New Volkswagen Polo – made in South Africa!

Volkswagen Polo

Volkswagen has announced that its South African plant will be a global production center of the new Volkswagen Polo. The plant near Port Elizabeth will be exporting the Polo to various countries including UK, Ireland, Australia, Singapore and even Malaysia.

Although Volkswagen Malaysia hasn’t said anything about the introduction of the new Polo yet, this announcement means we will be getting the new Polo in early 2010. Three versions of the previous generation Polo were sold in Malaysia – the regular Polo, the CrossPolo and the turbocharged Polo GTI.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• You're Slimebal on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Leopard skin seats perhaps?

• acura mdx on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm

nice and for sure price over 100k..unless Nazar make it CKD..

• Elvis on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm

Thanks to Malaysia cronies not getting anything from Volkswagen Proton deal…global production shift to South Africa…thank you BeeEnd…

• Ariff on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:27 pm

hey,will we get the Polo GTi early next year too??i can't wait for the GTi.Cheap alternative for Golf GTi for less power,less torque,less space,less everything!!but worth it~.What will the new Polo GTi's engine be??the same old Audi TT 1.8 one's as in the old Polo GTi??

• i think price would be around 120k-140k.. worth for a veedub!

• if proton is willing to collaborate with them for the manufacturing plant, then it is good. however, looking at the surface we can't ask proton to accept , we dotn know the terms and condition of it.

• probably the new 1.4 TSI, 1.2 TSI engines

• Littlefire on Nov 21, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Thanks to NAP, VW found it in South Africa…

Maybe a safe bet also, since in 2012 Africa still survive..

• made in south africa!

does this spell bad news for locals who are interested in this polo?

because MY gov doesnt want anything to do with countries such as South africa n Israel

• bobdbilder on Nov 22, 2009 at 1:39 am

The monthly sales reports are saying VW cars are not selling very much in quantity in Malaysia in comparison to other CBU marques. So I don't think its not an image issue. But it offers expensive cars in their respective class segments. And therefore would potray an elitist image, not an image of reliability, quality and value as it is known back home in Deutschland. I am not too sure if it would be good to partner with a low volume brand. VW has more to benefit from any deals than compared with the locals. So negotiation should tilt towards more on local manufacturers/assemblers side. Unless VW are still thick headed. If they can't do any compromise from previous deals, they stand to lose a lot more.

Now that Proton has more collaborations, agreements and market access than before, VW has lost a lot of trading cards.

• You're Slimebal on Nov 22, 2009 at 2:27 am

"Maybe a safe bet also, since in 2012 Africa still survive.."

Gawd, that was hillarious!!

• Littlefire on Nov 22, 2009 at 2:52 am

Bobdbilder…

Ask u first.. What is the root cause of those foreign cars selling low volumn in Malaysia…

Hmmm… Price very high? Why the Tax so high?

If i not mistaken VW makes very affordable cars, even their beetle are cheap to own during 60's & 70's.

I dont blame VW, as they are really unfairly treated in Malaysian market. So is better ditch the "hidung tinggi" P1, which think they can built world class car.

• i dont understand why ppl keep saying VW is expensive, by percentage its already cheaper than most german marques. i couldnt afford a new BMW or Benz but i can afford a new VW. i think VW is giving ppl like me a chance to own a German marque.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 22, 2009 at 3:52 am

south africa people host world cup. stupid negro blackie country all drive volkswagen. we all smart malay, chinese and indian people drive sohai proton.

• amirad on Nov 22, 2009 at 5:19 am

Agree to some extent. VW is just a bit expensive as compared to japanese marques but still much cheaper compared to Beemer and Merc. Entry level 3 series and C-class costs about RM240-280k. Flagship Golf GTi can get for RM210k.Give me the GTi anytime. I don't need the badge.

• SwiftMatrix on Nov 22, 2009 at 5:30 am

If the price is below RM100k….

I'm considering to let go my 1 year old Suzuki Swift for this Polo… :)

• skiborne on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:15 am

mrk.

thats why VW is dubbed as the people's car. haha

btw i saw tha new Scirocco first time today at jln ampang, it was that bright ass green colour, damn striking

• mystvearn on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:24 am

Price will not be below RM100k. Will be more. Only reason make in S.A=cheaper cost=more profits for VW.

• and for 250k i can own a convertible Eos instead of a 3 series sedan or MB C class

• bobdbilder on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:35 am

Yessir a German car like VW remains expensive. If people thought that it would be 'liveable' with a VW, they would have bought more. But the MAA record shows that it is nowhere in the top 50 up to August this year. Even if you do slice that data into Conti/Asian makes, you can't even see them. They must be doing less than 300 units a month. But how much less?

The next time you drive around town (except PJS11), count how many VWs that you see on the road. You'd see Pugs and BMWs for sure. But how about Polos, and GTis? The next day, let's widen the net; include in that list Audi and Skoda. Now with that inclusion, you'd probably get some. But not much.

There has been too much credit to put on VW in Malaysia. I think they need to bring the numbers in before anybody would be convinced.

• Littlefire on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:36 am

250k which the tax is almost half of it. If you are so rich, why not give me 100k into my pocket.

Wait, if i am bumi croni. While might have charge you the AP fee inside.. More money in my pocket.

Are you living in a imagination world that foreign cars cost a bomb?!? Please wake up!

• wastage on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:41 am

this car is a joke. a made in africa car….hahahahah

buy a proton, its made in malaysia. far superior than africa…..kakakakakak

• wooo, those that cannot really afford the gti can settle for its little brother.

not that shabby looking either. i would like one please….

• justin (Member) on Nov 22, 2009 at 10:32 am

Right hand drive Polo and Golf are manufactured in South Africa. In fact, this has been the case for quite some time and Mercedes Benz made a few of their RHD models in South Africa for export to RHD markets. South Africa has always been a sort of preferred manufacturing location for German manufacturer making RHD cars.

• Not surprising. What with the rubbish, flip-flop local policies and the relatively small market in the region for VW. And it’s even more salt in Malaysia’s wounds as manufacturers like VW (amongst others) would still go to South Africa that have problems (that Malaysia doesn’t have) such as rolling blackouts due to a power grid that can’t cope with the rapid economic expansion and a very strong union culture meaning large industrial action whenever they feel like it. Something for us to think about perhaps.. Oh, btw, cheap, petty name calling won’t get us the VW plant. So call them whatever you want, in the end of the day, their economy is expanding like crap, they export more, they earn more and they get more jobs. Not us. In any case, I’m looking forward to the Polo GTI when it hits our shores. Cheers.

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 22, 2009 at 3:30 pm

Littlefire said,

November 21, 2009 @ 2:41 pm

Thanks to NAP, VW found it in South Africa…

Maybe a safe bet also, since in 2012 Africa still survive..

LOL! Hahaha.

o said,

November 21, 2009 @ 1:45 pm

if proton is willing to collaborate with them for the manufacturing plant, then it is good. however, looking at the surface we can’t ask proton to accept , we dotn know the terms and condition of it.

Brother, please do not relate the noble VW with out Tin Milo Proton. Not even at the same league. Actually its the other way around, VW doesn't know what Proton is up too. Too many … bullshi* from our side. We have scared away too many potential investors. *sigh*

• not true, some GTi comes from South Africa and yes they do have abit more problems than the Wolfsburg plant models but nevertheless in terms of quality its better than Proton. have owned 2 protons b4 and quality leaves much to be desired with leaks, rattling, failed windows, snapped speedo cables all within the 1st 6 months.

to littlefire: why don't you work harder instead of asking for money all the time, and don't compare with Bumi/cronyism/Malays as a chinese i am already sick of hearing that.

to bobdbuilder: if u need someone to convince u that VW is cheaper by selling in volume and not looking at the price there is something wrong with you. a few clicks is all u need to know how much does the cars cost. who cares whether they sell alot or not, in fact i rather they sell less makes the car look more unique….XD

• Elvis on Nov 22, 2009 at 6:56 pm

Well, you guys know that Malaysia slide again in Corruption Perception Index. 47 out of 180. Try google corruption in malaysia to see how the cancer of corruption has spread so bad that foreign investors are very afraid to invest in Malaysia. Which is why FDI have become very thin in Malaysia. Coming back to Proton which is a brain child of Tun M, where initially was to produce 'copypaste' cars from Japan hence his 'look east' motto then. Things was simple and win-win for him. But he got greedy, he wants more then, more profit, coz we Malaysians were under his spell already. More money to buy boats, jets, mansion in far far away countries. And he didnt expect that some 'Badawi' took over his baby. Coz Badawi also wants money to buy boats, jets, mansion in far far away countries. Rafidah want big piece of the pie with her APs, got Tun M pissed off, give NAP to slap her activity. And there were interest by foreign makers like GM and VW on Proton to position themselves in huge asian market. Tell me, if you are in power, dont you want the biggest slice of the pie from GM and VW? Knowing our leaders, sure they want 30% of everything including position in the newly joint venture, right? What i am trying to say is that our leaders have their self- interest FIRST before the interest of RAKYAT in generally. Giving us 1% of of GNP is lousy way to govern Malaysia, while 30% are already park someway else beyond the reach of our false legal institution. Please guys, test VW or GM cars and compare to sohai Proton. THEN, you know how corruption has corrupted quality….

• nighttrain on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Yeah, it'll be overpriced as usual. Thanks to you-know-who. And you-know-why.

• Good for South Africa. They need the investment as they probably have a high unemployment rate. Probably labour is also cheap there. Malaysia probably will make French cars.

• mu_77 on Nov 22, 2009 at 10:16 pm

Nice..nice… But sorry for a price range of 100-120k, i am going for civic 2.0 or lancer gt… muahahaha

• to Man,

M'sia dont make French cars, those are CKD packs that are being assembled by Naza. If M'sia make French cars we will destroy their NCAP 5 star by cutting cost and compromising on safety.

• John Dease on Nov 23, 2009 at 12:28 am

Hey Bobdbuilder, u r a perfect example of ppl who sit at mamak n talk out of their behind. The type of ppl who say things like "…if it was up to me, I'd do this and do that..", but what have u done? R u just those bitter ppl who can't afford to enjoy a good conti and just bitch in forums?

Frankly I'm happy with my South African made Mk5 GTI, I'm grateful dat VW M'sia is here cos w/o them opportunist like Wald/Naza would try to sell it to me for RM240k instead of the RM199k which I got mine for. I'm glad on top of d rm40k less I get after sales service (yes not so great I admit but depends which SC u got to lar) and warranty.

U want to compare with d Beemers? Sure they're all over d road thanks to Grey imports, why wudnt they b cheap? just sell car no need to invest in warranty/after sales. Since u so free want to ANAL-ise MAA data, why dun u compare apple to apple? Compare conti CBUs and see where VW stands. Want compare CBU Thailand, tax rate sama or not? What more to say CKD?

Want to compare with Pugs? r u soh@i? They are CKD!! u can get a 308 for less than rm100k, old stock 206s are going for less than rm50k. Its the same as saying Honda is stupid and lousy here because they sell less than Perodua.

• skiborne on Nov 23, 2009 at 3:57 am

tho it is assembled in africa that doesnt mean that it'll rattle like most proton cars are, im sure the procedures and the build quality such as this polo and the GTI in south africa plant are still on par because the the sa plant has undergone the similar procedures under VW AG's supervision in germany, they just want to cut costs thats all, this is a good move but somehow we feel abit less exclusive la sebab pasang kat south africa.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 23, 2009 at 4:28 am

i love south africa, especially cape town….table mountain and the cape of good hope is just amazing. it's one of the place with extremely good feng shui (mountain at back, sea at front)

• Portland Volkswagen on Nov 23, 2009 at 4:07 pm

The Volkswagen Polo is a lot of car for the money.

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 23, 2009 at 5:58 pm

its certainly much better than a perdana. heck it's actually larger than the perdana

• Poloman on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:22 pm

Any VW owners who would like to share their service/maintenance/repair experience at VW Malaysia?