Hofele Design’s R8-inspired Audi A5 styling kit

Advertisement

What’s a successful halo car? In our opinion, a halo car has fulfilled its purpose if models below it start to ape big brother. The Lancer Evo is a classic example, and Audi seems to have executed a similar masterstroke with its R8 supercar. The mid-engined beauty that Tony Stark drives is so cool that it’s inspiring “R8 style” kits for cars like the Audi A5 and TT.

German tuner Hofele Design takes a shot at this direction with kits for the A5 Coupe, Convertible and Sportback. It comes with an R8-look front bumper with the air vents below the headlamps. Coupe and Convertible owners can even match it with the R8′s signature side blades and a rear bumper with faux air-outlets and integrated diffuser. Four exhaust tips complete the “transformation”.

Style is subjective – some might like it, but we think that these add-ons contaminate the sleek, classy design of the A5. Not to mention proclaiming to the whole world that “I can’t afford an R8″. I have seen an Audi TT with similar looks in the Klang Valley and was nearly fooled, from a distance I must add.

More pictures after the jump!

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

About the Author

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

1. austin_cipan says:

fugly…

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. wanfumi says:

FUGLY BOTTOM

3. jean says:

Front… sweet….

Back… Over doing it.. No No

4. theanswer says:

agree..ugly rear.

5. chinaman says:

its like china made car =D

6. Captain Cook says:

Wasted… Fugly

7. jg says:

Audi, yeah

8. adioss says:

Rubbish

9. Netz says:

spoil a perfectly good looking car….

10. techboy_88 says:

Ah Beng car, German/Deutschland version.

11. csv says:

what a waste. the original A5 is already a beauty to behold. the only bodykit that should fit on the a5 is either the s-line bodykit, or those by caractere. nothing else.

12. eadgez says:

looks ugly. everything is pfect except with the black. :(

13. wAzYz says:

too much makeup lorrrr..

ruin the originality….huhu

14. mr_3m says:

the R8 look may work on the TT becos of similar silhoutte/shape between the the two… but on the A5??? It's eff-ing UGLY… it will never work on a sedan-shape coupe like the A5…

15. farghmee says:

was ist das?

16. mitlanevo says:

gotta agree with eadgez, i think all-white should be better…

17. Alex Toh says:

no way……rear side problem

18. kodok says:

too much bling-bling

19. rid says:

pathetic.. i always been audi's fan.. but the color combination's really sick esp at the side…. don't ruin audi.. plss

20. fiz17 says:

very beuty car!!i love it

21. JOhn says:

i wonder which fool will buy this car…its so damn ugly….

22. c14man says:

spoils the whole point of A5 being a subtly sexy car.

it was a car that stands out without even trying hard.

this "sporty" body kit just doesnt match A5's characteristics.

gotta vote against it.

23. Gajen says:

ugly like shit…prefer the stock a5 or s5

24. kuku stim says:

It's beautiful… in the way a mushroom stuck up your ars* looks beautiful. :-D

25. shawal says:

this bodykit makes you look poor , an A5 is a svelt , elegant coupe , this kind of bodykit shud go on the RS4/RS6

26. xshiro says:

front looks ok..

27. paparazi says:

later will sell it at Why Pay More Store…. i rather without this so call styling kit

28. GL3n says:

What the shit……..whatever it is! LOL!

You shouldn't do it Hofele!

29. Mazda 3 MPS says:

i think…no….

30. skinky says:

lol, i have been seeing that fake TT around jln imbi alot whenever i head up to kl. it's so….. bleah

31. Ah Beng Ko says:

too less done. should add F1 A380 spoiler, Twin Giant Airscope, Super Tuber Alum. Intercooler Double Super "Chass", big & small stickers "too fast, ultra fast", " turned by Ah beng & ah lian" couple, Nismo, TRD, Mugen all Zhap Ba Lang….eh?? how come look like our proton wira EVO VVXXll ?

32. toycar says:

sorry folks… my car just kena bang by someone, under repaint :) , so bumper color is different..

33. I-HATE-GG889933000-G says:

Stupid make over.. I guess the workshop is consider 'ah beng' category in their region…

Audi A5 should has his own styling…

34. coolguru says:

What a disgrace to an otherwise great looking automobile… sigh!

35. GL3n says:

I hope this is just a 3D rendering…

Please Hofele do NOT make this crap into productions…please..

You are lowering the A5 status symbol.

36. khaix19a says:

rear is ugly…..front is ok…..i think better leave a5 alone rather than turn it to hideous car…..

37. Mohd says:

Hahaha, I just had a look at their webpage. There you can find even more ugly 'designs'…

I'm just wondering in which part of the world they sell their 'design creations' ?

38. Wen says:

beyond fugly.

god help the tuners who came up with that bkit.

39. mystvearn says:

My Eyes!

Blinded by the back

40. 4ringfan says:

Pathetic. Terrible.

41. droll says:

i have seen that audi TT too, around bkt bintang area. what a poser! it's proportions looked really weird from a distance even though the styling seemed to point towards an R8. the proportions was a give-away.

42. meteoraniac says:

the back just doesnt makes sense .. kind of reminds me of wannabe Evo on Waja rear …

43. Patrick says:

the front bumper seems nice (if the black part above the side vents are white)… the sides and rear are terrible tho…..

44. CatmaN says:

front look…ok, can consider flawless. backside..overdone, summore with the 2 tone paintjob. wud prefer Caracter's bodykit over this Hofele thingy..

45. Boink says:

this is like a sick joke

46. W. says:

Pelik.

47. Saifful says:

It may look ugly in pictures, but in real life up close, I might think differently.

48. narrowband says:

fugly.

the stock S5 is already a beautiful ride.

49. no eye see says:

like a puzzle that out of fixes, simply taruh…. hehe…

will give some respect to those future buyers with a kind of taste

50. Mel says:

Ugly like hell.

Yeah I 've seen the R8 wannabe near Imbi area as well…I 'm a firm believer that you should stay true to yourself, pity buggers who paste RS4, M3 etc badges on their car when it's nothing more than a standard model…

51. mu_77 says:

One of the figliest audi seen… I prefer the standard one..

52. Jozain says:

Audi???Oh yeah…

53. wochomi says:

Audi @ performance luxury —->transform—–> Ah Tee @ Ah beng class

54. Timo says:

Desparate looking. make-believe vents? Hofelle could do better.

55. solidxtate says:

A perfect way to tell the whole world….look guys, i am desperate for the R8 but i can't aford one

56. CH says:

LOL

look like another ah beng copycat car

ugly

57. Friqo says:

i saw the TT which i tot it ws a r8 hahaha..i saw it at pavi yesterday…dang the kit looks good..

58. fiz says:

nice styling bodykit,cheers

59. anip says:

TERBAIK!!!!

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: CONFIRMED: Naza is new distributor of Chevrolet!
Next Story: A look back at 2009 and welcome to 2010!