Juicy details about Proton’s future plans revealed

ProtonThe Edge as always has a very interesting and revealing interview with Proton’s managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir. The ex-Perodua man has been at Proton’s helm for about 4 years now and I think most of us agree that under his leadership Proton has taken a turn for the better.

Here are some key points in the story:

• Chinese automaker Youngman’s Europestar brand is building a new car, engineered by Lotus. It uses components carried over from the GEN2. Lotus is being paid about US$20 million for the work, and Proton also gets licensing for this new car’s platform once it rolls out. This could be the car we saw yesterday.
  • Proton’s new model investments will be in core models. Models with lower volumes such as a Perdana replacement will be through collaborations. There is no sense in spending half a million ringgit investing in a Perdana when it will not get the kind of sales the Saga (5.5k to 6k) and Persona (3.5k to 4k) currently gets.
  • The Campro’s lifecycle will end in 2014, after of which a new engine will replace it. Proton is currently looking at two different options, but are still looking at other OEMs. They hope to decide where the new engine will come from by next year.
  • Proton will be consolidating its plants to Tanjung Malim in 3 years time. The Shah Alam plant’s land can be utilised better than its current use as it is appreciating in price now. A sale to Sime Darby?
  • The Waja replacement model will be coming next year. The Perdana will come in 2011. We will get an all-new global model to replace the Persona in 2012. That would mean the Persona will be replaced after a 5 year lifecycle (well, it’s longer actually if you consider the Persona a GEN2). Proton plans to continue a typical Japanese 5 year lifecycle for all its products, but this could go to 7 years (like premium conti lifecycles) at most.
  • The new 2012 Persona replacement model will be styled by an Italian company instead of Proton’s design team led by Azlan Othman.

Read the full interview here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• almostthere on Nov 03, 2009 at 10:09 am

This is really juicy although some details remain unclear primarily:

1. What about low volume core products like the Gen2 and Satria Neo's replacement will come into production if there ever will be assuming they share the same platform as the Persona replacement as they have an earlier due replacement date?

2. What about drivetrains? Are we gonne see diesel and better transmission choices (5spd AT?) in the near future?

3. What of the Exora and the new engine that it deserves? It definitely needs it

• msian on Nov 03, 2009 at 10:10 am

interesting…..

• my god… then.. what car should i buy.. planning to buy a car next year.

• shawal.ali on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:09 am

Top gear magazine, has a section called "lifers" where auto journos buys and live with the car fer few months? or a month. I think the local magz shud do the same with these upcoming proton cars…

Proton have to win back sales in home turf, they can if they do it right

All the best, Malaysia Boleh

• Cyberkayu on Nov 03, 2009 at 12:03 pm

italian design?

pinifinina?

• Jessen on Nov 03, 2009 at 12:55 pm

I'm more interested in Perodua insider news than Proton's secret :p Anyway, it's good to know all these insider news. :)

• peYno on Nov 03, 2009 at 2:06 pm

perodua insider news not interesting at all, we can predict their future model infact, just refer to Daihatsu website.no need insider news..hahaha

• fairsyah on Nov 03, 2009 at 2:35 pm

rata-ratanya loan kete baru kat malaysia adalah 7 tahun… rasanya kitaran paling sesuai utk model baru kat malaysia adalah 7 tahun.

• 'The new 2012 Persona replacement model will be styled by an Italian company instead of Proton’s design team led by Azlan Othman.'

Well, there are many things that can be improved at Proton. What does not need to be improved in my opinion, is the design. Azlan Othman's team did a good job with the current Persona.

'There is no sense in spending half a million ringgit investing in a Perdana'

Half a million ? I guess you wanted to say "half a billion" ? For half a million you can't even design a new motorcycle…

• orido on Nov 03, 2009 at 3:01 pm

agreed with Peyno. Or else, you can go to Toyota's website for Perodua's latest scoop. LOL!!!

• redfueler on Nov 03, 2009 at 4:02 pm

italian company..

lt's by alfa..???

• droll on Nov 03, 2009 at 4:09 pm

with the campro expected to end in 2014, that leaves 4 years from 2010 onwards for the turbo campro engine's lifecycle. errrrr a bit short right to recoup the costs invested in developing it??

• off course its will be design by italian.. danny bahar geng maaa!

• ericfoong81exe on Nov 03, 2009 at 4:15 pm

Hmm….a big question mark for me, why can't the proton develope the engine and new model it self instead of paying 20 mil to the Youngman to get a new model?? Gen2 is a total failure project in China due to it's sky high price if compare to other Jap's car in China. So what for P1 spenfing money on his own R&D team? Mostly sleeping i guess. Now this is call National car; where they pay our money to foreigner and get us some lousy China design car…..go to hell, u bloody P1. For those P1 supporter pls wake up u idiot, we better buy P2 car to get Jap's tech car….at least it worth for the value.

• rookie on Nov 03, 2009 at 4:41 pm

its funny how ppl bash proton for their existing in malaysia (refer the NAP threads) yet we still wanted to know about proton's future plans..

i just got fed up by it unless proton would be willing to lower its cars price for the ppl..

• Littlefire on Nov 03, 2009 at 4:50 pm

Proton always talk about new model, but never talk about technology innovation better engine or transmission… Where the EV? Or Hybrid? No more de?

• cardreamer on Nov 03, 2009 at 4:56 pm

Dear ericfoong81exe,

Do you understand what you read in the article? You're none the smarter than the people you are bashing!

Sorry for my words…Happy reading.

• rookie on Nov 03, 2009 at 4:57 pm

forget watever models they wanna come up with..

its how they'll price it n how it'll effect our automotive industries n ppl..

local car made for local ppl..more like local car made to kill local ppl.. :P

• autojoke on Nov 03, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Italian styling…worth to try. Azlan and the gang…dont know..how come we given a design by this young guy…not enough experiences (just a few years working with lotus in UK)…look what happend to ixora…persona not 100% his idea many of it from gen2!. If we look other car company the styling lead by very experience man and may be input by young bood.

• Casper on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Thought of getting the Persona next year but if it is being replaced in 2012 hmmm… might have to reconsider. Maybe will wait for the new Waja ;)

• xavier lert on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:05 pm

just my opinion…..proton wont spent to much on rnd and develop on new tech car like hybrid … why?…does we car about evi?..no.!!.. wat we care is our money..so will u digg ur pocket jus for tech?..n they kno that if they develop this it wont be that great…

campro stand for camprofiling but it doesnt serve the claim at the early batch…but instead they need to retag it as campro CPS..this is when the CPS realy working…we already fall behind about..wat..15 yrs i guess..coz first vtech is back in 1990s …so when do u expect our proton will produce hybrid?? next yr?..no…just simply say 15yrs from now….and this petrol car will still running atleast 30 yrs letter…

• gen2lama on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Dear ericfoong81exe

go back to school la…simple english pun cannot faham ka?….

• rexis on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:19 pm

Having the thought that I might be forced to buy any of this car has just put me down.

• prohatch7 (Member) on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:22 pm

huhuhu…look at the very 'SMART' ericfoong81exe…

very smart until a simple sentence & article oso dun understand..

so PITY on u…agree wif cardreamer.

• Mysticmind on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:24 pm

I do believe Proton already in a reight way since last year at list. Proton do design and enhanced their car in the way it should be.

However, the most rubbish part, spoil and ruin their car produced are still that RUBBISH PARTS MAKER.

The vendor is a profit sucker, they seems didn't do for the sake of Rakyat Malaysia but only for their own pocket. Their so called 'persatuan vendor proton' is to unite to ensure their 'life cycle and pocket' NOT to unite to conquer the world automotive industry. (you all should read what the chairman of vendor said in a paper today – Utusan if i not mistake – What a rubbish and coward statement, no world vision at all! ). We should blast them.

The Proton for me whatever it is, It's still a good business idea for country economy. The bad thing is… THE WHO MANAGE IT (and those related).

And what about P2? Why they just shy? they are the real money sucker btw. Japan money sucker proxy.

• i really hope proton will be owned by FIAT or VW.

• Mysticmind on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:28 pm

damn* too many typo. :D

• goguncas71 (Member) on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:45 pm

Littlefire

Why do say proton has not hybrid and EV plans when as a regular on this site you very well know that they do? Forget ka…

The Hybrid demo has been running a while now. The tech is all there, unfortunately there's no market for it. Everybody says they would love a hybrid but look at the real fuel economy gains (tested by magazines not the ones supplied by the manufacturers) – it's just not there..Plus no one wants to buy a car that will have a worse resale value that a mahindra – try selling a five year hybrid that needs the RM 15,000 battery changed…

EV. Proton already has a EV model running. A full working model with regenarative braking and everything. All Proton is waiting for is for the battery makers to standardize their Li-ion battery packages and for the govt to work out the charging standards (connection types and so on.)

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:45 pm

ericfoong81exe said,

November 3, 2009 @ 8:15 am

Hmm….a big question mark for me, why can’t the proton develope the engine and new model it self instead of paying 20 mil to the Youngman to get a new model??

—————

Read carefully, Lotus is being paid not pay to Youngman. That's mean Lotus is making money and contribute to Proton Group.

Let's forget Gen2. I'm also bleeded by this car to the limit. Just wait and see what Proton can offer by this revealation otherwise forget them forever.

• mr.eims @ healthawar on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:53 pm

I prefer conti than japs. just let produa downgrades the japs.

For the design. i thought current team is quite ok. but if proton want to try italian, go ahead, italian design is prooven v.nice.

Core models? just try it. if proton can make a nice luxury car (that can compete with camry / accord) for price of about the same as old perdana. I'm quite sure it will get a lot of sales as well stealing the sales of camry & accord.

• meteoraniac on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:54 pm

different shell .. same old smell yolk .. the sooner this egg rots and decay (its that possible??) .. the better …

• Mysticmind on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Pininfarina Design?

A wow! then hopefully..

• proton basher on Nov 03, 2009 at 6:01 pm

conclusion…close proton

• p1basher on Nov 03, 2009 at 6:06 pm

how about investment in technology proton?

• pakchimyvi on Nov 03, 2009 at 6:08 pm

arh…

after stupid NAP.. now is Proton turns to continue the show and let us believe what our lovely PM did is right… not only to protect proton… proton "expected" themselves can do a good job for malaysian?? by leaking those info?

well.. let's wait and see… hopefully Proton can really wake up and play a good show.

• dzulx on Nov 03, 2009 at 6:11 pm

Wah.. Malaysian is so hard to please…

Invest in technology, people will say fix the power window first.

Invest in quality, people will say no technology investment??

Invest new model people say wasting money.. fix the power window first..

Invest in rebadging.. people will say … going backward…

anyway gud luck proton…

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 03, 2009 at 6:33 pm

With the kind of sales Proton gets even for its core products, they shouldn't even bother to begin with.

Yes, homegrown development is good. But at the expense of what?

So the billions spent in developing a campro and then now it "may" be a possibility to buy other OEM engine/drivetrain? The campro is a good engine on paper, badly executed and can be poorly made.

Proton can ill afford a 5-7 year re-engineering of its products. They simply do not have the volume. If by re-engineering they meant facelift, then perhaps it is ok.

Don't get me wrong, this is not to bash Proton and I can mentally separate NAP from Proton, but Proton's ambition while well meaning, isn't likely to convince the public.

But I do give this to them. Loose the pride and start working with technological leaders and share the development cost. This seems to be the correct way to go…although it should not have taken them this long to figure this out.

• Hopefully P1 make sure the new engine have no prob b4 use it in their new replacement model … P1 should learn from their previous mistake where the very 1st batch of campro have a lot of problem…

• paparazi (Member) on Nov 03, 2009 at 6:49 pm

Proton’s design team led by …wow lau

get high salary, pls do something la

• Motorist on Nov 03, 2009 at 7:24 pm

You can dress a mongrel in a nice suit but underneath the nice suit, it's still a mongrel.

Mongrel masters wanted mongrel to be Jaguh Kampung, so they decided to help mongrel by killing off older thoroughbreds. Then the whole kampung will be forced to buy mongrels while we can afford to buy nicer thoroughbreds. You will never see master's wife or children with mongrels.

Mongrel is a means to an end for master. Its to make tons of money. What becomes of mongrel or the slaves that are forced to buy mongrel is irrelevant. What matters is master makes money (dulu, kini & selamanya – as their slogan goes)

• Motorist on Nov 03, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Correction:

Then the whole kampung will be forced to buy mongrels while MASTER can afford to buy nicer thoroughbreds.

• — yawn —

• koRok on Nov 03, 2009 at 8:01 pm

it seems like proton is going better in planning. hope it will be like their plan..

just hope proton will ensure the quality is very very good. please choose a

good vendor for every part on protons car.

.i am protonian.hehhee…

go go go proton…

• proton basher on Nov 03, 2009 at 8:29 pm

italian design? so what. china cars also designed by pininfarina, so is hyundai matrix, chevrolet aveo designed by giugario, but they look ugly don't they?

• micheal on Nov 03, 2009 at 8:43 pm

dear bashers,

i recomend u 2…

shut the F*uck up!

let proton has its own way….

and to rico…

proton will never ever owned by VW…

or Fiat…

never…

And, maybe proton never get your support..

i shall ask all of you.. go to iran, arab, some part of australia and UK… you could see… proud owner of proton…

And,

Proton does have EV… you just lazy to read and keep on bashing…

And, the designer.. indeed a new designer.. but fresh new ideas what we need…

• ericfoong81exe on Nov 03, 2009 at 9:41 pm

My bad to read it wrong this early morning, the point is simply wanna bash the bloody stupid P1…..bash you to hell….hahahah

• Gajen on Nov 03, 2009 at 9:42 pm

i hope they are some malaysians working together with the italians in designing…at least we will learn..

and i hope its giugaro…haha

• hope that it is designed by lamborghini..

• tamaki on Nov 03, 2009 at 10:05 pm

look forward replacement waja, hope come out with a bigger size with a new design at par with a Camry or at least a Civic. aim at affordable price tag on more jap tech that will be pleasant my will.

• tamaki on Nov 03, 2009 at 10:06 pm

bb said:

hope that it is designed by lamborghini..

i prefer bugati instead of lambo

• proton bashers on Nov 03, 2009 at 10:25 pm

micheal said,

November 3, 2009 @ 12:43 pm

dear bashers,

i recomend u 2…

shut the F*uck up!

let proton has its own way….

and to rico…

proton will never ever owned by VW…

or Fiat…

never…

And, maybe proton never get your support..

i shall ask all of you.. go to iran, arab, some part of australia and UK… you could see… proud owner of proton…

And,

Proton does have EV… you just lazy to read and keep on bashing…

And, the designer.. indeed a new designer.. but fresh new ideas what we need…

—————————————

australians are fucked up, but UK , really, if you see the people who drive Proton's there, those people consist of poor retiree's, foreign African students or poor chavs

• Eyesore on Nov 03, 2009 at 10:25 pm

ericfoong81exe said,

November 3, 2009 @ 1:41 pm

My bad to read it wrong this early morning, the point is simply wanna bash the bloody stupid P1…..bash you to hell….hahahah

————————————————

Nice Eric…. honest confession… it's like saying… I hate you… so no matter what u do.. good or bad… i will always hate u… lol

• Diablo on Nov 03, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Gajen said,

November 3, 2009 @ 1:42 pm

i hope they are some malaysians working together with the italians in designing…at least we will learn..

____________________________________________________________________________

Haha in the 90s the Malaysian Mycom group co-owned Lamborghini with Tommy Suharto. They then sold it all to Audi in 1998. Who are these Malaysians? Its the business family that brought us Avenue K, next to KLCC

• $+up!d basher on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:05 pm

ericfoong81exe said,

November 3, 2009 @ 1:41 pm

————————————————

again,1 of our lovely basher,LOL…..

• lencongan on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:20 pm

new engine after the galactic alignment happen.. ahah

anyways, all the best proton!

• TheDuck on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:28 pm

People bash Proton not b'coz of how it looks but of 1. The bad experience of owning one. 2. for 'what' it stands for. As for now, it stand for an institution of protectionism and pathetic technology. I pity the Proton Lovers out there.

• not_ah_beng on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:36 pm

Oh dear.

Wonder what the replacement to the "BMW of Asia" (LOL!) will be.

Maybe this time they will call it "Aston Martin of Asia"? When correct term is "Lancer stail bengkel Kampung"?

Hahahahah!

• unknown on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:42 pm

design by italian company.FERRARI,ALFA ROMEO..i think what paul try to say is maybe it will design by company which already design ferrari california.MAYBE!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:42 pm

Diablo said,

November 3, 2009 @ 2:47 pm

Gajen said,

November 3, 2009 @ 1:42 pm

____________________________________________________________________________

Haha in the 90s the Malaysian Mycom group co-owned Lamborghini with Tommy Suharto. They then sold it all to Audi in 1998. Who are these Malaysians? Its the business family that brought us Avenue K, next to KLCC

—————————–

and avenue K is a big failure

• ezralimm on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:59 pm

4G63tDSM said,

November 3, 2009 @ 10:33 am

With the kind of sales Proton gets even for its core products, they shouldn’t even bother to begin with.

Finally. Constructive criticism.

This I agree.

I think proton really only has a viable option of making two really good models with varying trims. Eg, the Persona and MPV, with maximal platform sharing to drive down cost.

Practical, reliable, affordable vehicles that sell well.

I have to add that even at current market prices, Proton cars are genuinely cheap (though not affordable because malaysian purchasing power is low) even in a completely tax free international market. Prices of protons are cheaper in malaysia compared to any other country (excluding tax free gulf states that dont require OTR insurance), with protons selling relatively well in thailand as they are cheaper than toyotas and hondas. Protons are genuinely cheap cars.

Proton needs to shed it's budget image and build a proper sedan, eg a Persona that costs about RM80k, with similar trims to a City or Yaris that would also cost about RM80k if NAP didnt exist. They could of course still offer budget models with lower trim levels.

• Knoxx on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:29 am

i wonder what ages of those bashers comment in this post?? so childish…

• JULIAN_LEE on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:33 am

proton basher said,

November 3, 2009 @ 10:01 am

conclusion…close proton

—————————–

conclusion…fuck you

• luriazidnaffa on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:34 am

PERSONA 2012 style by italians?

can anyone list down any italian design house that is famous for car styling?

• lchan on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:35 am

The sad part is, while campro's lifecycle ends in 2014, it literally ends its life the same as when it was first introduced. There will be no tendency to continue with the campro base design and improving it over its life time. Most car manufacturers introduce a new engine, then continue to perform R&D on it and come out with an improve version in the middle of its life cycle, and by the end of its life cycle, a new engine is brought in, based on the old improved designed, but futher improved again. With proton, its usual the one and only same engine from start to finish. To make things worse, intead of improving in R&D, they start looking for OEM engines. Farking waste of time and money and no initiative to improve our local automotive engineering skills.

• apixz on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:47 am

luriazidnaffa said,

November 3, 2009 @ 4:34 pm

PERSONA 2012 style by italians?

can anyone list down any italian design house that is famous for car styling?

pininfarina,bertone,italdesign…

• Eyesore on Nov 04, 2009 at 1:06 am

Ichan… funny isn't it? you are complaining about proton not going to improve CamPro and search for OEM… but then most of the time here ppl were complaining…saying why bother develop own engine when there so many off the shelf (OEM) engine that can be used… even when proton trying to evolve the CamPro to CFE ppl say it's useless…. now when proton is looking for OEM engine (maybe bcoz they listen to ppl that complained) you come here and blaming them for not improving the CamPro…

It's not easy to please everyone…

• 20V_ke35 on Nov 04, 2009 at 1:39 am

that what money are for…. to be wasted!!!!

• raixa on Nov 04, 2009 at 2:01 am

I can't said much but then it is better than nothing right? Italian design is nothing but the whole point is who are the one that design it that would make the difference. You pay high than you got the good design that's all.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 04, 2009 at 2:10 am

Italian design I think more to Pininfarina, but I'm not too sure of the cost of hiring outside work. Maybe just get ideas, then proton will modify it a lot to suit people's taste.

Hopes of proton's own perdana design gone down the drain, Maybe they can source a VW Phaeton or a Honda Legend for the next perdana. Not that mitsu which is boring to look at.

How much sales does Accord makes a month? Cannot justify that as ownbuild car or is just that there is no way to compete in the luxury market since its too advance?

• MBX Boy on Nov 04, 2009 at 2:37 am

How about doing crash tests for Malaysian market Protons? Proton will gain my respect if they do this.

• DOME Co.Engineering on Nov 04, 2009 at 3:00 am

It's just like calling a 24 year old person who have never passed his exams to convince his parents that he can pass standard 1 exam.

All the best and have fun proton.

• skyyarif on Nov 04, 2009 at 3:37 am

cmon do it! we demand good cars! not a sloppy, rattling while driving, etc etc.

and i think proton should also consider a new gearbox at least 1, 5 speed auto maybe? this would be able to deliver better fuel economy by having lower revs while cruising, if u make good cars then barulah malaysians boleh proud pakai proton. we want this sort of a thinking towards proton " we buy protons bcs theyre good (economical, etc) not, bcs theyre the cheapest amongst its rivals so i just have to buy proton" :)

• Leonardo on Nov 04, 2009 at 3:40 am

Let play fair – let's get MIROS or reputable validation bodies to crash all local cars AND IMPORTED CARS. Then whoever passes the minumum standard will gain the Malaysian buyers respect and trust.

• peYno on Nov 04, 2009 at 3:42 am

how about proton small car?? rebadge from Mitsu

cancelled oredi???

• Most of the new technology were OEM and were not developed by the car manufacturer, they just fit into the car.

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:06 am

Err… excuse me, ain't Proton are missing something for their grandeur plans?

Any "juicy" plans to upgrade the "Tin-Milo" quality to "Tin-Dutchlady" quality at least?

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:12 am

I quote:

MBX Boy said,

November 3, 2009 @ 6:37 pm

How about doing crash tests for Malaysian market Protons? Proton will gain my respect if they do this.

Bro, I think we already have plenty of unofficial Proton Tin Milo crushed test for the past 25 years at Malaysian roads. Testers are made from real life Malaysians. Some survived the test, unfortunately some died on the spot. :X

• Since WAJA there is no "tin milo" protons. I thought the last vios and city was tinmilo. Actually since WAJA Protons are much more solid than most Japanese cars. Savvy, New Saga and Exora are made of high tensile steels.

• Sharviin Sasasey on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:19 am

gotta throw out the designer….the transmission

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:36 am

JULIAN_LEE said,

November 3, 2009 @ 4:33 pm

proton basher said,

November 3, 2009 @ 10:01 am

conclusion…close proton

—————————–

conclusion…fuck you

————————–

another unconstructive irrelevant post in this area

• squawk on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:01 am

Pininfarina, ok. Giugiaro, also ok. Just don't accidentally appoint DeLonghi. :-P

• tunomura on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:06 am

Proton is always better than Perodua in term car philosophy (body rigidity, handling, safety, etc)…but quality is sux because it has lazy, unprogressive vendors…Even it use same vendor as Perodua, the quality inspection and quality awareness is different..senang cakap 'Proton 100% trust on their vendor or lepas tangan' and maybe cronism is high.

Cheers..

• redfueler on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:12 am

wat about petronas e01 2.0engine? khazanah berharga petronas 2!

near lvel with Honda K20A..

p1 should use it 2 compete with honda civic type R!!hahha

only by natural inspired can reach 204hp…

many ppl outsde will buy p1 car with e01engine..

mou btwen p1 n ptrnas about making engne based on e01 alredy pass 3year ago..so wat they get??anyone know????

today, we dont talk about buying cheaper car..but mre to quality,speed n satisfaction ma.. do u think, mlysian will only buying p1 car under 80-90k onlyhope p1 can ethink about dis…

or mayb can put dis e01 under hood new waja..

wat a surprise…cool beb!

• waimak on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:43 am

I believe proton is on the right track.. they are changing bit by bit the process that they've done before to something new and globally practiced by others.. Honestly I think there're 2 more things left for Proton to overcome; No. 1, its engine, No.2, its parts suppliers/ vendors. After that you can be sure Proton will be flying high.. my only hope that the government wont interfere much.. and my other hope is that Proton is more serious about its cars than anything else.. all the best.

• They shud add one more ….RWD platform. Seriously I really bored wif FWD

• peYno on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:35 am

SY0H said,

November 3, 2009 @ 9:06 pm

Err… excuse me, ain’t Proton are missing something for their grandeur plans?

Any “juicy” plans to upgrade the “Tin-Milo” quality to “Tin-Dutchlady” quality at least?

=======

bro.. pls update ur knowledge la.. proton =tin milo is irrelevant oredi.. nowadys this title goes to perodua and ASEAN made dowgrade japs car like city and vios laa..

prrrtfhhh

• unknown on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:45 am

proton should upgrade their car quality first before changing to a newer model and there is no need an outsiders to create and design malaysian car.see in malaysian we got so many talent who yet undiscovered here.

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

• anj97 on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:15 am

another piece of crap

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:55 am

unknown said,

November 3, 2009 @ 11:42 pm

design by italian company.FERRARI,ALFA ROMEO..i think what paul try to say is maybe it will design by company which already design ferrari california.MAYBE!!

————————–

the ferrari california and the f430 spyder is two of the ugliest ferrari ever made

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:24 am

How about hiring the chap who did the new Mazda 6, Mazda 3, and Rx-8. That Zoom-zoom thing really works well with a lot of people

• tokmoh on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:26 am

Wow, JULIAN_LEE defended Proton from being shut down? How touching to read :)

4G63tDSM : Well, if volume is what they're missing, isn't that exactly what they're planning to attain?

Somehow, Paul Tan forgot to include the part abt DSZ's plan to hv plants in India (200k-250k units p.a.), China (200k-250k units p.a.) n Iran (200k units p.a.) as well. All in all, with Tanjung Malim's 300k units p.a., they can hv a neat volume of ard 900k units p.a.. After that, will u still say not enuf?

SYOH : looks like Proton's effort of crashing 32 Exora prototypes were all for nought. Blurheads like you ought to be humbler, kan dah nmpk mcm bodoh bendul

On Italian design, must be more than the design. It's to raise the brand's profile in the long-term.

• Give basic safety spec for proton la..

4 airbags minimum and pass Crash Test International Standard..

Slash the price some more..hmm

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:25 pm

tokmoh said,

November 4, 2009 @ 1:26 am

Wow, JULIAN_LEE defended Proton from being shut down? How touching to read :)

4G63tDSM : Well, if volume is what they’re missing, isn’t that exactly what they’re planning to attain?

Somehow, Paul Tan forgot to include the part abt DSZ’s plan to hv plants in India (200k-250k units p.a.), China (200k-250k units p.a.) n Iran (200k units p.a.) as well. All in all, with Tanjung Malim’s 300k units p.a., they can hv a neat volume of ard 900k units p.a.. After that, will u still say not enuf?

SYOH : looks like Proton’s effort of crashing 32 Exora prototypes were all for nought. Blurheads like you ought to be humbler, kan dah nmpk mcm bodoh bendul

On Italian design, must be more than the design. It’s to raise the brand’s profile in the long-term.

—————————————-

what brand profile? like china? like to copy other people's design?

• Eyesore on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:46 pm

maa,

Give basic safety spec for proton la..

4 airbags minimum and pass Crash Test International Standard.. (Japanese Quality + European Specs)

Slash the price some more… (Malaysian Price)

hehehe typical…..

• xavier lert on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:04 pm

@dzulx

ur right my dads waja power window las only 2 yrs +…..and this is the third motor..(+ the stock one..)….but my dads other car civic sh4 (1991)…till now no power window problem at all………

• Typical Malaysians. When proton comes out with something, they complain.

They start comparing with Japanese cars. "Oh, Japanese cars are quality.."

When they start driving one, they change the rims, the ICE, and the bodykit.

When something goes wrong, they buy 2nd hand parts. Can't afford original. (All the cash has gone to the modifications)

And when they see a new exotic car, such as the M3, M5, AMGs and A4s, they complain "Oh the govt put tax so we can't afford this..)

The truth is, even without the excise duites, we still can't afford it. If you earn RM7K a month, please don't think you can afford Skylines, M3s and the such. The truth is you can't.

Not every young turk in the UK drives a sports car/ good car. My friend drives a 6 year old fiesta. He's earning 40K GBP a year.

So Malaysians, if you can't have that M3 or Skyline, or whatever car it is, don't blame it on the govt. Blame it on your lazy ass for not earning enough.

• Tiadaid on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:09 pm

anj97 said,

November 4, 2009 @ 12:20 am

what ever proton designs its back to rubbish.Having wonderful plans but the design only suits those idiots who like to modify the car installing spoilers.Fit for “nata” use only.All you morons who support proton get your act together.If not because of Dr.MA and his bloody proton you will be driving A BENZ,Porc or even a imported Ford MUSTANG.So stop promoting proton.Shut it down.Conning the rakyat.But the ministers use foreign cars.Use SAGA you bum will go GAGA!!!!

———————————-

Without Proton you could drive a Porsche (not porc la, what is a porc? Pork I know la)? What a stupid statement! Hello, even in the UK not that many people can afford a Porsche! And Mercedes Benz is also the same, not to mention the FUEL GUZZLING Ford Mustang! Talk only, that's what you know!

• yippi33 on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:31 pm

good luck proton..

everything starts with a plan..then comes the hard part which is the implementation..based on SZA's track records,i have faith in him..

designs by the italiano?azlano's design is gud enuff for me..maybe proton is trying to venture into europe market..hopefully the design wont come out as the renault "telur"..

• not_ah_beng on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:46 pm

@Ian:

Not every young turk in the UK drives a sports car/ good car. My friend drives a 6 year old fiesta. He’s earning 40K GBP a year.

Is your friend working as cashier at Tesco's?

40k GBP a year is not very high at all! Come out to around 3k GBP per month with bonus.

So of course he will drive an older model. AND, probably he already done with all monthly repayments!

But at least its better than Malaysia. He will most likely drive 6 year old Proton Iswara/Wira and maybe still owe the bank!

I rather drive 6 years old Fiesta than brand new Persona, to be honest. 15 years old Corolla oso better than brand new Saga.

• old man on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:59 pm

TOYOTA, BRIDGESTONE now all pull out of F1 following Honda etc, now our Proton wants to throw money into this business?

You think the TV view will watch this no brand car racing? Proton vs Tata in F1?

• CiViC_7900 on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:51 pm

a plethora of insignificant comments.

jgnla hentam sesapa.this is crap.we all wanna share views.

• Prismo on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:55 pm

proton bashers said,

November 3, 2009 @ 2:25 pm

australians are fucked up, but UK , really, if you see the people who drive Proton’s there, those people consist of poor retiree’s, foreign African students or poor chavs

————————————————————–

i think u r a bloody rich man… u should go for japs or conti if u can afford it… it's making no sense if u bashing like hell… hahaha… Proton just for poor retiree’s, foreign African students or poor chavs…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:19 pm

"The ex-Perodua man has been at Proton’s helm for about 4 years now and I think most of us agree that under his leadership Proton has taken a turn for the better."

Kindly re-check the facts pls.

Profitability – Down

Domestic Volume – Down

Export Volume – Down

New Market Opening – Down

Product Features – So-so

Product quality – Up ( if you compare with previous Proton model) Down ( if you compare with competitor of the same class )

After Sales Service – Still the same crap service level

What to boast for ????

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:23 pm

P1 Wimax – Potong Jgn Tak Potong

P1 – Tutup Jgn Tak Tutup

Those from Perodua can go back to Rawang

Those from Konsortium Transnasional Berhad can go back bawak bas la……

Those from Styling can go and design bas and P2.

• In my humble opinion, maybe the first 15 years of proton is a waste. and DSZ came in and maybe he can turn things around. that is why maybe the government still wants to protect PROTON.

• Eyesore on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:10 pm

Hameed Koyakuti said,

November 4, 2009 @ 1:23 pm

P1 Wimax – Potong Jgn Tak Potong

P1 – Tutup Jgn Tak Tutup

Those from Perodua can go back to Rawang

Those from Konsortium Transnasional Berhad can go back bawak bas la……

Those from Styling can go and design bas and P2.

—————-

P1 Wimax – Already Cut even more slower..cut cut cut… cut your head la… lol

P1 – Tutup pun belum tentu ko boleh beli Beemer or merc or porsche etc… keep on dreaming la…

stupid bangla… go back to your country la…

• apa-apa aje lah on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:13 pm

SY0H said,

November 3, 2009 @ 9:06 pm

Err… excuse me, ain’t Proton are missing something for their grandeur plans?

Any “juicy” plans to upgrade the “Tin-Milo” quality to “Tin-Dutchlady” quality at least?

————————————————————–

sama apa itu 2 tin…ada beza ka?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:46 pm

lan said,

November 4, 2009 @ 9:40 am

Typical Malaysians. When proton comes out with something, they complain.

They start comparing with Japanese cars. “Oh, Japanese cars are quality..”

When they start driving one, they change the rims, the ICE, and the bodykit.

When something goes wrong, they buy 2nd hand parts. Can’t afford original. (All the cash has gone to the modifications)

And when they see a new exotic car, such as the M3, M5, AMGs and A4s, they complain “Oh the govt put tax so we can’t afford this..)

The truth is, even without the excise duites, we still can’t afford it. If you earn RM7K a month, please don’t think you can afford Skylines, M3s and the such. The truth is you can’t.

Not every young turk in the UK drives a sports car/ good car. My friend drives a 6 year old fiesta. He’s earning 40K GBP a year.

So Malaysians, if you can’t have that M3 or Skyline, or whatever car it is, don’t blame it on the govt. Blame it on your lazy ass for not earning enough.

———————————

haha your friend is poor….my friend who works in the front counter at Barclays Bank earn 100000GBP

• apa-apa aje lah on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:09 am

Hameed Koyakuti said,

November 4, 2009 @ 1:19 pm

“The ex-Perodua man has been at Proton’s helm for about 4 years now and I think most of us agree that under his leadership Proton has taken a turn for the better.”

Kindly re-check the facts pls.

Profitability – Down

Domestic Volume – Down

Export Volume – Down

New Market Opening – Down

Product Features – So-so

Product quality – Up ( if you compare with previous Proton model) Down ( if you compare with competitor of the same class )

After Sales Service – Still the same crap service level

What to boast for ????

————————————————

PLS GIVE US STATSTIC/DATA. DONT TALK BLUNTLY!!!!

if you have precise data, fine. if no..f$%k yourself!!!

• kodok on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:04 am

no proton = no crazy duty,no sky high price imported cars,no stupid policy NAP,m'sia would beat thai in auto industry…as simple as that & its a fact…other than that its BS!..wakakaka

• Stop Bullshitting on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:22 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

November 4, 2009 @ 3:46 pm

haha your friend is poor….my friend who works in the front counter at Barclays Bank earn 100000GBP

————————————————————–

Gile bohong… keje kerani bank gaji 100000 GBP per year… itu dlm 8000 gbp per month… engineer BP pun baru 2000 ++ gbp per month….

• Tiadaid on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:35 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

————————

What a load of bull. Sure he earns 100K since he pockets all the money of the depositors!

• Mazda 3 MPS said,

my friend is assistant manager at PR company. Nope, they dont earn much. People, please get your facts right.

———————————

GBP3k a month before tax. They have one of the highest tax rates around. They also have council tax, tv license, and other taxes plus 17.5% VAT on most items.

A Merc C Class plus a/c and other ding dongs (mid level spec) cost about 25-26k brand new. that works out to be…130k (now) and 180k (last year) – due to currency fluctuations.

So if you bring back RM2k a month, and a car is GBP24k – thats two years pay.

And they still dont buy Mercs, BMWs nor expensive cars. Why? Because they cant afford it.

Example – If Malaysian Govt is to remove the tax, say an 85k vios becomes 50k, and a proton becomes 35k and a merc becomes 85k, what would the person buy.

hes not gonna buy the proton even though its much much cheaper. hes not gonna buy the vios, but the merc instead. either way, cheaper cars wont make a difference to ppl because theyll buy whatever they planned to spend anyway.

Dont blame the govt for you not earning much to afford that expensive car. get off the rose tinted lenses that europeans drive nice cars, they dont. Not everybody in the EU drives mercs or beemers. what you see on TV aint representative.

Public transport in malaysia, yeah well its shit. but so is the one in the uk. a bus is still a bus. its still cramped, theres rude drivers, wait for one, three come along. and youre bound to get mugged once.

we complain and blame other people too much. im too lazy to take public transport yet the bus stop is in front of my house. but i dont complain if i have to drive a shit car.

—————————————–

Is your friend working as cashier at Tesco’s?

40k GBP a year is not very high at all! Come out to around 3k GBP per month with bonus.

– youll find that it is quite high. Qualified barristers start at GBP3k before tax.

So of course he will drive an older model. AND, probably he already done with all monthly repayments!

– he has to save up money and took the bus for a coupla years.

But at least its better than Malaysia. He will most likely drive 6 year old Proton Iswara/Wira and maybe still owe the bank!

– correct. but he couldve taken a 3 year loan and buy a higher priced car. but why didnt he? – attitude.

I rather drive 6 years old Fiesta than brand new Persona, to be honest. 15 years old Corolla oso better than brand new Saga

– you dont know shit. Id rather drive brand new persona then 6 years old fiesta. you know what they use at the rear wheels. Drum brakes. 15 years old corolla aint better than brand new Saga.

————————

Please dont get me started on people who buy 10 year old rust buckets for performance sakes. that 1997 Silvia is probably not the best investment you'll make mate.

• theanswer on Nov 05, 2009 at 2:57 am

hoh..some of us in here already sed something out of the topic.

• initial R on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:33 am

Still Malaysian blame G for high price imported car…. Please, wake up. your brain full negative estasy. If Malaysian work hard as Japs or work smart like all europe ppl, so all can get big pay for quality working result. Ini siang malam mimpi nak pakai kereta mewah, kerja malas. Tau ujung bulan jumpa rimau mintak duit. Huh…. Malaysian Ku…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:18 am

I luv Malaysia said,

November 4, 2009 @ 4:36 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

————————————————————–

the intent doctors there juz can get roughly 40k GBP a year..

your frenz must be a a high class prostitute.hahaha…stupid

——————————————–

very funny, than your friend must be a stupid doctor

• ultimate on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:10 am

Nothing juicy ..in fact same old crap

As long as no merger P1 will not progress.

Get rid of the deadwood !!

• jazzer on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:49 am

korg komen biarlah berpada sikit..down r org yg keje kt proton tu..korg sometimes yg bashing tu even x pernah drive proton punye new model such saga,persona,ngan exora.test drive dulu..then br korg tau p1 de improvmnt ke x..actlly,a lot of imprvmt has been done and even i dare to say that they are on par with hyundai and toyota..only the engine distinguish them..but the rest,it is a worth to buy proton than city,vios..org keje susah2,korg senang je kutuk..

• Mazda 3 MPS, check the salary scales, no staff at the banks front desk earns 100k a year. dont argue just for the sake of arguing, youre only making yourself look stupid

initial R, I agree with you. We have to wake up and realise that this is not a rich country. Dont compare with S'pore, try and compare with Thailand. Arent car prices there damn expensive too?

The way I see it, Proton needs to improve as well. I wont back them up if they do a terrible job, but i know for a fact that theyre trying their best. give them encouragement guys.

• Ian,

My friend hold the same type of job as i am, he is driving a C class there and i drive wira…..he is earning about 36k GBP per year there.

Mazda 3 MPS,

what ??!! ur friend must be selling his ars at Barclays Bank. That salary not enough to repair his ars too….

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:09 pm

Ian, i guess you are one of the stupid ones who went to england and studied and stupidly came back to malaysia cause you miss Nasi Lemak.

I luv Malaysia. There you said it. Junior. There's a thing called promotion if you work hard.

• SESAPA NAK CARI CRASH TEST PROTON, CHECK RESULT YG MIROS BUAT, MyVAP. 4 STAR UTK EXORA. DAH LAMA DAH DIAORANG TEST. ORG YG TANYA TU TAK ALERT LANGSUNG. NAMPAK SANGAT BLIND BASHER.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 06, 2009 at 6:57 am

MIROS punya salah

• xenonchrist on Nov 06, 2009 at 11:04 am

i support proton , anyway they created their own car , rather than rebadge cars ,

and now they take in toyota guy as their md .

both also crap la ,one just sell and another rebadge cars and sell.

anyway proton car better than all boxes the perodua take in .

• farghmee on Nov 06, 2009 at 5:29 pm

@mazda 3 mps,

ape, miros salah?

then sapa yg betul? ko?

@all,

pk2 kn la :P

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 06, 2009 at 11:30 pm

paultan betul lol

• autojohndoe on Nov 08, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Some people see that car at UK la, Thailand la etc etc other than malaysia is very cheap…

So… it simple isnt it… just go there and buy the car… if still wanna stay in malaysia, go to Langkawi or Labuan…

Be grateful of what u have rather than wishing for what u cant have…

• The Noble Proton Bashers said

Ian, i guess you are one of the stupid ones who went to england and studied and stupidly came back to malaysia cause you miss Nasi Lemak

———————————-

whats with thinking people in UK earning tons more. If you want to think that way, then go ahead. I have facts, I have figures, and all you have is your lousy mentality and half baked brain.

nope. it was kuey teow actually. not too fond of nasi lemak. oh well, whats the point of arguing here. most people like yourself just cant articulate an argument. arguing with stupidity is just tiring.

• autojohndoe said,

November 8, 2009 @ 12:09 pm

Some people see that car at UK la, Thailand la etc etc other than malaysia is very cheap…

So… it simple isnt it… just go there and buy the car… if still wanna stay in malaysia, go to Langkawi or Labuan…

Be grateful of what u have rather than wishing for what u cant have…

————————————-

The RRP in Langkawi and Labuan aint that cheap too.

• persona_Gen25610 on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:58 pm

i agreed with u MICHAEL

• KIA FORTE open for b on Nov 12, 2009 at 11:35 am

:) Kami adalah syarikat NAZA KIA dari cawangan KLANG & cawangan KEPONG yang buka 365 hari 9am-9pm setiap hari.

Senang untuk anda melawat KIA pada bila-bila masa selepas waktu kerja mahupun pada hari Ahad & public holiday! Kami adalah SPECIAL OUTLET!

Informasi:………….. :)

NAZA FORTE ini akan launch pada 24 November 2009. :) TENGOK & PERCAYA!

1.6cc AUTOMATIC SHIFTRONIC GEAR!(teknologi 2 dalam 1…boleh pakai auto ataupun manual digital)

SUPER Fuel Efficient…tested 1litre/11km iaitu 0.16sen untuk 1 km.

Harga OTR rm75,xxx.

Open for booking now! We are the only SPECIAL OUTLET in Malaysia which…

OPEN 365 days 9am-9pm daily!

Pls come & visit us at:

No.48 & 50, Lorong Batu Nilam 4B,

Bandar Bukit Tinggi,

41200 Klang.

Hotline:03-3323 9948 (3 lines)

No.69 & 71, Jalan Rimbunan Raya 1,

Laman Rimbunan, Kepong,

52100 Kuala Lumpur

Hotline: 03-6252 9868 (2 lines)

ANY ENQUIRY pls call us. Happy to serve u. tq

or view at YOUTUBE :) searching "KIA CERATO FORTE" :)

• NAZA sucks!!