Tan Chong officially brings in GT-R… to Singapore

Nissan GT-R

After letting the grey importers milk the GT-R like crazy for a while (over 200 registered on the road so far), the Nissan GT-R is now officially in Singapore through official Nissan importer Tan Chong. The Singaporean GT-R goes for S$299,500 which is a tad pricier than the grey importer’s price tags which hover in the region of S$250k.

Now what does that mean for Malaysians? Will Tan Chong bring in the GT-R here officially too, complete with a proper manufacturer warranty? Hopefully yes, but if not, at least Malaysian owners will probably be able to settle any issues with their cars at an official GT-R-trained Nissan service center (Tan Chong Bukit Timah Road) in Singapore. The other benefit of being an official import is that the car’s menu systems are all in English and it does not have a speed limiter.

For now if you still want a Nissan sportscar with an official manufacturer warranty you can check out the recently launched Nissan 370Z. Only 0.1 litres difference in displacement but oh what a difference the two turbos and the all-wheel drive makes!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=436]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dark Symphony on Aug 17, 2009 at 4:46 pm

they better do it fast for malaysian market

• Nice machine ..but too expensive..

• kelvin on Aug 17, 2009 at 4:51 pm

It is priced B$174k in Brunei, via official Brunei Nissan dealer. Rich Sarawakians and Sabahans can get this. ;)

• tamaki on Aug 17, 2009 at 4:53 pm

280k own a gtr with official manufacturer warranty good to be singaporean :P

• FEMLab on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:10 pm

200 unit in Singapore!! In that small island..

how many unit in Msia??

but I bet its still cost worthy for Tan Chong to bring to m'sia..Msia also full of rich people

• kelvin said,

August 17, 2009 @ 8:51 am

It is priced B$174k in Brunei, via official Brunei Nissan dealer. Rich Sarawakians and Sabahans can get this.

Kelvin,

You sure we can get in into East Malaysia in the first place, tax free? :-)

• CRUDE on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:34 pm

if we c one to one …280k in sing is a steal!!!

• AUD 160k.

• Elvis on Aug 17, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Nissan Fairlady is a timeless piece for me. Perfect in everything. Well, just me i guess…

• I've seen a few on the road here in Australia, and they look mean. It's a lot bigger than a R34

• toughcar on Aug 17, 2009 at 6:37 pm

The Legend Continues…

• Alifz on Aug 17, 2009 at 7:01 pm

At least now Malaysian can get the replacement parts from Tan Chong rather than imported it directly from Japan.

• Saw a few around K L seeing it for real is amazing huge car.

• Black Dog on Aug 17, 2009 at 7:53 pm

Nissan makes DAMN attractive & futuristic sports car & other higher end models contrast sharply to their old-fashion lower end models.

Go GTR…time to buy lottery!

• MycarMylife on Aug 17, 2009 at 7:59 pm

Sad but real ,MY people can only drool at the mouth watering offers as comparing to our neighbours Sin299k and B$174k taking into their income and taxes. My friend bought one AS DB9 for Sin650K last year and he said it was cheap ,that's why our country will remain a recon nation for a long time and will import recon wives from other countries as well.

• A masterpiece!

• Why the GT-R in the pic is equipped with LED lights? Saw the GT-R that undergone HKS mod have those lights.. lol

• mohd hafizzul on Aug 17, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Ada orang kelantan pakai satu kereta ni…anak dato'. Nombor dia DAV111…warna hitam! Lawa SIOT !!!

• mohdjiman on Aug 17, 2009 at 9:35 pm

lovely but expensive…

• nabil on Aug 17, 2009 at 9:46 pm

i saw few times oso bt black color…actually looks very big and wide…in pics look smaller….bt the sound it makes makes u buzzzzz !

• Caddilac Wong on Aug 17, 2009 at 11:09 pm

The price is cheap to Singaporean.. That's why many can easily buy one…

They own a R35 juz like the way Malaysia own an E-class/5-series…

• initial R on Aug 17, 2009 at 11:38 pm

If u talk about s'porean, even u can see lamborgini park outside the office in daily routine. So for this GT-R so easy also to see on the road in s'pore. Wait my next door rental car office friend make this GT-R as rental car (so i can test drive it). Hehehe… :)

• kelvin on Aug 17, 2009 at 11:44 pm

You sure we can get in into East Malaysia in the first place, tax free? :-)

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/17/tan-chong-officiall…

Jack, pay Kuching or Miri a visit, you will see quite a number of luxurious Brunei registered cars like Lexus, Merc on the road. The only drawback is you need to pay cash to buy the car, no loan available if you can't get a Brunei person to be your guarantor. If you know 'some agent', your car doen't have to go back to Brunei for custom.

• longjaafar on Aug 18, 2009 at 12:23 am

I am quite certain that Tan Chong will bring the GT-R soon. They may be sorting out the spares and back up, and this will not take long. The problem is pricing. Too expensive, it will compete with Porsche (although the GTR beat the Porsche GT3 flat) and too cheap will make the 370Z irrelevant.

It should be around RM 600 to RM 650k. At that price, who needs a Porsche Carrera?

• number6 on Aug 18, 2009 at 12:33 am

saw one in white flying along ulu yam, awesome…expensive but logically expensive, unlike some dum porsch 997

• tikus on Aug 18, 2009 at 1:20 am

We want lower TAX!! when is AFTA will be impliment.Cant wait to buy cheap car…

• mystvearn on Aug 18, 2009 at 2:13 am

I can see the PLUS highway full of Sg reg cars trying to max the speed out in future…

• This is one classic car. Only the enthusiastic buyers know that this car's engine is HAND MADE. That's why it's a classic.

• initial R on Aug 18, 2009 at 2:15 am

If u go some where around sunway damansara light industry area, u will notice 1 of those park for upgraded.

• This is a masterpiece. Its even faster than the Porsche 911 GT3 around the Nurburgring. Very impressive.

• Tiadaid on Aug 18, 2009 at 4:53 am

Thank god performance cars are expensive here. If it's cheap, the accident rate would surely skyrocket! Sure many would disagree, but just look at how Malaysians drive even in Proton cars!

• kelvin said,

August 17, 2009 @ 3:44 pm

You sure we can get in into East Malaysia in the first place, tax free?

Jack, pay Kuching or Miri a visit, you will see quite a number of luxurious Brunei registered cars like Lexus, Merc on the road. The only drawback is you need to pay cash to buy the car, no loan available if you can’t get a Brunei person to be your guarantor. If you know ’some agent’, your car doen’t have to go back to Brunei for custom.

Thanks for the clarifications, what about getting it from Labuan? Is it a better idea?

• Elvis on Aug 18, 2009 at 5:36 am

Totally agree with you Tiadaid. Problem with Malaysians is driving with no knowledge. You tell them is very dangerous to drive over 90km/h, they sure fxxk you. Most think they are superhumans…body made of steel…drive kancils also like GTR…. Funny, most of those buying supercar are very knowledgeable about the car they bought to the minute details. We should know about our machine..even if its only a Kancils or Protons.

• Auto_crat on Aug 18, 2009 at 5:38 am

I have seen one In Kota Kinabalu. Dark coloured. Pretty cool man. Pretty expensive this one is. Lucky Singaporeans. Sigh…

• Got two units in Miri Sarawak!!!

one white (original looks) and one silver with Miri number plate (bodykits added on)

• well. at least current owners in malaysia can drive to singapore to service or get parts from.

i do hope malaysia TC will bring it in, strengthen the brand prescence here. as the GT-R can outshine the T and H for supercar availability. but brand power still lose la……

nvm, time heals all wounds.

• albagmane on Aug 18, 2009 at 6:25 am

saw a couple in Kuching… black n red… guess the rich owners pay at about RM700,000 for these beasts!

• sigh, our gov la sigh. hate them. thanks to them, these beautiful and powerful cars stays in the showroom most of the time.

• Late me become a Gov on Aug 18, 2009 at 7:00 am

expensive this and that, also happy support our gov and blame the Ppl who sale it so expensive … malaysia boleh

• nissanfans on Aug 18, 2009 at 7:06 am

I always thought fairlady was the sexiest car in this world, not until I saw 370z, not until I saw this car.

• tokmoh on Aug 18, 2009 at 11:45 am

Saw them quite frequently ard Subang Parade n SS15 area. I've spotted a Mustang in SS15 too.

• _xXx_ on Aug 18, 2009 at 8:06 pm

can bring in so wat? how many of us can afford?

is there such thing called downpayment instalment plan? Coz I can't even afford the downpayment if they bring in this car

• Asroll on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:42 pm

Hey I always see a black GT-R at Amcorp Mall PJ on weekend afternoons! Too bad I have never saw who is the driver though.

• Project Z on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:13 am

my boss have this TWO!..n he have to pay RM7k monthly each!..so rich huh! if it was my..hehe

• Gajen on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:19 am

longjaafar said,

August 17, 2009 @ 4:23 pm

I am quite certain that Tan Chong will bring the GT-R soon. They may be sorting out the spares and back up, and this will not take long. The problem is pricing. Too expensive, it will compete with Porsche (although the GTR beat the Porsche GT3 flat) and too cheap will make the 370Z irrelevant.

It should be around RM 600 to RM 650k. At that price, who needs a Porsche Carrera?

it may affect porsche sales but not much…the gtr is a good car but doesnt has the presence of a supercar…in my opinion i think its just a fast sports coupe thats all…ive seen a few gtrs…i thought the looks is ok only…whereas 911 has the looks of a supercar…so as the interior…

• Elvis on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:27 am

For me as long as my Nissan Fairlady is a chick magnet good enough. So far can get 1 new chick every week, not bad. As for Porche, tried it before, respond very mild.

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 19, 2009 at 11:16 am

this GT-R car is really a fast KATAK wan..

• It is just too expensive, even in US, dun think I can affort it, not need to say in Malaysia…maybe only less than 5% of Malaysian can affort this…

• [QUOTE]

Hey I always see a black GT-R at Amcorp Mall PJ on weekend afternoons! Too bad I have never saw who is the driver though.

[/QUOTE]

that gtr is owned by the boss of amcorp and ambank, tan sri azman hashim.

he also has a porsche 996 turbo, ferrari 612 scaglietti, ferrari 360 scuderia, lexus ls460.

he drives these cars to work daily.

• tonton on Aug 20, 2009 at 1:29 am

27 said,

August 19, 2009 @ 11:15 am

It is just too expensive, even in US, dun think I can affort it, not need to say in Malaysia…maybe only less than 5% of Malaysian can affort this…

5 percent?

ngahahahahaha. u made me laff.

let say total malaysian is 1million

5 percent is equivalent to, 50k unit

which is will be the best selling sportcar in malaysia! yeah!

• Porche willl always be a Porche.

Park a 911 and a GTR side by side.

Chicks automatically will go for Porche.

• tonton on Aug 20, 2009 at 5:42 pm

bear said,

August 19, 2009 @ 7:16 pm

Porche willl always be a Porche.

Park a 911 and a GTR side by side.

Chicks automatically will go for Porche.

hahaha. u wrong.

in malaysia, when u park a 911, and a GTR side by side, the only person who will stare, and impress is a guy. not a girl

• initial R on Aug 20, 2009 at 8:09 pm

just saw 2 days ago near the curve plate WQN1010 in silver. look awsome.

• There's one staff nurse in Selayang Hospital driving an orange 350z …agent HighO tuh haha

• gtrwtf on Aug 21, 2009 at 4:38 pm

DAMM! WE WANT MANUAL GEAR!!

• comarezzi on Aug 22, 2009 at 8:45 pm

$299k x 2.5 equal RM747k… i think grey importer in malaysia sell it around RM599k … is it correct??

iGTR is a powerful car… hmm when will my business generate enuff dough to buy this..

• bring it in msia…

• Gee Tee arR on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Why does it take so long for Tan Chong to bring in the GTR officially? Or is the car within the “grey market” for the corrupt to milk excessively?

• csteoh7828 on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Please introduce GT-R here officially.