3rd Generation Toyota Avensis: Full Details & Photos

Toyota Avensis

The new third generation Toyota Avensis made a public debut at the 2008 Paris Motor Show and features a few firsts when you’re talking about Toyota in Europe. The new Avensis is available in two bodystyles – sedan and wagon.

The new Avensis has the same 2700mm wheelbase as the outgoing second generation model, but Toyota claims this is a new platform, or perhaps an enhanced old one which they think deserves the term new. Despite being a D-segment sedan this is significantly shorter than the Camry’s 2776mm wheelbase. But then again apparently this is how the Europeans like their D-segment sedans so it’s quite normal for them.

Despite the same wheelbase, tread has been increased by between 30mm to 45mm and width has gone up by 50mm to 1810mm. The sedan is slightly more aerodynamic than the wagon at 0.28 Cd compared to 0.29 Cd. They are both 1480mm tall. The sedan is 4695mm long while the wagon measures at 4765mm.

The engine range consists from something as small as a 1.6 litre petrol unit all the way up to a 2.2 litre D-4D turbodiesel. All the petrol engine feature Toyota’s new Valvematic technology which incorporates continuously variable valve lift together with VVT-i valve timing control. The 1.6, 1.8 and 2.0 Valvematic engines produce 132hp with 160Nm of torque, 147hp with 180Nm of torque and 152hp with 196Nm of torque respectively.

The 1.6 petrol unit only comes with a 6-speed manual but for the 1.8 and 2.0 litre models there is the option for the Multidrive S CVT transmission which succeeds the Super CVT-i transmission. This transmission behaves like a conventional CVT normally but when it senses you are driving hard, it automatically changes to a mode which swaps virtual cogs between 7-speed pre-determined ratios for a more sporty feel.

The oil burners range from a 2.0 litre and two 2.2 litre D-4D engines.These engines feature new piezo injectors and increased common rail pressure at 2,000 bar. The base 2.0 litre diesel produces 126hp and 310Nm of torque between 1800 and 2400rpm. The more sedate of the two 2.2 litre engines is the D-4D 150 which produces 150hp and 340Nm of torque between 2200 and 2800rpm.

The most powerful engine is the 2.2 D-4D 180, featuring 177hp and a massive 400Nm of torque between 2000 to 2800rpm. The D-4D 150 also comes with a 6-speed automatic transmission, a first for a Toyota diesel passenger car.

Look after the jump for a photo gallery of the new Avensis.

PHOTO GALLERY: New Toyota Avensis
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:115]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• konoha (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 11:29 am

1st???!!!!
    UGLY!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 11:32 am

not bad i think….

• i like the interior…

• zzua (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:57 pm

132hp from a 1.6..

• neurra (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 1:01 pm

7cm diff. for the wheelbase isn’t that much of a significant difference paul.. it’s still kinda big.. can’t wait to look at it real life..

• 9211 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 2:25 pm

Nice design.. looks European.. better than the new but ugly Altis… but the interior not much innovative, the metering looks typical…

• hareshi (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 2:29 pm

almost Ugly But weird… wannabe transformers…

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:36 pm

Why do they have to tarik the head lamp like tat????…zzz

• ignas (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 3:42 pm

ugly… my RES turtle still cuter.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Camry size on Altis price?

• King Samurai (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 4:59 pm

Toyota try to copy Honda??? Many Honda resemblance on this car…Look at the steering wheel..looks familiar? Wagon’s extra large moon roof and rear profile..similar to Honda Airwave wagon.

• LHQ (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 11:02 pm

n8cky said,
    October 9, 2008 @ 3:36 pm

Why do they have to tarik the head lamp like tat????…zzz
    —————————————————————-
    why don’t you ask the same question to the BMW 5 series?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 8:27 am

King Samurai said,
    October 9, 2008 @ 4:59 pm

Toyota try to copy Honda??? Many Honda resemblance on this car…Look at the steering wheel..looks familiar? Wagon’s extra large moon roof and rear profile..similar to Honda Airwave wagon.

———

? Smells off a Honda Fanboi.
    Seriously you think any car that has an extra large moonroof the same profile apes the Honda? Its not like Honda didn’t ape anyone before. Frankly, I see no resemblence at all.

This is going to be thrown into the thick of things, with the Mondeo, newly designed Insignia and the E90 BMW.

Oddly enough, you don’t see a lot of Hondas in Europe….perhaps of thier weakness in diesel powerplants.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 1:58 pm

acceptable la. Looks funny on the design, but driving side, i think it will be comfortable ride

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 2:29 pm

Well, at the very least it looks several times better than our Corolla Altis…

• torque (Member) on Oct 10, 2008 at 5:02 pm

Well…the back design got my vote! Can’t say much about the front thou. Still, I like what I read. “The 1.6 petrol unit only comes with a 6-speed manual”- That’s cool. A six speed for a mere 1.6 litre?! It’ll be a great joy to drive back to kampung but my favorite is the diesel one. 2.2 D-4D 180, featuring 177hp and a massive 400Nm of torque between 2000 to 2800rpm – What a torque! Nice to plunder around the city road…nice effort to Toyota! Question is, bila mau jual sini? People here got bored of your old four speeder ler…I hope UMW don’t simply hike price like our G ye, boleh?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:03 pm

bad bad bad, when all its competition are so good

• farhathaniff (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:40 am

pretty decent. Robotic, futuristic. I dno if its tuneable. The front lights though reminds me of the Lexus RS SUV.

• ront (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 3:49 pm

I just gave the 2.0 D4D 126bhp Wagon a go last evening. quite a few changes made on this one. I am currently driving the previous generation of the same model.

the engine is basically the same. however, its tuned differently to give the new one better fuel consumption. This new Avensis is compliant to Euro V standard.

although the body has been enlarged, i didnt feel the extra space while sitting in it.

Additions to the new Avensis, the park brake is now a switch. There’s an auxillary input for the stereo system. The electronic start button is not standard in all models. The new steering and display is more pleasant to the eye. All the interior lights are really bright!

On the minus side….the engine noise seems to be more audible in the cabin. They took out the auto dimming of the rear view mirror and made it optional. The side mirrors are not electronically retractable as standard. Radio antennae added on the roof because the window where the previous gen has the integrated antennae has shrunk.

to sum it up……i think i need to keep my 2nd gen avensis…unless i am willing to fork out plenty of extra to go for the next level up in the variation offering.

• grimsbyairlie (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 3:27 am

Received a new 2.0D TR Tourer a couple of days ago. Having never driven an Avensis before cannot compare against previous models, however i think this car gives a lovely smooth drive and the cockpit is extremely comfy and user friendly. The only criticisms i have is the mp3 function on the cd player could be better and beware of the ‘tungsten blue’ colour, it differs from the pictures i have seen and used to make my choice on the net, looks more grey in real life.