It’s official: Michael Schumacher returns to F1!

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher is now back in Formula One! The 7 times world champion will be racing in Felipe Massa’s seat for the European Grand Prix in Valencia on the 23rd of August 2009 and will do so for the rest of the season until Massa is ready to be back in the driver’s seat.

This must be something big for Schumacher himself as well, as he has probably in a mental state that F1 is a chapter that is pretty much closed in his life. They say quit while you’re ahead right? The 40 year old also has to physically prepare himself for the sport now as he is not exactly in F1 driving shape since retiring from the sport in October 2006, and this calls for extensive fitness programs.

“The most important thing first: thanks God, all news concerning Felipe are positive. I wish him all the best again. I was meeting this afternoon with Stefano Domenicali and Luca di Montezemolo and together we decided that I will prepare myself to take the place of Felipe. Though it is true that the chapter Formula 1 has been closed for me since long and completely, it is also true that for loyalty reasons to the team I cannot ignore that unfortunate situation. But as the competitor I am I also very much look forward to facing this challenge. Ultimately I like challenges and this is a great challenge,” said Schumi.

I’m sure droves of fans who say they have begun to lose interest in the sport will flock back to their TV sets for the races now that there is a very interesting new contender.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Analyzer on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:51 am

OMG! My hero is back! So nice to know he'll be back for the remaining races!

• NoktahHitam on Jul 30, 2009 at 11:18 am

Wow! Cool old man!

• Keliwon on Jul 30, 2009 at 12:41 pm

Yehaaaaaaaaaaaaa….when i first heard the rumours few days ago ..i thought they must be kidding but then it's true……cloud nine man !

• CocoBear on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:17 pm

Serious? I thought his super license has expired..

• willpower on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:27 pm

So the Stig is in F1!!! Awesome.

Welcome back, Schumi. We all are craving for your return.

Viva Schumi!!

• Automotive_Critics on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:42 pm

Then Juan Pablo Montoya and Mika Hakkinen should return also to complete arch rivalry series in F1.

• Head Hunter on Jul 30, 2009 at 2:58 pm

I"m going to SINGAPORE!!!!!!!!! Danke Michael!!!!! Good to have you back!!!!!

• jamsbong on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:28 pm

OMG! this is the best news I've heard about F1 for years! After all those stupid politics this year, inferior winning races… It is time for some positive change!

• common sensor on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:30 pm

Welcome back! Hail to the King ..

• Brandon James on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Can't believe it either. Can't wait to see how he fares head to head against the ice man and whether he'll be able to show the young guns like Vettel & Hamilton that he's still the master. That said, I hope Phillipe can be back for his home GP.

• EricG on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:06 pm

THE STIG IS BACK TO F1!!!!!!!

• clement on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:09 pm

yey yay! I am gonna watch F1 again… yay yay

• it is good to see Schumacher back..interesting to see he will be racing in a new F1 car..cant wait!

• Let's put our thoughts on who will come out on top, Kimi or Schumi? Can't wait to see it happening…

• mokkf82 on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:35 pm

Now there's something excited in F1 again. Good to hear the F1 king back.

• apexg2 on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:35 pm

schumi is among the great drivers……but y this man should gamble his name in the middle of ferrari problem……today, i read the newspaper, BMW next year no more……erm, favo team..

• old man is back racing.. all youngster WATCH OUT!

• F1 finally started with another interesting races…

• adlanb20 on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:54 pm

So whos gonna be the stig?!

• bmpower on Jul 30, 2009 at 4:55 pm

What a rubbish decession..

Pity with Ferrari reserved/test driver.

He not get any single chance now.. :(

Anyway.. Im still sad of BMW quiting…

next year maybe i gonna be BRAWN PETRONAS fan. :D :D :D

• michaelooi on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:00 pm

i'm still rooting for iceman…

• ford_ton (Member) on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Welcome back Schuma. Long live Ferrari. Time to the mamak stall again.Teh tarik 2. Tosei tisu 1. Cepatlah mamak……

• MycarMylife on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:18 pm

The greatest news so far this year, wilkonmen Schumi. Show us your stuff.

It is will be the most interesting test of the rain master and a real champion driver although I doubt Ferrari without tacticians Ross Brawn and Jean Todt would be able to make an impact on the current leaders ,surely one thing the gates at the remaining races for this year would be smiling all the way to the banks.

• sotongball on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:19 pm

As much as I like THE man himself back on track, don't you think it might not be a wise move because as we all know, this year Ferrari's car is not really in a competitive mood… He might embarrased himself and we don't want that.

• adrianclw on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:22 pm

The greatest is back on track.

• r3dskai on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:23 pm

S**t man..Lets paint the podium RED once again! :D

• wooow~ my most favourite driver r return~~ i really cant wait to see him on the track!!!^^

• torque (Member) on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:37 pm

Wow!! This really going to be interesting. Frankly, I'm already getting bored of this year F1 with the turmoil, politics, yada, yada,yada…but this…this I got to see. Can't wait to see Schumi kick Lewis young @$$ and say…move over boy!!! Hahahaha…well, I guess we really got to wait and see. Schumi vs. Lewis….now that's entertainment…

• Lancermania on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:41 pm

welcome back schumi!!!!!

• R0NaLD0 on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:45 pm

Its great to hear that schummi is coming back to F1, but Ferrari must improve their car performance or else the result will still be the same…

• farghmee on Jul 30, 2009 at 5:54 pm

Viel Glück, Schumi! 8)

• rexis on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Da return of Da King!

Time to teach those young folks a lesson…

• tonton on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:04 pm

he is gonna humiliate himself, like in the star in the reasonably priced car session.

• 2fast on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Hamilton's dream comes true, now he can race with his idol in F1.

• theanswer on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:05 pm

i dont care whether he's goin to perform or not..but as long as he's in the race i'm good abt it. welcome back schumi!

• Mathgrind on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:10 pm

bmpower said,

July 30, 2009 @ 8:55 am

He not get any single chance now..

Anyway.. Im still sad of BMW quiting…

next year maybe i gonna be BRAWN PETRONAS fan. :D

hahahah lalang punya fan..BMW konon…even ferrari not even win any race this year we still Ferrari fan…hahaha Welcome back Schumi..Hail to the King

• wallstreet on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:24 pm

bmpower said,

July 30, 2009 @ 8:55 am

He not get any single chance now..

Pity with your English too…..

• P2_permanent_basher on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Schumi isnt the stig, your donks. Sigh…..Watch that episode of top gear again and right up to the ending..

• Dingo on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:38 pm

@P2_permanent_basher

You have very little sense of humor, don't you.

• sam620 on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:44 pm

THE RETURN OF THE KING !!!

• Woohoo, F1 is fun to watch this year.

• definitaly will bump up the tv ratings by many notches with his return. i for one will surely catch the next race, after feeling disillusioned and bored with this season's crazy antics

• xavier lert on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:56 pm

the G.O.A.T is back

• rally_fan on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:00 pm

he should not have come back. he is taking a potentially huge risk.. having retired at the top, he could potentially end up retiring a 2nd time on the losing end.

the good thing for us spectators is, we have the chance to see if the best ever F1 driver can take the "not so good current ferrari" to the top of the podium.

• Wisdom on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:16 pm

Wish he will wear his 'Stig' outfit during the race. And wont even open his helmet on podium. Sure gimmick.

• sayapdewa on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:17 pm

demmm!!!cant wait to see he drive again with ferrari and with new competitor brawn gp..

• hard to give up the feeling of fast driving in F1 cars… no road cars can be driven fast as F1 car and drive constant to that long hour. Since the team has no chance to win championship, might as well spend all efforts for next year's car. Don't think he is aiming for any win, more like Schumi "real-world" technical input opportunity for Ferrari. Win a race would be a bonus.

• kopiopot on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Oooo yes…..

How nice and excited to know that M. schumi is once again back on track.

• scanzew on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:45 pm

hahahha….seems that my predictions come true in the previous comment on massa injuring….haha…bertemu buku dgn ruas….hamilton fight with schumacher…maybe hamilton fight for his idol ayrton senna against schumacher….go go go hamilton with his hot KERS hybrid….like hamilton singing to his rival….

"Don't ya wish your hybrid was hot like mine?"

hahahahahahahahahahahaha

• namiras on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:47 pm

Its time to Ferrari Team to make comeback like yesteryears. Schumi is the best F1 driver of the century….

• tokmoh on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:47 pm

Taking it from T-800 Terminator: I'M BACK!!

I'm still Kimi fan, hehehe, but at least right now, I get to see Kimi and Schuey together in the same car, instead of last time in Ferrari n McLaren. YEAAAAHH!!!!

• good timing, the latest season of Top Gear is just about to end…

• leonardo on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:57 pm

It is good to see how Schumi will stack up against the young crop of racers like Vettel, Hamilton, Rosberg. Don't forget Alonso have proven before that he is up to the task by putting Schumi behind him at Monza's home track

• all da best to MS

• The LEGEND has come back……… its make F1 Interesting again…..

…..DANKE MICHAEL.!!!!!!!!!!!!

• leonardo on Jul 30, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Now we can see who is the better driver since both the Iceman and Schumi is driving the same cars. At the moment the Iceman has a slight advantage since he has spent more testing and racing time in the current car.

Anyway i too agree that it is good news for F1 after the wthdrawal of Honda and BMW.

• Shiang on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:22 pm

Cool! Looking forward to see him on the TV screen.

• old timers on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:35 pm

at least got some reason to watch F1…

Wife: Kenapa nak tukar channel..tak best lah F1

Old timers: Micheal Schumacher ada lah..dia lumba balik..

Wife: Wow…, ok, ok

• Harvinder on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:55 pm

old timers said:

"at least got some reason to watch F1…

Wife: Kenapa nak tukar channel..tak best lah F1

Old timers: Micheal Schumacher ada lah..dia lumba balik..

Wife: Wow…, ok, ok"

Haha good one man! I can imagine my mom saying that as well! Good to have him back. He is a fantastic driver, if the not the best. But also remember that the car plays a big part as well. Can't wait to watch!

• mitlanevo on Jul 30, 2009 at 11:06 pm

bravo!!!

• klchia on Jul 30, 2009 at 11:18 pm

Wow !! Schmi is back !!! Woo hoo hooo……………….

• lambov12 on Jul 30, 2009 at 11:18 pm

Wow !! King of F1 is back .. the tame racing driver ..

• Whoa! Gonna watch the battle between Button and the F1 King! Fun and exciting!

• ROADSTER on Jul 30, 2009 at 11:56 pm

Watch out Button!! Schumi will decreasing the Constructor Gap. Hahahahaha

• ROADSTER on Jul 30, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Watch Out Button!!!! Schumi will decreasing the constructor gap.Hahahahaha

• Engdau on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:02 am

I bet almost Ferrari fans wanted to see him back in F1 circuits again. Wow…. no excuse to escape watching the live shows. In fact, I am still wondering that is no one could perform as outstanding as Schumi. Really… no one at this moment. A big bonus for Ferrari… Meantime, pitiful to Massa. Between Massa & Schumi, I won't doubt the outstanding performance from Schumi again. Yahoo!

• Schumi vs Button vs Hamilton vs Vettel???? this time is not about the points, is to see who can win the most in these last few laps!!!

• otai sudah mari!

• sleme on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:30 am

Doing a Lance Armstrong huh?

• bmpower on Jul 31, 2009 at 12:42 am

overated Schumi.

later the spring will hantam satu kali dia.

Then schumi enter the ICU too..

• Jarum on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:30 am

Now it worth watching F1 again.

• henry on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:34 am

another comeback by a legendary fella… after MJ (unfortunately he didn't make it).. now Schumi, what a great year.. hope he managed to get his fitness tiptop and racing in Valencia..

• mystvearn on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:35 am

HOpe Felipe Massa has a very very lonnnnnnnnnnnng rest :P

• scanzew on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:41 am

too boring f1 race when schumacher dominate and dictate the F1…especially after senna died… tak payah tgk race pun nak tau sapa menang…but nowadays very interesting fight with hamilton and alonso….best best

• ferruccio on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:49 am

it's obvious aint't it? The reason behind this piece of surprising news. To bump up the ratings again. The F1 PR circus is truly working overtime. I hope Schumi doesn't regret this decision. The last time he drove a Ferrari F1 car was in April 2008. Now he is expected to fill in for Massa, quite suddenly. The public don't appreciate how difficult it is for him to get into the F60, which he has never tested.. and worse still expect him to be insantly competitive and battle head to head with Kimi, Vettel and the top drivers. Hope the fans are not dissapointed and hope Michael's stellar competitive record is not tarnished. He should not put his reputation at risk this way. There are certainly younger future hopefuls deserving of this great opportunity but the F1 circus prefer to remain a circus. All the best Michael!

• Mathgrind on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:49 am

when the next race?

• solarcar on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:30 am

whoever wins the next race will still considered lost. this is an insult to F1 sport. this is a young men's sports, young men pls show your talent, schumi, your time is already long over, continue your topgear show….

• F1fan on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:36 am

i respect him as the legend of F1, but i would advise him to stay sideline and watch the race or become the hall of fame commentator. remember michael jordon made his come back to basket ball game? make people laugh only!

• F1nobody on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:40 am

honk! honk! give way! give way! old man coming…

• teslaman on Jul 31, 2009 at 2:43 am

If he crashes and something happen in the race then we will remember him forever as the F1 legend.

• bmpower said,

July 30, 2009 @ 4:42 pm

overated Schumi.

later the spring will hantam satu kali dia.

Then schumi enter the ICU too..

—————————————–

hahaha..lawak la this comment

• hail the King of F1… welcome back Shuey…

• akupalau on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:50 am

the king is back

• isfufushah on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:17 am

Danke Schumi. U r my hero.

Crap. those singaporean get to see he racing… huhu…

:-P

• Im gonna watch F1 evry Sunday.

• mizandude on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:02 am

Now people will go and flock back to watch F1………..Hail to the king….the best ever F1 driver is back….

• can he drives…????

i think he only can drive in his fast f1 car during his season….

current season the ferrari's car bit slow….i dont think he can drive the slower car….:D

• zafedz on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:28 am

Aiyaaa!!!How about Alexander Young..nobody want to offer aaa???

• mamat puchong on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:11 am

hopefully he can bring back the lost crowd

• spiller on Jul 31, 2009 at 9:26 am

Good for F1, not too good for himself. He could embarrass himself out there.

Just look at Armstrong.

The problem with Ferrari this season is not the driver, it's the car!

Reputation at stakes here. I bet all the young & daring drivers will overtake him at every chance. Something to boost about, no?

Guys, just imagine Vettel lapping Schuey if Schuey cannot even qualify for Q3 on Saturday session.

• Head Hunter on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:13 pm

Do not underestimate the KING!!!

He's the best, no matter what car Ferrari throws at him.

Remember 2005? He's still competitive with a car with midfield calibre!!

Go Ferrari!!!!!! Go SCHUEY!!!!

SCHUEY IS KIIINNG!!!!! HAHAHAHA!!!!

• LightningMcQueen on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:33 pm

zafedz…

Alex Young drive the medical car maaaa…. slow and steady crucial for accident victim like Massa….

ha ha ha

Alex jgn marah I know ur sponsorship is more expensive than Micheal because we could easily read all the sponsor sticker on your car compared to Micheal, so slower car better for advertising…

• carsut on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:27 pm

man… i cannot wait to see u race again, after a long time not watch F1 racing, now its time to stick infront TV again..huhu

• ferruccio on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Head Hunter,

Even the mighty Schumacher cannot win a race if he drove say a Force India. In F1 the champion is always the BEST driver IN the BEST car driving for the BEST team. The best Schumacher can hope for, and we're being optimistic here, is to beat his team mate, in this case, Kimi. In F1, only the drivers in top 3 teams race to win. The rest only race to beat their team mate. RBR has the best car right now and it would not do Schumi justice to expect him to beat Webber or Vettel.

Such is the knife edge complexity of being competitive in an F1 car.

I hope the development in store for the F60 at valencia will put them in top 3 teams for pace. Even then, expecting Schumi to be able to maximize that and translate to a race result is highly optimistic, even though his fitness is top notch even today.

He hasn't been in the car since April 2008 and his neck muscles would have become weak already. He can try to compensate that by doing special exercises in the gym but nothing tones the neck muscles like doing 4g through corners regularly, as what all the other drivers are already doing.

If Schumi gets into Q1 at valencia and finishes top 10 in the race, he is a demi-god and I really want to see him race the rest of the season and in 2010!

• ferruccio on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:52 pm

Head Hunter,

Even the mighty Schumacher cannot win a race if he drove say a Force India. In F1 the champion is always the BEST driver IN the BEST car driving for the BEST team. The best Schumacher can hope for, and we're being optimistic here, is to beat his team mate, in this case, Kimi. In F1, only the drivers in top 3 teams race to win. The rest only race to beat their team mate. RBR has the best car right now and it would not do Schumi justice to expect him to beat Webber or Vettel.

Such is the knife edge complexity of being competitive in an F1 car.

I hope the development in store for the F60 at valencia will put them in top 3 teams for pace. Even then, expecting Schumi to be able to maximize that and translate to a race result is highly optimistic, even though his fitness is top notch even today.

He hasn't been in the car since April 2008 and his neck muscles would have become weak already. He can try to compensate that by doing special exercises in the gym but nothing tones the neck muscles like doing 4g through corners regularly, as what all the other drivers are already doing. If Schumi gets into Q1 at valencia and finishes top 10 in the race, he is a demi-god and I really want to see him race the rest of the season and in 2010!

• ferruccio on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:30 pm

zafedz, dude his name is alex YOONG, pity the guy

• wallstreet on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:32 pm

LightningMcQueen said,

July 31, 2009 @ 8:33 am

zafedz…

Alex Young drive the medical car maaaa…. slow and steady crucial for accident victim like Massa….

ha ha ha

Alex jgn marah I know ur sponsorship is more expensive than Micheal because we could easily read all the sponsor sticker on your car compared to Micheal, so slower car better for advertising…

Hahaha…..but I think medical car also need to speed for emergency treatment…so he still cant qualify…maybe pace car?? oh no, can't also because they will all lap him before the warm up lap is completed…be a marshall la…

• bmpower on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:35 pm

i want to see schumi in race too.. but not because he's so called king (overated btw-the real king in F1 is Bernie and mosley right?)

I want to see schumi race and loose from race to another race!

yeah.. that's it.!

it's more better if Alonso can smack him from back.. or leave a suspension spring on track for schumi. Special on for him.. just like massa.

Hahaha…

sorry schumi.. im not your fan, you're just.. a pit strategy champion. A Todd's checker pawn!.

• wallstreet on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:47 pm

This is a good one from Niki Lauda…

“What do you want to do with Bourdais? I CAN DRIVE!!!! Honestly. Bourdais did not do anything in Formula 1 with Toro Rosso. He is a real waste of time. There is no way Ferrari would even consider him when he couldn’t perform in a Toro Rosso against [Sébastien] Buemi. The problem is there is a lack of up-and-coming guys.

“The test drivers are useless, and there is nobody else here if you think about it. If he (Schumacher) doesn’t want to do it, the idea is finished in the same second – but if I was di Montezemolo I would call him.”

• Yeah.. Hail the King..

• old timers on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:05 am

Schumi-haters,

U're not fan of schumi huh…no harm. Millions did.

Just love to watch schumi when he jumped on podium…hehe. Have seen many times performed over last decade…Hope to see it done in near future

• OMG…we are already knew winner for the next race..i hate this…no point to watch the race after this…boring..

• ferruccio on Aug 02, 2009 at 12:05 am

It is difficult to predict the winner for Valencia. The odds are stacked against Schumi because of this whole last minute drive thing and because of the current pace of the F60 itself. He has a lot of hard work ahead of him to prepare, even if his current general fitness is tops.

Making it into Q1 and finishing the race in top ten is enough for me to call him DA MANN! If that happens I really want to see him finish the season and do 2010 too!

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 02, 2009 at 5:17 am

I want to bet…

Kimi Räikkönen will beat, defeat the old horse Michael Schumacher in the next race.. you all just wait and see la