Lexus LFA: live motorshow shots and 2 videos

Lexus LFA - Live

Here’s a few shots of the Lexus LFA supercar live from the Tokyo Motorshow 2009 this morning, which was pretty much the most exciting exhibit at the Toyota and Lexus displays as the rest of the cars had already been unveiled in press release and product image form before the motorshow. Only a certain ‘2 seater supercar’ had been withheld until the motorshow press day itself.

The LFA really sounded great in real life thanks to its high-revving V10 with individual throttle bodies. Can’t say the same about its looks though. The individual design elements don’t really seem to gel together that well.

Anyway, words can only say so much. After the jump you’ll find a few things – live shots of the LFA, two product shots of the LFA, and a video of the Lexus LFA unveiling at the motorshow this morning.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=569]

VIDEO: Lexus LFA unveiling at Tokyo Motorshow 2009

VIDEO: Lexus LFA – Promo Footage 1

VIDEO: Lexus LFA – Promo Footage 2

VIDEO: Toyota Showcase Opening at Tokyo Motorshow 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• narrowband on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:15 am

Man I really dig this ride…

• obertan on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:21 am

nice design…

LFA : Lexus For Ah beng…. j/k

• Ariff on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:45 am

nice~~but the rims are just too plain..I really dig the design~

• torquemonster (Member) on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:47 am

is that a carbon fibre roof i m seeing?

• adrianclw on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:55 am

Another great supercar.

Have the Supra feel for the exterior design.

• lambov12 on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:16 am

they copy the styling from 350Z, Audi R8 and lambo ..

• Not very nice… T should capitalizes on Supra DNA.

This car design is lacking soul.

• Sharviin Sasasey on Oct 22, 2009 at 7:14 am

LFA, sounds like aLFA…still its desperate to being looking good.

• blitz on Oct 22, 2009 at 7:47 am

Nissan R35 killer?

• tamaki on Oct 22, 2009 at 10:12 am

in tis ultimate machine i don't see any imitate but a strongly individual character pls don't insult tis godspeed machine!

• Team Polizei on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:08 pm

I believe this beast would outperformed the GT-R.

• ambush on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:19 pm

its the concept that actually looks like a million bucks compared to the production..

• Beloved on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:43 pm

Paul, do you know what is the soundtrack of this Promo Video? The engine rev sounds nice together with this soundtrack.

• Jaybond on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:49 pm

This car is every bit worth to be pitted against the Europe's powerhouses namely Ferrari 458 Italia, Mercedes SLS AMG, Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4, Porsche 911 GT2, Audi R8 V10 and the upcoming McLaren MP4-12C, a moment which hopefully will comeout in the future in any car mags/publications.

If only Nissan could built a roadgoing 550-plus bhp GTR, at least we have another Japanese supercar to give some challenge to the establishments in this middle-power segment.

• xavier lert on Oct 22, 2009 at 7:20 pm

it just doesn't looks like a car that prize twice from average ferrari…..the feel is diffrent…if u didn mention the prize….i probly tot its gonna be lil bit more then GTR….but not twice to ferrari..plus if they wanna stay in super car league … the speed must be more…350kmh a least…..

when it came to malaysia (thats a BIG "if"….coz theres only 500 avail)..and if those rich geng in malaysia choose this over the ferrari….and i think it'll prize at RM 3mil….at least…

• LP560-4 on Oct 22, 2009 at 7:42 pm

Nice design… Good job Lexus!

• not a bad effort from Lexus… considering they dont have heritage like Ferrari.

What is interesting is will it be reliable and durable like any other ToyotaLexus.

Now if this is the case then this is something unheard of in the supercar circle.!!!.

• Annoy-namos on Oct 22, 2009 at 8:43 pm

GTR still the Japanese supercar…

• Gajen on Oct 22, 2009 at 9:19 pm

this is wat u call a supercar…awesome….this has better looks and interior than the gtr….gtr looks like a big coupe only….this one has the feel of a supercar

• Jaybond on Oct 22, 2009 at 10:05 pm

A general consensus is that any production 2-door car capable of reaching max speed >300 km/h , and tailored for handling should be qualified already to be called a supercar. Plush/luxurious interior is a bonus.

• torque (Member) on Oct 22, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Team Polizei said,

October 22, 2009 @ 9:08 am

I believe this beast would outperformed the GT-R.

No bro…this car can't outperformed the GTR unless it's a force fed!! The GTR may have less HP compare with this LFA, 480 BHP vs 550 BHP but you need to remember the power-to-weight-ratio and the drivetrain set up. GTR is a twin-turbo V6 which is lighter compare to a V10 but had more torque than the LFA, 580 Nm vs. 480 Nm. Torque is something you'll need to accelerate first not the HP. Not only that, the GTR is an AWD compare to the LFA which is RWD…so traction is an advantage to the GTR.

• unknown on Oct 22, 2009 at 11:28 pm

rear view have the same look as audi r8.front really looks like a gtr+nissan 370z

• azrai on Oct 23, 2009 at 12:48 am

Sure this will be Ah beng's next Lexus.

• torquemonster (Member) on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:21 am

dont talk about the price yet, wait till a journalist or reviewer test it, it might just be worth it.. who knows..

• tokmoh on Oct 23, 2009 at 7:59 am

Mmm… Would love to see the engine in the future Esprit replacement. Mmm…

• waklu on Oct 23, 2009 at 7:32 pm

The exterior is redundant and will be outdated in couple of years, and its overprice.. GTR killer? meh, try selling it at 70k pound.. I wonder why many new supercars trying to beat GTR with thrice the price?

• torque (Member) on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:29 pm

torquemonster said,

October 22, 2009 @ 8:21 pm

dont talk about the price yet, wait till a journalist or reviewer test it, it might just be worth it.. who knows..

Couldn't agreed with u more….

• EDMUND on Oct 27, 2009 at 2:17 am

with price twice from a Ferrari just to beat a GTR?! i'll get 1 GTR, 1 V8 Ferrari and a Merc SL with same amount of money spend. rich people may have different tought…

exterior…why so many hole? i tot only Mit Evo & WRX will do so. GallardoLP560-4, R8 v10, Ferrari 458 Italia, MP4-12C…none of them have so many holesssssss…. funny

• Annoy-namos on Oct 28, 2009 at 8:33 pm

One more thing… I think the look will outdate fast. Theres nothing really outstanding or unique about the design…

• EDMUND on Nov 02, 2009 at 9:19 pm

i do agree with Annoy-namos.

• 10 individual throttle bodies…wonder why they have to go to such extent while horsepower still remain in average range comparable to other manufacturers' engines with much less throttle bodies

• this lexus should be compared with mercedes benz slr mclaren.its 150000$ less.but with same capabillities.i myself prefer to buy this LFA istead of SLR.the hole chasy is carbon fiber.dont forget this point.it is too much cheaper.doesnt it?