Naza Kia wins Kia Asia-Pacific Network Development Award: most improved dealers

Kia XR

I have heard time and time again from enthusiastic Naza Kia management that a car company is all about the Brand, Product and Network. Sometime back Naza Kia embarked on a whole overhaul of their dealer network.

As per most of your reactions to the new products from the Korean marque such as the Kia Forte and Forte Koup, I believe that Kia has got the whole Product thing right, but it is hard for the marque to handle things such as Network directly as this is the responsibility of the country’s distributor. All 3 aspects have to move forward to bring Kia on par with the Japanese.

Kia cannot sell based on a cheap price tag forever as the Chinese manufacturers are quickly moving to fill in area part of the product landscape. Kia developed a 200 question 1000 point system for dealer development, and each country’s distributors have to follow this system in the evaluation and overhauling the Network part of Brand, Product and Network.

The results from the 1000 point system determines if a network outlet is graded from A to E. A, B and C outlets are recognised and rewarded, whereas strict efforts are put in place to either develop D and E outlets into at least B and C outlets or revoke their dealership. 24 Malaysian dealers scored sufficient points to be accorded ‘A’ which Kia Motors recognises as being Platinum-grade dealers. 18 are in the B grade, 2 in C, 2 in D and none in E (these E dealers have presumably been terminated).

In recognition of these efforts, Naza Kia was selected as the best in the Asia-Pacific region to win the Kia Asia-Pacific Network Development Award, based on the number of dealers developed and improved.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• autojohndoe (Member) on May 26, 2009 at 1:48 am

it's kia effort only or naza contribute in establishing the system?

• KIA…..hard to get damn expensive spare parts

• tapai on May 26, 2009 at 2:13 am

Maybe they can also improve on engine quality..

My friend Kia engine sound "shing…shing.. shing..".

headlight, signal light turn bluury.

Sparepart.. damm expensive.

• alpha0201 on May 26, 2009 at 2:13 am

Whoa, hang on a minute! Naza Kia service in on par on being crap, awarded as most improved dealers. Does that mean that other country dealers in asia-pacific that sells Kia is even worse? Really?

• mystvearn on May 26, 2009 at 2:44 am

Looks like we will get newer Kia cars faster in future if they like us so much

• gooseberry on May 26, 2009 at 5:03 am

Naza-Kia = P3

Another re-badged co.

Wonder why P1 bother to spend so much on R&D.

Use the money to build better 3S centres.

P1=Mitsu

P2=Daihatsu

P3=Kia / Peugeot.

…nice lah!!

• bakaneko on May 26, 2009 at 7:57 am

Really ackward……

My self as the owner of Naza Citra.. they can't even properly diagnose my complaint on the car.. until up to the level i have to pay 700 rm just for 2 stupid airflow sensor whereby outside 3rd party importer offers the entire throttle body (original) for a mere 400 rm new…

The service i would say not bad, (standard SC everywhere) but then.. either NAZA or KIA has monopolized all KIA parts and jacked it up maximum..

Summore they can claim the 3rd party importer such as Morbiz.. they bringing 2nd to 3rd grade quality spare part..

• Paul Tan on May 26, 2009 at 8:01 am

[quote comment="241175"]Whoa, hang on a minute! Naza Kia service in on par on being crap, awarded as most improved dealers. Does that mean that other country dealers in asia-pacific that sells Kia is even worse? Really?[/quote]

I think I have to remind all of you that most improved does not mean best, moving from E to C is also called an "improvement".

• henry on May 26, 2009 at 8:18 am

[quote comment="241168"]it's kia effort only or naza contribute in establishing the system?[/quote]

we need each other, you can do great in producing new models, but if the dealer's network doesn't expand or being strengthen, it's a waste.

• steven on May 26, 2009 at 4:26 pm

KIA is a good car ! but when turn into NAZA it is very bad car … lol

• Paul;

Do you suggested that KIA (or NAZA moniker) still expensive to maintain despite of very tempting pricing, i.e NAZA Rondo?

• k-rol on May 26, 2009 at 5:27 pm

congratulation to NAZA KIA SERVICES! NAZA ROCKS!

• [quote comment="241210"]Naza-Kia = P3

Another re-badged co.

P1=Mitsu

P2=Daihatsu

P3=Kia / Peugeot.

…nice lah!![/quote]

they bother because they bother to develop the minds of Malaysian… if we just copy or rebadged, we only good in manufacturing, but less developing… we become good in becoming slave of others, but cant think what is really good for ours…

If it happen, we malaysian, never become a developed nation…

• 4G63T DSM on May 26, 2009 at 6:42 pm

To me it seems they are going 1 step forwards and 2 steps backwards.

The prime candidate for a new MPV for me was the Rondo. Somehow they hired an idiot of a designer to re-design the 2nd row bench seat to "cut cost". While i can accept cutting cost, the problem is, they managed to screw it up.

Originally, the 2nd row will slide/spilt 60/40 (or was that 30/70), but now the 2nd row bench is a single unit.

Which means, to get into the 3rd row, all the passengers for the 2nd row will have to exit the car in order the slide the 2nd row farward. And to make matters worst, if you fit a bulky rear facing childseat on the 2nd row, the 3rd row becomes useless (as you can't get into them).

I regretted not having a camera, it would be hilarious to fit a child seat and try to get the sales person to explain how to get into the 3rd row.

Oh while you are at it, maybe mount ISOFIX or LATCH to the 2nd or 3rd row?

Maybe this will get to Naza…..and they will fix it. For now, No Rondo for me until they fix that.

• micheal on May 26, 2009 at 10:06 pm

[quote comment="241288"]KIA is a good car ! but when turn into NAZA it is very bad car … lol[/quote]

sure?

i dont think so…

and2….

naza still new meh…

• [quote comment="241322"][quote comment="241210"]Naza-Kia = P3

Another re-badged co.

P1=Mitsu

P2=Daihatsu

P3=Kia / Peugeot.

…nice lah!![/quote]

they bother because they bother to develop the minds of Malaysian… if we just copy or rebadged, we only good in manufacturing, but less developing… we become good in becoming slave of others, but cant think what is really good for ours…

If it happen, we malaysian, never become a developed nation…[/quote]

HaHa develop own engine makes you a developed nation ??

Hello dean konon,even Peugeot sharing same engine as the Mini.

450mil spent on exora R&D,

Has it brought msia a step closer to vision 2020?

i doubt it.

cut + paste from chips.

For example, in Singapore, a certain CEO told an international audience that Proton doesn't need its own engine since the trend today is to licence engines. Why spend so much money to develop an engine itself? Just a few months later, the same CEO tells Malaysian media that the engine is the heart of the car and therefore, strategically, Proton must have its own engine and will develop its own engine.

Sounds stupid or not? Of course, he would tell the international audience that Proton should not invest in making its own engine because a) its size doesn't justify the expenditure and b)its volume is also not sufficient to give economies of scale for such a venture. The international audience of automotive experts would see that as very sensible but the Malaysian media, less familiar with such things just accepts the statement anyway.

So there is all that talk about how important it is to have own engine, that Proton will stop buying engines from others because of such a drain on forex (and criticises another company for wasting the forex).

But what do you see next? A new model which uses another imported engine and gearbox! And when the question is asked why, the answer is that it is not practical to have its own engine because the volumes are small.

Anyway its good that see that Naza is attempting to improve its

services.When u hit rock bottom the only way is up!!!

• [quote comment="241365"][quote comment="241322"][quote comment="241210"]Naza-Kia = P3

Another re-badged co.

P1=Mitsu

P2=Daihatsu

P3=Kia / Peugeot.

…nice lah!![/quote]

i doubt it.

cut + paste from chips.

For example, in Singapore, a certain CEO told an international audience that Proton doesn't need its own engine since the trend today is to licence engines. Why spend so much money to develop an engine itself? Just a few months later, the same CEO tells Malaysian media that the engine is the heart of the car and therefore, strategically, Proton must have its own engine and will develop its own engine.

Sounds stupid or not? Of course, he would tell the international audience that Proton should not invest in making its own engine because a) its size doesn't justify the expenditure and b)its volume is also not sufficient to give economies of scale for such a venture. The international audience of automotive experts would see that as very sensible but the Malaysian media, less familiar with such things just accepts the statement anyway.

So there is all that talk about how important it is to have own engine, that Proton will stop buying engines from others because of such a drain on forex (and criticises another company for wasting the forex).

But what do you see next? A new model which uses another imported engine and gearbox! And when the question is asked why, the answer is that it is not practical to have its own engine because the volumes are small.

services.When u hit rock bottom the only way is up!!![/quote]

so, whatever the foreigner comment and doing is just right and whatever Malaysian ppl do is wrong?

i rather support the effort our nation have rather than listen and follow what others doing…

for me, this kind of thinking that makes us, still a developing country… become an absolute follower…

i do not say, taking other's make is a bad idea, it is just, why dont we create something of our own, by our minds… and we can see the result today…

using rm450 mil, we got expert in chassis design, stylist, etc etc… so, i think, yes, we achieve some portion of vision2020… human capital…

p/s – dean is my name, whats wrong with the 'konon'

• Rizal on May 27, 2009 at 12:56 am

I owned a NAZA citra… the rear absorber cost me RM720… damn expensive…

• Tiadaid on May 27, 2009 at 1:28 am

[quote comment="241365"][quote comment="241322"][quote comment="241210"]Naza-Kia = P3

Another re-badged co.

P1=Mitsu

P2=Daihatsu

P3=Kia / Peugeot.

…nice lah!![/quote]

i doubt it.

cut + paste from chips.

services.When u hit rock bottom the only way is up!!![/quote]

Engine design can lead to other design capabilities what! And furthermore, engine sharing platform, u think the companies that share engine don't collaborate and design? The MINI engine is a collaborative design by BMW-Peugeot-Chrysler if I'm not mistaken, and all three brought their expertise in designing engines. It's not just suka-suki buy an engine from someone la!

• lowprofile on May 27, 2009 at 6:39 pm

i think to move forward, we have to bury national pride… this is holding us back (i'm sure many will disagree with me but this asian thing with maintaining 'face' is detrimental for our growth).

let's eat humble pie and learn from others who have already gone down the path… many times over. why let history repeat itself? if they fall, do we also want to fall into the same hole they fell into? getting up is not easy and expensive.

proton wanting to do things their way or the so-called malaysian way is noble and admirable and of course show's the malaysia-boleh spirit… but at what cost? shouldn't the money be better spent elsewhere to make the vehicle more competitive?

just my humble opinion.

• peroempat on May 27, 2009 at 9:58 pm

P1=Mitsubishi, rebadged Mitsubishi engineered by Lotus. XXD

P2=Daihatsu, downgrade to made cheapest. LOL

P3=Kia/Peugeot, need to improve the emblem. LOL

national pride…

• Naza finally improving their network outlet

services (esp after sales service)

Looking forward to the newer models ( Soul/Forte)

hopefully attractively priced for the Malaysian market.

• anakman on Sep 24, 2009 at 7:51 pm

comment about naza do not comment to other compony. Be pro .