Tokyo Live 2009: Daihatsu e:S Concept

Daihatsu e:S Concept

Looking at photos are one thing but seeing a concept car in real life is another. The Daihatsu e:S manages to look compact but somehow not excessively cheap at the same time, so you feel like if you bought one, it’s purely because you do not need anything bigger – just two seats and a small boot behind your front seats. The e:S has some really small rear seats though making it somewhat like a 2+2, but you’re better off using that space as a boot instead.

To give you an idea, the e:S Concept’s 2,175mm wheelbase is actually even shorter than the now-“extinct” Kancil’s 2,280mm wheelbase. It’s based on an existing platform but had its wheelbase shortened so it should mean the development cost for a production car would not be excessively high.

Weight loss techniques such as slim and lightweight seats and light materials give the e:S a total weight of 700 kg. As a result, its 660cc engine with auto-start stop can take it as far as 30km on a litre of fuel under the Japan 10-15 drive mode.

Look after the jump for a live photo gallery of the e:S.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=591]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ericfoong81exe on Oct 26, 2009 at 1:20 pm

It looks like boxy version of mini cooper from side view….tail design look like China car.

• Silv3r on Oct 26, 2009 at 8:27 pm

Nice and cute car..

so compact~

• Micheal on Oct 26, 2009 at 8:36 pm

first!

mini roof!

• Gajen on Oct 26, 2009 at 8:51 pm

very nice car indeed….IQ front+ AYGO rear

it will be interesting if perodua can bring this in

• Anonymous on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:01 pm

Still overprice when come to bolehland.

• hmm… a mixture of Citroen C3 and Toyota IQ.. will the interior as nice as the C3 ??

• sorry is Citroen DS 3**

• ignas on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:40 pm

it looks tall…too many chromes at the back, that's why looks like cina car.

• ray13 (Member) on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:46 pm

emm..sure gonna replace viva next..

• Nakal on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:58 pm

yes…viva replacement

• halo

• freedome on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:47 pm

smart for 2 Japan ver……????

hem……..produa maybe not

• unknown on Oct 26, 2009 at 11:59 pm

if wanna viva be replace by this.why dont replace myvi first.myvi comes first so replace myvi first.viva only on market for 2 years why so early wanna replace new one

• Bob's your uncl on Oct 27, 2009 at 12:01 am

The new Perodua Dua?

• Trend continues…

Existing segment being made larger and larger that turn it to higher class (eg. mira based), then made new model to fill void segment… boring!

• tokmoh on Oct 27, 2009 at 12:50 am

Hmm… the badge is blue like on Prius n other hybrid models from Lexus.

Nonsense la they try to make it look like mini with that blue paint n black panels n white roof. Just when we thought the Japs hv finally got over their plagiarise-the-westerners culture…

• ago87 on Oct 27, 2009 at 1:26 am

Waiting for Perodua to bring this cute baby in and only then plan to buy this baby.. ^^

• shawal.ali on Oct 27, 2009 at 9:03 am

well, prius could go 38km per litre, y not assemble prius here? I believe Malaysia is capable of assembling such cars, we have ckd hondas, bmw and mercs if im not mistaken, US prius got sunroof, the ev mode is longer, and its only what, 27kUSD there, times 4 is RM112, if prius's current price here is slashed by 50k (RM127k) , Toyota will have a clear cut winner. period.

• shawal.ali on Oct 27, 2009 at 9:14 am

oops, sorry the solar power can power the aircond, in hot country like this, it makes sense, you tweak2 abit, it'll keep the car cool under the hot sun, or while waiting for you never-punctual girlfriend, saves fuel. EV mood is gewd for 2 miles, 3.2 km , now you have an excuse to use the car for insanely short trips. anyway This daihatsu is a 2+2, which i feel doesnt appeal to majority of malaysians " eh , sempit nie… sape nak beli " , KL itself is not a metropolitan like tokyo where K-car is advisable and fun to use. If you dont have friends or family that rely on you to pick them up from time to time, this car might appeal to you

• hazxkh on Oct 27, 2009 at 11:25 am

jgn harapkan p2.

keta kecik harga besar

• Sharviin Sasasey on Oct 27, 2009 at 8:57 pm

New Kelisa perhaps?

• Perodua 22 or 2tambah2

it looks like a taller n skinner n shorter mini……..

i was hoping for p2 for the toyota bb to be in msia as a 1.5 contender……but i guess its coz of the new p2 MPV n some more shares the pannels with myvi, more economical…..hehehe………

don replace viva…………. replace kenari with latest model Move in japan…..its so HOT!!!!!

• Solen on Oct 28, 2009 at 11:33 pm

good for city driving and go to work…

• 30km/l…could be better