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Nice, proton getting free airtime there:D

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 11:52 pm

heh Ezra, you’re pretty thin-skinned if you think stating a simple fact constitutes a “personal attack”. Lots of parents buy their kids cars, I don’t have a problem with that at all. It sure is irritating though to hear one of those kids talking about 30% of a car price as if it’s nothing, when to most people it certainly is something.

Not even to mention the hypocrisy of someone who defends the NAP, yet goes abroad and chooses a Honda for a reasonably small premium over a Proton. An otherwise unremarkable choice except it’s a choice denied to a lot of average Malaysians.

Your whole “unaffordable for newly industrialized countries” argument falls to pieces when you consider how much of the purchase price for most makes in this country is due to exorbitant tax. And frankly it’s always a bit pitiful when people defending government policy inevitably turn in desperation to waving the “At Least We’re Better Than Thailand!” flag.

• arc_knight (Member) on Oct 02, 2008 at 10:26 pm

haha…satria neo design is good not n not so poor…it’s oklar…if no money to buy sporty design car then mai prefere satria noe lo…eventhou slow a bit la…still can protect ur face ma at least…

• ReactiX (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Neo is a good car indeed in its class. talking about poor headroom, c’mon, supercar that clarkson guy drive is no better than that, yet he wasnt complaining. and i agree that Neo need pure power injected from CPS engine.

• Hasrul on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:34 pm

waiting for neo campro cps turbo version, sure buy one

• Erm… You guys do know that "Bog" means "toilet" in British/Aussie slang?

So you're proud that our Neo is featured in a segment called "Star in a Toilet Standard Car"?

• bagus patut korang review R3 Lotus…… wakaka…