Lexus LFA: No trouble in finding 500 buyers

The Lexus LFA was unveiled at the 2009 Tokyo motor show with a huge pricetag of US$375,000, more than many supercars. But there’s nothing run of the mill about the exquisite materials used for this 552 bhp hand built machine (no expense spared, Toyota will make a loss on every unit sold) or the limited run of just 500 units. And then there’s that hair-raising F1-style noise the V10 makes!

Lexus has announced that the number of formal expressions of interest in the LFA is already over 500. This doesn’t mean that anyone wanting to own an LFA has missed their chance, as you can still register your interest up to mid-March. At the end of the Geneva motor show, the 500 units will be allocated across 56 countries where they are on sale, with confirmed orders with deposits to be taken from the end of May.

Interested? How about showing up at Lexus Malaysia in your Ferrari 599 and entourage, plonk a bag of cash and absolutely demand that they bring in one LFA for you!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bLo0d on Jan 25, 2010 at 6:25 pm

1st~

• LFA – Looks F-kin Awesome.

• Dingo on Jan 25, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Toyota will make a loss on every unit sold? Deja vu.

• Toyota is too rich so small losses are acceptable? hehe

• Jaybond on Jan 25, 2010 at 6:54 pm

One thing for sure, LF-A's noise is more F1-like than the new Ferrari 458 Italia!

• kuku stim on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Danny Tan said:

How about showing up at Lexus Malaysia in your Ferrari 599 and entourage, plonk a bag of cash and absolutely demand that they bring in one LFA for you!

—————————————————————–

Hahaha! Or, you have to do it in another way bro. When you send in your application for the LFA, you probably have to take the Lexus Malaysia boss out for fine dining (which shows you dine at the right places), treat him to a suite at the MPO (shows you're cultured), and introduce him to your friends at the Bankers Club (shows you move in the right circles). Fuyoh. He'll be so impressed, sure you get your LFA!

• littlefire on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Well… In the end is still a Lexus…

At that price, rather took Lamborghini or Ferrari.. Just imagine, u driving a Ferrari and turn to this Lexus.. Is like downgrading ur status…

• khaix19a on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:34 pm

love the rev counter in this car……..

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:39 pm

Lol. as top gear did say…..a car that is not faster than a Ferrari 599 GTB, Gallardo or Aston Martin.

• Gajen on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:10 pm

i knew it wouldnt be a problem…lots of filthy rich people out there,they wouldnt mind splashing $$ on this car…

i still prefer this to the GTR though…this sounds and looks like a supercar..

• blackbox on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:14 pm

I think Alfa 8C will certainly sound and looks better then LFA.

• blackbox on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Sound good, run fast, hightech but no spirit….

• afkar (Member) on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:20 pm

haha..just watched the TG review..

replace the funky,sub-zero speedo n u will get its price down by a couple tens of thousands..

• gtmaniac on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:55 pm

With the engine sound like this, who needs spirit, soul, status class, blah..blah.. One experience behind the steering wheel will blow all that. Just remember the fact that the engine need a digital rev counter because analog rev counter can't spin fast enough to match the engine speed!

• Lightning McQueen on Jan 25, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Finally,

Toyota manage to commercialize their F1 tech, despite having to pull out from F1 next season…

• lambov12 on Jan 25, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Who will spend so much money on basically a Toyota ?

Rather spend those money on Lambo or Ferrari. At least the Italian supercar has the soul and passion ..

• trav_da_man on Jan 25, 2010 at 10:30 pm

It shows that the world recession is finally over?

• just because Lexus is a new brand,people said it has no spirit,no soul.

I don't care about spirit,soul,etc..as long as the car is reliable,fun to drive,affordable then it is ok for me.

• Budzer on Jan 25, 2010 at 10:59 pm

I think this is what toyota wanted to do. They do research and testing on F1 race track and convert them to supercar.

• abdul qayyum on Jan 26, 2010 at 12:42 am

i also dun understand about the spirit.. as long as i feel good..its ok

• mystvearn on Jan 26, 2010 at 12:47 am

If you want to bankrupt toyota, buy loads of this car:P not as if toyota will go bankrupt.

• iskett on Jan 26, 2010 at 12:54 am

no comment..

too expensive for me to even care to think..

• kuku stim on Jan 26, 2010 at 1:04 am

A lot of people are saying that for this price, they'd rather get a Ferrari, Lamborghini, Aston Martin. But that's not the point.

This car is aimed at people who already have Ferraris, who already have Lamborghinis, who already have Aston Martins – and want to add something to what they already have in their garage.

Lexus won't pick you if you don't already own something exotic. There is a psychology to this. Once you've owned the Ferraris, Lamborghinis, the Astons… your brand-conscious appetite has been quenched, and are now ready to look beyond the brand, beyond the badge.

That's why Lexus will screen every buyer and see what car they already drive. I myself won't be interested in this Lexus even if I already own those exotic marques. But there will be other people who would be.

• redxdevil on Jan 26, 2010 at 1:20 am

go for ferrari by a mile

• Mysticmind on Jan 26, 2010 at 1:33 am

"Toyota will make a loss on every unit sold.." – very very skeptical about this.

it's still toyota btw. the real money sucker. huh!

• Neutral on Jan 26, 2010 at 5:23 am

the limited 500 really make richman crazy about this car.eventhough maybe later they will sell it

• 300K for toyota blah blah….there are super rich people who do appreciate a Lexus Badge and superior engineering. They can easily put their money on Ferrari or Lambo but they chose not to…. Why??.

Cos Ferrari and Lambo ar all the same no matter whatever the model.

This lexus is a real premium supercar using the best possible materials and

highest level of engineering. Hence the price… Yoiu get what you paid for…

There is this constant rebuttal of Soul. What is soul?. Nobody can explain..

The only excuse they can give is it has no soul… 500 super rich dont think so…

• 500 rich chinks and arabs.

• I bet Toyota is gonna produce another batch of LFA, in another form of specification, and limited number of cars again.

Lambo & Buggatti are no stranger when it come to marketing their "limited" production cars. I bet that LFA would do the same…

• If it has Toyota lineage, it is reliable and dependable. Efficient.

As a marketing ploy, it worked wonders boosting the usually boring Toyota Image.

Doing the maths, each country gets less than 10 units.

Very, very exclusive indeed.

I wouldn't go to the extend to say the super rich will go for this model, more likely to appeal to a younger crowd like children of the rich.

As good as this car is, it is nowhere near the Ferari 458.

• babyboy on Jan 26, 2010 at 6:02 pm

supercar with front engine..

• staff on Jan 26, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Go and read The Toyota Way book before talk something about Lexus…

haiya… malaysian like to talk empty la…

• Jaybond on Jan 26, 2010 at 11:28 pm

The car's price should be more reasonable if the car is powered by an engine which has got power range of say 650bhp~700bhp. Ferrari Enzo territory.

Unfortunately the 552 bhp engine is in the same league as the much more cheaper, more beautiful Ferrari 458 Italia…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:49 am

mazda rx7 better

• squawk on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:20 am

Took them 10 years to get this car out.

• 500 unit sold out….. for a so called overpriced Lexus…

Proved the skeptics wrong…..yet again…..

The review from major journalist have been very positive…..

Conclusion : Give credit where due. Dont be a blind basher…

Bash with facts if you have any………and dont pin point on price

cos there is a reason why it cost so much.

If Toyota is loosing money on this well think about it

It is worth alot more…….That is exactly what the 500 new

owner think when they put down their money.

• torque (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Waaaaaaay to go Lexus!! At the end of the day, those who like to yada yada yada…all 500 units had been sold…nuff said! It's DEFINATELY one of the great cars (GTR,F430,Gallardo,Zonda,Koeniggsegg CCX,Focus RS,Renault R26,Honda S2000,Supra,RX7,Evo and many more) ever produce, some are expensive and some the price is just right…so give credits to where its due.

• fique d on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:50 pm

nice… do they accept loan…?. i can make a will to my 7th gen gransons 2 continue my loans heheheh

• fique d on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:58 pm

soul soul soul… even ferrari n labo creates trishaw also hv soul meh..?

soul is subjective matter.. these car worthy enough stand along with other "soul" supercars..

• for me, nothing special about lambo, ferrari and thost branded sport car,
    this car will be special at malaysia, maybe i will be the only person who drive such an expensive and new brand sport car on the road, this making this car so special for me.

• IMO this car is more of an engineering exercise for Toyota. Showing what they’re actually capable of. Not just engineering and producing normal run of the mill cars. It’s unfortunate that their most exciting car yet is priced more than anything else on the market.

But for people who appreciate the effort and don’t mind putting in money to get one, the car will return the favour to you.

Trust me, that’s the reply i get from one of the lucky owner when asked why not exotic Italians, Germans etc.

p/s: I totally forgot about how much the car costs when the guy floored it in Sport Mode. It’s like a short term memory lapse. Haha.

• Sushimonster on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:41 am

I just watched the making of the LFA on Megafactories Supercars on discovery. They revealed how they worked with Yamaha to come up with this light weight V10 using motorbike engine technology is simply amazing. What really impressed me is the achievement of that high pitched F1 sound, plus how they tap into Yamaha’s guitar technology to fine tune the engine sound for the drivers experience in the cabin. I think this won the hearts of F1 fans. Every F1 fan wished their cars can rev that high and scream like an F1 car. Lexus made that dream possible with the LFA.

It’s not faster than lambo or ferrari, 0-100 lose to GTR…but that doesn’t matter coz the LFA is really a special car… I guess that’s why 500 units all sold out.

• LFA is in lexus sungai besi now. Brought in by Wing Hin Motorsports