Spoon and Mugen toy with the Honda CR-Z

Advertisement

The Honda CR-Z has all the basics to look like a hot compact coupe, but seeing the production car for the first time in Geneva, I thought that it looked very tame. The hi-tech feel, driver centered dashboard gets our thumbs up, though. But there’s nothing a good tuner can’t fix, especially for a brand like Honda with top notch outfits like Mugen and Spoon in the wings.

The picture above is of a lowered, kitted and mildly modded CR-Z by Spoon. The more purposeful stance comes from a front coilover kit and rear spring/shock kit that lowers ride height by a substantial 50 mm. Other parts being tested are the N1 exhaust, ECU, and “twin-block” calliper and slit rotor brake upgrade. There’s also an attention grabbing set of Spoon CR93 alloys in blue. Working on the ECU and brakes will have to take into account that these are vital components in the CR-Z’s hybrid drivetrain, though.

And this is Mugen’s idea of how the CR-Z should look like. Full bodykit (lower front bumper reminds us of the Modulo kit for the Honda Accord), dramatic rear spoiler and diffuser, Mugen GP wheels in bronze and LEDs on the front grille are added. The suspension, exhaust system and air filter have been uprated too, while the cabin gets a unique gear knob, extra gauges and floor mats with logos.

View live images from Geneva of the CR-Z and Spoon/Mugen versions after the jump.

Honda CR-Z live images from Geneva

DSC_0690
DSC_0697
DSC_0689
DSC_0692
DSC_0694
DSC_0699
DSC_0695
DSC_0700
DSC_0693
DSC_0691

Spoon modified Honda CR-Z images
spoon 11
spoon 05
spoon 09
spoon 04
spoon 12
spoon 03
spoon 08
spoon 07
spoon 10
spoon 02
spoon 06
spoon 01

Mugen modified Honda CR-Z images
mugen crz 02
mugen crz 03
mugen crz 01

1. M0isty says:

1st!
    nice to hear from SPOON again :P

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. ez says:

why blue color rim?.

3. likehondanotsomuch says:

A very long wait for me,get bored with my old crx already,when will this unit reach our shore?

4. ago87 says:

The rims are so so so ugly…

5. ago87 says:

At least the car design is still ok…

6. likehondanotsomuch says:

i know this unit comes with a 1.5 v tech

7. shacz says:

i like the car colour and the sport rim….really match! =)

8. barca96 says:

nice..aggressive but still safe for the environment! we get the best of both worlds.perfect!

9. Gen2 says:

Come on… how come my gen2 never be like this???????????

10. LightsStar says:

Nice….. :)

11. korok says:

awesome…daaaaa

12. Meg says:

sweet! i want one :D

13. zimmer says:

mcm crx lama je

14. csbong says:

wao..yet another beast.

15. exlive3 says:

a neat car that been tuned for the better….

16. thgh says:

Spoon’s is way more nicer.

17. cy says:

how much will this car cost in RM?

18. beanMaeko says:

haaa? another dugong species? wat wit dugong’s appearance nowadays…too much NATgeo in their tv sets i guess.

19. please gov decrease import tax says:

CUN WEI

20. MetalHeadS says:

NICE RIDE! 1st =p

21. tamo says:

when honda malaysia wants to bring this?

22. Alpha says:

i want the Mugen version!!!

23. Alpha says:

sorry 4 double posting…but seriously the Mugen is enough to kill the Roc!!

24. Black Dog says:

What happened to Honda CRX, my old beloved car?

25. KH says:

not bad…

26. 4G63tDSM says:

So why arn’t they ditching the hybrid powertrain and putting in a REAL engine?

27. orang_terbang says:

Uiii ganaz giles!

28. Annoynimal says:

Cool… I think the Spoon look better

29. Annoynimal says:

Spoon looks better, but whats with the blue wheels? maybe better in the meat…

30. seelan says:

awesome…. :D

31. San Peng Road says:

Besh! Im 1st ke?

32. NeSH says:

wow.. thatz kewl… Newayz am i the 1st person to comments on this?

33. Lex says:

wow. . . . nice

34. linear says:

nice car.

35. Gajen says:

oo nice!

36. db8 says:

i hope one day Honda will come out with turbo diesel for our market..

37. hikari says:

please come 2 mareeshia!!

38. Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK Spec says:

i think currently honda just got 2.2 i-Dtec engine, soon will come to malaysia market, maybe next year.

btw, i think ford focus tdci is better than honda’s diesel car, and focus tdci heard that will come in at Q2 tis year

39. proton says:

this looks like baby prius.

satria neo looks better

40. donadoni says:

i prefer spoon aside from mugen bcoz mugen always do some touch up on the exterior.which is the result will cost ur car look like a space battleships.lol.

41. bohpee says:

i want it so much!! when it will arrived in malaysia??

42. mitlanevo says:

SMOKING HOTTT !!!

43. michelle says:

maybe tamiya shud starts mod / tuning biz on hybrid / electric cars.

44. Maverick says:

kyosho RC ?

45. ... says:

thinking when this car will arrive here?..wait till next 5 years when japanese already produce a 3rd generation CR-Z..haha..hot hatch are worst in term of sale in Malaysia..if you really want it..go to Singapore..

46. auzirul says:

honda…
    combination with spoon n mugen…
    its perfomance will be awesome..
    based on old crx design with new look..
    cant wait to see it in here…

47. xavier lert says:

bru…..why not make it black…

48. droll says:

why bother?!

49. King Samurai says:

Gen2 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 4:09 pm

Come on… how come my gen2 never be like this???????????

coz your car is a gen2 lor….same like mine..

50. Michael Ammot says:

to all ’89 CRX owners/enthusiast…accept the fact that this CRZ was exclusively built n designed to youngsters for next 20 years from now…it’s the same case as what happened to ’89 CRX where now, after 20 years the youngsters still say that the ’89 CRX indeed a good looking car..

51. double helices says:

Very nice, with blue rims on makes it look playful.

52. kopi-man says:

I was driving a CRX in the 1990s! the back got the very same feel! will sure look for it if the price is right :)

53. torque says:

Love the Mugen appearance but like the performance set up done by Spoon…will be great to combined those two…excellent job to Honda and both Mugen, Spoon too!

54. likehondanotsomuch says:

@Michael Ammot,,,agree with u bro,,,my current crx is very appreciated by my son right
    now,he upgraded it to next level man,,always crictisized my old school carsolophy.

55. i says:

so so so ugly!but nice interior :)

56. gt-apex says:

good job for spoon and mugen….
    because make it a powerful street tuner car ….. everything is done greatly…

Previous Story: Pininfarina’s Alfa Spider proposal is impossibly sleek
Next Story: New Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 tyre replaces the Pilot Sport 2 and Pilot Exalto