Subaru Justy: Rebadged Daihatsu Sirion/Perodua Myvi gets racy upgrades!

Subaru has revealed a newly improved Justy 1.0R which is basically a re-badged version of the Daihatsu Sirion which is known in Malaysia as the Perodua Myvi.

This newly “improved” version, designated as the Justy 1.0 Twin Cam Special Edition carries a limited production run of 100 units only, with 50 finished in Black Mica and another 50 in Shinning Red.

With a base price of £9,995 which is about £700 more than the standard 1.0R, the Twin Cam Special Edition is powered by the same 68HP 3 cylinder engine found in the 1.0R, and is treated to a rear roof spoiler, twin exhaust system, over roof ‘viper stripes’ and side decals, leather and alloy gear knob and rear privacy glass.

As standard, just like the 1.0R model, it features ABS with EBD, radio/CD player with AUX input, four electric windows and remote central-locking. There are also driver, passenger, front side and curtain airbags. Potential buyers can also opt for 15-inch Monza R alloy wheels wrapped with Toyo 185/55R15 tires for an extra £ 600.

Just the Myvi we have back at home, it is also one of the cheapest vehicles to run in Europe with a 64.2 miles to the gallon fuel consumption figure based on the Extra Urban Cycle and an annual £ 35 Road Fund License fee. Subaru also further revealed that “The new Justy 1.0 Twin Cam now offers even more, and offers a racy alternative for the younger, and the young-at-heart, motorist”.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:25 pm

“The new Justy 1.0 Twin Cam now offers even more, and offers a racy alternative for the younger, and the young-at-heart, motorist”.

Nope, the Myvi's already offered a DIY racy alternative…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:31 pm

1 litre NA? not underpowered?

• the stik (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:51 pm

negara mane dia jual justy ni?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:55 pm

[quote comment="214872"]1 litre NA? not underpowered?[/quote]

i suspect its also to help reduce the cost of insurance ..etc. for the targetted young drivers who will most likely be buying this car.. usually, the insurance cost is what kills these buyers.

• I my (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 7:09 pm

how about a tuned by "prodrive" ver?? put in a small turbo & 4WD hehe

• theanswer (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 7:17 pm

[quote comment="214872"]1 litre NA? not underpowered?[/quote]

From what i read in foreign website(uk i think)..they love the 1.0 compared to 1.3 sirion. i dunno why. the 1.0 gives more spirited driving maybe.

• indigo (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Nice price for a 1.0 boxy car.

• scottloeb (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 7:22 pm

An insult to Subaru!

• MyBoy (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 8:14 pm

Stupid Subaru.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 8:58 pm

[quote comment="214901"]how about a tuned by "prodrive" ver?? put in a small turbo & 4WD hehe[/quote]

the car will no longer be affordable, and the target group of buyers wouldnt be able to afford it.

• mohdjiman (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 8:59 pm

Err…maybe can sell like hot cakes there…like here in Malaysia…err…

• naikmotoje (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 9:18 pm

1.0 underpower… hehe

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 9:37 pm

OK.then we can see myvi will turn to Subaru in Malaysian road.(beside passo).malaysian like to facelift their car themselves.

1.0 ha?can smoked by daihatsu cuore 6th gen a.k.a Viva.

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 9:39 pm

[quote comment="214866"]“The new Justy 1.0 Twin Cam now offers even more, and offers a racy alternative for the younger, and the young-at-heart, motorist”.

Nope, the Myvi's already offered a DIY racy alternative…[/quote]

68hp for Justy and 86hp for Myvi, almost 1 tonne kerb weight, what so racy about that?

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 9:55 pm

agreed..good for round2 in the town.for rempit2 i dont think so

• dir3wolf (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 10:02 pm

Fuiyo 1.0 TWIN CAM!!!

• shamel (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 10:17 pm

Max. output (DIN) (kW/rpm) 43 / 6000 64 / 6000 MyV 1.0

Max. torque (DIN) (Nm/rpm) 88 / 3600 116 / 3200 MyV 1.3

If the engine is same, so Myvi 1.0 entry level really save if we just want use it as a workhorse, pick up our children and go to pasar malam?

As long as it can give good return l'm fine with it though very sluggish (inevitable) for hiway driving.

Anyone drive Myvi 1.0 and wanna share your FC story with us? Thank you in advance.

• shamel (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 10:22 pm

Ours 1.0=43KW=59+hp Justy 68HP. Quite significant.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 10:26 pm

Felt so "lebih" for this Justy….

• the stik (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 11:23 pm

justy ni jual kat jepun ke?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 11:40 pm

[quote comment="215061"]justy ni jual kat jepun ke?[/quote]

european market.. read paul's article. all the details are there.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 12:19 am

1.0, NA, 68HP,great fc, a bid to sell it cheap in EU….pushing of the old stocks maybe, to cut losses ….reading most "comments" here, i suspect most of you dont really know what 68HP can do on a light car like this.in the hands of a pro like "Russ Swift"

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_CUjhvg84A&feature=related) , this nimble cookie can make your jaws drop. beware of where you display your IQ NO# hehe……..

• the stik (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 12:25 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop.. tq tq.. now i dun have to read all the article lah hehehe..

• Aaron Ch'ng You (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 1:36 am

Same Model like Myvi but don't have side mirror indacator light

• waytogo on Feb 25, 2009 at 3:58 am

i believe in no time we will able to see P2 'JUSTY" wannabe on the road …2009 'facelift' version of 'myvi passo wannabe'… yawnnnnn!

• Wisdom (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:36 am

[quote comment="215076"]1.0, NA, 68HP,great fc, a bid to sell it cheap in EU….pushing of the old stocks maybe, to cut losses ….reading most "comments" here, i suspect most of you dont really know what 68HP can do on a light car like this.in the hands of a pro like "Russ Swift"

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_CUjhvg84A&feature=related)

, this nimble cookie can make your jaws drop. beware of where you display your IQ NO# hehe……..[/quote]

Thx for the clip.

Err… what so 68hp about that Evo?

Or u mean that Mini parallel parking? That relates more to handling rather than absolute engine power dont u agree?

• hidrogentank on Feb 25, 2009 at 7:24 am

Wisdom;

hey..most welcome. the clip was about "Swift" not the cars. anyway just so you know..this justy/myvi/boon platform is pretty nimble, so my point really is..68hp is enough to create some sense of excitement in the hands of a "good driver" so to speak.

• why did subaru become so pathetic?

• the stik (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 3:32 pm

car for the Justirizer..

• I my (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 7:05 pm

hmmm… I hv a pink 'i' of the impreza wonder can swap into my Myvi… hehe then may be for that can get 10hp!!!

• jeanloo on Feb 26, 2009 at 1:04 am

With that kind of money, tou can buy a Myvi SE edition with the balance to take you gf and drive all over penisular Malaysia for a vacation and still have change you pimp up your ride.

• jeanloo on Feb 26, 2009 at 1:06 am

3 cylinder engine is the same you find in a Kenari??

Paul Tan says: It's the same one in the 1.0 liter Myvi. It has variable valve timing while the Kenari's does not.

• jeanloo on Feb 26, 2009 at 1:24 am

So it's a 1.0 DVVT. So why is an inferior car compare to our 1.3 Myvi selling at such an expensive price? Just because it has a Subaru tag on it?

• nazri on Feb 26, 2009 at 2:00 am

myvi owner can buy persona emblem then slap with subaru logo…

• dothan on Feb 26, 2009 at 4:25 am

No wonder new Myvi facelift has a different bonet from previous one

• syed zainal mesti bangga sbb subaru pun dah pandai rebadge

• 1.3 for is bad enough. 1.0? This car equivalent to myvi is kind of heavy on a 1.3, but 1.0? wth….

• Must be same engine as the Kelisa/ Daihatsu Cuore

• autojohndoe on Feb 27, 2009 at 2:04 am

gie7 said,

February 25, 2009 @ 10:51 pm · Reply with quote

syed zainal mesti bangga sbb subaru pun dah pandai rebadge

sebab toyota yang beli subaru…

• kyrel on Mar 02, 2009 at 9:54 pm

subaru xder kuarkan vivio dah ker??

• subaru is a joke

• pomen_gtr on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:05 am

this justy should use AWD+turbocharged engine to replace its VIVIO RA models…