Detroit 2010: BYD e6 showcased at Electric Avenue

Now here’s something quite worth looking at from BYD. This large hatchback is the BYD e6, and with a wheelbase of 2,830mm, its placed smack in the middle of the D-segment, making it about the same size as an Asian market Honda Odyssey. That should mean lots of space inside and a decent boot (not much of a rear overhang there), considering it is a 5 seater. I believe you can compare this to a Toyota Venza.

The e6 is an electric car, but what’s particularly amazing about it is that BYD claims a range of 330km (based on the spec sheet given at the NAIAS, there were also reports of 400km before this) before you have to get the e6 to a charger! That should solve any issues people have with electric car range.

Sure, it might still not be able to do cross-state journeys with completely no worries but the range is surely enough for regular daily commutes without even needed to recharge everyday. BYD themselves are a battery manufacturer so this must have helped them with the know-how of how to make an EV that’s ready for day-to-day needs.

The BYD e6 uses two electric motors. In this particular model, there is only a front motor and the front motor has a power and torque output of 101hp and 450Nm. Apparently there is also a version with a rear motor for all-wheel drive. The rear motor adds another 54hp to the total output. A higher-grade option has also been mentioned, upgrading the front motor to 215hp either in front-only or front+back (215+54) configuration.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ago87 on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:07 am

That face is so Honda-odyssey…

• nice design.. better than proton exora.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 13, 2010 at 8:00 am

the only problem with this car is the badge

• msian on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:10 am

looks so outdated

• cardreamer on Jan 13, 2010 at 4:11 pm

IF, Exora ever look like this…how nice…i love the front looks, this is the looks more people felt in love with…clean, neat and yet smart looking…similar to the looks of the Evo…and the same design clue being used by VW range of cars and the Forte…hope that the next Proton cars will look as smart as this..

• azrai on Jan 13, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Whhat the need to involved proton in all this in the 1st place. haiyaa…The front look really like the Volkswagen New Compact Coupe concept.

• i love the technology

• Jumbsuck on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:35 pm

BYD – Brings You Death

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 13, 2010 at 8:12 pm

I'm more interested on how well its technology works. You can mount it on a horse cart and I would still be interested.

330km range and even with one motor putting out 100hp and 450NM(!!) torque (and that at 0 rpm given electric motors), this would be no slouch. Especially for a "city car". This is damn impressive if the numbers hold true.

• 1malaysia on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:32 pm

compare with Exora? no…..

BYD is talking to produce & sell its electric car in US. my point is not only its look but technology. one step advance than Proton.

• rexis on Jan 13, 2010 at 11:59 pm

The specs simply sound too good to be true. 300 km from a large size MPV? Especially when all others compact car which can barely fit in two passengers can merely reach 100 km? Think again.

• rexis on Jan 14, 2010 at 12:00 am

I was particularly referring to electric vehicles, of course.

• my name is on Jan 14, 2010 at 3:02 am

whatever comes from malaysia will be condemned to death…. surely…

be it, handphone, car, motorcycle, etc etc….

• gey2718 on Jan 14, 2010 at 3:56 am

ago87 said,

January 12, 2010 @ 11:07 pm

That face is so Honda-odyssey…

————————————————

why don't you say 'have wheel is looks like car', simply say people copy just because it's made in china? please lah, comment correctly, they have huge capital to design on their own ok!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:26 am

everything is made in china. from ur poser air jordan's to your brick iphone. its all china.

• 1malaysia on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:42 pm

MyName,

v r not bias. v do hv good local company or brand that could make us proud globally, such as Pertronas, Parkson, Shangelila Hotel, limkokwing, etc. but definately not Proton. under 100% supported by government or rather to say rakyat, spanding tons of money, after >20 yrs still ask for $ and protection. don u think its time to let them go?