V12-powered Rolls-Royce 200EX Concept previews future unnamed “compact” model

Rolls-Royce 200EX Concept

This is Rolls-Royce’s new 200EX concept car, which is set to be unveiled to the public for the first time at the Geneva Motorshow early next month. This car has gone by various names in the last few months, the 200EX, the RR4, these are all codenames for the production version which has yet to be named in public.

Despite this being a concept, it should look very similiar to the production model, something that the BMW Group has been known for doing for their last few concept cars. BMW promises that this “baby” Rolls-Royce will ride as well as traditional Rolls-Royce models such as the Phantom, and it will even use an air suspension like in the Phantom. This model is based on some components from the long wheelbase F02 7-Series chassis, which only has air springs at the rear.

Rolls-Royce 200EX Concept

It will have its own height, length and wheelbase, unique to the car and not shared with any other model. Its wheelbase of 3295mm is longer than the LWB 7-Series F02’s 3,210mm, but shorter than the Phantom’s massive 3,571mm wheelbase. Not sure whether the F01/F02’s rear wheel steering will make it into this vehicle or not, but if the whole idea is a more compact Rolls with a more engaging drive I don’t see why the rear wheel steering system won’t fit the bill.

Under the hood will be a new BMW V12 engine which will also debut in the 760i, and some publications have reported a 6-speed auto, so I have no idea what happened to that 8-speed automatic transmission that was supposed to be sourced from ZF. While we enjoy the concept for now, BMW is still working hard on a production version which will be revealed later this year at the Frankfurt show.

Check out a gallery of shots after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=118]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• knight_templar (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 4:23 pm

another bad idea from BMW. If I could afford it, why would I settle for a smaller RR? Think abt it, a smaller RR with a V12!? Imagine pulling up to a grand ball next to a Phantom with a V12 but urs is 'smaller'. U cant do the hot hatch thingy, u kno plonk a big engine into a small car and expect RR customers to buy it. If u want style, go for the RR phantom coupe.

• szw (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 6:13 pm

this car looks so much cleaner in terms of design

• lochangyong (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:16 pm

this might nto be needed as rolls royce should be what they are . having a smaller one might make it sounds weird, i hope they wont slot a rolls royce more .

anyway , it is a good idea that they have a contender for the bentley continental series . where the rolls royce phantom is simply too enormous to challenge bentley.

• muryadi (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:23 pm

So what it's EuroNCAP safety/crash test value? 7-stars?

• julian-lee (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 7:53 pm

rolls royce is better when they is still under bmw last time

• nmh (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:02 pm

phantom—for sultan, fine lah

tis one—for menteri2, err….

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 8:17 pm

Sweet!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 10:18 pm

dont be surprised , god knows wat state next will order this to replace their perdana !

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 1:13 am

No dimensions on this "baby" car? Maybe they found it too hard to side park with the old longer version, so this is the solution :P

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 1:29 am

[quote comment="212373"]dont be surprised , god knows wat state next will order this to replace their perdana ![/quote]

i'm sure it will somehow turn out cheaper to maintain this, then the perdana ;)

• painsama (Member) on Feb 21, 2009 at 6:10 am

Such a gorgeous car.

But keep on dreaming. Most of us won't be able to buy this in our lifetime.

• 4g63tDSM on Feb 21, 2009 at 8:46 pm

[quote comment="212138"]another bad idea from BMW. If I could afford it, why would I settle for a smaller RR? Think abt it, a smaller RR with a V12!? Imagine pulling up to a grand ball next to a Phantom with a V12 but urs is 'smaller'. U cant do the hot hatch thingy, u kno plonk a big engine into a small car and expect RR customers to buy it. If u want style, go for the RR phantom coupe.[/quote]

Think of this perhaps of a 4 door RR that you would rather drive yourself instead of being driven in. You wont want to be seen driving a Phantom do you? Right..precisely.

• knight_templar (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 4:27 am

If i could afford any RRs, why should I drive in the first place? Id spend my weekends yachting in exotic locales, dining at posh joints or simply flying to Montenegro for a game of poker in my Learjet. So Im still right, this is a bad idea from BMW.

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 6:57 am

this looks like the finished product