Tokyo 2009: Daihatsu e:S compact car

Daihatsu e:S Concept

This is the new Daihatsu e:S. It weighs just 700kg and is powered by a 660cc engine, typical of K-cars in Japan. The car looks like it’s in the same class as the Ford Ka and it uses a current Daihatsu production platform but with its wheelbase shortened to 2,175mm. That’s even shorter than the Viva’s 2,390mm. The light weight and the fuel efficient engine with features such as Idling Stop System results in an estimated fuel efficiency of 30km per litre under the Japan 10-15 test! In case you were wondering what the name meant – e:S stands for ‘eco and smart’.

Four larger photos available after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=548]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mr_3m on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:50 am

will we see a Perodua version of this??? It would be nice to replace the Kancil with this design… though the sceptics will see this as another opportunity to 'bash' P2 for whatever reasons only known to them… re: poor safety, tin can quality, rebadging etc etc etc…

mini 'Mini' wanna be…

• Paul Tan on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:53 am

Yeah, imagine if this baby can slot in below the Viva as a RM20k car for people who just want to get around fuel efficiently, just a city car, no need big luggage space or comfortable four people seating.

• valandil on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:53 am

2 door k-car woh.. 2 seater only or is it 2.5 seater..

white top sommore..

• farghmee on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:01 am

kancil replacement / viva substitute? :)

simple design :)

i dun like the tail light though..

• initial R on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:05 am

More to viva replacment… hmmmm….

• osh_kosh on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:08 am

is it only 1 head rest at the back? 3 seaters? can't see clearly… but from the side i don't think there's a room big enuff for rear passengers…

• Paul Tan on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:08 am

It's smaller than a Viva!

• Gajen on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:14 am

its a small 2 door car…cant expect much room…it seats 4 i guess…since the iq seats 4…i prefer iq tho…iq has much better interior and also exterior

however…ill be very happy if perodua brings this in…

• boleh! on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:15 am

this car rocks~!!!! no one will drive a motorcycle anymore~~~!!!

perodua must make it. yea~!!

buy this, and the rest of your money, for your weekend car Evo or STi, those fuel consuming beast.

• osh_kosh on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:18 am

yeah, P2 bring it in, add some meaningless upgrade here & there then sell it around RM40k (just like what they did with Viva Elite).. & surprisingly, still can sell hahahahaha

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:21 am

actually, i think nowadays the car can have a fuel consumption of 30km/l without too sacrifice the interior space, am i right?

• Kambing Laut on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:42 am

Need more photocopy machine to send for perodua soon.

• buttercity on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:46 am

Change the logo to Perodua and put an animal name to it and voila! We have a new Perodua model.. Hehe..

• painsama on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:01 am

Cool. The roofline somehow looks like Mini! Is it just my imagination.

• painsama said,

October 8, 2009 @ 7:01 pm

Cool. The roofline somehow looks like Mini! Is it just my imagination.

Its your imagination.

A daihatsu version of our kancil, with better fuel consumption.

I'm a very visual person, therefore i'm against this car. lol.

Heck, i think the kancil looks better than this.

• isfufushah on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:53 am

Yeah, imagine if this baby can slot in below the Viva as a RM20k car for people who just want to get around fuel efficiently, just a city car, no need big luggage space or comfortable four people seating. <–= Yeah paul, that was what i'm talkin' about. but i think perodua don't seem to undrstnd us.

:-P

• this is eco because ur colleague wont sit in your car end up being in their 4 door.

• isfufushah on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:56 am

<<>>

Maybe….

;-)

• aliBaPa on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:58 am

very good car

can be my 2nd car

• paohyean on Oct 09, 2009 at 4:10 am

Is it me or the front headlamps and the overall design resembles a lot like the Toyota iQ???

Just from my observation though…

=D

• angel on Oct 09, 2009 at 4:26 am

Bring it here, but dont change the facelift la..

see what happened when they redesign myvi and viva facelift..

from cute jap car become ugly malaysian car.. but perodua still say it 'stylish' design.. lol

• angel on Oct 09, 2009 at 4:30 am

Wen said,

October 8, 2009 @ 7:41 pm

’m a very visual person, therefore i’m against this car. lol.

Heck, i think the kancil looks better than this.

kancil looks better than this??? (O_o)

LOL

• pp231952 (Member) on Oct 09, 2009 at 4:32 am

This looks like a great car, but as with loads of Daihatsu models, probably won't reach the UK. Shame, really because it would be perfect for people who need a small, stylish car. If they can manage to get emissions down to below 100g/kilometre, it will enjoy free road tax. At present, the Daihatsu Sirion is the smallest car they sell, the Charade [or Cuore] seems to have passed us by. This does seem a very attractive car, a bit like a Mini, but that did the Suzuki Swift no harm. I'll keep on the lookout for its UK launch.

• paul, It will be nice if you can summarised and share with others, an interwiew with DSZ regarding Proton problems, takeover and their roadmap inside TheEdge okt 5-okt 11 issue. And dont forget to quote source.

• 700kg! what the build it with?

this is similar in size to smart for2 paul?

• Littlefire on Oct 09, 2009 at 5:39 am

I think is from Toyota IQ at all, Toyota is famous for platform sharing between Daihatsu.. Just look at Daihatsu Boon, Toyota Passo & Perodua Myvi! They are all the same platform!

• chaku on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:59 am

midget myvi?

• Micheal on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:46 am

pp231952 said,

October 8, 2009 @ 8:32 pm

This looks like a great car, but as with loads of Daihatsu models, probably won’t reach the UK. Shame, really because it would be perfect for people who need a small, stylish car. If they can manage to get emissions down to below 100g/kilometre, it will enjoy free road tax. At present, the Daihatsu Sirion is the smallest car they sell, the Charade [or Cuore] seems to have passed us by. This does seem a very attractive car, a bit like a Mini, but that did the Suzuki Swift no harm. I’ll keep on the lookout for its UK launch.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/10/08/tokyo-2009-daihatsu…

————————————————————-

i dont think UK ppl cud fit into this…

• Anonymous on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:56 am

Everyone, don't forget Tata Nano..

• skyyarif on Oct 09, 2009 at 8:28 am

omg its just good looking, perodua should consider this whenever they wana re-badge cars frm japan again. lol!

its a perfect car for me, lol

• skyyarif on Oct 09, 2009 at 8:31 am

700 kgs? haha what is it made of? paper like Trabant? lol!

overall its good looking though, dont mind owning one

• azrai on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Viva replacement model.

• ezmil on Oct 09, 2009 at 4:26 pm

A perfect city car!

• Shaekey on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:14 pm

I'm looking for a car the size of Smart fortwo but cheaper… and if this comes to Malaysia I'd probably buy one. Just a car for going to work, and small enough so I can park somewhere that other cars can't park. Parking is a big problem for me and small car would be perfect and make looking for parking space easier.

• A cute car I must say. Is it a production model?

• BrakeFader on Oct 09, 2009 at 11:31 pm

Daihatsu's answer to Tata nano!

• rexis on Oct 10, 2009 at 2:26 am

Look at all the car on the streets, all 5 seaters, the rest 7 seaters. And look at the payload, 95% fetch driver only.

This is a good daily working car.

• chiro on Oct 10, 2009 at 4:01 am

future 'kereta sewa' for uni & college student… hehe

• unknown on Oct 10, 2009 at 6:44 am

this car really looks like mini cooper.i think perodua doesnt really have to rebadge this car.they should learn to design their own.because we have alot of potential designers,engineers in Malaysia.

• zafedz on Oct 10, 2009 at 9:29 am

make it 2 seater please and shorter similar to smart for2 model..

Name it Smart P2….ha!ha!

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:12 pm

Yo P2, r u listening?? Plz bring this car in and we can have our 'own' MINI Cooper! Not a bad idea eh??

• SUJAC on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:18 pm

CUTE LITTLE BABY

• Solen on Oct 12, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Proton Juara much better than this haha~~

and that Proton Juara is a copy from Suzuki

• angel on Oct 13, 2009 at 9:25 am

Solen said,

October 12, 2009 @ 3:54 pm

Proton Juara much better than this haha~~

and that Proton Juara is a copy from Suzuki

—————————————

I LOL at this comment..

This daihatsu model is better than Proton Juara..

Juara is a fail product, not 'juara' at all..

And its not from Suzuki, its Mitsubishi Box la…

• Reincarnation of the Kelisa/ Cuore?