New Euro 2M Caltex Diesel with Techron D

Caltex Techron DThe new Euro2M specification Caltex Diesel with Techron D has been available at Caltex stations nationwide since the 1st of September 2009. In addition to complying with the new Euro2M specifications, the Techron D additive is a new formulation which has a few benefits according to lab tests:

• Produce cleaner fuel injectors with 47% more flow resulting in 6% more power.  In a diesel engine, keeping the fuel injectors clean is critical as diesel fuel injectors are prone to deposits clogging.  Deposits can upset the injector spray pattern and hinder the fuel-air mixing process and this can result in decreased fuel economy, increased emissions and compromise engine performance. In the very latest engines, each hole in a fuel injector may be as small as the width of two human hairs. The potential for negative impact from injector deposits is increasing as diesel engines become more sophisticated.
  • Protect metal surfaces against corrosion.
  • Produce 83% less foam, making it easier for the diesel to be filled.

The above benefits were measured in a lab test compared to a “reference diesel” without the Techron D additive. Has anyone with a diesel vehicle tried Caltex Diesel yet, or any of the new Euro 2M diesels? How do you find it compared to the old MS123 diesel on sale before the 1st of September?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fazron80 on Oct 10, 2009 at 5:09 pm

which is the caltex diesel? On the left or on the right?

• mariappan on Oct 10, 2009 at 5:25 pm

I used Caltex for my Captiva but there too much smoke, than switched to Shell which was better. But that was before Euro 2 diesel. Need to go back to Caltex and try it again, especially if it can claen the injectors better than the others that i have used.

• You're Slimebal on Oct 10, 2009 at 5:27 pm

I have tried the caltex diesel and the old ms123 diesel on my car.

Trouble is, my car was only meant for petrol.

Let the flame-ing begin!

• mariappan on Oct 10, 2009 at 5:29 pm

2 things that I have noticed between the old and new diesel, the fume smell and the smoke has improved. Power wise I don't see too much of a difference, however milage has improved for long distance.

• Eugene on Oct 10, 2009 at 6:49 pm

Havent tried the new Caltex diesel but the old one seems smoother than Shell.

Shell causing more vibration on engine, more smoke and less mileage from personal experience.

Old Petronas diesel slightly more smoke yet still smooth.

The other day tried new BHP, seems quite ok too, managed to achieve record distance of 14.4km/l on 50% highway 50% city drive on my d-max. May be raya time cannot speed on highway, less jam on city.

Time will tell.

Cant wait to try new Caltex.

• I have been using Petronas diesel for my 4×4 pickup truck. On every engine service & oil change, the engine oil would start becoming blacken after about 1000km run. Is this normal?? Usually, I would send for service & engine oil change (at dealer's service center) after 5000 ~ 6000km even though the recommended milage is 10,000km. Just cann't trust our local diesel!

I may try the Caltex diesel for a change.

• Mufasa on Oct 10, 2009 at 8:20 pm

mana saga diesel?

how much is diesel road tax? anybody,please share(for both have both engine,who dont have please keep quite,dont wast my time)…izit still expensive?

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 10, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Mufasa: Road tax for vehicles with diesel engines up to 2.5L and privately-owned are equivalent to those with petrol engines.

Using Shell's Euro 2M diesel. Clocking extra mileage with the new fuel, approximately 100kms per tankful (average mileage per day is 50kms). Driving style haven't changed though, come rain or shine! CIAO!

• damn, i thought those pictures was sperm.

• A. Nonyme on Oct 10, 2009 at 10:23 pm

That comes just at the right time with the new diesel models from BMW. I was a bit "scare" to buy a diesel engine because of the "poor" quality, but now I might consider diesel for my next car.

• Mufasa on Oct 10, 2009 at 10:52 pm

M3 said,

October 10, 2009 @ 1:44 pm

damn, i thought those pictures was sperm.

——————-

urs look like that aa?

• ali38hak on Oct 11, 2009 at 1:20 am

diesel here diesel there, ok

but what about diesel and PROTON ?

can we see a diesel from proton ?

selamaleykum to all brothers from Türkiye
    http://protonturkiye.forum.st

• Bro and sisters:

Which diesel has lowest ppm? is it BHP? By the way, l can rate BHP 95 among the best gasoline per liter. But now, l got more mileage when l change back to RON 97 Petronas.

Despite of 25 percent dearer, RON97 still more economical as lm not feel losing the power.

Once money is not an issue and more option for diesel cars available I'll embrace diesel, i.e BMW 520ed.

• off-topic:

Just saw below image at Utusan Online. Police Evo X involve in minor accident during demo at Seksyen U9. What a waste. ouchh…

http://xtive.utusan.com.my/tools/utusan/update_ga…

• wiraone on Oct 11, 2009 at 6:32 am

No wonder .. I thought Caltex has been on Euro2M all these while .. filled up their diesel twice since Sept1 with no different .. and last week, filled up diesel from Petronas station which displayed Dynamic Diesel .. what a change .. not much black smoke coming out .. and the engine turns really spiffy ..

• Been using the Shell Diesel for my truck for the longest time. A friend was telling me to look for 2 things, cooler engine temperature and diesel clutter would be less. I noticed on this two to be correct. Been driving the usual style but seems to be using more fuel than before. Maybe it's time to try the other diesels.

• the fighter on Oct 11, 2009 at 6:32 pm

i ve tested few diesel brands since September..not much different, but petronas n caltex felt quite ok..the engine run smoother.

• celicazz on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:16 am

this shud have been introduced looooooooooooooooooong ago? why only know?

they say malaysia is way forward in petroleum technology?

crap…

• nyawere on Oct 12, 2009 at 2:37 pm

I've been using a diesel car for the past 3 years. Have only used Petronas and nothing else. With the new diesek, Power and all is not much difference, but somehow, the mileage is much better…!!! Last time on a full tank, with a combination of town driving & hingway (i live in puchong & work in KL) i will get an average of 600km. But ever since the new euro 2m came out, i've been averaging around 650 to 680. An additional of between 50 to 80km per full thank with the same driving style is a lot….!!! Like i said, power still the same & noise wise, tak noticable becoz kat dalam u really dont hear anything.

Last week my mom borrowed my car (she drives within the speed limit) and the car clocked past 800km on a full thank. I double checked with her and confirm that she did not fill in the thank. She only went to PD once (Around 150km) and the rest was absolulte town driving..!

BY the way, i'm driving a Naza Sorento..!

• WhatTheFuzz on Oct 12, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Have yet to try Caltex's new diesel. I was a regular Shell diesel user pre Euro-2M. After Euro 2-M was implemented, I was still using Shell, was not impressed still as black smoke was still an issue. I've switched to Petronas' Dynamic Diesel, and things have improved (from a black smoke perspective). I'll try a couple more tankfuls of Petronas before I move on to Caltex to try it out.

• Experimentdude on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:51 pm

I have tried Caltex during hari raya. Before this using Mobil. When using Mobil, press the pedal until flat at the floor but can go only 120km/h for my ford ranger. Somemore occasionally there is jerk in the engine feels like the disel flow is not smooth. After try Caltex only need to press halfway and it can go to 120km/h. From Air Itam tol to Jawi tol engine feel smooth without any jerk with average speed is 120km/h. Now still using Mobil as they have smile point. Will using Caltex if engine feel heavy.

• the fighter on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:17 pm

Experimentdude said,

October 12, 2009 @ 12:51 pm

I have tried Caltex during hari raya. Before this using Mobil. When using Mobil, press the pedal until flat at the floor but can go only 120km/h for my ford ranger. Somemore occasionally there is jerk in the engine feels like the disel flow is not smooth. After try Caltex only need to press halfway and it can go to 120km/h. From Air Itam tol to Jawi tol engine feel smooth without any jerk with average speed is 120km/h. Now still using Mobil as they have smile point. Will using Caltex if engine feel heavy.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/10/10/new-euro-2m-caltex-…

dude, im driving mazda fighter..same engine with ur ranger,i fuel consumtion is about rm0.20 for 1km for current diesel price..how bout urs since fighter hv same engine with ranger?

• Experimentdude on Oct 12, 2009 at 10:56 pm

the fighter, my fc is 14km/liter with speed 100km/h in highway A/C off. If A/C on it should be 11 to 12 km per liter with speed 100km/h.

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 12, 2009 at 11:20 pm

Experimentdude/the fighter: There are 2 types of engines for both the Ranger & Fighter – WL-T in the earlier models & the present TDCi. Then there's MT & AT. Then again there are 3 tyre sizes. Again, age of vehicle is important too. All these factors had to be taken into consideration when comparing FC, come rain or shine! CIAO!

• Experimentdude on Oct 13, 2009 at 1:05 am

NutzeyWagen, If i want to list all the item that effect my FC, such as tyre size, tyre thread, engine oil type, aerodynamic, radiator coolent, driving style etc..etc.., these all will be never ending story. Just enough to know the average fc of Ranger and Fighter. The point here Caltex disel can give more mileage based on my experience as it has good detergent to make the disel to flow smooth. It just they didn't have any point to reward the user like smiles or bonuslink.

• NutzeyWagen on Oct 13, 2009 at 3:15 am

Experimentdude: You're missing the whole point here. The 1st generation of Rangers uses 235/75X15 tyres, whereas the facelifted version (some are known as Hurricane) uses 265/70X15 tyres while the TDCi uses 245/70X16 tyres. All these 3 variants have different power and torque outputs. Fuel consumption varies considerably between all these models, and again between MT and AT. To compare average FC, you guys must at least have the same variant of vehicles, come rain or shine! CIAO!