Mugen’s aerodynamic Zero-Lift Honda Insight

Mugen Insight

It’s obvious that Honda and Mugen work closely on Honda cars even before they are officially released, looking at how fast Mugen comes out with kits for new Hondas. The Mugen kit for the new Honda Insight is out and it’s called the Mugen Zero-Lift Insight, which like its namesake is supposed to create zero-lift for the car, according to Mugen. Yup, a bodykit that’s fully wind-tunnel tested.

The aerokit is made up of a new grille, front under spoiler, side spoiler, rear under spoiler, and a rear wing. You can fit a triangular-shaped sports silencer on the rear. There are visors for the side windows that are ventilated to ensure it does not interrupt air flow. There are a choice of 2 wheel designs (a Y-spoke XJ design and a 7-spoke NR design) in various colours. A sports suspension is available for improved handling. Mugen also offers the i-TCMS system which is a tyre pressure monitoring system. On the inside you can also specify a “sports mat”, whatever that is.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 7:35 am

hmmmm….i personally like the insight’s design. tho it does have some design cues from the prius.

this tho…is one hot hybrid. I like more!

cam.shaft

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:34 am

in general, i think most malaysian consumers couldnt care for zero-lift. more importantly for them , is price and looks.

• fastcx (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 12:14 pm

definitely love the shape of insight, n reli love the ground effect kit! hot hybrid! ;) i reli wants to install an under belly pan to straighten my car’s belly for less drag..neo’s front cant do much other than do some fibre work on near the botton of the front bumper as extension, front spoiler is too low for neo :( ezily scratched!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 1:44 pm

yeah..agree..its better look than prius in every angle…sweet

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 4:19 pm

what’s the difference between clarity and insight? will we ever see these cars in malaysia?

• kamisama-alex (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:35 pm

Insight is for Japan and UK market. I don’t think we’re going to get it. If you notice, our drivers prefers style, price and power. Malaysians seldom talk about green credentials when comes to driving. Needless to say, our diesel can’t even meet the requirements from the latest diesel engines with bluetec. A very big disappointment and a big blow towards the green initiatives.

• painsama (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Don’t like the spoiler.

• fzcorp (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 6:21 pm

mukhri88,
    clarity’s a fuel-cell hydrogen..
    insight’s a hybrid powered by Honda’s IMA–Integrated Motor Assist..

really hope that either insight or prius will come to m’sia..if both dont,plz Honda,take the hybrid coupe,CR-Z, to m’sia..

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:49 pm

The spoiler sticks out sorely to me. From side looks Ok, but from the back looks ugly

• isharestuff (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:33 pm

The A pillar carries a little Civic design. In general it looks like a brother to Civic Type R (especially when it’s white).

And Mugen, never stops to bring sport spirit to any Honda even if it’s a hybrid! Look at that rear wing! It fits the overall look no kidding. Accord? Screw that, ugly.

With this series of suspension, rims, exhaust system, guess the car will be lot of fun to drive. Screw that 3 years warranty.

• darren82my (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 5:15 pm

i like the spoiler.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 11:10 pm

Yeah right. Just say lah how much downforce you can generate with those additional stuff. Plus, since you are adding weight with those bodykits, how would it affect 0 to 60mph? Oh its a 1.3 liter i-vtec with some electric motor assistance….ok forget I even asked.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:41 pm

whats next? trd toyota prius?

• nmh (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 3:16 pm

OMG fat civic….PUKE…..sorry guys

• bobdbilder on Feb 13, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Dudes the Insight is a hybrid. U know the type; greener than green. You think its gonna reach 120kmh? Coz that’s where aerodynamics start to matter. Bodykits on a hybrid. Amazing what people try to flog off these days ainit?

• btw, japan already rolling out plug in electric chargers at fuel stations already.

mitsubish and subaru have introduced first EVs right now. with nissan being next in 2010.

currently there are 7 stations in japan with this tech, but full nationwide saturation will finished at around 2011.

the future is here, ladies and gentlemen.