Audi to launch five new models in 2010

Audi to launch five new models in 2010Audi has announced its plans for 2010 and it looks exciting. The four rings will launch the A1, A7, A8, R8 Spyder and Q5 Hybrid next year, with the latter reaching the market at the start of 2011 as the brand’s first full hybrid model.

The A1 will be a premium small car that rivals BMW’s MINI. The A8 limo we’ve already seen, and the R8 Spyder is a drop top version of Ironman’s car. The A7 meanwhile, is a big four-door coupe which was previewed by the Audi Sportback concept at the 2009 Detroit show. It will play in the same segment as the A8, but for more bold tastes.

Audi has also commited to invest in new products and technologies. In coming years, Audi will set aside 5.9 billion euros (about 80 per cent of its total investment in fixed assets) for new product development, further optimization of conventional drivelines and the development of electric and hybrid models. The target is that by 2015, the Audi range will have 42 models from the current 34.

From now to 2012, approximately 2.5 billion euros will be invested at Ingolstadt and about 1.3 billion euros at Neckarsulm. A new transmission and emissions center will be opened at the Ingolstadt plant, and other investment priorities will be stamping tools for the new Audi A1 and the manufacturing structures for the A3 and A4 models. The investment focus in Neckarsulm will be on the A6, A7 und A8 models and new engine-function test rigs.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on Dec 29, 2009 at 11:26 am

Those stupid ‘1st’ commentators….Audi is one of the VW brand am I right?

• Sr Ahmad Nor Azlie B on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:38 pm

FIRST

• leaveacomment on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:57 pm

first again

• owesome audi…..

• qosim slamutt on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:15 pm

Did d head designer tweeted the news? Tak de? Haiyaa x canggih mcm Proton la …

• Cpt Shopalot on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:18 pm

Exciting, yet too much to afford!

• Ronaldo on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:27 pm

They are so confident next year market will be good…

• Pultat on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Hope Audi AG takes over business here in Malaysia…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:22 pm

we don't even have the A5…

• qosim slamutt on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:01 pm

yes azrai audi is on of the brands under vw stable.

vw tried to 'buy' over proton in the past, but gomen x nak (due to whatever reasons – lets not debate this here), so now they're in indonesia.

so in d near future expect to have more vw stuff on d roads in jakarta. Malaysia? proton lagi le gamaknya. But with italian look … sexy & hot … tungguuu …

• Ferruccio on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:11 pm

Yes Audi is one of the VW brand along with Skoda, SEAT, Bentley, Porsche, Lamborghini, Bugatti also commercial brands Scania and MAN.

Proton was almost in the mix at several points. Imagine how nice it would have been to drive a Proton with the first class build quality of VW/Audi and having say the 2L TFSI VW/Audi engine powering the Satria Neo (Proton R&D guys did this already). Holy cow!

• Autik on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Brand prestige go for Merc, Comfort go for Lexus, Performance go for BMW, Audi what??

• chew ban on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:57 pm

ALL THE AUDI LOOKS ALOMOST THE SAME, ITS SOMETHING LIKE VOLVO, THIER DESIGN JUST DONT SEEMS TO LAST LONG AS MERC. EACH OF MERC CLASS HAS DIFFERENTEXTERIOR EXTERIOR. BMW, AUDI, VOLVO HAS ALMOST THE SAME DEISGN AS THEIR NEW MODELS. I CAN TELL THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN S CLASS AND E CLASS, CAN ANYONE TELL THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN S8 AND S4, OR A8 ANDA6 OR 7SERIES AND 5 SERIES. NONE, THEY ALL ARE BORING, THEY AHVE SAME FRONT AND SAME BUTT.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:08 pm

azrai said,

December 29, 2009 @ 11:26 am

Those stupid ‘1st’ commentators….Audi is one of the VW brand am I right?

————————–

yes you are right. =) same group

• qosim slamutt on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:08 pm

chew ban, " beauty is in the eye of the beholder" some like merc, some prefer bmw, some suka audi … ok what. don't la say all boring …

• Ferruccio on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Autik said,

December 29, 2009 @ 12:37 pm

Brand prestige go for Merc, Comfort go for Lexus, Performance go for BMW, Audi what??

Spoken truly like the Malaysian automotive consumer.

Brand prestige Merc.. heh..heh no wonder any european tom dick and harry can sit in the latest Merc E class. All they need to do is call a taxi!

A close relative bought the new C class and friends mistook it for a japanese make thanks to the rear. More apparent Jap DNA if you drive the latest E class unveiled a few weeks back.

You'll need to step outside the Malaysian border to appreciate how highly the Audi brand is perceived especially in Europe. At least it still looks European.

Certainly it is No1 in terms of build quality among the 'prestige' German brands, for many years now.

• azrai on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Last week VW even buy 15% shares in Suzuki. So they already include Suzuki (mini car speacialist) in their fleet. So now they are VW, Audi, Skoda, SEAT, Bentley, Porsche, Lamborghini, Bugatti, Scania, MAN, Suzuki. Those Lamborghini actually Audi's subsidiary. if Proton come along, lotus also under VW.

• qosim slamutt on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:26 pm

spot on ferruccio,

i think malaysians spend too much time looking at the Wira & Iswara and not much more except for honda, toyota, merc, bmw & maybe volvo. I onced told a guy VW just celebrated their 100 millionth car and he was amazed caused he just thought thats WAY too many beetles sold (the old beetle mind you).

Jauh perjalanan luas pemandangan …

• Pultat on Dec 29, 2009 at 11:39 pm

Who are the retards posting "1st" all the time…waste of bandwith..

Anyways, Malaysians are very narrow minded when it comes to Contis…always BMW performance, Mercedes comfort, Audi bad second hand value….people…wake up….Audi has both performance and comfort.

EM has done nothing to promote Audi's in Malaysia…thats the sad part..

• well, thats our market here. we dont make educated purchases(most of the people anyway), people here buy based on word of mouth. so if a relative says a car is good, we all think it is good, without thinking first our lifestyle etc.

step beyond malaysia, you can see that AUDI is on par with BMW, Mercs and even in China, Audi is one of the top selling brands there.

the reason i like audi is because they look unique, the grille, the pioneering of daytime LED light in current models, and the build quality.

to each his own i guess.

• chew ban on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:11 am

qosim slamutt said,

December 29, 2009 @ 2:08 pm

chew ban, ” beauty is in the eye of the beholder” some like merc, some prefer bmw, some suka audi … ok what. don’t la say all boring …

yeah bro, that what my eye perceived, my view. sorry to hurt u r feelings bro hehe

• chew ban on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:19 am

its not only about performance and comfort, how many dealership does audi has in malaysia and how many dealership does vw has. vw had 1 in johor and they closed down, and its being used by audi currently after a long disapperance. how do u expect customers to trust them and buy their car. forget about secondhand value, how the hell those people bought vw cars in johor going to go for service? and soon u know they are out of malaysia. the only name that stand since last time is merc and bmw. people just trust them. i dont blame them, their money and their choice.

• Tiadaid on Dec 30, 2009 at 1:20 am

Autik said,

December 29, 2009 @ 12:37 pm

—————————-

Given a choice, I'd drive an Audi anytime. Merc prestige? Really? I feel in Malaysia it's prestige value is not that high, since every mamat with money buys a Merc, from new millionaire Felda settlers to the Phua Chu Kang-like contractors.

• Autik on Dec 30, 2009 at 2:46 am

Rilec lah… I just gave the majority opinion, why Audi fanboy getting so defensive and talk like a goon.

I just feel that a person become an Audi fanboy because their peer already got a Merc or BMW.

• Pultat on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:09 am

Autik…you ni memang bengong la…..I'm not an Audi fan boy….in fact currently driving an E90…and am sure the so called "Audi fan boys" who commented above also drive something else. We're just telling facts. People need to find out for them selves, not based on hear say.

I personally like the Audi's, the newer ones, I used to be one of those blinded by brand…especially BMW…but no more since I saw the A4….got to admit…it's way better than my 325i.

• audi_or_not (Member) on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:42 am

1) agree audi make great cars

2) too bad EM salespeople really suck at customer service… real real shame…

because of their service, i would rather go buy merc or bmw.

• deathstars on Dec 30, 2009 at 5:29 am

next year 2010 time to 2nd big player germanians on automotive industry leading the world beside Merc and BMW..hail to VW and Audi..bye bye japanese..scrap time..

• audiaudi on Dec 30, 2009 at 5:57 am

GO Audi.

They dont waste money on F1 racing

They compete and win in racing series that will immediately benefit their customers – Le mans, nurburgring 24 hrs, rally and DTM for endurance, performance and efficiency. .all engines used in their racing cars are available on their road cars…. also quattro 4WD.. U think those merc and bmw drivers will get the F1 2.4l NA V8 engine in their rides? pathetic torque and fuel consumption..

GO AUDI!

• audiaudi on Dec 30, 2009 at 6:10 am

Lets add FSI and TDI technologies developed in the motorsports for AUDI passenger cars with superior torque and fuel efficiency… anyways, what do merc and bmw drivers know anyway about technology… they just like looking at themselves in the mirror with their rides.. i bet u half the merc drivers dont which wheels are driving the car and most pathetic (especially 318i) BMW drivers dont know that there is no 4 door M3 for the E46.

I have higher respect for volvo drivers.. they know what they are buying – safety, practicality and power.

GO AUDI…

• Autik on Jan 01, 2010 at 4:42 am

Pultat……you ni really childish lah. Who the hell will believe that you are the E90 owner.

Yeah I now own a brand new A4, damn boring car, I will replace it with C class real soon.

• fuyiopo on Jan 02, 2010 at 7:36 pm

Seriously Pultat, Audi A4 way better than 3 series?! If you really think so, there is only 2 conclusions:

1. You know NOTHING about driving pleasure.

2. You're just a stupid F**k who just want to boast about audi and ignore all the facts.

Why do i say so? Here are the facts:

1. BMW and Merc won way more Engine awards than your so called the best car.

2. Every car tester tested that the new AUDI Rs4( which is a high spected A4), is averagely 3 seconds slower inside a test track than a BMW and a Merc.

3. In europe, audi is driven by cocks( Cocks used to drive BMWs but now they dont.)

4. In Top Gear BBC, they claim that BMW, Merc, and VW is one of the Best car made Manfacturer, audi is not even close. The only nice car which audi makes is the R8, and still the R8 uses technology from lambo so there is nothing to shock about.

5. The last and the most important, Audi A4 in malaysia are all…Front Wheel Drive. WTF? Why i wanna spend 200k++ on a front wheel drive car? I rather buy a toyota Camry and save the rest of the money .

I dont mean to offend those audi owners out there, everyone has their own preferences, i am terribly sorry if i offend you guys. For the exterior design, i am not going to comment a single thing about them, cause everyone has their own preferences. As for the FAN Boys said by Autik, you guys better shut up when talking about performance cause you know nothing about cars. JANGAN SOMBONG BODOH.

-Tiadat

Since you're saying everyone wants to buy merc, this proves that the prestige is there….. You are slapping your own face man…

• sitiaudi on Jan 06, 2010 at 11:09 pm

hey guys, y turn dis into a verbal war zone. BTW I have ordered my A5 sportsback SE 2.0 TFSI S Tronic quattro. hope i will not be disappointed.

• Superb car and nice design from Audi!