Schumacher’s neck injury stops his F1 return

Michael Schumacher

F1 fans who are eagerly anticipating the temporary return of Michael Schumacher to F1 will probably let out a sigh of disappointment after you read this piece of news – Schumi will not be driving Massa’s F1 car after all. I’m sure you know why – it’s been a source of concern for quite some time now. It’s his neck injury.

“Unfortunately I’m not able to step in for Felipe. The consequences of the injuries caused by the bike accident in February, fractures in the area of head and neck, unfortunately have turned out to be still too severe. That is why my neck cannot stand the extreme stresses caused by Formula One yet. I really tried everything to make that temporary comeback possible. I am disappointed to the core. I am awfully sorry for the guys of Ferrari and for all the fans which crossed fingers for me. All I can do now is to keep my fingers crossed for the whole team for the coming races,” said Michael on his official website.

Ferrari has announced that their test driver Luca Badoer will replace Schumacher at Valencia this month. He has been with Ferrari as a test driver since 1998.

VIDEO: Massa’s first interview after his crash
Schumacher training with a F2007 race car
Michael Schumacher returns to F1!
Massa crash puts him in serious but stable condition

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lambov12 on Aug 11, 2009 at 7:51 pm

oh no …

stig ferrari cousin injured …

i thought his neck is made from weapon grade titanium ??

• how come… :(… hope he still consider last few race…

• shinigami on Aug 12, 2009 at 1:24 am

aiyaaaa….!!!

• Schumi, we need u in F1… else, just not like F1 any more…

• noo..noo..noo…….!!!!

• oricon666 on Aug 12, 2009 at 1:32 am

man..!! for once… i though i can see Kimi race with Mic in the same team… too bad…

• chickyyuan on Aug 12, 2009 at 1:44 am

WHAT?!??! damn – too disappointed to hear this news!!!! i though of sparing my weekend for the F1!! and now..pfft…

• osh_kosh on Aug 12, 2009 at 1:52 am

what a shame… :(

• takeo1070 on Aug 12, 2009 at 2:00 am

the saddest news of all for year 2009……

• bmpower on Aug 12, 2009 at 2:05 am

Actually that's just an excuses. Since after some drive test on that car, he got nothing to archive. The car is slow, the everything is not good.

Then he decide not to race because it will make his record turning BAD!..

Then just made up a story that his neck injury lah, bla bla lah…etc

You think I don't know aaah?

• Paul Tan on Aug 12, 2009 at 2:10 am

Interesting theory bmpower, haha

• kimi_ on Aug 12, 2009 at 2:31 am

what a LAME excuse………

• Noooooooooooooooooo…………….

• ayamxxx on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:02 am

the car is just to fast!! don't u know that I'm old already. I don't drive fast2 anymore.

• Tak syok la mcm ni Bro……….

• fauzi on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:07 am

you are right bmpower he's one of the legend in F1 and finish his carrier while his name on top. that why la he don't want to take risk by make a comeback.takkan dia tak tau kot yang dia tak lega lagi masa bagi tau nak race balik.lagi pun dia dah tua baik suruh dia balik bala kuda.apa punya turrrrrrrrrr

• hey paul, regarding the best fuel for ron95 is caltex techron, how about in sabah?

-we dont have caltex here.

-whats the best choice of fuel after caltex techron?

thanks!!!!!!!

• solarcar on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:32 am

guys take it easy, it was just an F1 commercial show, they are trying their best to attract the audience and gain back the sports popularity. F1 industry has been in a mess recent years! Not everyone can be like Tiger Woods making a glorious come back!

• xavier lert on Aug 12, 2009 at 4:00 am

argh???

• old timers on Aug 12, 2009 at 4:45 am

ohh my god, i was like preparing for great weekend and this thing happened.. come on, schumi, you can handle the neck injuries… however, i think hamilton & alonso sigh relieved already….

Hummilton: Lucky me, schumi down hihi, if not gerenti he lap me….

Aloonso: I'm the greatest, i'm the greatest, schumi u go to h**l

• scirocco lover on Aug 12, 2009 at 4:54 am

bmpower: don't tell me you have been talking to Jean Todt to know about this? :)

but seriously, what god forsaken damn bummer! like bernie, I was hoping Schu will teach some of the new guns some lessons in F1 driving. Looks like that will not happen for the foreseable future. If Schu don't do this now, we may never see this oppurtunity again. Unless Ferrari run into another wild spring next season and see Schu getting the oppurtunity, by then his neck should be ok, right?

and kimi_ can't wait to be embarrass by Schu again huh?

• mystvearn on Aug 12, 2009 at 5:23 am

Ok,

So the current car is crap, but Raikonen got second last time around. That shows the car is getting better

• Kanasai on Aug 12, 2009 at 6:36 am

Haizzzzz, He is one of the coward who has no balls. What a shame.

• Jarod on Aug 12, 2009 at 6:39 am

Really a sad news i heard today. i was looking forward for his coming back to Formula 1, the 7 times world champion, see how he going to beat Alonso in the track.

Always Support Ferrari and Schumacher ..

• Yes just thought to spent my weekend for F1 since shumi retired.

• spiller on Aug 12, 2009 at 8:47 am

chicken shit.

• howitzer on Aug 12, 2009 at 9:03 am

noooo… f1 really need him now.. or else.. heheh

• I think he chickened out because he knew that he cannot be competitive without enough time in the car.

What a bummer for the world of racing. Can't believe Michael's a coward

• azrai on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:46 pm

He can use Anwar ibrahim's neck support. Thank god he didn't have a haircut at Indian barber, if not could 'kiok' his fragile neck.

• EYESORE on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Kanasai said,

August 11, 2009 @ 10:36 pm

Haizzzzz, He is one of the coward who has no balls. What a shame.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/11/schumachers-neck-in…
    ————————————–

stupid! a man is concern of his health and u said he's a coward??? what the hell? ignorant? he's neck was injured… it cannot sustain 4-5 G forces… do you want him to die in the car? stupid!!! Come here n let me show you how 4-5G forces to your neck feels like… doubt you can sustain it even with ur healthy neck… dumb F$%k!

• R0NaLD0 on Aug 12, 2009 at 4:56 pm

speechless…………..zzz

For a guys at age 40 had a fracture between the area of neck and head require awful of time to recover completely ( atleast 1 year).

So in my opinion he is not faking the injury. So if he is really not fully recover ther eis no point for him taking the risk… he made the right decision prolly with doctor advise.

• F1_Lover_03 on Aug 12, 2009 at 5:13 pm

bmpower said,

August 11, 2009 @ 6:05 pm

Actually that’s just an excuses. Since after some drive test on that car, he got nothing to archive. The car is slow, the everything is not good.

You think I don’t know aaah?

——————–

Agree with u, just an excuse because he is a F1 legend..but if he come back to F1 with the bad race result… sure his 'legendary' will gone..

i thought he can make the F1 become more intersting again.. but.. ~sigh~ BMW quit..then.. maybe Lotus should join..hehe.. if got money, why not?

• farghmee on Aug 12, 2009 at 5:48 pm

offtopic>>

i more reason why i should discontinue to subscribe astro supersport..

haha :D

• chickyyuan on Aug 12, 2009 at 7:09 pm

Who knows Mika Hakkinen drives for Ferrari??

hahahaha

• MycarMylife on Aug 12, 2009 at 7:18 pm

tifosi fANS can pray hard that he will recover soon to make F1 more enjoyable Get well and race Schumi for the sport.

• Ladiesman217 on Aug 12, 2009 at 7:28 pm

He landed himself on his head on that February09 motorcycle crash. We'll see if the 3rd driver 3rd car proposal is coming up next year. Ferrari need lotsa input from him rather than flat boring square driver like Kimi.

• gheezz on Aug 12, 2009 at 10:44 pm

oo…goshhh R.I.P michael….

• All the hype, drove me up sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo high then leave me high and dry…. jeezz

• Gen2R3 on Aug 12, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Owh Noooooo! Speechless!!! Shit!

• osh_kosh on Aug 13, 2009 at 12:02 am

bmpower said,

August 11, 2009 @ 6:05 pm

Actually that’s just an excuses. Since after some drive test on that car, he got nothing to archive. The car is slow, the everything is not good.

You think I don’t know aaah?

——————-

i also know that u r stupid… period. tq

• CocoBear on Aug 13, 2009 at 12:07 am

Quote from farghmee-"i more reason why i should discontinue to subscribe astro supersport.."

I also want to unsubscribe the sports package since they have increase the price. The programs that I watched are Sunday F1 and some occasional WRC. Hmm…. really disappointed.

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 13, 2009 at 12:41 am

that's for sure Kimi Räikkönen will win the next race.. schumi good drama ^^

• osh_kosh on Aug 13, 2009 at 1:08 am

@ bmpower,

hey mate, what u want actually? when news of Shuey coming back racing u said it was the worse decision ever made by Ferrari, Michael too old blablablabla… now, when that man himself said that he can't race coz of his injuries, u said he was acting all along, making up stories etc. etc…. well bro, i've heard this theory in other site before Paul even upload this thread (u copy paste?)…. phathetic.. if u can think by yourself or IF U CAN READ NEWS then u'll not just 'follow' others comment or sad theory or whatever… that man already said in the 1st place that he's willing to race IF he's 100% fit phsically, did u miss that news in the 1st place? or just ignored it until something happen & u have some stupid point to bash about? we all know already that u hate Ferrari or FIA or Shumacher but just plz don't blind yourself with hatred… it just make u look… well… STUPID… sigh… & yes, u can bash me back or lay back & think about it..

• eizshah5 on Aug 13, 2009 at 3:50 am

yup.. agreed with bmpower..

after testing kimi 2007 car… he still can't beat kimi's set time.. also massa's time… so how he want to return?

hahahhaha….. so badly… and he create a story about his neck problem…

• old timers on Aug 13, 2009 at 5:12 am

osh_kosh,

bmpower dr gaya tulis mcm ladies, bila deal ngan pompuan kasi chance die nak emotional sket…mungkin tengah dtg period kot…almaklumlah, pompuan ni mmg suka twist facts, yg penting hati gumbira

• eizshah5 on Aug 13, 2009 at 8:42 am

hahahahaah…. osh_kosh – just knew to read fact news only…

but u need to know the inside of that news…

u just read… read… read… only.. not to understood the fact….

hahahhahaaha……

• EYESORE on Aug 13, 2009 at 3:58 pm

eizshah5 said,

August 13, 2009 @ 12:42 am

hahahhahaaha……

——————————————-

we should talk based on fact.. but not what you think he was thinking… duh… that's speculation… can't even rely on it… duh.. might even become fitnah… u like that huh?

• eizshah5 on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:08 pm

EYESORE said,

August 13, 2009 @ 7:58 am

eizshah5 said,

hahahhahaaha……

——————————————-

we should talk based on fact.. but not what you think he was thinking… duh… that’s speculation… can’t even rely on it… duh.. might even become fitnah… u like that huh?

– bro.. before u blame me back.. please check the fact in the schumacher test report ler.. what the fact u want to say… read the set time report after he practise with kimi's 2007 car.. All 70laps, not even near masa's time…

so how?

• osh_kosh on Aug 13, 2009 at 8:14 pm

eizshah5 said,

hahahhahaaha……

———————

the fact was he's still recovering from his neck injuries lah you moron… THAT"S WHAT U CALL A HARD SOLID FACT!! so what if he's slower than Massa & Kimi during that test? just with that so call fact u can speculate that he chicken out? some of u ppl r really amazing… think back & look where Ferrari was when Shuey 1st join them & u'll know what man is this guy… Bodoh Bangang…

• redxdevil on Aug 17, 2009 at 10:06 pm

yup.. agreed with bmpower..

after testing kimi 2007 car… he still can’t beat kimi’s set time.. also massa’s time… so how he want to return?

hahahhaha….. so badly… and he create a story about his neck problem…

———————————————————

noob eizshah5, schumi is the greatest driver we've ever seen. dont just talk cock!