Volkswagen Amarok pick-up truck finally revealed!

volkswagen-amarok-front

This has been teased for some time now, but Volkswagen have finally released pictures and details of its new pick-up truck. Called Amarok (a mythical killer wolf in Inuit), it will be available as a four-door double cab, with a single cab model to follow in 2011. With the Amarok, VW aims to blend the robustness typical of a pick-up with innovative technology, high safety standards, excellent fuel economy and Wolfsburg’s lofty standards of comfort, quality and durability. I don’t know about you, but i’m itching to find out how this seemingly contrasting values mix – and if VW will rewrite the pick-up truck rule book.

The fundamentals are conventional. The Amarok sits on a class standard ladder frame chassis and has a payload capacity of 1.15 tonnes (max towing limit is 2.8 tonnes). Its 5.25m length puts it on par with the Toyota Hilux, but the VW is claimed to have class leading cargo bed volume – the deck measures 1,555mm long and 1,620mm wide. As comparison, the Hilux’s measurements are 1,520mm by 1,515mm. VW further says that the width between the wheelarches (the narrowest point in the cargo bed) is best in class.

volkswagen-amarok-rear

There will be a choice of two Euro5 compliant 2.0-litre common rail TDI engines; one with 161bhp and 400Nm of torque from just 1,500 rpm (two-stage bi-turbo), or a 120bhp unit with 340Nm from 2,000rpm (variable turbine geometry turbo). Paired with a six-speed manual (the only announced gearbox), the VW will be the first 4WD pick-up in the class with CO2 emissions of less than 200g/km. Like the Transporter and Caravelle people carriers, the Amarok has a gearchange indicator to help drivers achieve the best fuel economy, which with an 80-litre fuel tank should offer a range of over 1000km!

The Amarok can be had in RWD, switchable or permanent 4MOTION all-wheel drive variants. The switchable 4WD system is engaged by the push of a button, and also has low off-road gearing, while the full-time 4WD version (unique in this sector) uses a Torsen differential to distribute drive at a 40:60 ratio so that the wheel with the best traction gets the most power. VW’s electronic differential lock (EDL) and Off-Road ABS works in tandem to shorten braking distance in off-road conditions. Below 30km/h, Hill Descent Assist can be called upon and Hill Hold Assist prevents the truck from rolling back on inclines when the driver removes his foot from the brakes. A rear differential lock is optional for all three variants.

vw-amarok-cabin

Another best in class feature is the Amarok’s spacious interior, which features easy entry, foldable rear seats and a dashboard that’s immediately recognisable as a VW. Outside, the production Amarok retains much of the concept’s strong, clean and masculine lines – also, who would have thought that the new Volkswagen face could work so well on a butch pick-up truck?

Production should start anytime soon in Argentina ahead of its worldwide launch early next year. South America will be the first market to get the new truck, followed by Europe and Australia. No mention of our region in the press statement though, which is surprising since ASEAN (especially Thailand) is a big market for pick-ups. The Amarok’s first public outing will be as a support vehicle in the Dakar rally this coming January.

More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=658]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gajen on Dec 03, 2009 at 12:44 pm

awesome..for me 1st is amarok…2nd is hilux…3rd is triton/navara

• rodimus on Dec 03, 2009 at 12:51 pm

I just love the design.

• shawal on Dec 03, 2009 at 1:18 pm

I can imagine it in white with unicef logo on the side, people at the back throwing energy bar and the truck running over chicken and small children

Its an attractive proposition btw , looks gewd ,cool, hi-tech for a truck and comfy..

It'll teach the americans a thing or two bout trucks ,

• nice truck for daily driving on highway to avoid fatal crashes.

(or a good road-bully ride)

but not enough power for towing capabilities…

in U.S., truck are workhorses – use to various jobs.

even a Navara which is has the highest HP in SEA class is considered a sissy-truck by american standards.

• Nice configuration: Either a working horse for the plumber with single cab, 120hp and switchable 4WD, or a toy for the manager with double cab, 160hp and full-time 4WD with all the electronic stuff…

No mention of our region in the press statement ?

VW is still looking for somebody to assemble it's cars in Malaysia… ;)

• mystvearn on Dec 03, 2009 at 2:31 pm

I don't know why the looks remind me of a chevy

• azrai on Dec 03, 2009 at 3:47 pm

VW effort to conquer ASEAN. Good. hopefully the JV with proton will bear fruit. good for the economy here. Create more jobs. More jobs mean less crime.

• azrai on Dec 03, 2009 at 4:12 pm

This is what the German Ambassador in M'sia said;

"Because we are the world leaders, we are punished. Our cars here are three to four times more expensive than in Germany. This is the way Malaysia's excise duty is drawn up and we accept it," he said.

• pulge on Dec 03, 2009 at 4:42 pm

This should be a surprising sight for us if it ever make it here. ^^

• Mufasa on Dec 03, 2009 at 4:57 pm

This is what the German Ambassador in M’sia said;

“Because we are the world leaders, we are punished. Our cars here are three to four times more expensive than in Germany. This is the way Malaysia’s excise duty is drawn up and we accept it,” he said.

————————-

my country ,my way…

• ADAM DIXON on Dec 03, 2009 at 5:05 pm

NO AUTO DSG BOX ? WHAT IS VW PLAYING AT ? LOST MY FLEET . SORRY

• Leonardo on Dec 03, 2009 at 5:19 pm

My first impression is that this truck is too high end and spec to be a real workhorse, especially in ASEAN. Of course VW will come up with a de-spec version, but it would still be more expensive than their Japanese or Korean cousins.

Perhaps if they can CKD and assemble it in Pekan it will be more competitive under the new NAP. Else, assemble it in Thailand and bring it to Malaysia.

• west meets east on Dec 31, 2010 at 12:12 pm

No assemble plant in Thai, just Indonesia, and bring it to Singapore, NOT Malaysia.

• west meets east on Dec 31, 2010 at 12:12 pm

No assemble plant in Thai, just Indonesia, and bring it to Singapore, NOT Malaysia.

• Jumbsuck on Dec 03, 2009 at 5:31 pm

In US, no thanks to Chicken Tax this VW truck gonna be more expensive than local US-made trucks. Very much similar to what our NAP did to protect Proton lah. If Proton is smart enough just gang-up with VW and re-badge this truck so VW at least can tap up the loss market elsewhere.

• Very nice Design n rely i like it but the…

I think very high…

• Very nice Design n rely i like it but the price…

I think very high…tooooo high…

• i love the interior. simple and uncluttered design, a norm for VWs. if VGM brings this Amarok to Malaysia, i think it would sell, provided the price is right.

• cordoba1 on Dec 03, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Looks good but I do not think it will make it here if there is no local assembly since the prices will be skyhigh…wonder whether the rear seats headspace and legroom are above average??

• The Loner on Dec 03, 2009 at 6:10 pm

Before doing so, EURO 5 compliant engine requires clean diesel fuel that available in European country. Without proper modifications to suite our diesel, owner will pay the high price in maintenance.

• Justin Goh on Dec 03, 2009 at 6:32 pm

That's a beauty and quality, German engineering!

Sadly, will be very much overpriced and unattainable by most Malaysian thanks to NAP!

• akupunya on Dec 03, 2009 at 6:35 pm

cun..superb design….

• stephenstreets on Dec 03, 2009 at 7:15 pm

This is what the German Ambassador in M’sia said;

“Because we are the world leaders, we are punished. Our cars here are three to four times more expensive than in Germany. This is the way Malaysia’s excise duty is drawn up and we accept it,” he said.

————————-

my country ,my way…

————————-

my country ,not my way, but the politicians way…malaysia boleh

• cool..like the interior..

• huix (Member) on Dec 03, 2009 at 7:55 pm

how abt the price ? Sure expensive 1… Nissan Navara more cheaper and powerful + 6 speed manual gearbox .

• The front look reminds one of the Fortuner.

• nabill on Dec 03, 2009 at 8:46 pm

looks any other truck actually….noting stands out…bt the interior seems nice

• giler aa..lawa nak mampos.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 03, 2009 at 9:58 pm

this is one nice truck. its not concept right.

• droll on Dec 03, 2009 at 10:53 pm

it just feels weird seeing a VW badge on a pickup truck…….

• nighttrain on Dec 03, 2009 at 11:13 pm

Should be three times more expensive than Jap models. You know la our Govt.

• nighttrain on Dec 03, 2009 at 11:16 pm

I mean, you know la our Govt. By the people, for the people. Our country, our way.

• person on Dec 03, 2009 at 11:55 pm

amarok?

AM I ROCK !!? yeahhhhh!!

• looks pretty fierce. but the price……

• Justin Goh on Dec 03, 2009 at 11:59 pm

better looking than 'taufu or 'softies' Japanese pick-up trucks.

When Jap design their trucks, they imagine some geisha b*tch, when Yanks and German builds it, it's build on the image of a well build muscular man.

• Turkish Blog on Dec 04, 2009 at 12:04 am

Very nice design. I Lovev WW

• Jumbsuck on Dec 04, 2009 at 12:43 am

If done deal with VW for re-badge, it's called Proton Kemaruk. Obssesed in fighting with Hilux. Still no ABS for B-crap-line, as usual.

• chyan on Dec 04, 2009 at 12:53 am

The front looks awesome but after seeing the back, hmm things gotten a bit clunky.

• torque (Member) on Dec 04, 2009 at 2:31 am

Bloody hell…that is one of the nicest interior among other pick up trucks…dang…this should be interesting to see.

Scenario at one local market:

Pakcik A jual sayur bawak Navara says,"Bagus trak aku…power pun power,400 tork dari 2.5…boleh angkut sayur bergantang-gantang lagi ni!"

Pakcik B jual sayur bawak Amarok reply,"Lagi bagus trak aku ni…power lebih kurang,400 tork dari 2.0 jer…siap boleh angkut aweks bergantang-gantang tu! Ada kelas gitu…"

• Will sure sell better if assembled in Thailand or Indonesia and come with 6-speed DSG gearbox. Of course, price must be around RM 90k to 110k.

• Crazy G on Dec 04, 2009 at 3:30 am

if 3 times more expensive, that would be about 200K??

Thats crazy price to pay for a truck..fu(K the Big-G!!!

CKD it pls!!!

• ambush on Dec 04, 2009 at 5:32 am

i think this has the best interior for pickups…very nice looking panels,dash and switch gears…typical VW quality..

• *x_x* on Dec 04, 2009 at 6:03 am

Looks ugly

• huix said,

December 3, 2009 @ 11:55 am

'how abt the price ? Sure expensive 1… Nissan Navara more cheaper and powerful + 6 speed manual gearbox .'

In Malaysia: Yes

In South America, Europe and Australia: No. In i.e. Brasil their market share is currently 25.7%, Toyota Motor Corp. have less than 10% there…

BTW: VW doesn't have any plans to sell the Amarok in the USA or ASEAN. And it's produced by VW's 'commercial vehicle' division. It is a 'working horse' for the plumber or market vendor, not a SUV for the rich…

• Jimmy on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:23 am

May buy if RM140k with Euro specs.

• mitlanevo on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:26 am

looks good and tough, unlike a certain M-batch sissy pondan pickup truck…

bi-turbo torque output can compete with Navara :-)

to Jumbsuck:

fight with Hilux? LMAO, no one give a shit about that piece of junk… any Ranger, Frontier, or D-Max can smoke it kao kao…

• skiborne on Dec 04, 2009 at 10:36 am

i think somehow, it "brings down" the VW brand by having this model, dont u guys think so? hmmm

• a brand should have all types of vehicle…

Mercedes oso got lorry.

• mitlanevo on Dec 04, 2009 at 4:28 pm

ya, so Porsche and Ferrari are going to produce pickup trucks too?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Ferrari truck….lol

• nighttrain on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:33 pm

skiborne, please translate volkswagen to english or BM…. how to 'bring down'? cannot compute.

• pelams on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:54 pm

how abt the price ? Sure expensive 1… Nissan Navara more cheaper and powerful + 6 speed manual gearbox .

n fuel efficient too

• *x_x* on Dec 05, 2009 at 4:28 am

I wish Volkswagen not to produce these kinds of vehicles, their sedans and hatchbacks are good, but not with pickups…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 5:12 am

keep up the good work

• tokmoh on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:05 am

azrai said,

December 3, 2009 @ 8:12 am

This is what the M'sian Ambassador in Germany said;

“Because we are the fuel exporters, we are punished. Our fuel here are three to four times more expensive than in Malaysia. This is the way Germany’s fuel tax is drawn up and we accept it,” he said.

>>> Fix'd.

• When is it going to be offered in Malaysia?

• Mr.Loke on Sep 21, 2010 at 11:20 pm

when the vw amarok will be on malaysia?

• west meets east on Dec 31, 2010 at 12:10 pm

I want Amarok go to Singapore with W12 twinturbo, to kill Aussie’s Holden SV Maloo. As a member of ASEAN, Singapore is only country which hates pickup trucks.

• awesome..for me 1st is navara…2nd is hilux/ amarok…3rd is triton